reviews for: listing #12421 - Bar Harbor, Maine House rental

Guest House of Historic Oceanfront Estate, in Acadia Park
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $700 - $1,800 /wk

sort by:

Comfy cozy hideout

Review submitted: June 5, 2009   Date of arrival: May 9, 2009

We were so happy with our stay in the Guest House! It was perfect for my husband and I; close to Acadia and downtown, but far enough away for plenty of peace and quiet. It was also fun to explore the trail nearby! The house had everything we might need for the week, and we were able to cook most of our meals in the pretty kitchen. We'll definitely be back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Jill. I'm glad to hear that you had such a great time on the trails and beach near the house and were able to really settle in and use the kitchen. It really is the perfect blend of privacy and yet so convenient to Bar Harbor. We would love to have you back and look forward to seeing you again. Jen Wales

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great Place to Stay!

Review submitted: August 15, 2014   Date of arrival: August 9, 2014

Our first time @ the Guest House in Bar Harbor and hopefully not our last. We have been coming to Bar Harbor for many years and were not able to rent the place we have rented for years. Imagine our disappointment and the stress of finding a new Perfect place to rent. Well, we did our research and looked at many places and reviews; and finally decided on the Guest House. It was a great decision. The place was in a perfect quiet place in the woods and just the right distance for a comfortable walk into town to eat and shop. The Guest House was nicely stocked and clean with everything we needed to cook in the kitchen or the gas grille. Jen was a pleasure to deal with and communicated well.
I would recommend this property to my family and friends. It was a delight to stay at the guest house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A little piece of heaven!

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

Dead end road, no traffic, but 2 minutes drive to Bar Harbor and entrance to Acadia! The cottage was so comfortable, well stocked and immaculate. It really felt like I hit the jackpot by finding this place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Still love it our second time here!

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Our first visit was back in 2009, and was our first vacation rental experience. Jen made the process so simple and was extremely helpful, so when planning our visit this past June, there was no question that we would be contacting her to rent again! The Guest House was just as we remembered; cozy, inviting and roomy enough for us plus our two young children this time around! This is a great home for a family of 4 or less. The kitchen is perfectly sized for the whole family to move around in comfortably. There is plenty of storage for food/groceries for the week. Jen & Adam also made available a fantastic list of restaurants, points of interest, and family-friendly activities - we tried many and were not disappointed! The kids LOVED their visit to the touch tank at the lobster hatchery nearby, it was perfect for a rainy day! I can not forget to mention the peaceful, quiet area itself where the house is located - there is a great short hike to a beautiful, rocky beach, which was great for the whole family to explore, and was the perfect intro to "hiking" for our young ones. I can not say enough about how great Jen is to work with. We know already that we will be in touch again when planning our next Acadia visit in the next few years!

Owners response: Jill- it was great to have you and your growing family back again. I must say you certainly hit the highlights of this wonderful cottage in the park. Hope to see you again and again! Jen- Mountain Sea Properties

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, clean and comfortable house

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

We just returned from a stay at this adorable cottage in the woods. Everything is exactly as represented -- clean, comfortable, secluded yet close to Acadia trails and Bar Harbor. The size of the house seemed perfect for two yet would be comfortable with more. We appreciated the access to a fully-stocked kitchen though we took advantage of the proximity to Bar Harbor to enjoy local restaurants too. The wireless connection wasn't completely reliable but that wasn't a concern for us, as we traveled intentionally without a laptop (and used our phones on 3G when needed for maps, etc.). We would definitely stay here again when visiting Bar Harbor and Acadia. It is a wonderful little house!

Owners response: Casey,
Sorry to hear about the spotty internet connection! I wish you would have let me know, I could have come over and addressed the problem during your stay. I'll head over to the house now and take a look at things and make sure it's all up and running. We have high speed wireless and haven't had any problems thus far but I'll go and check it out. Other than that, it's good to hear that the Guest House worked well for you. And yes, doesn't Bar Harbor have some wonderful restaurants! We've put together a Dinning Guide for tenants because there are so many places to grab a bite in town that are really top notch. We'd love to have to stay with us again and always offer a discount to returning tenants. The best to you both. Jen Wales, Mountain Sea Properties

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect getaway spot

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

The Guest House was perfect for our stay on the island. The cottage was clean, comfortable and conveniently located. Most mornings we were able to watch the deer graze outside while we ate breakfast! Jen gave us wonderful tips on things to do and see during our stay. We highly recommend visiting Sand Beach, Echo Lake, hiking South Bubble at Jordan Pond, Bass Harbor Light House, and the little beach near the cottage. Another must is Diver Ed. Our family looks forward to a return visit to the island and a stay at the Guest House.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Maria- Did you see any of the baby dear? There were a couple this summer born near the Guest House and I saw them just about every time I was over that way. Glad you had a chance to visit with our lovely 4 legged neighbors. The Guest House is convenient with it being only 1 mile from Bar Harbor, 1 mile from the auto road into Acadia National Park and yet so quite and private at the end of small little road which is actually in the park. It really is the perfect rental house for a family or couple of friends. We certainly look forward to your return visit and please give my best to the rest of your family! Jen Wales, Mountain Sea Properties

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

This little guest house nestled in the woods has a practical layout and plenty of room given it's size. It's clean, well appointed and very comfortable. You can walk to the town of Bar Harbor in about 20 minutes and within five minutes to a lovely cove. It's location on the island is perfect. There are a few movies to watch, lots of children's games and some books, some of which are about the area and they were fun and/or instructive to read. The free WiFi was great to have.
I particularly enjoyed the kitchen area where I could sit at the table and not feel cramped or isolated and the picnic table outside off the kitchen area which was clean and private - a perfect place to have your coffee in the morning. The owners are very helpful and the house was well-prepared when I arrived. In all my years staying on the island, it was my favorite house rental by far. I highly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

lovely location and setting

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

my family loved this little cottage, casual and right near everything. we have two young kids so i didn't worry about having them 'wreck' things yet the property was lovely. clean, well supplied kitchen! the food around bar harbor is WAY over rated, but come here for the hiking and sites of course. love to visit this house again while kids grow!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The location near the hidden coves was wonderful.

Review submitted: August 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

I chose this house based on price, it looked clean and rustic and I loved that it had walking paths to the hidden beaches and was close to Bar Harbor and Acadia. There were many pluses! Upon my arrival the house was clean and roomy, wonderful beds and sheets that were soft and warm on cold nights. Location- it was incredible to walk to hose hidden coves and have them to myself! I loved it. And the deer and fox right outside were amazing. I liked MtnSea Properties friendliness, professionalism and donations to wonderful causes. There was a huge file on places to go and Jen was great to work with. I really loved my stay and will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect for a family trip to Acadia National Park

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

The perfect cottage for a family vacation in Maine. Roomy enough for 4, but cozy and quiet enough for good family time. Quiet location, but close to Acadia and Bar Harbor. We loved it.

Jen and Adam were welcoming and accomodating. Plus, the extra touches were so helpful. We highly recommend this house for a wonderful family vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: B- Really glad to hear that the Guest House worked so well for your family and that everyone had a blast exploring Acadia National Park. Hope you enjoyed the baby birds that hatched right by the door and watching mama bird flying back and forth feeding them all week. Certainly hope to see you again in the future! Jen and Adam

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Quiet peaceful getaway

Review submitted: March 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 9, 2009

We were looking for a comfy getaway for two and given our choices, we preferred the location, the size, the charm and the cost of the Guest House the best. The house was stocked with everything we could possibly need. The file of brochures and guides in the house was so helpful in choosing restaurants and fun day trips in Bar Harbor, we were grateful to have the information on hand and so well organized. We also loved the proximity to Acadia NP and had so much fun exploring the trail right down the road. Jen was so friendly and helpful right from the start! This was the first time we ever leased a vacation rental, so she helped with all my questions and concerns. Also the website is great, and aided our decision to choose the Guest House - the pictures of the cottage and grounds sold us right away! Jen and Adam, we will certainly be back again (this time with our new little one!)

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Remarkable!

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 5, 2009

Remarkable! Enjoyed every minute we were here! Cottage was perfect size for us. Great location, too! We’ll be back!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Remarkable!

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 5, 2009

Remarkable! Enjoyed every minute we were here! Cottage was perfect size for us. Great location, too! We’ll be back!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A charming home to return to!

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2009

It was a wonderful first visit to Maine. Thank you for a charming home to return to after many memorable excursions on the island. The nearby trail to the water recommended by Jennifer results in a terrific vista- excellent view of the frequent cruise ships anchored in the harbor. A beautiful state! Acadia National Park goes to the top of my list of favorite national parks- and I’ve been to almost all of them! Found the people of Maine warm and friendly and modest about the glorious coast of Maine, when they have a right to gloat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cottage had everything we wanted

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 29, 2009

It was an affordable, cute cottage. It was everything we wanted- close to Main St. but not on it, not too big and not too small. It was perfect- I have a 2.5 year old and she loved it! Working with MtnSea Properties was easy and fast.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An excellent experience the entire month here

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

I had an excellent experience the entire month that I stayed at this property. The close proximity to both Bar Harbor and Acadia were the main factors in renting this house. Both Eagle Cliff and the Guest House exceeded my expectation. They were both so well stocked and clean upon arrival. There was much more storage space at the Guest House then I expected. Very through information on website. Jen was always very prompt in answering callas and emails. Thanks for everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A very positive rental experience for us

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

We liked the location of the Guest House- within walking distance of Bar Harbor, but yet “away from it all”. At the same time, we also loved Compass Harbor and the fact that it was just a short walk away made it even better. It is a very efficient little house with everything necessary but not overloaded with knick-knacks and other non-essentials. I also liked the charm and hominess of it and all the windows. There were plenty of closets and shelves to put your stuff, too. Jen was very efficient, informative and relaxed and friendly at the same time. All in all, it was a very positive rental experience for our family or four. We would defiantly come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanks, we will be back.

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2009

Amazing time, we truly enjoyed out stay in the cabin and could not have asked for more. You will see us again! Thank you for being so welcoming.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a great first rental experience.

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 9, 2009

We will certainly be recommending you to anyone we know who will be visiting the area! Thank you again so much for all of your help- you made our first vacation rental experience so wonderful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review