reviews for: listing #12457 - Hilton Head Island, South Carolina House rental

30 Seconds from the Ocean - Single Level with Pool
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Forest Beach
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,395 - $3,395 /wk
    $2,995 - $10,995 /mth

sort by:

Great place to just relax!!!

Review submitted: October 26, 2008   Date of arrival: October 19, 2008

A great property. Very clean and comfortable. Perfect for just relaxing. Plus, we like to cook in the evening, and the kitchen and dinning room, open to the living room, was very good for cooking and eating. The two master bedrooms were spacious. I loved the private backyard, with the indoor heated pool and spacious area to just lounge around, have a drink, take a nap, read a book. TV, DVD and video games, too! :-) Five adults vacationed here and found it quite nice. It is just a stones throw away from the beach, and by car there are sooooo many restaurants nearby. I would recommend this place to my family and friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is pretty typical of the response that we get from the surveys that are returned by every guest when they send back their emergency key. Sometimes they report problems to us that we are unaware of, and we view that as a positive because we know where to improve. One guest compained that the mattresses were hard. We really had no idea because we only sleep in one bedroom when we visit. But sure enough, he was right and we replaced all the mattresses and box springs (5) except for the comfy one which we had always used. We respond promptly to all problems and have trusted vendors to take care of them. We take it personally if a guest is unhappy, because this is our home, not a motel room.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Glorious Week

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

Dear Wayne & Mary Jo,
Many, many thanks for the glorious week we spent at your lovely home in HHI! It could not have been better! We were universally delighted with the house and its close proximity to the beach. The girls are athletes, so we biked, ran, walked, swum, and ate a lot! It was wonderful and we prayed daily that the Lord would bless you for having us there! I have enclosed a couple of pics so you could see the happy girls who stayed!
I forgot to mention that the light over the stove isn't working. I should have replaced the bulb for you, but I forgot about it. The kitchen is so well stocked! I cooked every night except for the last one when we went to Annie O's. They were great at accommodating our group. We loved the grill and the outdoor shower. The girls loved the pool. After the first day it was warm enough to swim. The coded door locks are genius - so convenient. And the TV is so large! The girls felt like they were at the movies! Truly, we loved it all! Bless you!
Blessings!
Laura
(Owner's comment: This was an exact reproduction of a PAYING guest's very kind letter).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous Home

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

What a fabulous home in a perfect location!!! Loved everything (want to live here!)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the house

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We loved the house. It met all our needs. The pool was great and you can't beat the location. You were a pleasure to deal with. I will definitely be contacting you again in the future for our next visit. Thanks much!
(posted from our guest book)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Favorite Place

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

Our favorite place to stay! Home away from home...love the home, yard and location. I wish it wasn't such a long drive from Minnesota - we might get there more than once a year! Whatever the weather, it is always better than home!

(from our guest book)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Georgia Folks

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

Our family had a wonderful and great stay in your warm and inviting house. We loved it!!! Back to Georgia
Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Time

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

All 10 of us had a fantastic time - great weather, great house, great pool, great island! The house suited all our needs - the 4 grandkids loved the pool. Your home is warm, inviting & well equipped. We can't wait to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great time at your home!

Review submitted: April 29, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

Hi Wayne! Our week at your house was fantastic!!! Words cannot describe the fun we had and the memories we made! I need to send the check for the pool heating and I somehow do not have your address. Could you please email that??? Thanks again for providing us with a wonderful place. We are sure to return----it's a matter of coordinating school vacations with our grandkids who are from different states. Enjoy wherever you are! Terry

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best family vacation

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

I wanted to personally thank you for one of the best family vacations we have had in years...and all because your house in Hilton Head was such a perfect house! Your house had everything anyone could need or want...lots of space, rooms and baths for all, close to the beach, perfect pool for after sun, screened porch for bug-free eating outside, close to stores for anything you need, lots of activities and restaurants close-by...and a sunny, hot day every single day we were on vacation!! We have come home exhausted but smiling! Hope we can use your house again in the future and would absolutely recommend your house to all our friends-already have to several.
One FYI...we went to a fish market called Barnacle Bills for fresh caught shrimp, clams, and crab. Also got a 10 lb. fresh whole red snapper that we stuffed and grilled-very good! Would go to Bills again. Thanks again for having such a perfect house!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place!

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful vacation in this home! It is just steps to the beach and we walked back and forth. It was so close we didn't have to carry a lot to the beach. The owners were so nice and easy to work with! Very quick to get back to us. We also loved the one story home and all the space it provided. Nice decor,clean and up to date. The kids loved the pool! But I think the adults loved the outside shower to get the sand off the kids before going in the house or pool! What a great idea! It was a great time and we appreciate them allowing us to stay in their home. We would highly recommend this rental.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We really enjoy hearing from our guests. While we occasionally have a problem occur, we have such wonderful connections on the island that we are able to address them quickly. Nothing pleases us more than to know that our guests enjoyed their vacation. About 60% of our guests are repeat visitors, some coming every year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Comfortable home

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

We are just finishing a two week stay and hate to leave. We have rented this home many times before and keep coming back. This home is comfortable, clean, and welcoming. It is just steps from a beautiful beach. You can make your coffee and it will still be hot when you get to the beach. The surrounding area is pleasant and shops and restaurants are close at hand, Coming to this house is like coming home. They have just made some great updates that make it even more appealing. We will definitely keep coming back. Thank you for giving us such a great opportunity and thank you for openning your beautiful home to us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great value at Excellent location

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

This property was extremely comfortable. Location is fabulous; about 20 yards to the beach!! Lots of chairs both inside and out. Lovely pool area and so much shade in front and back yards. You want to be outside!! Nothing is fancy in the home but you feel at home while there. Coligny is an easy walk or bike ride. The two master suites are great; would recommend ceiling fans for the two "twin bed" bedrooms. Would recommend this property and stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

So close to the beach and such a big house for 6 adults and 3 children. Bunk beds were a bid hit!! Pool was so refreshing after a day at the beach. Close to restaurants and shopping. House layout was perfect. We didn't bother children by talking late at night and they were never under foot. Nook by laundry was perfect for legos!! Your house had everything anyone could need or want...lots of space, rooms and baths for all, close to the beach, perfect pool for after-sun, screened porch for bug-free eating outside, close to stores for anything you need, lots of activities and restaurants close by. AND, we would absolutely recommend your house to all our friends - already have to several! Went to Barnacle Bills fish market for fresh caught shrimp, clams,and crab. Also got a 10 lb. fresh whole red snapper that we stuffed and grilled - very, very good!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful homey charm with convenience!

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: February 6, 2011

We were snowbirds in this home for two months during Feb and March 2011. We loved being able to move in and immediately feel at home. We had stayed at the home for a week during a prior visit and knew what we were going to find when we got here. With only a few steps to the beach and wonderful bike paths nearby, we had many options for fun things to do right out our door. The amenities are accurately reflected in the listing and the owners were very responsive to our needs. We will certainly consider renting this home again when we come back to the island..

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: We were delighted to have these wonderful Minnesotans as guests in our home once again. At this point we have over 60% of our guests returning regularly and they feel like family to us. Although our home is "comfy", we have all the good stuff like wireless internet, a 50 inch HDTV, Blu-Ray player and many other amenities. We regularly update furnishings to keep our home feeling fresh and new.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Thanks again for sharing your beautiful home. We so look forward to our annual trip to HHI and always come home refreshed and eager to return. You have created a slice of heaven with your beach home. We're repeat visitors and have already booked for next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

We had a great vacation. Loved the pool and beach. We love to cook most of the time we are there and my husband is the grill man, so he missed having a gas grill (used the charcoal grill). Loved the rental price, size and proximity to the beach. Will return next year and recommend to our friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

The house was so comfortable and perfect for us. The kids loved the pool and thought the lights at night were so fun! We will definitely be back next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Super week at the beach

Review submitted: July 31, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2010

Wow! Very close to the beach. Out the door, turn left walk 72 paces (I counted) and there's the Atlantic. Nice beach too, not crowded at all! The house slept all of our guests (4) and children (3). HUGE TV was a big hit. Big dining room and table. The galley kitchen worked well for us. Of course we LOVED the pool. The kids were in it almost the entire time. Great for the adults too after the kiddies go to bed. We will certainly be back in this house again. Thanks.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A great getaway to relax and chill

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 18, 2009

There are six of us. We are all priests. We come back to this home each year in the fall. We love the home and the proximity to the beach. We take a week to rest and relax. It is a great home to lounge around, read books (usually by the backyard pool or on the beach), have discussions, take naps, walks (or jogs) and bike rides on the beach, listen to music, or do some work on our laptops (they have wi-fi in the house). We all love to cook, too. So several evenings we stay in and cook. The house has a nice kitchen and eating area. We will spend an entire evening, cooking several courses, while sitting around and talking and a taking in a beverage (or two). :-) The house in located in an area close to some great restaurants - especially Skillets (where we go for breakfast every morning!). There is also shopping in the area (although we are not much for shopping). Grocery stores are nearby, too. Just about anything you need is near. The house is always clean when we arrive, smells nice, beds are comfortable, TV and cable works, as does the DVD player. All six of us would highly recommend this place! Some of know the owners, too. They are a good Christian couple.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: This if fairly typical of the comments we receive. Unfortunately we have a hard time getting guests to post on the website, but we do get a written review quite often which we post ourselves.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

fantastic location close to the beach

Review submitted: September 15, 2009   Date of arrival: August 29, 2009

the property wasn't exactly what we expected.It needs numerous updates including fresh paint,clean furniture and tile in the bathrooms.
The homeowner was extremely helpful and kind before we arrived.
Truffles restaurant was very good food as well as just pasta which was located in Coligny Plaza
The bike path is also located very close to the property which is very convenient.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Unfortunately this guest stayed at the very end of our fully booked summer rental season, so things do get a little tired after 20 weeks of continuous use, with only a fairly quick cleaning at the end of each stay. Be assured that a thorough spring cleaning is done after the summer to correct these deficiences, including repainting as necessary. This is actually the first time our home has been reviewed so negatively, but we really do take it to heart.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 28, 2008   Date of arrival: January 28, 2008

The outdoor hot shower was a huge plus!! Love the layout of the house - easy with kids and the in-laws. Use Island Cruisers for bike rentals, they had the best price.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 28, 2008   Date of arrival: January 28, 2008

We loved the house. Great family location. Great for young children. We loved it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 28, 2008   Date of arrival: January 28, 2008

The house was very comfortable & the pool was a refreshing treat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 28, 2008   Date of arrival: January 28, 2008

The house was just the right size. I would like to stay longer than a week. It wasn't enough time to fully enjoy everything! Rated everything 5 out of 5!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 29, 2007   Date of arrival: October 29, 2007

Thank you for the wonderful Thanksgiving memories here in Hilton Head. We loved the beach and all the beautiful memories.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 29, 2007   Date of arrival: October 29, 2007

Thanks for sharing your house with us. We loved having such a short walk to the beach. The wide beach was awesome. We spent a relaxing, fun week. The weather was perfect.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 29, 2007   Date of arrival: October 29, 2007

This was our second year in this house and we had a wonderful time! Thank you for sharing it with us and giving us such a great opportunity to grow closer as a family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 29, 2007   Date of arrival: October 29, 2007

We had a great time staying in your comfortable beach house. We loved the short walk to the beach and the refreshing pool. There was plenty of stuff to keep the four kids in our group entertained.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 29, 2007   Date of arrival: October 29, 2007

I want to take this opportunity to tell you we had a wonderful time on vacation and enjoyed the amenities that your house had to offer. The spaciousness was wonderful for the 7 of us and loved the convenience to the beach, shopping, and restaurants.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 21, 2006   Date of arrival: February 21, 2006

We love Hilton Head! This was our best family vacation ever. The house was awesome - perfect for our families (and right on the beach, our favorite!). We had fun boogie boarding, shopping, golfing, playing mini golf, and eating at the many great restaurants. We had great weather-only one or two short showers. Thanks a lot.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 11, 2004   Date of arrival: September 11, 2004

Enjoyed a wonderful week in your home! Hurricane Frances made for exciting weather our first few days then it was great!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 21, 2004   Date of arrival: August 21, 2004

This will be our 4th year at Jacana. Our family enyoys HHI so much! Your home is lovely and so accomodating. Enjoyed the improvements to the house. Great job! God's Blessings.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 31, 2004   Date of arrival: July 31, 2004

Thanks, it was amazing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 24, 2004   Date of arrival: July 24, 2004

We enjoyed every minute of our 1st trip to HHI! The weather was beautiful every day. Loved the beach and the ocean temp of 86 degrees! Your pool is a great touch as we came back each day to get refreshed from the beach sand. We will definitely be back to our "little bit of heaven on earth"!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 6, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

This house is the perfect Hilton Head retreat. Everything you need is provided and it includes many extras you wish you had back home, especially the back yard pool. The ocean is just a minute away and the beach is pristine and never overcrowded. Great restaurants and many activities to do with your kids are a short walk or drive away. We'll definately go back...it's a great combination of relaxation and fun-filled activity. You'll make some great memories here!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 5, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

Hilton Head is a wonderful island. This house truly allows one to enjoy it in peace. It's location to the beach is perfect and the pool in the backyard only adds to the joy. This is a vacation home I intend to repeat as often as possible.

Owners response: Thanks for the positive comment. Glad you enjoyed the vacation. Come back soon!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 3, 2004   Date of arrival: July 3, 2004

Had another great week at this house. The fireworks on the beach were nice and the weather was nice almost all week. Swimming, fishing, shopping and hanging around the house playing cards. We hope to come back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 18, 2004   Date of arrival: April 18, 2004

Girls on vacation! The house was perfect...we christened the new dishwasher, the pool became our nighttime refresher. Take time to visit Savannah. Take a tour, visit the river front. Hope to come back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 4, 2003   Date of arrival: October 4, 2003

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home! We really enjoyed it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 26, 2003   Date of arrival: September 26, 2003

This is our second time here and we love it. Thank you for sharing your house with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 25, 2003   Date of arrival: June 25, 2003

Great vacation at Hilton Head again! We will be back. I've come to HHI since I was 1 and now I'm going on 18. Maybe we will come back to this house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 9, 2002   Date of arrival: August 9, 2002

We had a great time. Hope the next group has a good time also. Go Steelers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 25, 2002   Date of arrival: May 25, 2002

We had a wonderful time and enjoyed everything. This was our 2nd year staying at Jacana and this year it was like coming to visit a great friend! HHI has been our vacation spot for 6 years now and May weather is awesome! Perfect days, great beach weather and plenty of swimming. Your home is like our home from home and we enjoyed ourselves again. Thanks for the wonderful memories made here at HHI and the Jacana home. We hope to stay here next year!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 15, 2002   Date of arrival: March 15, 2002

We all had a great time and hopefully will be returning in the future. Thanks!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 25, 2001   Date of arrival: August 25, 2001

Good location, great house, sunny weather, great company. We had a wonderful time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 18, 2001   Date of arrival: August 18, 2001

We have enjoyed our stay in yur home up until the very last moment. We felt quite welcome here. We can't wait until our next visit next year. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 14, 2001   Date of arrival: August 14, 2001

We really enjoyed the house. Our four girls thought this was their best vacation ever.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 21, 2000   Date of arrival: August 21, 2000

We had fun. The pool was great. I love the house! If you are going to hunt for shells, get up early. We had a great relaxing vacation! The weather was perfect - the house was very nice.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 10, 1999   Date of arrival: July 10, 1999

We came, we ate, we drank, we had a blast! Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 5, 1999   Date of arrival: June 5, 1999

This was a sweet house and a nice place to be. I have had the best time of my life, meeting people and just having fun.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review