reviews for: listing #12471 - La Jolla, California Cottage rental

Historic Oceanfront La Jolla Cove Cottage; Beachfront Luxury
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $375 - $750 /nt
    $2,500 - $5,000 /wk

sort by:

Great Location

Review submitted: October 8, 2009   Date of arrival: September 20, 2009

You cannot beat the location of this property. It is situated directly across the street from the ocean. We loved the conveinance of slipping into our swimsuits and walking across the street to enjoy the beautiful scenery. The outside landscape is lovely but the inside of the property leaves something to be desired. It is pretty outdated, especially the kitchen and bathrooms. I love to cook but kept myself out of the kitchen as much a possible. One other downside to the property is that the owner stays upstairs while you rent the main floor. Not a huge deal, but you don't feel like you are quite on your own. With that said, the wonderful location did make up for the aging interior. Not sure we will stay here again but we're very grateful for the wonderful memories the bungalow provided us during our stay, If your expectation of the property includes a beautiful, modern interior I'd suggest staying elsewhere. If not, I'd recommend giving it a shot!

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Thanks for the Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: April 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 18, 2014

This is truly an amazing and very special place to stay. My family and I had a wonderful visit and indeed we all feel quite lucky to have stayed in this delightful historic beach cottage. We really hated to leave the sound of the crashing waves, the magnificent views, and our evening strolls down to the tide pools. The property manager Laura is one of the kindest most responsive professional people I have ever known. You would be hard pressed to find a better place to stay. Thanks again Laura!
Warm regards, Michael and family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyed the time

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

Well we had a great time at this house. I have been wanting to stay here for a long time. You can hear the ocean the windows open in each room. The view is awesome, you can see seals, dolpins and can just walk down to the tide pools.You can just watch the people go by. The house is clean the kitchen has been updated, it is like the pictures. We met Laura and her mom and the dogs, we had no problem with any noise, there are not any stains on the ceilings. ( I think the person who wrote that article on the review had personal issues) We found none of that and we were there within 2 weeks of their review. So if you want to enjoy a house with a great view, lots of room, with your own yard, and take along your pet, then consider staying here. We enjoyed the fireplace and the porch off the master bedroom such a relaxing time for us. As for heat, the space heaters worked great we were never cold and we had rain for a day. The rest of the time weatherwise was good the breeze from the ocean cooled the house in the afternoon. We did not make time for the firepit this time but will on our next visit. Enjoyed looking through the books in the reading room and reading the book you mom wrote. Thanks for sharing the house with us. We will be back again next year. S

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Historic Home!

Review submitted: March 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 7, 2012

Wonderful Retreat

We had a wonderful time staying in this historic home. The location could not be better! The kitchen is recently renovated with great appliances. The beds were super comfy, and we loved hanging out on the patios.

We will be back.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Heavenly

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 29, 2012

This historic cottage was relaxing and cozy with magnificent views. The sound of the waves, the pristine sheets and comfortable beds made for terrific sleeping. The location was such that attracted photographers, musicians, joggers, walkers continuously from sunrise to sunset. It was wonderful being a part of the lifestyle for the short four days we were there and I'm already longing to return. Laura and Mary Ruth love to share their historic heritage with their guests and we enjoyed hearing the history of this fabulous place. Thank you for making our stay pleasant. Hope to see you next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Read this before you rent this place!

Review submitted: February 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

"Read before you decide to rent this place"
Be aware of what you don't know about this place. Location and view are terrific. HOWEVER, this place smells heavily of dogs of which there are 2. The owner lives upstairs when guests are here (!) and the sound of footsteps, dogs barking, and noise made use of the master bedroom impossible. Having an owner on the premises is like having your privacy invaded and this situation should be made known in the advertisement. This place is historic, meaning very old. Lots of rusty plumbing fixtures and furniture. Microwave did not work although owner promised repair the day we moved in - never repaired during our week there. Small, smelly rooms and ALL the owners personal items are in the way. You will like you are intruding, not renting. There is a cleaning fee which is a rip off. The place, especially the kitchen, refrigerator, drawers and cabinets were anything but clean. I think the owner pockets the fee and does a minimum amount of cleaning. There is no heating, just a bunch of small noisy spaceheaters. The ceiling over our bed was wet and smelled of mold. We are expereinced renters (5-7 homes each winter) and we know quality and hospitaltiy. This place was very dissapointing and we would not recommend to anyone. Reviewers of these types of rental websites need to be honest about their reviews to save others from the dissapointment we experienced. We couldn't wait to leave.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: I am truly sorry that our renter had such a terrible stay at our cottage. We have rented our home for 17 years and never had such a review as this one. Nobody has told me that the house smelled of dogs, or the rooms were small and smelled of mold. We have 12 positive reviews and many happy return renters. The only negative comment about our kitchen came before we totally remodeled it. Someone told me that it was hard to cook in. I agreed and we remodeled it promptly. As for the noise in the master room I have had people repeatedly tell me they never heard us upstairs. The entirety of the cleaning fee goes to our excellent cleaning staff. A quick glance at the other reviews of our cottage demonstrate the kind of comments I typically hear when people stay at our property. Please come and enjoy our slice of heaven.

Helpful votes: 16 / 19

 

Sept. 2011 week at Cove Cottage

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

My husband and I just celebrated his 65th birthday week at Cove Cottage and enjoyed every minute of it! The home is wonderfully furnished and stocked with anything you could need. It's a historic home and the owners are the landlords and hosts. They couldn't have been friendlier or more welcoming and had a lot of good info about the area. Can't beat the location, you literally wake up in your bed with the Pacific Ocean in front of you.

Great restaurants within walking distance include: Rappongi - nouvelle asian tapas, Georges at the Cove - with 3 different venues from casual rooftop to fine dining, Eddie V's Prime Seafood and numerous other good spots. With great golf, walking, cycling and other San Diego area attractions, it makes for a great week.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Spring Break Trip

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

We had an excellent week. The owners of the home are very gracious and were available for any questions. The home is quiet and in an excellent location. We were so close to the beach we could hear the waves and the 2 main bedrooms, dining room and living room have gorgeous views. Shopping, great restaurants, the Children's Pool with seals, the Museum of Contemporary Art and a large children's playground are all within walking distance. The property was clean and well-maintained for an older home (built in the 1920's.) As far as I could tell, there is no central air conditioning or heat--this was not a problem during our stay in late March when the weather was cool and rainy in the high 50's. The home is filled with antiques and breakables so I would caution against toddlers staying here. The water was hot and plentiful. I would stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

A Wedding to Dream About

Review submitted: May 19, 2009   Date of arrival: October 8, 2008

I was fortunate enough to have my wedding on the beach just a short walk form this magnificent home. We walked back across the street to Cove Cottage to have our reception. What a magical place! Laura and her mother MaryRuth were such a treat, what gracious hostesses they were. I cannot wait to return with my husband for our anniversaries down the road.

The photos don't even do this place justice. It is spactacular in every sense of the word. It is charming and features ocean views from nearly every window in the house. Sitting with my Dad on the balcony chatting about my life to come while listening to the waves crash and watching passers-by.....does it get any better than that?

I will always have a special place in my heart for this beautiful place and it's friendly, loving owners.

Reta and Ryan
Sherwood Park, AB Canada

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

WOW

Review submitted: January 22, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

We loved this place! And the owners are just lovely. There were fresh cut flowers in the home when we arrived, binoculars so we could watch the whales, local maps, restaurant recommendations - it felt as if we were staying in my sister's home and she just went out for a few moments.

If you are looking for a warm, lovely home on the water, this is what you want. You can hear the waves during the day, and at night, they help you sleep. The gardens and flowers outside are beautiful. In the gardens in the park across the street we saw and photographed humming birds and seals!

We live on the Gulf of Mexico, this was different with the waves, rocks and seals.

Next time we are in the La Jolla or San Diego area we WILL stay here!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Magical Old World Charm

Review submitted: July 31, 2006   Date of arrival: December 1, 2005

The information which is listed about this property is completely accurate. Overlooking the Pacific Ocean, the cottage is a true paradise for walkers, people-watchers, La Jolla lovers, and ocean-view afficionatos. The cottage is well appointed and beautifully maintained. The property owners are delightful and honest.

Helpful votes: 4 / 9

 

Review submitted: November 20, 2005   Date of arrival: November 20, 2005

As a travel professional, I would highly recommend staying at the beautiful pink cottage overlooking the ocean in La Jolla. Go to sleep listening to the ocean and wake up to hear the waves crashing against the rocks. Every view is water and this is the most comfortable and cozy house we have been to. Laura is a gracious hostess who makes the stay very comfortable. She gives you the key and you are on your own for the week. House is immaculate and the beds very comfortable. A real treat for those who want to vacation in La Jolla overlooking the ocean.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 20, 2005   Date of arrival: November 1, 2005

As a travel professional, I would highly recommend staying at the beautiful pink cottage overlooking the ocean in La Jolla. Go to sleep listening to the ocean and wake up to hear the waves crashing against the rocks. Every view is water and this is the most comfortable and cozy house we have been to. Laura is a gracious hostess who makes the stay very comfortable. She gives you the key and you are on your own for the week. House is immaculate and the beds very comfortable. A real treat for those who want to vacation in La Jolla overlooking the ocean.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 25, 2004   Date of arrival: July 25, 2004

Tomorrow we leave this wonderful house with all of it's history, but we take with us our own memories.
I understand why this place is concidered a piece of heaven on earth.
Thank you for sharing it with us my new friend,
Jo Albright

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 1, 2004   Date of arrival: May 1, 2004

Dear MaryRuth and Laura,
It is time to leave, our suitcases are packed and we have taken our last walk along the coast line. It has been all we hoped for and more. I believe this is a trip my parents will always remember. Thank you for opening your home and hearts to us. It has felt like home from the time we walked through the door. It will be hard to go back to work. I am going to take a picture of the cottage to work on Monday- it will be my "retreat" when I need to escape.
Thanks again!
Cindy Masterson

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 10, 2004   Date of arrival: April 10, 2004

Dear MaryRuth and Laura,
It is time for us to head back to Michigan but this cottage and your gracious hosptality will linger long in our hearts.
This past week has been filled with wonderful La Jolla memories. It has provided us with the perfect spot for our little family reunion.
We hope to return again some day.
Fondly,
Sara Dansky

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 22, 2004   Date of arrival: February 22, 2004

On other trips to LaJolla, we have walked by this cottage and admired the design and the gardens. To pretend to live here while people are ahhing and pointing has been great fun. How we hate to leave! We especially enjoyed meeting Mary Ruth, the owner.
Sandra and Jack Sylvester

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review