reviews for: listing #12487 - Rome, Italy Apartment rental

Summer Discount for Trastevere:: Live Rome like a Roman
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $140 - $180 /nt
    $980 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

Trastevere Treasure!

Review submitted: June 13, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

This apartment exceeded our expectations in every category. The location, the comfort, the spaciousness, the ambience! The owner has created a very special retreat, right on an exciting piazza but so comfortable you hardly want to leave. When you do venture forth, you will easily walk to great restaurants, interesting sights, good local shops & transportation if needed. The owner was easy to deal with, prompt in all transactions & most informative. She arranged for the excellent driver
Roberto to meet us at the airport & let us into the apartment. We definitely want to stay at this Trastevere Treasure again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We lived like a local!

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

There is always a degree of anxiety renting a place to stay that is not 'normal' accommodation such as a hotel. After an exchange of emails with the owner we decided to rent the apartment so we could experience an authentic Rome lifestyle for a few days. Sari (the owner) recommended her preferred limo driver pick us up from the airport and that was the first of many pleasant surprises. We were driven to the apartment by a driver that not only knew exactly where to go but also helped us with our baggage and as we found out later was cheaper than a taxi! We were met by the person who services the apartment and shown where everything is (ask to see the wall safe...it would be impossible to find it without knowing exactly where it is). The apartment has a very welcoming feel and is very comfortable. The piazza where the apartment is located is surrounded by many eateries. The local supermarket is a short walk away and public transport even closer. I totally recommend this wonderful apartment to people wishing to experience a different tourist adventure. As an authentic apartment it is on the 3rd floor with no lift but we enjoyed the exercise of the stairs. Thank you for letting us stay there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect base for exploring Rome February 2014

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

This charming, comfortable one bedroom in Trastevere is perfect for a couple's base in Rome. My husband and I loved the beamed ceilings, the flower boxes, the new, up to date kitchen and bathroom, the quiet bedroom (all the more wonderful as the living room fronts on lively Piazza Sant' Egidio, which is alive with people till late at night). Every wonder of the historic center of Rome was a short walk or bus ride away. We loved stocking our kitchen from the local outdoor market, the local awesome cheese shop, and the local awesome bakeries and wine shops. The kitchen is new, and well equipped for meals at home. And when we ate out, great restaurants were a very short walk away--and a cozy café for morning coffee is right outside the front door. On our one rainy day, we braved the downpours in the morning but loved being able to relax in our own place in the afternoon. So much nicer than a cramped hotel room.

The owner is American and available, accessible, and knowledgeable. She recommended the excellent Roberto to pick us up from and deliver us to the airport. This was our first foray into apartment rental and she could not have made is easier. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great apartment, great location

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: October 7, 2013

We have just returned from a week in Rome staying in this lovely apartment. We were delighted with the apartment and would recommend it wholeheartedly. Already planning our return trip.
The apartment itself is spacious and well appointed - one of the best VRBOs we have stayed in. It is on the first floor, overlooking a small piazza. The location in Trastevere is perfect – removed from the chaos of central Rome, but close enough for easy walking access. Lots of cafes and restaurants, and the area comes alive at night with buskers and people dining out.
The owner was extremely helpful and friendly – from initial booking, through meeting us on arrival, responding to queries during our stay, and even helping organise airport transport on departure.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Apartment in the Trastevere

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

We can not say enough about this apartment. This was our first visit to Rome and we spent eight nights in the Trastevere. The owner arranged for us to be picked up at the airport and arranged for a taxi to take us to the train station at the end of our stay. When we arrived at the apartment we were greeted by the owner's housekeeper. She made sure we had a complete tour of the apartment and answered all our questions. We soon found our way to the bridges and local markets. It was so much fun to live in the old part of Rome. Great restaurants were recommended by the owner as well as sights to visit. We felt very much at home in this well equipped apartment. The rooms were spacious, there was plenty of closet space, plenty of drawer space, a wall safe, there was artwork on the walls, books on the shelves, comfortable furniture and bed, and a fully equipped kitchen. Even though some days were hot we were so glad to come home to the apartment where there were ceiling fans in the bedroom, kitchen and living room as well as air conditioning in the bedroom and kitchen. The owner used to live in this apartment so she knows the area very well and gave us much needed advise as to where to go and what things to see. We are highly recommending this apartment to any couple or single person who want to feel comfortable in a home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great apartment in Rome

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2013

Sari's apartment has all the comforts of home - a real place, lived in by real people (unlike some other rentals we have stayed in that are totally devoid of anything personal.) Books, bathrobes, coffee and juice in the fridge are examples of her thoughtfulness. She arranged transportation to and from the airport- a very good idea, helped with airline reservations and laundry, and met us for coffee at the cafe downstairs. The apt. is roomy and well furnished. Lots of hot water and good water pressure in the small bathroom. A window opens over the bustling Piazza Edigio so you can hear the murmur of the passing crowds and music, but the bedroom is very quiet. Only 1 out of 7 nights were we disturbed by a particularly loud group of tourists. The kitchen is modernized with a working stove, fridge and dishes equipped to cook full meals with food purchased at several local food shops.

The Trastevere neighborhood is amazing - streams of people, tourists and locals, dozens of cafe's, and street performers, restaurants brimming with people even at midnight. It's a joyful scene. The quiet morning times are different but equally interesting as locals stop for a quick coffee with neighbors on their way to work.

Downsides: Two flights of steep stairs to the apt.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Warmth, character and comfort in a central location

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

In the heart of Trastevere, on a little piazza close to Piazza Santa Maria in Trastevere, the apartment is located in a charming square with a "local" feel, enhanced by the Museo Di Roma opposite the apartment and the Ombre Rosse cafe below. Five minutes walk takes you to the Ponte Sisto from where you can access the Campo de' Fiori, Largo Argentina, Piazza Navona and the Corso Vittorio Emanuele.  And the Vatican, Forum, Colosseum and Capitoline museums are all in easy reach.
The apartment is extremely comfortable, warmly furnished with books, artwork and textiles and there are plenty of seating options.  There are easy chairs and sofas in both the sitting room and the kitchen area.   The kitchen is well organised and has a double oven and new five burner stove.  There is a full-sized fridge, microwave and abundant pots, pans, knives, cutlery and crockery, all in good shape.  Both bedroom and bathroom provide plenty of storage options and the bedroom is a large, book-lined space with a comfortable and firm bed, a desk for writing or using the computer, and an easy chair by the window which overlooks the rooftops.  The bathroom has a good shower and usual amenities with a large, well-lit mirror over the vanity unit.  In the sitting room, with the windows open, you can enjoy the hum of people below in the square.  The bedroom, located in the back of the apartment, is a peaceful haven and ensures you get a good night’s rest. Weekly visits from Al and Abigail keep the space immaculately clean and everything is in top-notch condition.
The owner takes good care of her guests and is very quick to respond to any issues or queries.  She is warm, sociable and engaging - and a great authority on Rome, having written both guides and articles on her city. The rental rate is extremely reasonable for the central location and quality of the accommodation.
This is a very liveable place; it is not a sterile and austere rental.  Everything is new, clean and works.  There is central heating for the winter months, and air-conditioning and ceiling fans for summer. Extra touches like bathrobes and hairdryers add a layer of comfort that was much appreciated. Local restaurants in the Via della Scala, your own piazza and the Piazza Santa Maria provide great dining options. The marvellous Glass Hostaria is just around the corner.  Additionally you can enjoy evening drinks at the Antico del Moro and the Caffe della Scala in Trastevere.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

AMAZING!

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: April 3, 2013

My husband and I came to Rome to celebrate our 30th anniversary and always prefer to stay in an apartment/home versus a hotel.

This apartment is in one of the best neighborhoods of Rome, Trastevere, and in a beautiful little plaza very near Plaza Santa Maria. We walked to almost all of Rome and the Vatican ( with comfortable walking shoes!). Because this was home to the owner for almost 20 years, it is very comfortable, well decorated, has a wonderful kitchen, and just feels inviting and a wonderful place to base yourself in Rome! The shower works great with lots of hot water, the bed is very comfortable and the bedroom is very quiet at night. During the day it's fun to watch life unfold on the Plaza.

There are so many restaurants to choose from in the area, as well as many take-out pizza shops. Every morning there's a fresh fruit market 2 blocks away.

The owner was very easy to work with directly and I would highly recommend this apartment!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A wondrous experience

Review submitted: April 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

While I had planned to spend the full month of Feb 2012 in Trastevere, a family health issue at home necessitated that I leave after nearly 3 weeks. I traveled alone, with my family's blessing, to spend some time getting to know myself again. We all have roles in our lives that we fulfill, but we can also lose sight of the core of who we really are. Sari's lovely apt.home as well as enchanting Trastevere offered me a Sanctuary. She is such a lovely person, always helpful and very concerned that you have a true "roman" experience. I walked everywhere (except when I went on a day tour to Pompeii.) I also happened to be there during the "european ice age," which I was not prepared for. I would leave the apt. in the morning with almost everything I had packed to stay warm outside for the day. Everyone I met along my travels were friendly and accomodating, except the people who work in the Farmacia in Piazza di Santa Maria. They are simply rude. I would return in a heartbeat and I would not have Sari change a single thing. It was just a magical experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Great apartment!

Review submitted: December 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 7, 2011

My wife and I, both in our late 50s, stayed here for 11 days in early November and loved it. The location was fantastic, an easy walk across the beautiful Ponte Sisto to the heart of Rome. Plus lots of places to explore in Trastevere, just outside the door. You are really living in Rome when you stay here.

The apartment is spacious (for a couple) and comfortable with a great kitchen that had all the cooking utensils we could need. An outdoor market is just a short walk away and there's a good supermarket close by as well. Also tons of restaurants, night spots and shops.

The owner was more than helpful and we felt well taken care of. She arranged a car for us from and to the airport (which I recommend) and made sure everything was in order when we got there and throughout our stay.

The apartment is up two flights of stairs which could be an issue for some people, although we prefer being up a few floors. There's a great people-watching window in the living room which looks out on the bustling piazza, while the bedroom opens to the back of the building and is very quiet.

Public transportation is not far away and can get you to everywhere you need to go, but the apartment is so well situated that we found it no trouble to walk to most places we were interested in. Just make sure you have a good map because it's easy to get turned around in the twisting streets and piazzas, but of course that's part of the fun.

Our favorite restaurant in Trastevere was about six blocks away called Spirito di Vino. We ate dinner there twice and enjoyed both the food and the family who run it. Its wine cellar is a first century BC Roman ruin of some sort and they'll let you look around down there if you ask.

In sum we were very pleased with the rental and it made our stay in Rome one of the best vacation ever.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 

All true

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

Just a quick note because I'm sure my wife will write a more thorough review. I quickly read the reviews from above and they are all true. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay. I don't think I will ever stay in a hotel again if I can help it.
Sari's apartment is stocked with absolutely everything you could ever ask for in an apartment.
My wife and I just returned last night and plan to return at some point. We will also tell all our friends about it if they ever decide to go to Rome that this is the place to go. Not only is the apartment great, the general area,Trastavere, is so wonderful and, the immediate area the apartment is in is perfectly located close to everything without being so close that the noise is an issue. Trastavere is a kind of large area and not all areas are that charming. This area is in my opinion, the nicest.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

The Perfect Place to Stay

Review submitted: October 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

The apartment and location could not have been more perfect. The owner was helpful; she arranged for her driver to pick us up and was there to meet us and show us around the apartment when we arrived. We wanted an apartment with a kitchen so we could do some eating in and were not disappointed. The kitchen was well equipped, and it was a short walk to a grocery store and a wonderful outdoor market. The apartment itself was comfortable, clean, and spacious; however, the best part about it was the location. It is right behind beautiful Santa Maria in Trastevere; the chiming of the bells and the activity in the piazza only served to increase its charm. In the evening we could watch street performers from our window. The neighborhood is made up of narrow winding streets filled with little shops, cafes, and restaurants. During our stay, we dined only in Trastevere--there were so many wonderful places within a short walk. We chose Le Mani in Pasta, Roma Sparita, Bir e Fud, and Glass. All were enjoyable for various reasons, but our experience at Glass was amazing. We opted for their five-course tasting menu, which is truly worth the splurge. I highly recommend this apartment; I really cannot imagine a better place to stay in Rome.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad Kelly and Robert enjoyed the apartment and the neighborhood. Although I had no doubt that they would. The neighborhood where I have lived now for over 30 years, is has a real attraction for young people who find the evening activity stimulating and intriguing and often feel no need to venture far afield, especially if the visit is a relatively short one. Furthermore, although the neighborhood is often really jumping, during the summer and in particular on weekend, everyone who has stayed in the apartment agrees that the bedroom is as quiet as can be and allows you to always enjoy a good night's sleep. For those, like me (I now live a block away) who are not so interested in clubbing, and who go out to eat less frequently, the neighborhood is a real delight in the mornings when the area is populated primarily by locals out for their morning cappuccino and cornetto. But come and see for yourselves.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Lived Like a Rman

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 18, 2011

Fantastic apartment well located. Walk everywhere. Sari provided us with great contacts (Michael's walking tour was enlightening) and direction making this a very memorable experience. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Perfect location, great neighborhood, fully equipped apartment

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 25, 2011

Enjoyed my stay at this unit in Trastevere. The pictures and description by the owner is absolutely accurate. Apartment is located close to the river and in a very lively neighborhood. A quick walk across the Sisto bridge to the Pantheon, Trevi fountain, historic center, etc. The 271 bus (near the bridge) took us directly to the Colosseum and Roman Forum within minutes. Didn't trek to the Vatican from there, but it is not a far walk for those who are mobile or a bus ride for those who are less mobile (bus pickup and drop off are along the river close to the apartment). Apartment was clean and had everything we needed for cooking. Plenty of linens provided. Having staying in various other spots in Rome, this neighborhood was by far the most appealing. Walking around was nice. Tons of restaurants. A large grocery store (Billa) is not too far away if you prefer to cook. Plenty of shopping... I really enjoyed getting lost on all the little streets, especially that the streets were geared for pedestrian traffic over automobiles. I would definitely stay again if I ever return to Rome.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: To be honest, most people who stay at the S. Egidio apartment fall in love with it AND with the neighborhood, Trastevere, where I have lived ever since coming here to live. The neighborhood is lively at night, but during the day it gives you a chance to experience life in a charming, slow-paced Roman neighborhood which is almost a village.
I know Louise enjoyed the apartment because I had an occasion to meet her, but many people are even more enthusiastic about the kitchen, saying it is one of the best-equipped they have found in a rental apartment in Italy. Del and Eve, who left the other day, were amazed that the knives in the apartment were so sharp. I try to keep the place more or less as it was when I lived there. But since I am a bit compulsive, if somone remarks on anything missing or in any way falling short (like the knives being a bit dull), I take care of it immediately.
Since the beginning of this year, I have made several improvements. New frying pans, a gorgeous new (black) cooking range with SIX burners, new lampshades. an extra, new floor lamp for better lighting in the living room and .... I think that's it, but I will soon be changing the windows, putting in double-glazed glass and a new CD player. It is a really comfy place. Come and see for yourselves!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Bellissimo!!

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 8, 2010

This apartment was not only exactly as advertised but had so many more added features.

Sari,the owner, was fantastic and it was our pleasure & honor to meet her. The

apartment was immaculate, fresh linens, towels, tons of closet space and drawers. The

kitchen had more than you could image of pots,pans & utensils! The laptop was a great

feature for emailing family. The location couldn't have been more fantastic! The Piazza

St Egidio below us was bustling with the beautiful sounds of Italian children & adults

in the morning off to work & school. At night it came alive with music and residence

and tourist alike off to dinning and walking about. You can reach all the sights that you

may have on your wish list from this apartment, transporations are at your fingertips. I

would highly recommend this apartment to everyone. It is your home away from home

and then some. The best also, is Sari's added personal touches, to make you feel

comfortable and relaxed on your vacation. The area has great resturants and minutes

away from shops & markets. I was hesitate to write a GREAT review on this apartment

in fear that when we want to return - it would be booked! My advise is, if you are going

to Rome, do not pass this apartment up. It truly is a rare gem and you do Live Rome

Like A Roman! To my favorite landlady, "Thank You" for making our trip to Rome

even more memorable!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Bellissimo!

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 8, 2010

This apartment was not only exactly as advertised but had so many more added features. Sari,the owner, was fantastic and it was our pleasure & honor to meet her. The apartment was immaculate, fresh linens, towels, tons of closet space and drawers. The kitchen had more than you could image of pots,pans & utensils! The laptop was a great feature for emailing family. The location couldn't have been more fantastic! The Piazza St Egidio below us was bustling with the beautiful sounds of Italian children & adults in the morning off to work & school. At night it came alive with music and residence and tourist alike off to dinning and walking about. You can reach all the sights that you may have on your wish list from this apartment, transporations are at your fingertips. I would highly recommend this apartment to everyone. It is your home away from home and then some. The best also, is Sari's added personal touches, to make you feel comfortable and relaxed on your vacation. The area has great resturants and minutes away from shops & markets. I was hesitate to write a GREAT review on this apartment in fear that when we want to return - it would be booked! My advise is, if you are going to Rome, do not pass this apartment up. It truly is a rare gem and you do Live Rome Like A Roman! To my favorite landlady, "Thank You" for making our trip to Rome even more memorable!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A perfect apartment in Rome

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2009

We have stayed at the "Live Rome like a Roman" apartment overlooking Piazza S. Egidio in Trastevere 3 times since we discovered it in 2005, and we've just made reservations for another stay there in April 2011. The location is terrific, just a block to Trastevere's main piazza and a short walk across the Tiber to Campo dei Fiori and the other delights of Rome's historic center. The Colosseum and the Pantheon are within walking distance, and public transportation is also nearby (as well as countless cafes, restaurants, pizzerias, shops, etc.). The apartment itself is accurately portrayed here on its VRBO web site, although we were still pleasantly surprised by many of its features.
The bedroom is spacious, with a good bed, huge closets with lots of hangars, a dresser, and a comfortable chair by the phone -- PLUS books galore and blissful quiet at night. The living room is attractively furnished, with satellite TV and a great view of the endlessly-changing
action in Piazza S. Egidio. And the kitchen is probably the best we've had in years of renting apartments and houses in Italy and France: full-size major appliances, an abundance of small appliances, ample granite counter space, and a chair and sofa nearby so the cook doesn't have to work in isolation. The apartment offers that rare combination of being comfortable, cozy and "homey" without feeling cluttered by the owner's possessions. The owner, co-author of the National Geographic Traveler's guide to Rome, is the perfect landlady, willing to share her knowledge and love of Rome -- and extraordinarily helpful and concerned when a serious eye injury caused a problem for us during our stay in Rome. I don't think a couple can find a better apartment or a nicer landlady in all of Rome.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Review submitted: September 30, 2009   Date of arrival: September 30, 2009

Central location in Trastevere is absolutely PERFECT. Everything is just outside your door. The apartment is charming and ideal for 1-2 people - and worth the 2 story walk-up. Besides, the owner is as charming as the apartment and helpful in every way.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review