reviews for: listing #12498 - Mission Beach, California Condo rental

Oceanfront Surfrider condo! Floor to Ceiling Ocean Views!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  SurfRider
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $600 /nt
    $1,500 - $4,000 /wk

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 29, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

Where do I start. Brett was professional during the entire process of renting the unit and everything he promised went exactly as planned. For the unit itself, the pictures do not do it justice. To start with, it is one of the few rentals that will accommodate my Expedition in the parking space with out taking off the outside mirror’s. Inside, the place is even more gorgeous then the pictures. The slate floors, granite counters and stainless appliances make this seem like a luxury house. The place is well equipped and all of our needs were filled. The grounds of the complex are kept immaculate by the grounds crew who clean every morning. The view from the master bedroom/family room/patio cannot be beat. During our stay all of the other residents we met were friendly and courteous and having just as much fun as we were. I have stayed in other rental properties on Mission Beach but this out shines them by far. I would highly recommend this property to anyone planning a vacation to San Diego.

The Long Family

Owners response: Thanks to all in the Long family for respecting the property, and for this gracious comment.
Of course, you are welcome back anytime.
Brett

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Envy of the Whole Beach

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

If you are looking for a place on Mission Beach, this is your place! From the quick responses to the ongoing communication, Brett was professional and a pleasure to deal with.

The condo is exceptional; right on the Oceanfront. Te whole week we were there, we would hear numerous people every day and night walk by and comment on how impressive the Surf Rider complex is. The layout of the property is wider than just about everything on the beach allowing you to really spread out, inside or out.

Great people watching, access to the beach, and a market close by that has just about everything you would need. We would recommend this condo to anyone looking for a top-notch experience at Mission Beach.

Owners response: Thanks Jeff for the Great review!
We have a like minded perspective of the properties unique attributes.
I hope you and your family will come back next year!
Enjoy the rest of the Summer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Views. Perfect location.

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

What a great location! The views from the condo are absolutely spectacular!! Waking up and watching the dolphins in the waves is something I will never forget. Traveling with our teenagers, the condo afforded plenty of space for everyone. My husband and I could sit in the living room, on the patio, or walk on the boardwalk while the kids slept in. That was priceless.

Day trips to everywhere in San Diego were very easy with this location. And the parking spot, wow, I had no idea what a necessity that is in this part of the city. We ventured out daily to see places like Coronado, La Jolla, The Midway museum, and so much more. Dinners we spent in Little Italy, the Gaslamp District, and in Pacific Beach. We did do some grocery shopping at Ralph's, so we could stay in for breakfast and lunch. All that said, if you never left Mission Beach and this condo, you would be very happy.

The complex had a very friendly little community, yet was private. We loved the hot tub to watch the sunsets over the ocean. Simply amazing.

The condo was well appointed and the pictures are very accurate. The owner of the condo was very helpful and provided all we needed before we arrived. There was no need to contact him about anything.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat. In fact, I am ready to go back today. This condo is good for anyone, couples, families, or friends. It would be hard to not enjoy yourself here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: May 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2012

We loved the Condo. It was very, very nice. Just as described and pictured but better! Owner was great to work with -very accommodating.. It was our first trip to San Diego and we really enjoyed ourselves. Did a lot of sightseeing, ate at wonderful restaurants and enjoyed the people watching on the boardwalk. Hope we are able to return.

Thanks again! Would highly recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Wendy & Darrell,
I hope you are able to return as well.
Your words are highly appreciated.
Brett

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Where Do We Begin

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Where do we begin? We have a vacation rental ourselves and the one issue we promised never to do, was to embelish on its description. We wanted our guests to be "taken aback" when they opened the door and not disappointed. It seemed that Bretts description of the Surfrider condo was almost to good to be true. But when we opened the door - we were taken aback! Everything from the spectacular ocean view, upgraded bedding, high-end appliances and 42" LCD HDTV and so much more, was just as described. Our family just had to step out of the condo and skateboarded, biked, flew kites, played volleyball, soccer and jogged our time away. It was a truly blessed time together. A must for a family vacation! Thanks Again, Brett !

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words!
I would love to welcome the Engels back anytime.!
Brett

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best view and location on the boardwalk!

Review submitted: November 9, 2011   Date of arrival: October 5, 2011

The views from the master bedroom and living room are amazing! I loved the location as we were in the middle of the action and could easily walk to the surrounding shops and restaurants. Large patio facing the beach expanded the living space making this condo extra special. Hot tub is one of a kind on the boardwalk and the tv is connected to a projector for an alternative movie style experience! Very cool! Thanks Brett!

Owners response: Thanks Shawna for the great review.
It is always nice when people appreciate the details that make this property unique.
Isn't it great to relax in the hot tub with such a great panoramic view of the ocean, beach and boardwalk?
I hope you enjoyed watching the dolphins, pelicans and other seabirds diving, and the surfers while relaxing in the Master bedroom and living room.
I personally love the privacy while enjoying the view from the Master bedroom.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the 100" high definition projection tv.
Please come back soon!
Brett

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Long Tradition Continues - Better than Ever

Review submitted: July 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

Having enjoyed the Surfrider for over 45 years with family and friends, each year keeps getting better and better. Our kids were worried our favorite family vacation spot would not be available after having been completely renovated several years ago. Thank goodness owners like Brett have welcomed visitors to the Surfrider as it is without a doubt the nicest accommodation on the boardwalk. We have been fortunate to stay in Brett's unit for the past three years and can't wait to arrive for our fourth. Brett has been a pleasure to work with and has always had the unit in excellent condition for our arrival. The amenities are second to none and the views out the front windows will leave you thinking of how beautiful Mission Beach is long after you have departed for home.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Wow what a nice review Bryan!
Thanks for the kind words.
I hope you and your family will continue this great tradition. Mission beach is pretty hard to beat and your comments explain why quite nicely.
Have another great vacation!
Brett

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

location, location, location

Review submitted: February 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 30, 2011

Just stayed there for 5 nights and it was terrific. The view (and one-way glass) was awesome. Having a high quality matress was also nice as well as the hot tub. We'll be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Steve!
I am happy that you appreciate the Ocean view from every room and the one way glass (exclusive to this unit) as much as I do.
I hope you enjoyed the HD projector 100 inch screen viewing as well.
The overall combination of features,view and location is pretty hard to beat isn't it.
Please come back anytime!
Brett

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 12, 2009   Date of arrival: December 12, 2009

Brett, thank you so much for sharing your beautiful
condo with us. We had a great time, and found it
just the perfect spot. Our sons loved the location,
the hot tub, and the electronic system. We loved
the privacy of the master, with a view of the ocean.
We are considering a return trip this summer. Also,
we appreciate your picking us up and taking us to
the right address. Jeri Nowakowski

Owners response: Thanks Jeri for making such gracious comments. I will look forward to your return. Happy Holidays!
Brett

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great View Great Location at Surfrider

Review submitted: May 21, 2009   Date of arrival: May 4, 2009

Visited first week of May 2009. This was our first trip to San Deigo and enjoyed very much. This property had a great view, in a very good location and in good shape. The owner Brett was great to work with and very helpful. The condo is located about in the middle of the island with the ocean right in front of you and the bay only one block over. There is covered parking is within a few feet of your condo door. There is a large grocery store about a quarter mile down the road and a small individual store with neccessities, right across the street. Your only about 10 to 15 mins. from the airport and downtown San Deigo Bay. There is lots to see and do in all directions and within 10 mins to an hour drive. Should you wish to just stay around the condo, it's relaxing to just sit back and listen to the waves, watch the surfers and it's entertaining to just watch the people going up and down the walkway. Or, you can walk, skate, skateboard or ride a bike on the walkway the whole length of the island. Come back and grill out, watch the sun set, then sit in the hot tub. Depending on the temperature, it's neat to sit on the patio with the fireplace going. There were not a lot of units rented while we were there, so it was kind of like having our own private place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 9, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Just want to thank Brett for a wonderful, long needed vacation. We were totally content to sit by the fire and watch the interesting characters roll by! Had two 15 year old girls that were completely entertained by cruising and posing at the beach. Never had any desire to leave except to ride bikes and fetch burritos! Beautiful condo with great amenities! Hope to visit again in the very near future! Thanks!

Owners response: Hello to the Martens! I hope you will come again soon. We will all go to Romero's for some Carne Asada.
Muy Bueno!
Sincerely,
Brett Gilner

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 23, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

We stayed in this unit from Feb 18 to 22 2009 and had the time of our lives. This is the first accommodation we have stayed in where the actual place was better than the pictures.Also hats off to Robert the caretaker of the property. We can hardly wait to go back as we plan to make this our home away from home while in San Diego.

Thanks for everything Brett

The Johnson Family Moose Jaw Saskatchewan Canada

Owners response: I will let Robert know of your praise.
We are fortunate to have his services.
Thank You Johnson Family for the gracious comments.
Sincerely,
Brett Gilner

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful

Review submitted: February 2, 2009   Date of arrival: January 8, 2009

Our surfrider stay was amazing. Perfect location, layout, and amenities! Brett provided excellent customer service and made our stay that much more appealing! I have already recommended this place to friends & family! The unit is steps away from the beach. Can't beat it! Look forward to going back soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 14, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

The BEST place on the beach. Amazing accommodations, centrally located, wonderful hot-
tub. Great for kids and adults. We loved our vacation
and we will return!
Thanks

Owners response: Thank you Suzi for your gracious words.
Please come again soon!
You are always welcome!
Brett Gilner

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 14, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

The Surfrider condo that Brett owns is exactly as advertised: perfect location, perfect view, first rate amenities and an
excellent vacation getaway. My wife and our 2 daughters always utilize vacation rentals for our vacations, and this is the
first time we've gone to the same property twice. That's how much we enjoyed it. You can't do better than this for a first
class vacation from a first class provider.

Owners response: Thank you Todd!
With so many options for vacationers these days it really means alot to me when I have repeat guests. I hope your 3rd visit is even more enjoyable with the recent upgrades.
Happy Holidays to the Buckton's.
Sincerely,
Brett Gilner

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 14, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

Our time aat the Surfrider was wonderful, the Condo had everything and more. Lots of fun things like a beautiful "big" screen TV. Lovely patio and wonderful large one way windows to watch the people strolling, skating and riding down the boardwalk.

It was a great 4 nights for all of us.
Brett was there to greet us and there when we got ready to leave, which was very much appreciated.
Sincerely,
Dick & Judy Wakeman

Owners response: I love your comments.
Thank you Dick & Judy!
Please come back anytime!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 29, 2006   Date of arrival: June 29, 2006

Where do I start. Brett was professional during the entire process of renting the unit and everything he promised went exactly as planned. For the unit itself, the pictures do not do it justice. To start with, it is one of the few rentals that will accommodate my Expedition in the parking space with out taking off the outside mirror’s. Inside, the place is even more gorgeous then the pictures. The slate floors, granite counters and stainless appliances make this seem like a luxury house. The place is well equipped and all of our needs were filled. The grounds of the complex are kept immaculate by the grounds crew who clean every morning. The view from the master bedroom/family room/patio cannot be beat. During our stay all of the other residents we met were friendly and courteous and having just as much fun as we were. I have stayed in other rental properties on Mission Beach but this out shines them by far. I would highly recommend this property to anyone planning a vacation to San Diego.The Long Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 4, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

When we found this unit on VRBO, we were a little worried that the pictures were too good to be true. We were very pleased to find that the unit and surrounding area are just as beautiful as you described. The hot tub, boardwalk and private patio all added to the amazing view of the ocean that we enjoyed every day. And the people watching is awesome. We loved the looks on their faces as they admired "our condo". And your neighbors were wonderful as well. We have recommended your place to all our friends and hope to make a return trip. Thanks for a wonderful vacation.

Owners response: It makes me extremely happy to know that people are enjoying the surfrider condo as much as I do when staying there. Thanks to Great people like the Parsons, more people will be tempted to live like James Bond, if only for a week. Thank you, Brett

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 19, 2005   Date of arrival: September 1, 2005

Brett, the condo was magnificent. We truly enjoyed our stay - the luxury, the weather, the VIEWS...it just doesn't get any better than the Surfrider. Our teens really enjoyed themselves too, they said it was the best trip ever and now want to move there. It proved to be the perfect vacation for us, we relaxed while they kept active learning how to surf and boogie board, they walked to the amusement park, shopped, hot tubbed, sunned etc. Hope to be back soon. Vince & Judy Kubala

Owners response: Hello to the Kubala's,
Thank you for you kind words. I am glad you enjoyed the Surfrider. It was a pleasure meeting all of you. I hope to see you all again next year, if not sooner.
Sincerely,
Brett Gilner

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review