reviews for: listing #12541 - Mission Beach, California House rental

Mission Bch Cottage 2br/3br with 2nd house call (specials)
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,300 - $1,600 /wk

sort by:

Great location and value, very friendly owner/host

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

My wife and children and I stayed here for 5 nights and we all loved it. It's not the fanciest place in MB and it's not right on the boardwalk, but it is a cute and clean little place, priced right for what it is, and was just what we were looking for. It's only about a 1 minute walk from the beach and 1 minute from Belmont Park, which is great for families (if you have kids, I recommend taking them here one day and buying the unlimited wristband so they can get their fill). If you're familiar with Luigis Pizza (delicious!), this place is literally right next door. The owner and his family were very friendly. When we were there, they were staying in the next door unit, which shares one patio in between the units and then another patio in the front. They didn't invade our privacy at all and I don't think they stay there for most of the summer when they rent out both units. Their kids were also very friendly and got along very well with our children. One morning our kids woke up before us and went out to the patio and the owners made them some chocolate chip pancakes, which our kids swore were the best pancakes EVER! We all loved the boat ride too and you'd probably have to pay around $100 just for that if you were to buy it separately for a family of four. They also provided 4 bikes and some boogie boards, which also saves you a lot of money on rentals. If you are looking for a nice getaway right next to the ocean and all the action of Mission Beach, you will not be disappointed. The only negative things I can think of are that the parking in back is pretty tight especially if you drive a long vehicle - we could just barely fit our Traverse in the spot, and it's a little smelly in the alley if you go in and out through that entrance because it's shared with the restaurants next door, but you can just use the other entrance if it bothers you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Great location and value, excellent owner/host

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

My wife and children and I stayed here for 5 nights and we all loved it. It's not the fanciest place in MB and it's not right on the boardwalk, but it is a cute and clean little place, priced right for what it is, and was just what we were looking for. It's only about a 1 minute walk from the beach and 1 minute from Belmont Park, which is great for families (if you have kids, I recommend taking them here one day and buying the unlimited wristband so they can get their fill). If you're familiar with Luigis Pizza (delicious!), this place is literally right next door. The owner and his family were very friendly. When we were there, they were staying in the next door unit, which shares one patio in between the units and then another patio in the front. They didn't invade our privacy at all and I don't think they stay there for most of the summer when they rent out both units. Their kids were also very friendly and got along very well with our children. One morning our kids woke up before us and went out to the patio and the owners made them some chocolate chip pancakes, which our kids swore were the best pancakes EVER! We all loved the boat ride too and you'd probably have to pay around $100 just for that if you were to buy it separately for a family of four. They also provided 4 bikes and some boogie boards, which also saves you a lot of money on rentals. If you are looking for a nice getaway right next to the ocean and all the action of Mission Beach, you will not be disappointed. The only negative things I can think of are that the parking in back is pretty tight especially if you drive a long vehicle - we could just barely fit our Traverse in the spot, and it's a little smelly in the alley if you go in and out through that entrance because it's shared with the restaurants next door, but you can just use the other entrance if it bothers you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

What a charming place!

Review submitted: July 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

Up until now we've usually stayed at hotels. But this year we decided to try something different and rent something. I was a little nervous at first.

However, the owner of this home really went the extra mile with hospitality and a charming little place. The location is excellent, and everything we needed included.

My wife and 5 year old son felt very at home thanks to this rental, and we had a fantastic time. Too bad we couldn't do soemthing about the clouds all week..

We'd definately come back again. The home was clean, and I've never received such nice treatment. I can't wait to come back.

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for coming to our cottage it was nice meeting you and your family. Its great having families like yours staying at our rentals and having fun even though we didn't have much sun. We hope you can come and stay again.
Dennis

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

great location

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

We enjoyed this rental and its close proximity to the beach and all other attractions. The owner is very easy to work with and the property is in excellent condition. We wuld go back in a heartbeat!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks Susan
It was great having you and your family at our rental. We enjoyed giving you the boat ride and having the chance to visit with you. Having families like yours is what makes it enjoyable for us also. Thank you.
Dennis

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review