reviews for: listing #12541 - Mission Beach, California House rental

Mission Bch Cottage 2br/3br with 2nd house call (specials)
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,300 - $1,600 /wk

sort by:

Great location and value, very friendly owner/host

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

My wife and children and I stayed here for 5 nights and we all loved it. It's not the fanciest place in MB and it's not right on the boardwalk, but it is a cute and clean little place, priced right for what it is, and was just what we were looking for. It's only about a 1 minute walk from the beach and 1 minute from Belmont Park, which is great for families (if you have kids, I recommend taking them here one day and buying the unlimited wristband so they can get their fill). If you're familiar with Luigis Pizza (delicious!), this place is literally right next door. The owner and his family were very friendly. When we were there, they were staying in the next door unit, which shares one patio in between the units and then another patio in the front. They didn't invade our privacy at all and I don't think they stay there for most of the summer when they rent out both units. Their kids were also very friendly and got along very well with our children. One morning our kids woke up before us and went out to the patio and the owners made them some chocolate chip pancakes, which our kids swore were the best pancakes EVER! We all loved the boat ride too and you'd probably have to pay around $100 just for that if you were to buy it separately for a family of four. They also provided 4 bikes and some boogie boards, which also saves you a lot of money on rentals. If you are looking for a nice getaway right next to the ocean and all the action of Mission Beach, you will not be disappointed. The only negative things I can think of are that the parking in back is pretty tight especially if you drive a long vehicle - we could just barely fit our Traverse in the spot, and it's a little smelly in the alley if you go in and out through that entrance because it's shared with the restaurants next door, but you can just use the other entrance if it bothers you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Wonderful experience and the BEST location

Review submitted: August 26, 2014   Date of arrival: August 10, 2014

We had such a wonderful experience working with Dennis and his wife. Both very nice and pleasant, provided us with great accommodation and friendly environment. The house is located in the heart of Mission Beach, we absolutely loved it. We could walk to everything and it was so convenient. Short walk to the beach through a beautiful alley (maybe a minute away) and right across the street from Belmont park, which we love visiting. Restaurants, shops, Starbucks and pizzeria next door....what else can you ask for. The inside of the house was clean and had all we needed, the front patio is gorgeous and they provide with all the beach gear you may need. Our kids loved all the sand toys and boogie boards. I highly recommend it and looking forward to spending more summer vacations there. Thank you

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Buyer Beware

Review submitted: July 24, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2014

If you are looking to rent this property, I would quickly move to the next listing. It is not as depicted in the photos and reviews (note only 1 from 2014, 3 total). The courtyard area is a "common" area which is only available if the front occupant is not there. It is situated between a bar and restaurant on the bedroom side, making sleep impossible until the wee hours of the morning. Parking and entry are in a filthy alley occupied by unsavory characters, we witnessed drug transactions, and woke to find someone urinating next to our car. This was rented to celebrate my 50th birthday with my family, so the 1st day the courtyard was used for a party (11 people, two babies, and homeless people who sit on the wall not shown across the courtyard in the picture). Afterward most of the people left and our children stayed behind (6 adults and 2 babies). We were to enjoy the beach for the rest of the week as a family. Our children left, fearing it was unsafe for their families. We were told we had to strip the linens and wash them upon leaving, which I promptly started to do. When I removed the linens from the beds they were sleeping in I couldn't believe the filthy mattress hidden underneath, it look as though it was taken from the dirty alley outside the front door. The view by the way out of the entry door is dumpsters, oil recycling units, and trash. The occupants of the front cottage arrived at 10 pm and promptly checked out at 7:00 am the next morning, as appalled as we were with the place. We asked for a refund for the remainder of the trip and were told NO, as we had more than the 6 people allowed sleeping there (we had exactly 6 adults and 2 babies) and that it was "too late to re-rent it for the week." Now I understand why payment in full is expected before arrival. P.S. we were told that they are knocking down the place after the summer season (feel like we were duped in order to fund the new project).

Owners response: Response to 8861193 Buyer Beware: I’ m sorry this property was not to your expectations. This was a surprise from your daughter, so I never talked to you before you arrived and didn’t know what your expectations were. When I talked to your daughter and the information I received from her that there were going to be 5 adults and one child staying, I felt very comfortable that it would work for you. A lot of the things you’re saying are just not true. They said they had 6 people and 2 children sleeping over night, they had others in the house during the day, which is more than the house was made for. The front area is a common area. I don’t know where she got the idea that she couldn’t use it if someone was in the front house. I told her daughter they needed to respect the other renters, so that both houses could use the front area. I have talked to other renters that stayed here and noise has not been an issue. I am in the house now writing this, its 10 pm on a Friday night with the back door open and there is no noise except for Sea World fire works. I never told her mother to strip the beds or do laundry. Her daughter said she would do that if I took off the cleaning fee, which I did. The mattresses on the beds are not new but far from being dirty. We just checked them the only spot is an iron burn, nothing else. These statements, along with a letter she left at the house stating we had exposed wires and it is a fire hazard, are not true. There is a cable for the TV and cords that are plugged into the outlet, normal for any house. She also stated and I quote, “Your satellite TV was shut off from lack of payment I assume.” My satellite TV was not shut off they had the two remotes switched. This shows me she was looking for anything to get some money back. She complained about the homeless person sitting on the other side of the walkway, but when they were in the front yard the mother gave him a plate of food. That surely will get him to go away, it did give her something more to complain about. Clearly she had a problem with something, but I think if her daughter had chosen a bigger place where her entire family could of stayed and been comfortable in, she wouldn’t be looking so hard to find something to complain about. No doubt she wanted a luxury unit, but I rented this to her daughter. I never said this was a large luxury unit but a clean modest rental. Read the other reviews. PS This weeks renters very happy with the rental looking to come back

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location and value, excellent owner/host

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

My wife and children and I stayed here for 5 nights and we all loved it. It's not the fanciest place in MB and it's not right on the boardwalk, but it is a cute and clean little place, priced right for what it is, and was just what we were looking for. It's only about a 1 minute walk from the beach and 1 minute from Belmont Park, which is great for families (if you have kids, I recommend taking them here one day and buying the unlimited wristband so they can get their fill). If you're familiar with Luigis Pizza (delicious!), this place is literally right next door. The owner and his family were very friendly. When we were there, they were staying in the next door unit, which shares one patio in between the units and then another patio in the front. They didn't invade our privacy at all and I don't think they stay there for most of the summer when they rent out both units. Their kids were also very friendly and got along very well with our children. One morning our kids woke up before us and went out to the patio and the owners made them some chocolate chip pancakes, which our kids swore were the best pancakes EVER! We all loved the boat ride too and you'd probably have to pay around $100 just for that if you were to buy it separately for a family of four. They also provided 4 bikes and some boogie boards, which also saves you a lot of money on rentals. If you are looking for a nice getaway right next to the ocean and all the action of Mission Beach, you will not be disappointed. The only negative things I can think of are that the parking in back is pretty tight especially if you drive a long vehicle - we could just barely fit our Traverse in the spot, and it's a little smelly in the alley if you go in and out through that entrance because it's shared with the restaurants next door, but you can just use the other entrance if it bothers you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

What a charming place!

Review submitted: July 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

Up until now we've usually stayed at hotels. But this year we decided to try something different and rent something. I was a little nervous at first.

However, the owner of this home really went the extra mile with hospitality and a charming little place. The location is excellent, and everything we needed included.

My wife and 5 year old son felt very at home thanks to this rental, and we had a fantastic time. Too bad we couldn't do soemthing about the clouds all week..

We'd definately come back again. The home was clean, and I've never received such nice treatment. I can't wait to come back.

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for coming to our cottage it was nice meeting you and your family. Its great having families like yours staying at our rentals and having fun even though we didn't have much sun. We hope you can come and stay again.
Dennis

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

great location

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

We enjoyed this rental and its close proximity to the beach and all other attractions. The owner is very easy to work with and the property is in excellent condition. We wuld go back in a heartbeat!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks Susan
It was great having you and your family at our rental. We enjoyed giving you the boat ride and having the chance to visit with you. Having families like yours is what makes it enjoyable for us also. Thank you.
Dennis

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review