reviews for: listing #12561 - Ocean Beach, California House rental

San Diego Beach House
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $325 /nt
    $1,950 - $2,650 /wk
    $5,150 - $5,650 /mth

sort by:

Better than expected! Photos don't provide full justice.

Review submitted: July 16, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

Simply put...we'd rent this again and again. Came to town reconnecting with a lot of family (some local, some not). This home is EXCELLENTLY located to all you need in OB, especially Dog Beach. We didn't even need a car, and the few days we had one, street parking was easily available (rare in OB).
The yard was perfect for entertaining, and enjoyed by all ages ( tiki bar and Jacuzzi was a hit!) The only thing I'd change about this property is having access to the yard from top living space and kitchen. Currently your only access from kitchen/living to yard is going down interior stairs through master bedroom or side walkway. ( not that big of a deal )
Home is also pretty well equipped with bbq, bikes, boogie boards, beach chairs ect., but could use some extra bedding and towels ( including beach towels). Left that note for owner, and know they will take it to heart as the owner/ property mgr. was so nice and easy to work with. I can tell they REALLY care about patrons enjoying their stay. If this property is available, snatch it up, snatch it up quick! You will not be disappointed. Until next time...Aloha!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time

Review submitted: July 9, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

What a beautiful house. We had a great week enjoying this amazing place. Very easy walk to the beach. We even rode our bikes over to mission beach. We LOVE Ocean Beach, all the local shops and restaurants. Off street parking and for the exception of the 4th of July we had NO problem. Michael even saved us a spot on arrival since OB was having a festival. We needed for nothing in the house, boogie boards where not the small cheap ones most places offer. Had we known the quality of bookie boards, umbrella, bikes and beach chairs we would have had a much smaller load. The loft was a great spot for older kids, tv, music and the best view in all of OB!! We enjoyed watching the sea world fireworks every night. Jacuzzi was a special treat at the end of a beach day. The only hung I would say to be aware of is you will be up/down stairs a lot. It was not an issue for anyone but grandma who came with us. Having bathroom on bottom floor was difficult for her. Also the second bathroom only has a bath( no shower), but they do have a heated shower outside. So to get all of us showered and out the door required some outside showering. Communication was amazing, and I received my deposit 3 days after being home!!! This is an amazing place...our only wish is we could bring the dog to play with us!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Celebrating in Style

Review submitted: June 20, 2014   Date of arrival: April 18, 2014

Michael,

My family and I are so grateful to be able to stay at your amazing home! We had such a wonderful time and felt so blessed to be able to share the experience with our daughter. As you know she graduated from college and is now on her way to Officer Candidate School for the Navy. Thank you also for extending to us the 10% military discount - it made the difference between staying on the beach in style or staying in a boring hotel!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mamas and Babies Trip

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 27, 2014

My girlfriends and I, with our clan of kiddos had a great time at this beach house. Great location to swim in the lagoon or the ocean and close by downtown, Sea World etc. The house had every amenity we could have needed as well as a wonderful backyard to enjoy. The view from the deck is amazing! The decor was nice and clean. Street parking only, but there was usually spaces nearby. Mike the owner was helpful with any question or concern we had.
We had a great time and would definitely go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Kim

Review submitted: May 6, 2014   Date of arrival: April 26, 2014

The house was perfect for our extended family. Great location right on the walking trail to the main beach, great view of the ocean. The back yard with hot tub was wonderful when the ocean breeze was cool. We had fun checking out local restaurants, sites, tide pools and the beach. We would love to come back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ocean Beach House Elegance

Review submitted: April 11, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

Who could ask for anything more? I don't normally write reviews, but this property is such a value!! Perfectly located in the heart of Ocean Beach. The second floor has a breathtaking view of the ocean and the Sea World fireworks show. The backyard leads you straight to the beach. Walking distance to a plethora of great restaurants such as 3rd Corner, Bo Beau, O'Bistro, OB Noodle House, etc. Also, walking distance to all the entertainment you can ask for on Newport Ave. The property itself has all the amenities including jacuzzi hot tub and a palapa bar in the backyard. Bikes are provided for a scenic cruise to Sunset Cliffs. The manager, Michael, was more like a concierge and promptly responsive to any questions I had which made the whole experience smooth and enjoyable. I would truly recommend this rental property to any and everyone. What an experience!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

We were in San Diego for Spring Break and stayed at this property. The location was great! It was conveniently located to everything from the beach to sightseeing to restaurants. It is also really convenient to get to and from the airport. The kitchen was well supplied. There was plenty of room for everybody. We enjoyed our stay, particularly after our lousy winter in the Midwest!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Do not rent if you expect your deposit back

Review submitted: February 1, 2014   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

My sister rented this house for my wedding back in August of 2013. Upon her arrival she found nail clippings in the drawer and the cleaning people were still there finishing up (or as she mentioned "talking on cell phones and doing very little to hurry up"). We did not allow any wedding guests in the house on the day of the ceremony. Michael is claiming there were spots on the carpet that needed to be cleaned. Says he has photos. I am looking forward to seeing said photos and am still wondering why so many months later this situation has not been remedied. Shouldn't she have been sent an invoice/receipt of cleaning fees and the rest of her deposit by now. Very disappointed in how he has chosen to treat our very special day. A note: the house smelled a bit of mold, especially in the master bedroom where I got ready for my big day. Sad to say that a local Obecian took our money and refuses to honestly return the deposit. Be Aware!!!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Excellent choice for a vacation rental

Review submitted: December 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

This house in Ocean Beach is an excellent value. The location alone is perfect. It backs up right onto a path that leads to the beach. It's within walking distance to anything you need and Newport Avenue where there's lots of restaurants, bars and shops. If you're lucky enough to be there on a Wednesday afternoon/evening, please do yourself a favor and check out the farmer's market. The house itself is overall great. There's a few nitpicking things, but they're so minute that they don't matter. The view from the house is outstanding. It has a fireplace, which we really never needed even in Nov./Dec. because the weather was so nice. An extra bonus is the shower/jacuzzi in the backyard. The manager, Michael was nothing short of excellent in answering our questions or meeting any needs we may have had. As for restaurants, we cooked at the house most the time, but we did go to Bo Beau's for dinner our last night there and was not disappointed. It's casual yet decadent at the same time. Luna, the manager (or owner, not sure) was especially gracious and the food was really good.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely house, great location!

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 24, 2013

Our family rented this home for one week. 4 adults and 2 children. The house was perfect. Everyone had plenty of space. The house is clean roomy and airy. The loft was my favorite. The house has LOTS of new amenities and updates such as bedding and decor.
The house was stocked with EVERYTHING we could possible need. Plenty of blankets, sheets, pillows, bath towels, beach towels, beach toys, beach chairs, 2 bikes, beach umbrella, rain umbrellas, and anything you could possibly need in the kitchen. There was coffee, filters, a variety of spices, garbage bags, coolers, and even zip locks. Oh, and there was even a live basil plant on the counter. It was like home away from home. We wanted for nothing.
The back yard is charming and served as a wonderful place to gather with our family the night before my brother in laws wedding. Patio table, chairs, covered tiki bar , solar lighting, hot tub, and outdoor heated shower. Even candles to set the mood!!!!
The beaches are wonderful. In front of the house is the dog beach, and to the left, down the beach path. is the ocean beach. Lots of surfers. Great place to walk. 5 minute walk to retail area and longest cement pier in North America. Great for biking. Local gym called Rob's has daily/weekly rate to use their gym(nothing fancy). My husband biked there each morning. Sea World, The Zoo , Coronado Island are all a short car ride away.
There is plenty of storage /dressers and cabinet space in the house.
The only less then perfect issues we had were there was no bathroom on the main floor. Both bathrooms were on the first floor by the bedrooms and there was no a/c. We LOVE a/c. There were fans in the house, and they actually worked great!
We would recommend this house to anyone and will definitely rent this house EVERY time we go to San Diego. Price is great too! OB locals, who stopped over, could not believe the awesome house we were staying in!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 11, 2013

Every year for the past twelve years, my friends and I take a long weekend vacation. We always use VRBO.com to find a rental and this one was perfect for us. We had such a wonderful time! The listing description is accurate - we loved being so close to the beach, shops and restaurants, and having the nature reserve outside our door. The pictures don't fully illustrate how beautiful and well kept the house is. There were six of us with an infant and we each had plenty of room and privacy. The kitchen is huge! There is a new washer and dryer, a hot tub, outside grill, bicycles, beach chairs and body surfing boards, children's toys, fresh towels, and appliances. Everything was new or in great condition - we were never in need. Michael, the property owner, is very friendly, responsive, and reliable. The six of us highly recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a fun, relaxing vacation. We swam in the ocean, jogged on the nature reserve paths, paddle boarded, checked out the amazing farmer's market, went out to dinner, and took long walks along the beach. I was sad to leave and look forward to going back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We came out to San Diego for to see my son graduate from Marine Corps boot camp. The beach house was perfect for the family and close to all the activites we had planned. We are making plans now to come back again soon!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

OB House

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

Great house...large rooms, great backyard, very clean, big kitchen.
Great location...views, close to beach, great places to eat, view of Sea World fireworks everynight.
Great management...Michael was very helpful and everything was as advertised, or better.
We had a great week of surfing, zoo, great food, and OB fun. We will be renting this place again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

Great location. Home was perfect for a family vacation with wonderful views and easy access to walking path to ocean. Home with the backyard jacuzzi was an extra bonus! Watched fireworks from Sea World every evening while sitting on the deck. Only negative comment related to parking. Street parking was the only option.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 4, 2013

Great house in a great location. We walked to the beach, restaurants and the farmers' market. There is a nice walking trail right in front of the house. Sea World is 5 minutes away and the Zoo is only 15 minutes away. My boys loved it and there is lots of room for a family of 5. The house was clean and the management is easy to work with. We will return.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Vacation Rental!

Review submitted: May 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

My family rented this home for a long weekend to attend my sons college graduation. It was a great place and far exceeded our expectations. The kitchen is very well stocked and all of the amenities make it a great place to relax and enjoy Ocean Beach and San Diego!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

30th Birthday Family Fun

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

This property had a fantastic open layout for relaxing with family and friends. Also, what a view of Ocean Beach and the channel between Ocean and Pacific Beach! Everything was extremely well maintained. Tiki bar and hot tub in the back yard provided a relaxing opportunity for fun times. Walk out the back gate and onto the path to Ocean Beach in 2 minutes. Michael (owner) was very helpful with questions and even stopped by on the first day to fill us in on some of the stuff in the area to do. Walking distance (2-10 blocks) from over a dozen restaurants and bars. 10 minute drive across the channel to Pacific Beach too. Thanks Mike! We'll be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Gene Bronxville NY

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

My wife and 3 kids really enjoyed our OB Beach House stay. It was perfect for our 3 children with easy access to the beach and 3 cozy bedrooms. The house is even nicer then the pictures rpresent. It is also conveniently located next to by far the best food in Ocean Beach(BO- beau) and this is coming from a New York Foodie who has been coming to OB for the past 20 years. My one complaint about OB always was that the food was pretty awful. This is no longer true with the arrival of BO-beau. The owner of the house Mike is also a stand up guy. We will try to book this house on our future trips to OB.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Girlfriend Getaway

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

The house was the perfect place for our getaway. Loved the location - short drive to everything and a lots right in walking distance. Loved Bo Beau right down the street (have the Brussel sprouts!). The boardwalk and beach were lovely. So fun to watch the surfers. The kitchen was very well equipped and the bedrooms very comfortable. Would have liked a shower in the master bath. Also, be aware that there is no off street parking and the street does fill up.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fun Time at Ocean Beach

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

This is a wonderful home for a group or family, especially to entertain. We hosted 16 people for Thanksgiving (dinner only) and you couldn't ask for a better kitchen for a gathering of cooks and guests to chat and help out. Michael was terrific - even bringing casserole dishes and an electric mixer from his own family kitchen! The master bed was oh so comfy. The hot tub was an added benefit, and for us the tiki bar became the buffet for our big day feast. We rented tables and chairs and the patio proved the perfect spot to enjoy our first outdoor Thanksgiving (we are from Maryland).
The only real negatives would be the lack of a tv (big screen would be even better) in the main room, especially for turkey day football, and a shower in the MBR. Otherwise, it was a 4+.

Owners response: Thank you Beth! It was my pleasure and I'm so glad your Thanksgiving feast worked out the way we planned. I am updating the televisions in the home and they will be up and running by December 20, 2012. Thank you for choosing our San Diego Beach House! We look forward to accommodating all your future vacation needs needs.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing first experience in San Diego

Review submitted: May 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay in San Diego. It's close to pretty much anything, it right on the beach, walking distance to restaurants and shops etc. Nicely decorated. Very clean. Hot tub and tiki bar :)
Plenty of room for lots of friends or family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great stay in early April

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 6, 2011

Just returned from a great stay at the property. Michael is serious about making sure the guests are happy and all our needs were met without asking for anything. Lot's of room with everything close by for walking or using the supplied beach cruisers to access. We're already looking forward to our next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful San Diego Vacation

Review submitted: March 19, 2011   Date of arrival: March 9, 2011

Our family LOVED this CA beach home! With 3 adults & 3 teens, we had plenty of room and the house was so beautiful. The teens especially loved the loft area with the futon, the beach bikes, & the hot tub. It was only a short, enjoyable walk to the beach, where we spent many hours . The house was very clean and beautifully decorated. Best of all, the owner was a pleasure to work with. He answered all our questions in a timely manor and was very professional. We would highly suggest this home, and hope to stay here in the future :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank You! We look forward to serving all of your future vacation rental needs!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Love this home

Review submitted: February 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 12, 2010

We had walked the path that backs up to this property numerous times when we had visited our college student in San Diego. When it was time to find a home to house all the relatives arriving from Oregon for her graduation I was very excited to find that it was a rental and was available. The house was everything we could have asked for and more!
We had an incredible view of the river and Dog Beach and woke in the morning to the birds outside our window. The living area was large and inviting and the kitchen was a cook's dream. The bedrooms were cozy and large.
The house was so spectacular that we hosted a graduation party with our students class. The lawn and "tiki hut" were the perfect party site.
Michael took care of our very few requests and we felt very satisfied. I would recommend the home to anyone.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Staycation Oasis

Review submitted: February 3, 2011   Date of arrival: January 20, 2011

I live in San Diego and was able to rent this beautiful home for my in-laws during the last holiday weekend. The home is in a one of a kind location, it's close to the beach, has views of the ocean, the sunset, and it was easy to get on the freeway to see the sights with my family from out of town. I have already recommended this house to my friends! The property Manager, Mike, was great. We had a couple of requests and he was able to come through. Thanks Mike! See you soon

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

KC Vacationers

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

Nice well maintained home, great view, great location, step through the back gate and onto the path to the beach that is very close, loved the hot tub. Michael took good care of us. If the opportunity to spend another week in O.B. arises we'll rent this one again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: June 9, 2009   Date of arrival: June 9, 2009

Wonderful place. Very well maintained. Photos do not do it justice. Would rent again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 6, 2006   Date of arrival: February 6, 2006

This is the best rental in O.B., especially since we can bring our pooches. The photos are accurate - no phony pictures showing, as in other ads, a view of the beach you'll never get (unless of course you are at least 12 feet tall!!). You don't need to bring anything except your swim suit (summer of course, unless you belong to the polar bear club !!) and whatever personal items you just can't live without.

We like the Spanish Village in Balboa Park, and are partial to the food at Filippi's (especially the original one near the airport), Hodad's in O.B. for a great burger (forget In N Out !!), and Saffron (off Washington St.) for Thai. None of these take reservations so be prepared to wait, and to hope for a parking spot !!

To sum up, this is a great place, run by nice people. ((( On second thought, please don't come, because we want the place all to ourselves !!!!!!!!!!!! )))

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 31, 2006   Date of arrival: January 31, 2006

great rental, easy access to beach right out back yard and walking distance to ocean beach shops and restaurants. we had a great time and would recommend the house to anybody.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review