reviews for: listing #1257 - Hilo, Hawaii House rental

Hale Mar: Luxury Oceanfront Home w/Pool, Hot Tub!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Hawaii Paradise Park
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $299 - $459 /nt

sort by:

Perfect

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 8, 2008

The location is second to none. The "relax" factor is high. The house is even better than the pictures, trust me. If you are looking to get away and feel removed from the world, while hearing and watching the ocean waves crashing 30 yards away all day long, then this house is perfect for you. I can't wait to return.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed Hale Mar! this is just the feeling we hope we are hope we are providing for our guests. Come back soon... Aloha!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Puna Perfect

Review submitted: June 26, 2014   Date of arrival: June 10, 2014

Top oceanfront property in Puna District. Beautiful, comfortable and well-appointed home. Kitchen well-equipped with very nice countertops and cabinetry. Luscious landscaping and stand-out pool. Upstairs master suite could be out of a magazine and very cozy and private. Expansive ocean horizon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Hale Mar. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Please come back soon. With aloha,
Laura

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ocean Spray while you Play at Hale Mar

Review submitted: May 4, 2014   Date of arrival: July 16, 2013

I highly recommend the property if you are looking for something peaceful and off the beaten path. Every time I visit this area I am strongly reminded of nature's raw power and immense beauty. The brilliant contrast of black lava meeting blue ocean at this property is a must see. I came here exhausted and fast tracked to some inner peace with healthy activity and left recharged.
Property: Literally ocean front, this property was a great location for our party of 7 when we attended a wedding in the area. The best night time lullaby ever was the sound of the waves crashing against the rocks. Sitting on the lava rocks and feeling the ocean spray on my skin quickly brings the word nirvana to mind. Watching my tired mate rejuvenate on the lava rocks with a fishing line in the ocean felt right. The (fenced w/ gate on ocean side) lap pool and hot-tub were very clean and came with pool toys and comfortable outdoor seating. Just missing a nice big gas grill.
House: The upstairs master is gorgeous, romantic and the ocean views breathtaking. The 2nd and 3rd bedrooms not so much. Third bedroom is more a nook or alcove and though it says sleeps 7 - that is a stretch - comfortably - 5. Kitchen is fully functional and nice enough but not gourmet. That said, there are way more pros. Well laid out for entertaining - both the outdoor and indoor living space flows well and accommodated easily an evening gathering for wedding party and guests.
Nearby things to do: One must-see weekly farmer's market brimming with local food and wares is a short drive away. (You do have a longer drive for other conveniences such as grocers and restaurants; which is expected to feel truly away from it all. ) It's a great location if you want to tour the volcano, ocean front lava flows, tidal pools in the Kapoho/Vacationland area and the spectacular "Red Road" and (clothing optional) Kehena Beach community. Pahoa Town is where paniolo Hawaiian meets haole hippy/rastafarian. We always take home a piece of this paradise with exceptional local talent Pat Leo's exquisite paintings. A life-time Kapoho resident, she captures - better than anyone - the essence of this place. It's easy to carve out a truly unique travel experience here more akin to travel abroad without leaving the country. This is the place if you like local authenticity over air conditioned resort environments.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your detailed review! it is a great help to our future potential guests. We are delighted you had a good stay at Hale Mar, and look forward to hosting you again. Aloha!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location for a family trip

Review submitted: April 3, 2014   Date of arrival: March 25, 2014

Hale Mar really exceeded our expectations, beautiful grounds and views, comfortable and attractive furnishings, all at a very reasonable W price. We were there with an adult son, his wife and two little boys and also our adult daughter. The accommodations were perfect for us. The master bedroom was huge and beautiful (and a perfect place to watch the sunrise), the queen bedroom was great, the twin bedroom was small but adequate and the airbed in the office was fine for the youngsters. The common living area was spacious and inviting. Everyone enjoyed the lap pool and hot tub and if the boys wanted to run around, there was the enclosed grassy front yard. This was probably the best equipped house we'd ever rented. We appreciated that condiments had been left in the cupboards and fridge, so we did not have buy mustard, catsup etc. (But there's no guarantee what future folks will find.) There even were hand weights, which actually got used! One glitch -- a blender that did not work -- was quickly resolved. We grilled two nights (charcoal grill, a $10 bag of MatchLite was sufficient) and found it easy to do so. We had wanted to spend a few days on the Hilo side so we would not have long drives to the sites there. We were prepared for rain and we got some, but certainly not enough to spoil anything we wanted to do. Hale Mar certainly rates a return trip, and we recommend it highly!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: January 5, 2014

This home is amazing. Views are endless. The sound of the waves crashing on the lava could be felt laying in bed. This home has everything you could need for a very relaxing stay. Loved being way out of town with the beauty of nature. I would recommend to anyone who want to be away from it all. Deposit was returned quickly. The pool people came out and took care of the green hot tub in a timely manner. Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beatiful home, Beautiful location

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 24, 2013

Location, location, location. This home is on a quiet street and oceanfront. The grounds are manicured and beautiful. The road that this home sits on is not paved, but don't worry, there were no issues. Our family and friends loved the place. It rained late in the evening and very early morning. But we had no issues with the weather. don't be scared of the Hilo side. We loved it so much, we are looking to buy in the area. Very low key and relaxing. The only slight issue was that when you leave for the day and close the house up, including all windows due to possible rain, the house was hot and humid when you first enter. But open the windows and turn on a fan or two and its beautiful. Thanks Hale Mar for a great location. Loved the place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo for your detailed and helpful review! Thanks for choosing Hale Mar; we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything we hoped for!!!!

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

Hale mar was everything we had hoped for and more. The home was absolutely beautiful. I loved that the Master bedroom was on the top floor and away from the other rooms. The view from the master was absolutely gorgeous. The pool and hot tub were fantastic and right on the water........superb!!!!
Renting this home was easy and flawless. Laura was absolutely wonderful and very responsive. We definitely plan on returning and staying at Hale Mar.

Owners response: Yvonne, thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We are so happy you enjoyed Hale Mar, and look forward to welcoming you back!
- Laura

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Much more than you could ever expect!!!

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 7, 2013

Arriving to Hale Mar was like coming to paradise! As the pictures give a good visual of the house, when you get there it is even more breathtaking!
House Pros: Secluded for the most part (not much need for clothing), crashing waves and Coqui frogs lulling you to sleep each night, seeing family of turtles, crabs and fish in your backyard, tons of towels, clean linens, clean fresh smelling, beautiful flowers, not one bad location in the house.
House Cons: the only reason I did not give 5 stars, is the dishwasher and garbage disposal were not working and I was really looking forward to not doing dishes on vacation as I do them by hand at home. The garbage disposal got a little smelly towards the end of our stay. (Im sure this will be fixed and probably already is)
Location Pros: Secluded, Away from it all, literally Paradise, lots of nature, the ocean IS your backyard
Location Cons: Being that it is secluded means you are gonna have some driving to do to get to anything. I suggest one big grocery trip ( I suggest KTA market) and then buy fruits and veggies at the Farmers Markets. Towards the end of our trip we got tired of driving everywhere and just hung out around the house and close to the area. I cooked 6 out of the 7 days of our stay. This is higly recommended as you are not close to restaurants, etc. the reason why we rent a home is so I can cook, so this was not a con really for me (except having to do the dishes by hand).
Dont Miss these places: Highly suggest the Pana'ewa Rainforest Zoo in Hilo...its FREE (donations welcome) and was one of the best places we went! Also, dont miss out on the Lava Ocean Tour (total Bucket List item), Botanical Gardens were nice, but not worth $15, the Zoo was better, Hapuna Beach on the Kona side is not to be missed if you are a beach goer, beautiful sands, people, water was crystal clear and seen a turtle swim past me. Downtown Hilo Farmers Market, and Shaved Ice (MMM...with coconut ice cream and condensed milk, rainbow ice).
YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED IN HALE MAR!! I literally cried when it was time to go. ALOHA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your helpful comments! Yes, we have already replaced the garbage disposer, and it is working great now, as is the dishwasher. We're sorry we didn't know of this problem before your stay! We're so glad you had a good trip, and hope you can come to Hale Mar again. Aloha!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Big waves

Review submitted: February 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 27, 2013

This house was well decorated and nicely manicured. The master bedroom was huge with the sounds of the crashing waves the loudest, so cool! I've been to many houses in the Hawaiian paradise park district and I have to say the hot water heater was by far the best! So everyone had hot water for their showers. The shower in the master bedroom was just perfect. The pool and spa were very enjoyable, especially at night! The only deficeit would be the 3rd bedroom which is really small, really, but the person who stayed in the room did not complain. The office on the other hand was the same size as the 2nd bedroom. The view and waves were awesome. Look for turtles in the morning, they like to surf the waves. Saw a whale too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Hale Mar, Leslie, and thanks for the great review so others can hear what it's like! (Glad you saw a whale, too!)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rocked to sleep by waves & coquis

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

This is a lovely house in a beautiful setting. The waves crash against the rocks 24/7 and the coqui frogs sing most of the night. Other than the natural noises, it is very quiet.The master suite is HUGE, but the third bedroom is VERY small, more of an alcove really, so if you are traveling with friends, be aware there will be some inequity of accomodations. Our only disappointment (and it was fairly major, as the pool was the deciding factor in renting this house) was that there are no stairs or ladder into the pool. If you are not young & fit enough to boost yourself out of the pool with your arms, it is NOT accessible.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful and Stunning

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

We stayed at Hale Mar for a weekend of touring the Volcano National Park and were not disappointed.
After a busy week in Waikiki Beach with our 3 kids we were so thrilled to be in a spacious home where we could kick back and relax. The lap pool and jacuzzi were just what we needed to "chill out". The house was well appointed and we were so grateful for the house was stocked with much needed supplies that we didn't want to invest in while on the road. There were spices for cooking, beach towels and laundry detergent. We loved waking up to the sound of the surf! We would definitely return to Hale Mar.
The McKeone Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! hope you'll find a time to come back soon! Thanks for sharing your comments.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hale Mar - Beautiful Property located in a quiet setting

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

The property was located in a quiet location and was very private! The views and sounds of the ocean were spectacular and my daughter really enjoyed the lap pool with fountain along with the jacuzzi. The bedrooms were very spacious and included great storage for clothing and the kitchen was well stocked with utensils.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Property

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

The property was located in a quiet location and was very private! The views and sounds of the ocean were spectacular and my daughter really enjoyed the lap pool with fountain, along with the jacuzzi. The bedrooms were very spacious and included great storage for clothing and the kitchen was well stocked with utensils. We were also surprised to find our deposit waiting for us when we got home! That was amazing. We would highly recommend this property when visiting Hilo.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Place!!! Came to Hilo for College Baseball

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

Home was just as described, very clean, very private with great ocean views. Pool was awesome to cool down in and patio area is perfect for entertaining. We left our decorative lights for other guests to enjoy. Saw Whales right in front of the home along with giant sea turtles. Farmers market was great, even on a rainy day. Volcano wasnt active, but still very cool to check out.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review - we're so glad you enjoyed Hale Mar, and hope you can come back again soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

It is a great housing with great location. My kids love the hot tub and swimming pool very much. I enjoyed the ocean view and the sound of the waves. The kitchen is well stocked and th laundry facility is an added bonus.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review - we're so glad you enjoyed Hale Mar, and hope you can come back again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

It is a great housing with great location. My kids love the hot tub and swimming pool very much. I enjoyed the ocean view and the sound of the waves. The kitchen is well stocked and th laundry facility is an added bonus.

Owners response: Thank you for the review!
glad you liked our big laundry room with the view of the ocean!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent vacation rental

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

We stayed at this property for 3 nights and loved every minute of it. The house is gorgeous and the backyard is amazing. We enjoyed BBQ'ing each night as well as using the hot tub and pool at night. The night sky is amazing here, as there are no city lights close by, so it is absolutely black and the sky is filled with stars. Our only regret is that we were so busy trying to see as many sights in the Hilo area as we could that we didn't get to spend hardly any time enjoying the house. If I was to come again, I would definitely plan to spend at least one afternoon enjoying the backyard and pool. We enjoyed a very local activity about 15 minutes from the house that included music, dancing, excellent food and some distant lava viewing. I believe this happens every Wednesday night at the end of Highway 130 or 137. It was a definite highlight of the trip. There are so many things to do in this area. The weather is not nearly as good as the Kona side, but if you know this ahead of time, there's no dissappointment. Plan for your beach activities when you visit the Kona area. We did ziplining, toured the Tropical Botanical Gardens, went to the Volcano National Park, visited the hot ponds and the Kapoho tide pools, and went to the Hilo Farmers Market. Would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for posting such useful information, this is great. We hope you can visit again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

quiet relaxation

Review submitted: March 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

If you are looking for privacy and beautiful suroundings, this is the place..We hated to leave but we will return..a little bit of heaven on earth..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

isolated paradise

Review submitted: March 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

We stayed three nights and couldn't bear to leave. The roar of the ocean and pounding of the surf serenaded us continuously. This home is in an isolated spot and away from the hustle and bustle. Just what we needed after a hectic week on Maui...We will return..

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful vacation home

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

Our stay at Hale Mar was great! The property was gorgeous and very well maintained. The views from the backyard are gorgeous and you can listen to the sound of the waves as you go to sleep at night. The layout was great and it had all of the amenities indicated. The internet worked without any problems. It is overall a very quiet and relaxing place. We had 6 adults stay and did not feel cramped. The response from the property management was very timely.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful getaway

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

Our stay at Hale Mar was great! The property was gorgeous and very well maintained. The views from the backyard are gorgeous and you can listen to the sound of the waves as you go to sleep at night. The layout was great and it had all of the amenities indicated. The internet worked without any problems. It is overall a very quiet and relaxing place. We had 6 adults stay and did not feel cramped. The response from the property management was very timely.

Owners response: We're so glad you enjoyed Hale Mar! Hope you can come back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Breathtaking

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 7, 2012

The house was so cozy and comfortable! The views were majestic and extremely relaxing. The sunrises and sunsets over the ocean were unforgetable. The breeze blowing and waves crashing onto the cliffs were very calming!! This truly is a wonderful vacation home away from home!! Would recommend it to anyone!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you Bridget, and hope you come back to Hale Mar again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Holiday House

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

We stayed for three nights at Hale Mar and it was amazing. We actually didn't do much sight seeing around Hilo because we didn't want to leave the beautiful house! We ended up relaxing, enjoying the hot tub, the amazing ocean view and spending time with family at the house. It was the perfect getaway house to unwind after the holidays. We would definitely stay there again as the view is out of this world!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Oceanfront

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

We stayed at Hale Mar for 5 days in July 2011, it was beautiful. The house was spacious and clean with most all amenities stocked. The owners Marty & Laura had thought of everything including information on area to schedule, directions, arrival , keys mailed to you, departure instructions. I communicated with them several times and they were great, nice people. The view is fabulous both downstairs and upstairs from the house. The pool and hot tub were a great feature with plenty of outside seating areas. We plan to visit again. Privacy was another feature we loved. Hale Mar is close to all the major sights- Hawaiian Volcano National Park, black snad beaches, green sea turtles, green sand beach, active lava flows, waterfalls, etc.. I plan to stay here for my next vacation. It was so relaxing..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

We stayed at Hale Mar for 5 days in July 2011, it was wonderful. The house had plenty of space with an open feel to the ocean with all the windows. The house was stocked with most amenities and the owners were fabulous with details as to our schedule, arrival, details, keys, departure,etc.. the house is laid out spaciously with many seating areas outside as well to enjoy the view..We loved our time there and would recommend a stay there. Did I mention the privacy- great. The ocean view was so beautiful, I would get up early every morning just to watch the sunrise over the ocean. The pool & hot tub were great and made a fantastic view at dusk with lights on against the ocean. The Big Island is my favorite of the Islands. At Hale Mar you are close to all the sights. Hawaiian Volcano National Park; I suggest a drive Crater Rim Rd to the ocean, short hike to Thurstons lava tubes, Kilauea Caldera and craters, to many to name in the park- there's the rainforest too. Black sand beach with green sesa turtles coming ashore to sun in the morning- beautiful. Green sand beach- quite a hike but worth it, take your swimwear- it's about 3 miles- I suggest taking the locals up on the ride there in their 4 wheel drives- they are very nice and will do so for a small donation. We took helicopter ride over volcano & rainforest 45 minute ride and were able to see active red flowing lava and hundreds of waterfalls..Look forward to returning on vacation again to Hale Mar.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We aim to please, and it's rewarding to hear we have!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ocean Side Luxury

Review submitted: June 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 31, 2011

Hale Mar is a spacious and well appointed home which is RIGHT on the ocean. The grounds are just as lovely as the house so it may be difficult to leave. When you do decide to leave you are close by to a wide variety of activities and sites which make the Hawaiian vacation experience even better. I can't wait to organize a trip back with my girls just to see the look on their faces when they walk through those front doors!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

This is a gem of a house. If you want a vacation where you get away from it all but still be fairly close to the major sights, then this is the place for you. While there, we went zip lining, took an open doors helicopter tour of the volcano, drove up to the observatory, and visited numerous places suggested in the book the owners have made. The small town close by has four or five great restaurants to choose from. There is nothing quite like falling asleep to the sounds of the waves or coming “home” and having a swim and jacuzzi. I’ve even video taped the waves so that I can imagine myself back there on those stressful real life days! The owners have really thought of everything to make your stay hassle free and were a pleasure to communicate and deal with. I'm saving to get back there as soon as I can!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Dream House

Review submitted: March 19, 2011   Date of arrival: February 21, 2011

This is a gem of a house. It you want a vacation where you get away from it all but still be fairly close to the major sights, then this is the place for you. While there, we went zip lining, took an open doors helicopter tour of the volcano, drove up to the observatory, and visited numerous places suggested in the book the owners have made. The small town close by has four or five great restaurants to choose from. There is nothing quite like falling asleep to the sounds of the waves or coming “home” and having a swim and jacuzzi. I’ve even video taped the waves so that I can imagine myself back there on those stressful real life days! The owners have really thought of everything to make your stay hassle free and were a pleasure to communicate and deal with. I'm saving to get back there as soon as I can!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hale Mar experience marred by grounds keeper

Review submitted: January 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 18, 2009

I rented Hale Mar for 2 nights in August 2009. A Tuesday and Wednesday.The property was clean and well maintained. The TV remote downstairs did not operate properly.The advertised description of the property was accurate. Tuesday my wife and I arrived in the afternoon and settled in for a nice dinner and slept with the crashing waves. Wednesday we shopped the Hilo farmers market and planned to have a lazy afternoon by the pool and dinner. At around 3pm I heard my wife scream.(i was inside preparing a snack) I encountered a shirtless man saying he was going to cut the back and front lawn. I decided to let him do his work and we had to go inside for over an hour to escape the noise. I contacted the owner, Marty and explained that I was disappointed about not being notified that there was a groundskeeper cutting the lawn on Wednesday. I rented Hale Mar for seclusion and Wednesday was my only full day to do so. The unexpected groundskeeper forced us to abandon our afternoon plans. Marty's handling of the situation was very disappointing. He said that the groundskeeper comes every Wednesday and I have been given no refund for my time lost. Marty was also unprofessional on the phone. I had put this terrible experience behind me but only wrote this review after I got an automated email. (probably sent to all 2009 renters)

Helpful votes: 4 / 10

 

Hale Mar -your own personal resort

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: December 24, 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights and absolutely enjoyed having our own hot tub, pool and amazing ocean views ! Our children ages 9 and 4 enjoyed the house and the nearby tide pools, some of which are naturally heated. The restaurants in Hilo and Pahoa are awesome with great food at really good prices.We really enjoyed driving upto the Volcanoes National park which is fairly closeby. The house was overall clean and comfortable. The master bedroom is upstairs and separate from the other bedrooms-just something to keep in mind if travelling with small children.The house itself is also a little far from the highway so plan your day and shopping for groceries accordingly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A SLICE OF HEAVEN ON EARTH!

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 3, 2008

Our trip to Hawaii was in 2008 was a first for both of us, and it was better than anyone could have
imagined. The home had everything, all we had to bring were our clothes, & it's was very clean along with the yard. Where else can you go & wake up to Humpback Whales playing out your back door, Sea Turtles every single day coming in to eat off the rocks, an active Volcano just a few miles
up the road, & if that isn't enough excitment, you can travel to the highest point in the world
at 14,000 feet above sea level and see snow, & the most beautiful sunsets. On your way back down as you peal your layers of clothing off, you can go swimming at the beach, take in a delicious meal at any local restaurant.
Every night we would go out and look up in amazement at just how many stars there really are in
the sky, then let the vibrations of the waves rock us to sleep as they crashed against the shore line.
Our only problem with our trip, was that it was not long enough. Hawaii is a very laid back state
and well wroth the effort to visit, especially staying at Hal Mar. I loved it so much I took the time
to make a large flora arrangement for the house to say thanks. You want regret your visit, you will be making plans for a return visit before you even leave. Have fun and relax!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A week at Hale Mar

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: December 19, 2008

My family spent a week at Laura and Marty's gorgeous home, Hale Mar, last December. We loved it. Their home is situated in an exquisite location. The house was immaculate and beautifully decorated in gentle, calming and elegant taste. It was the perfect respite for us.

Laura and Marty were attentive, accommodating and responsive. We knew that the quality of our vacation at Hale Mar was a top priority for them. We felt welcomed, relaxed and very much at home.

We would love to return as soon as we can.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Are

Review submitted: December 31, 2009   Date of arrival: December 30, 2006

Are perfect and paradise redundant? If so, then maybe it’s permissible in the description of Hale Mar. The house décor is elegant island – clean, comfortable and pleasing to the senses. We woke each morning to whales playing within sight of the pool, where we enjoyed a refreshing dip and our morning coffee. Our family had a wonderful experience at Hale Mar. I highly recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review