reviews for: listing #12585 - Portsmouth, New Hampshire House rental

Portsmouth NH Historic Restored Home-Admiral Sheafe House
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Historic District
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,250 - $2,250 /wk
    $8,000 - $8,000 /mth

sort by:

Sun, pleasure and bon temps !

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We are 2 couples we adored our week in Porsmouth! The house is in a very charming district of the city, The house is very well, clean and equipped with a space garden!
The architecture, the restaurants, the nearness of beaches and night life deserve to stay in this region! We shall turn to it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great property and location

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

My family and I just spent a wonderful 2 weeks here. The location cannot be beat, you are steps from all the shops and restaurants in downtown Portsmouth. The house is well equipped (even had sharp knives in the kitchen!) and spacious enough that our kids were able to spread out without a problem. It was also spotless snd very clean. The garden was a bonus, a great place to enjoy coffee in the morning and the kids spent hours playing in their "secret" garden. The owners were accommodating and helpful, we enjoyed meeting them. Having a driveway to park in was also a plus. My only very minor negative was that you can hear music at night from some of the restaurants/bars close by, but it was never enough to wake kids or keep any of us up, even though I am a very light sleeper - and what do you expect when you are living downtown! All in all, this was a great rental, we really enjoyed making it our home for a few weeks and highly recommend.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Sheafe St. is a super secret Residential street in the very middle of Downtown Portsmouth--Unbelievable Location! There are restaurants and bars within blocks
of this street-- some of the Music actually comes from Prescott Park Riverfront Shows- which is just 3 Blocks away.
New this year for the Admiral Sheafe House are anderson Insulated windows with exterior storms giving a Triple glass sound protection. I can personally say that the exterior sounds have been reduced substantially, all with a Historic District approval.
So if you want to be in the Center of Portsmouth, yet still have Parking, a pocket garden, and a meticulously restored Historic House..........
Bon Nuit! JWSobel Owner

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Portsmouth vacation

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Had a great time. The house is charming with it's antiques, pictures and, cozy patio. Add a great location to everything downtown and you have the makings to a great and relaxing vacation. The owners are very plesant and informative of all activites in the area. Couldn't have had a better experience. Would highly recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

great get away

Review submitted: August 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

My goal was a getaway with my kids before they begin our daughters' senior year in high school. I wanted them to have the freedom to run around town safely, see things they have never seen before and spend lots of time together. The Sheafe house is right in the center of Portsmouth making it perfect for them to feel safe about wandering around town, over to the park and across the bridge into Kittery. The house was mostly as described. I don't think I would call the kitchen a gourmet kitchen (but the grill and gas stove were awesome!), but I didn't go there to cook anyway. There are dozens of great little restaurants all over town! The layout and rooms were pretty much what we expected. Skylights in the bathrooms were a nice surprise as they are not pictured. I feel like for the price, the linens could have been better quality. The house was well maintained and the few little things that needed doing were taken care of right away (lights out etc) The owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome and always gave us the best information about what was going on in the area - including saving coupons for special deals for us! I would definitely recommend this house to friends! We hope to go back some day! As for Portsmouth as a vacation spot - it's awesome. There's history, water, great food, lots of outdoor activities and so much more not far away. We drove all over New England from there and had the best time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review