reviews for: listing #12592 - Mendocino, California House rental

White Water Oceanfront House
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Irish Beach
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $180 - $250 /nt
    $1,080 - $1,500 /wk

sort by:

Get Away

Review submitted: May 22, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

Great location. Lucky with perfect weather and sunsets. Comfortable living space. Kitchen needs updating. Window bench seating was the best!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great loction

Review submitted: April 29, 2014   Date of arrival: April 20, 2014

I just wanted to let you know that we really enjoyed Morgan house last week. Typical of the coast we had a great variety of weather, but what a great location.

posted by homeowner from E-mail received from guest.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Cozy

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: February 13, 2014

My husband and I travelled from Reno, NV to spend Valentine's weekend on the ocean with our dogs. Beautiful ocean and sunset views from the hot tub which we used daily. The home was very dog friendly and the deck is fully enclosed. We went down to Irish beach every day except for one when we took a sunny drive to Mendocino. The fireplace made the experience extra cozy! The kitchen definitely needs updating and the sliding glass doors were a bit tricky (locked ourselves out a couple of times) but you really can't complain for the price and location. We had a great time and would love to come back!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are delighted you had a wonderful time! Thank you for letting us know how we can make improvements as we want to make sure all of our guests are comfortable. We look forward to your visit again.

Thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing place!

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: January 6, 2014

Our stay here was unforgettable! The house was cozy, yet spacious. The ocean view and sunsets were unforgettable. A beautiful place to hike around and enjoy the scenery with our dog. One of the best ocean vacations ever!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Delighted to hear you had a lovely time!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sea Side Reatrea

Review submitted: December 31, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

Magnificent ocean view! Whale watching from the deck by day, unbelievable star gazing from the hot tub in the evening, a wood fire and ocean lullabys by night. Close enough to activities with a feeling of seclusion. We were ages 15 to 85 and had our canine companion with us and a good time was had by all. Owner was very responsive to a need, and we had everything we required and more. What a wonderful way to spend our Christmas week!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Weekend

Review submitted: December 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

We had a really lovely time at Morgan House...the weather was remarkably clear with no moon, which made for wonderful stargazing from the hot tub. We greatly enjoyed the fireplace as well, and also the fact that Dungeness crab season had just begun. We will definitely be back.

entered by homeowner from written comments by guest

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wes & Lynn Anderson

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: September 17, 2013

Wow is what to say, we arrived mid afternoon on Tuesday and found the home with no problem and the directions and information provided was great. The view is AWESOME and we had a terrific time. Lynn's Mom who was with us, her first overnight at the beach in several years and she was in love with the place and the view. The home is very nice, and well appointed. Everything worked correctly and we had no issues. I would and have recommended this property to others. We thank you for the excellent service.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are delighted you had such a lovely time and letting us know. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing-Thank-you!!

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 6, 2013

As a couple with crazy dogs we were amazed. Hiking, private beach, full close up surround view of the ocean, good pricing, private Jacuzzi over looking the water and beautiful skies. Plant and animal life is so beautiful. Unbelievable. The house is perfect and stocked well with kitchen wear. We stayed 2 weeks and loved every blessed moment in this beautiful house.
Please dismiss crazy cranky lady with complaints of swallow droppings etc.. She can have her opinion, am betting everything is upsets her.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful time!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

beautiful!!!

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 5, 2012

Our stay at Morgan House was remarkable, from the foggy afternoon we arrived, through the long and glorious sunsets, and a final air show by the ravens. We spent hours just sitting by the window, looking out at the white water and shore birds.

The last day, after I'd packed the car to come home, my wife said, let's sit by the window and watch it all for a few more minutes. On cue, the ravens started playing in the air right outside the window, five of them swooping in eccentic loops on the currents, going high, low, out, and in, according to their whimsy. Wikipedia says their fans have seen them sliding down snow banks in play.

I have a few recommendations to improve the comfort of accommodations, which I'll send directly to management!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Great Getaway Retreat

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: October 2, 2012

Not sure what the person who says beware is expecting out of a vacation rental. But we found this home wonderful, of course it's not spotless, is a little bit older home that is used constantly, is your home spotless? didn't think so. The home is clean and comfortable it has world class views and is so very quite and peaceful. On a clear night is seems as though you can see a billion stars and if you have dogs the place is perfect for them also the deck is completely enclosed so they are safe, mine actually seemed a little depressed when they got back home they loved it so much. I would highly recommend Morgan house and we will definitely return.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Anniversary Trip

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2012

We just loved the place,very comfortable and had everything we needed. The views were just unbelievable and the walks on Irish Beach with the dogs were the best, had the whole beach to ourselves. The only bad part of the trip was that we didn't book the house for longer, but we sure will the next time we visit.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beware! This house needs major work

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

Ocean view if and when the fog lifts (usually afternoon). The house is dirty - carpeting, pillows, blinds and dining room chair cushions all need major cleaning or replacement. The oven is so filthy we did not use it or the rancid baking pans. Cannot even read the knobs on the stove. Problems: kitchen sink door off its hinges, bed in guest bedroom squeaks so badly only one person could sleep; leftover food in pantry and refrigerator; bed in master bedroom unstable; bathroom door in master won't close; slats on entryway are rotting; blinds in living room don't work - one large blind is taped up to the wall; bulbs missing from lights; sliding door blind doesn't work; porch furniture is taped, cracked and flimsy. AND we were greeted with swallow droppings every time we walked in and out the front door. We had to hose down the area at least twice daily. There was a nest above the door which we understand could not be removed; the owner was dealing with it by putting a board under the nest and collecting on it over 4 inches of droppings! The nest needs to be removed on Sept. 1 and steps taken to make certain the area is not used again. I am very thankful that we did not have small children with us.

Helpful votes: 23 / 36

 

Incredible location!

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

Our second 3 night weekend at this house. Romantic setting right on the coast with a panoramic ocean view including the Point Arena Lighthouse and private access to Irish Beach- which was virtually secluded. Secure deck for small dogs off leash and plenty of firewood. (Received our cleaning deposit back in less than a week.)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Very good value ocean front home with private beach

Review submitted: May 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

We stayed here for a few days to celebrate our 20 year anniversary. We were looking for a quiet place with ocean front views where we could bring our dog. The house sits well away from the highway so all you see and hear is the ocean. The neighborhood is quiet and safe for walking the dog. The private beach is superb. It goes on forever with lots of driftwood and tidepools to explore. Irish Beach is a little remote if you want to explore the town of Mendocino or have a large selection of restaurants or shopping. This was not a problem for us but good to know. We brought all our food and cooked each meal in the kitchen. The kitchen has everything you need. The whole house is outdated but it's clean and not lacking in anything. Jacuzzi on the deck, satellite TV and WiFi, fireplace with lots of wood, and a glorious window seat for reading and basking in the sun on a windy day. The only complaint we had were the broken blinds on the windows. We were able to fiddle with them to open and close the blinds but they really do need to fix those.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Very Enjoyable!!

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

This is a very comfortable, clean house with good amenities, and we have recommended the house to our family and friends.The description is accurate. The view and environment are wonderful!! Many excellent attractions are nearby, including Mendocino village, Fort Bragg, Point Arena and excellent wineries in Anderson Valley (Toulouse and Lula Cellars were our favorites!). Every turn in the road offered a magnificent view and experience! My only complaint is that the internet connection is via satellite and a bit unreliable and Mac unfriendly. In this area, there are not many choices. However, we would go back in a second!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice home and great view!!

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: February 14, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this home. Great view right on the ocean. Hot tub was great on the deck!! Clean home, a little dated on the furnishings, but still nice. I would recommend this home to anyone wanting to get away to the coast, relax, and have a quiet retreat!! We loved the restaurant Ledford, about half hour drive north, fantastic menu!!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Birthday getaway

Review submitted: January 20, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

We had a great time. The house overall was clean & cozy. The view was the best, right on the water. We will definately come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Enjoyable, Incredible View

Review submitted: December 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

We spent a weekend at the Morgan house from December 2nd through the 4th. It was a great location and very enjoyable. The house and furnishing are a bit older but, we were very comfortable and everything we needed was provided. I could not get over the view, spectacular!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Watching the Sunsets Change

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: October 29, 2011

We were fortunate enough to stay 7 days in Morgan House and the moment we stepped through the door and turned right, we were struck by the view of the ocean and the crashing waves. Stepping into the living quarters the view became panoramic from White Rock to the north to the tip of Point Arena in the south. The waters’ color changed with the clouds and each sunset was unique and beautiful.
We found Morgan House to be clean and well stocked with the essentials needed to prepare dinner. The stove could use a tune-up, as the elements did not heat well and the oven temperature inaccurate.
Overall our stay was wonderful as Irish beach is close to many activities and the drive up and down the coast to these activites is beautiful. We would highly recommend Morgan House.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

property 22001

Review submitted: November 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 23, 2011

wonderful ocean views loved the windows seats facing the ocean.needs new chairs in living room very uncomfortable. smoke alarms didnot work,,condiments left in refridgreator.old popsicles in freezer , also food left in cupboards all needs to go.i wouldnot use left over food or condiments. the patio furniture was deplorable. ther was a shot in the masrebedroom light so didnot use it, no screens so could not open windows.also fan on genaire stove did not work, house needs better taking care of because beautiful setting by thr ocean.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Secluded Getaway

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

This was a perfect weekend getaway. It's very remote and even though there are neighbors next door, it feels like you are secluded. I had thought we'd be closer to Mendocino proper, but it was actually about 45 minutes away. This was fine, but good to know ahead of time. We loved reading at the window seats and the view was amazing. It's not fancy, but is well kept and a special place. Hopefully next time we'll go for a full week.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A great house, and amazing trip, and what a VIEW!

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

My wife and I and are 2 and 4 year old daughters stayed for three nights in early June. Although it rained for most of our stay, we made the very best of it and having such an amazing house with panoramic views of the ocean made it much easier to deal with the weather.
the hot tub was fantastic, the home was very cozy and the open floor plan of the living room area was great for the kids to have fun in, all while looking out the windows for different birds, deer, rabbits and using our binoculars to look out at the ocean for the possible whale etc.
we've stayed in numerous homes on the Mendocino Coast and this one is one of the best ones we've rented.
I'd recommend it to any and all ages.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Anniversary

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

What a wonderful weekend we had and what a marvelous place to celebrate our 30th Anniversary. We had a little sun, a little rain, and a little fog – everything you anticipate on the coast. The house met all our expectations and more. We were able to see the Point Arena Lighthouse and deer frock licking in the front yard. We had our morning coffee on the deck while watching the white water crash into the rocks below. We sipped a glass or two of wine each evening in front of the warm glow of the fireplace. It was relaxing, romantic and PERFECT! We will be back. Thank you so much.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best Birthday Trip Ever!

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

My Husband and I stayed at the Morgan House 10/22-10/24, we got to enjoy the first big storm of the season, watching the ocean was awsome. We make a yearly trip to the North Coast and hope to stay at this lovely house again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: September 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 6, 2010

The house could not have been more perfect. We stayed in yesterday and just enjoyed the ocean view and the peace and quiet. We lit a fire in the fireplace and sat in the window seats and read ALL day! We enjoyed seeing the deer on the road and listening to the raccoons(?) on the roof. We loved our stay and I'm sure we will return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Truly Spectacular

Review submitted: August 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

Our family so enjoyed our stayed at lovely Morgan House. It was so serene. The photos were so accurate. We sat on the lovely seat cushions and cozily watched and listened to the ocean. It was magical and just what we needed. The owner was very prompt about giving back our pet deposit refund. We can't wait to come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed at your Irish Beach house, and we had the best vacation there than any other trip we have taken together. We are planning to make a yearly visit to Irish Beach and hopefully will be able to stay at the "Morgan House" every time. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Disappointed

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 7, 2010

Beautiful view but furnishings are very old and it appears this house hasn't been deep cleaned in quite some time. We spent 2 hours on our last day doing the chores requested (taking out trash, doing dishes, washing towels and sheets) yet we did not receive our entire security deposit because we were told the cleaning lady had to spend extra time cleaning. If you have dogs you may be blamed for stains on the carpet that were already there. We will not rent this house again. Lastly, the wifi did not work (we were warned a few days before) and the sattelite internet did not work well even with an ethernet cable. The owner did not offer any compensation for this.

Owners response: We're sorry this guest wasn't satisfied but other guests have complimented us on how clean the house was when they arrived. This guest's dogs left some "presents" in the bedroom which they have may overlooked but our housekeeper had to clean up. Our housekeeper has been with us for seven years and we very seldom have to charge an additional cleaning fee. We are aware there are sporadic problems with the Internet and are looking into other service providers.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

One of our best anniversary trips yet!

Review submitted: March 28, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2010

We have never been to the mendocino coast before and besides the fact thats there's not a lot to do out there after hours, we had a blast. The house was great, updated appliances, large fireplace, nice hot tub and of course.. the view. The neighbors are a little closer then I thought but all in all it was relatively private. Maybe we missed a short cut or something but the beach seemed a lot farther then a 10 minute walk and we never actually made it to the beach without driving there, which wasn't a big deal, just a little confusing at first. Definately glad we did it and I think that everyone should go at least once. Its a perfect little house for relaxing at the coast!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Review submitted: December 19, 2009   Date of arrival: December 19, 2009

My Mom and I just just returned from having spent a very relaxing week at white Water house. The location of Manchester is perfect as a starting point to visit northern and southern Mendocino Coast. Daily walks with the dogs on the nearby private beach were a must. the Pacific Oceon was the backyard, which was just what we were looking for. The views from the many windows that lined the rear of the house, were to us, priceless. The home itself was very welcoming and we definitely plan on returning.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 3, 2004   Date of arrival: September 3, 2004

Thank you so much - what a joy it has been to stay here at White Water House. We loved watching the seals play on the beach and had several day trips to surrounding wineries. It is a healing house and gave us some much needed R & R.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 23, 2004   Date of arrival: July 23, 2004

The four of us did it again! A wonderful week together. This is a gift we give ourselves every year. A glorious week with four people we dearly love. And this was the best place ever to spend it. We saw Coupntry Joe & the Fish in Point Arena Theater. We love the house and the view. We all slept and relaxed and laughed and enjoyed this beautiful location. We are very lucky.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 4, 2004   Date of arrival: July 4, 2004

We had a wonderful time away together. Great friendship shared with memories of peace and joy and wave and wind, sun, stars, and long talks that will live forever. This has been priceless

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 8, 2003   Date of arrival: December 8, 2003

We are five days into our marriage and I only hope that our days together continue to be as perfect as these have been at Irish Beach. All of the prewedding stress and mania have melted away with every dip into the hot tub or jacuzzi bubble bath. And, the sunset, weather, and the stars at night have spoiled us. Lots of memories too. Orr Springs, dinner at the Albion River Inn, wine and shrimp coctails on the deck with the perfect sunset and every night by the fire. We really cna't imagine a better honeymoon. Hopefull we will return on our one year anniversay. Thanks for everything I wouldn't change anything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 8, 2003   Date of arrival: December 8, 2003

The beach was incredible. We relaxed and played for these wonderful days. For the first time we saw porpoise feeding just off shore. Wonderful house, nice tub, great firewooed. Love it all! Thank you for a grand time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 21, 2003   Date of arrival: September 21, 2003

We have had a lovely time here. Joe says we had everything from star fish on the beach to gorgeous stars ar night. It has been very restful to sit on the deck listening to the waves and watching the sea birds. Having a huge beach to walk almost deserted of people has been a real treat as well. Thank you for providing a place to unwind.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 16, 2003   Date of arrival: August 16, 2003

We've been coming to Irish Beach for the last 31 years- every year- and your house is one of the best we've stayed in yet. The view is breathtaking and the home is so cozy and welcoming. This year we caught 8 rock fish on the rocks (just below your balcony.) We had sun every day with no fog. Amazing. And lot's of abalone shells.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 3, 2003   Date of arrival: August 3, 2003

This is truely a piece of heaven. I walked along the beach with a gray harbor seal. He was between the beach and the white surf. He walked with me. It was quite a trip.

The views from the house are awesome. The white water and the lighthouse views are the best. No other place compares with the views of the house of the smashing white water. The sounds are incredible. We'll be coming back every year. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review