reviews for: listing #12629 - Poipu Beach, Hawaii Condo rental

Oceanview Poipu Special: $110/Night, $770/Week!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Poipu Beach
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $110 - $140 /nt
    $770 - $980 /wk

sort by:

Fabulous location and so affordable!

Review submitted: June 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 28, 2013

This little studio is perfect for two! We loved the clean comfortable space as soon as we walked in. Then you open the windows and the sliding glass door to let in the ocean breeze and take in that view!

Directly across the road from what turned out to be our favorite snorkel spot, Lawai Beach, this condo has a direct view of the surf - obstructed only by power lines as it borders a park instead of another resort. (I should mention that the roosters of Kauai are rampant in the park and actually quite endearing unless the moon is full and they think it is dawn all night. But we were waking up on Pacific Daylight Time so not a big deal.) And when you are done gawking at the surf for a second, turn around and look at those mountains!

Five minutes from Koloa where you can enjoy delicious local food at affordable "non-resort" rates. Five minutes from the incredible Po'ipu Beach where you can snorkel some more with LOTS of fish and sea turtles. (We saw turtles across the street at Lawai too!)

Fully equipped kitchen including ice chest for day trips and beach chairs that carry like back packs - very handy. Small bathroom is a bit dated but clean and awesome shower pressure with lots of hot water.

Screaming internet speed on the free WiFi made us VERY happy since we were blogging the trip.

COMFY bed. Comfy. Slept like a big snoring baby. And the sheets were pure luxury!

LOVED the lanai! Loved it.

We never used the pool cause we were in the surf every day, but the pool & garden area is beautiful! The koi are the size of my cat and so pretty! Laundry facility clean and easy. Foot wash stations at entries. Parking is squeezed, but - hey! it's a rental. :)

The first day, a light switch went out. Guy came and fixed it lickety split the next morning and we were out to enjoy our day!

Loved this little studio and hope to stay there again!

FYI - NO Air Conditioning. This was not a problem for us, but I know that's a deal-breaker for a lot of folks.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Felt like home!

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this great little condo last Spring and by the end of our trip it felt like our own home; we were so sad to leave! The property mgmt company was very pleasant to deal with and dropped off the condo keys with our rental car agency. Everything was simple, it was as easy as staying at a hotel. We especially appreciated the guide books for hikes in Kauai and things to do on the island. The condo complex is very quiet and peaceful (except in the early a.m. when the roosters crow, bring ear plugs!).We would definitely come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 14, 2011

We needed to get away from the Seattle rain and this condo was absolutely perfect for our getaway. It had all the comforts of home, plus a fabulous view, and great location. The sound of the surf and the warm breeze were a pleasant constant in the room. The pool and grounds are great. Customer service is clearly a high priortiy to the owner and property manager. I would highly recommend this for anyone looking for a great place to unwind. I’m sure we’ll stay again on our next visit!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

It's Perfect

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 14, 2011

My husband and I needed to get away from the Seattle rain and this condo was absolutely perfect for our getaway. It had all the comforts of home, plus a fabulous view, and great location. The sound of the surf and the warm breeze were a pleasant constant in the room. The pool and grounds are great. But we spent most of our time exploring the island and enjoying the beaches. This is a great place to unwind and I’m sure we’ll stay again on our next visit!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome Location & Perfect Condo!

Review submitted: January 29, 2011   Date of arrival: January 20, 2011

Wow, this is an amazing condo! The location is ideal. It backs up to a park and has beautiful ocean views from the balcony. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony every morning enjoying breakfast and watching the whales out in the ocean. Some of the best snorkeling on the island was just across the street (we even saw a sea turtle!). The Beach House lawn, across the street, was the best place to watch the sun set over the ocean too! The condo was clean and fully stocked. The owner thought of everything - Kitchen Aid mixer, wine glasses & corkscrew, blender, coffee bean grinder, extra hooks in bathroom for beach towels & swimsuits, extra towel rack, beach chairs, a king sized bed, cooler, even a garlic press! We could not have asked for anything more. I highly recommend this perfect studio condo for your Kauai vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Would Love to Stay There Again!

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

“My Wife and I vacationed in Kauai for a week, staying at Prince Kuhio 231 just next to Prince Kuhio Park. We had an excellent view of the ocean from our balcony, as well as a next door view of the park, complete with the signature Kauai chickens. The condo is very well equipped with a mini-kitchen, balcony furniture, shower, beach chairs, etc. and is located very centrally to the southern beach area, spouting horn, and other attractions. We loved the way the ocean breeze flowed through the condo, and how close we were to everything. We would love to stay there again! Kauai Vacation rentals was easy to find, and the condo was just what they said it would be. It was very nice for a studio condo, and it has everything we needed, including a very comfortable king bed and a very romantic ceiling fan.”

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I Love This Spot so Much I return Every Year!

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: May 10, 2010

“I love this spot so much that I return every year! The condo reflects what to me Kauai is all about; A relaxed environment, surrounded by extraordinary beauty. If you want to use it as a home base for your adventures, then the money you save will let you get on another helicopter ride. And if you want to do nothing more than sit by the pool and watch the trade winds blow the clouds past you, then this is also the place for you. The garden and the adjacent park are a botanist’s dream, where you can see every type of palm, flower, and tropical fruit imaginable. At sunset, be sure to walk across the street to the Beach House restaurant. The lawn out front is ground zero for sunset photos. This is also a good place to watch Kauai’s next generation of world-class surfers doing their thing. The best snorkeling on the island is right there too.”

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Lovely Place In Paradise...

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

I took my daughter to Kauai to celebrate her 16th birthday...Your little condo was perfect in every way. It had everything we needed...We felt like we were living there for 2 weeks instead of visiting...We loved falling asleep to the ocean waves and having smoothies out on the balcony each morning...being in the perfect location,made it easy to get to everything. It was wonderful...Can't wait to return.

Brenda

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely Place In Paradise

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

I took my daughter to Kauai to celebrate her 16th birthday...Your little condo was perfect in every way. It had everything we needed...We felt like we were living there for 2 weeks instead of visiting...We loved falling asleep to the ocean waves and having smoothies out on the balcony each morning...being in the perfect location,made it easy to get to everything. It was wonderful...Can't wait to return.

Brenda

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely Little Place In Paradise...

Review submitted: July 30, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

I took my daughter to Kauai to celebrate her 16th birthday...Your little condo was perfect in every way.It had everything we needed... We felt like we were living there for 2 weeks instead of visiting...we loved falling asleep to the sound of the ocean waves, and having smoothies out on the balcony each morning...being in the perfect location, made it so easy to get to everything. It was wonderful...Can't wait to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

good until...

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

fun to have many snorkeling places really close ,the garden is very nice ,good to have the bbq ,very quiet for the first couple of days until the guy next door left the air conditionner on 24/24 very annoying when sitting on the lanai and also to sleep.but the condo has everything to make you own meal and more .the view of the park is relaxing with all the stars .it is pretty cool at night dont see no reason for the ac...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your review. The condos at Prince Kuhio Resort are individually owned and while nearly all of them are in excellent condition, some of the owners spend more time updating and remodeling than others. We want visitors to Prince Kuhio 231 to enjoy the unobstructed ocean view and peaceful surroundings. I have contacted the owner to remedy the situation.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Prince Kuhio #231

Review submitted: July 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2010

My Wife and I vacationed in Kauai for a week, staying at Prince Kuhio condo's just next to Prince Kuhio Park. We had an excellent view of the ocean from our balcony, as well as a next door view of the park, complete with the signature Kauai chickens. The condo is very well equipped with a mini-kitchen, balcony furniture, shower, beach chairs, etc. and is located very centrally to the southern beach area, spouting horn, and other attractions. We loved the way the ocean breeze flowed through the condo, and how close we were to everything. We would love to stay there again! Kauai Vacation rentals was easy to find, and the condo was just what they said it would be. It was very nice for a studio condo, and it has everything we needed, including a very comfortable queen bed and a very romantic ceiling fan.


Lee and Kathy

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Such a value, in a magnificent place!

Review submitted: May 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 27, 2010

I love this spot so much that I return every year!
The condo reflects what to me Kauai is all about; A relaxed environment, surrounded by extraordinary beauty. If you want to use it as a home base for your adventures, then the money you save will let you get on another helicopter ride. And if you want to do nothing more than sit by the pool and watch the trade winds blow the clouds past you, then this is also the place for you.
The garden and the adjacent park are a botanist’s dream, where you can see every type of palm, flower, and tropical fruit imaginable.
At sunset, be sure to walk across the street to the Beach House restaurant. The lawn out front is ground zero for sunset photos. This is also a good place to watch Kauai’s next generation of world class surfers doing their thing. The best snorkeling on the island is right there too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Sound of the Surf and View from the Balcony

Review submitted: January 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2008

Its quiet, can hear the surf, and see it from the balcony. Loved the kitchen we can cook in. It is clean, compact, but elegant. The bed was very comfortable! This is rare. The grounds of Prince Kuhio Resort are beautiful with trees and flowers and beautiful places. I brought my mom to Kauai to celebrate her 70th birthday. We loved the magnificent beauty of the ocean, sky, mountains, and flora. They are enough to bring peace to one's very soul.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful and Serene

Review submitted: January 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2008

We enjoyed the peace and serenity, incredible beachside location, beautiful landscaping. We came to Kauai for our honeymoon, and fell in love with the island. Hard to return home for so many reasons

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Feels Like Home

Review submitted: January 6, 2010   Date of arrival: November 25, 2009

The condo feels like a home with special extra touches. What a beautiful location! Sunsets are fantastic.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review