reviews for: listing #126479vb - Nosara, Costa Rica rental

Don't Walk to the Beach, Casa De Memphis I is on the Beach.
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • rates (USD)  $ 175 - $ 285 / night
    $ 1,225 - $ 2,000 / week
    $ 3,750 / month
  • sleeps  6
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

Casa de Memphis= five stars+

Review submitted: September 19, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

What a wonderful experience, so much better than we anticipated. My wife and 15 month old son didn't know what to expect as we drove down the potholed roads to what was apparently the middle of the rainforest, when we pulled up to this beautiful house. It is incredible both inside and out, accented with the most beautiful woods you can imagine. It was roomy, clean, and had all of the amenities we could want. In the morning we would go out on our balcony and watch howler monkeys, veriegated squirrels, parrots, parakeets and cotamundis playing in the trees - right there in front of us! The beach is about 200 ft from the house, and on the way to it we would see many multi colored lizards including iguanas, as well as brilliantly orange-colored crabs and hermit crabs scurrying away. We had this beautiful beach all to ourselves, and found so many colorful and uniquely shaped shaped shells. The water was perfect. We found a coconut the first day, and man was it good. At night, we would sit on the front porch and relax with a cigar and beverage, and you could hear the ocean at the perfect volume, better than any Corona commercial. Even though it seems you are miles away from anywhere, the are little pockets carved away in the jungle that have some of the most marvelous resteraunts and bars I have ever seen. They have completely stocked kitchens and bars, and everything is SOOO fresh. Some were upscale with infitiy pool bars, and while at others I kept waitng for Jimmy Buffet to walk up and have a Margarita. At one place, a couple of kinkajou (raccoon family) walked right out of the jungle up to our table, which my son loved. They were all very reasonbly priced. And if total laid back relaxation and fabulous dining isn't enough, we took surfing lessons (the area is famous for its surfing), and went on an incredibley exhilarating zip line canopy tour. So many other psoitives, like the amazingly few biting insects, the sights and sounds, the people, the weather, and the lack of crowds gives this place the perfect mix of relaxation and excitement. Another crummy week in paradise . . .
Nick June 2007

Helpful votes: 13 / 16

 

Heaven on the beach

Review submitted: August 8, 2014   Date of arrival: July 15, 2014

Nosara and Casa De Memphis was the ideal ending destination for a 2 week tour of Costa Rica with my wife and kids. Having spent over a week in LaFotuna and Monteverde, we were looking for a relaxing few days on the Pacific coast at a comfortable home. We hit the jackpot with Casa De Memphis. The home was well furnished, including one of the best kitchens of any VRBO home in which we've stayed, owner and manager who were very communicative and responsive and a killer location. The house is 100 yards from a postcard perfect private beach that can rival any beach we've been to on the east or west coast of the U.S. And the town of Nosara was fantastic. It's 'costa rica rural', filled with expats, vacationers and surfers all tickled to have found their nirvana. Tons of outdoor activities, lots of casual but great restaurants, and an ideal spot to 'just do nothing.' Knowing what we now know, we would have come earlier and stayed later at Casa De Memphis. If you are looking for the quintessential Pacific Coast Costa Rica experience, you need not look any further. You won't do better than this rental in Nosara.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Coasta Rica and Casa de Memphis Rock!

Review submitted: June 4, 2014   Date of arrival: March 27, 2014

Casa de Memphis was the perfect setting for a first-time visit to Costa Rica! The house is well appointed and in great condition. Being so close to the beach (Playa Pelada) was fantastic. It really was like having a private beach! Low tide is an excellent time for exploring the tidal pools and caves. Just a short walk away is Playa Guiones, a completely different beach experience, especially for surfers and people watching. There is also good proximity to other activities in Nosara and Guiones. I highly recommend the zip lining experience. I will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely great place...cant wait to go back

Review submitted: June 3, 2014   Date of arrival: May 14, 2014

Casa de Memphis is a fabulous vacation spot. This was my first trip to Costa Rica. The house was in great shape, and as clean as it could get. We went offshore fishing for 3 days and caught big fish (marlin, sailfish, wahoo, and mahi) each day along with a lot of smaller fish (tuna and bonita) to keep us busy. The zip line tour was incredible. 2 of the many restaurants are a short walk down the beach from the house and the food was great. But the best part of the the trip was enjoying the house (especially the home cooked meals from the recommended chef....very reasonable) and the beach. I cant wait to go back next year. Best vacation we have ever had.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place

Review submitted: June 3, 2014   Date of arrival: May 22, 2014

We were six guys staying at Casa de Memphis II for the first time on our annual fishing trip. The manager, Tiffany was a bit surprised as she says Dave, the owner never rents to anyone but families. Maybe it was that our average age was 55 that got us in under the radar.

The house was far nicer than anything we have ever imagined. Super clean and had everything you would need and then some. I say this because we ran the blender almost constantly when we were not out fishing. Needless to say the blender and the coffee pot burned out but out of nowhere came their replacements. This place must be a logistical nightmare and to have replacements already on hand and was not something you would expect. I am told that because the electrical service goes on and off quite often that small appliances do not last long. The owner being an airline pilot, always has a back up.

The fishing was great, yet sometimes slow and we caught and carried back to the house almost 100 pounds of fillets of fresh Yellow Fin tuna, Dorado (aka Mai Mai) and Wahoo. On top of that we caught a nice 200 pound Marlin and several sailfish all of which we released. (100 pounds of fillets is a great way to meet the neighbors)

We did take the owner’s advice and had Chola, the chef come by each night and cook up the days fresh catch. While we did walk down the beach to the restaurant LaLuna, we did have Chola come the other nights and cook for us and a few locals we picked up along the way. This alone saved us a great deal vs. eating out every night. We also paid for the maids to come by everyday when we were out fishing and that was well worth it.

I got to sleep in the uber private cabina out back across the bridge and it was great to wake up to the sounds of the neighborhood wildlife. The monkeys kept it down and were not to loud but they were all over the place. We would actually swim in the pool and howell back at them.

One of the things that was most surprising was that abundance of fruit in the neighborhood trees. Of the eight houses each seamed to have a mega fruit tree of some sort. We would just ask and could then pick anything we wanted. Papaya, water apples, limes and mangos. If we could pick it, in the blender it went.

I would highly recommend Casa de Memphis II and I for that mater, to anyone who wants a house in great working order in a very remote location surrounded by wildlife, the Pacific Ocean and all the fresh fruit you can eat yet still close enough to the stores

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couldn't be any closer to the beach

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: February 17, 2014

No frills house with all the basics. Attentive property manager. We love the location. Perfect for two couples. Great value.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice place to stay, near fun town

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

Casa de Memphis was a wonderful place to stay with my family. The beach was a short walk (we learned upon arrival that Costa Rica does not allow houses to be build closer than 300 meters from the ocean), there is a pool next door that we were allowed to use, and the house was beautiful and in great condition. The town of Nosara is very near by and has great surf lessons, restaurants, and shops, but it is not too big.

Two words of caution: The rip tide is strong off the coast of the house. David has information about it in the house. We had three children with us, the youngest 6 years old, and learned quickly that they couldn't go it above their knees. Also, the owners recommended two Coast Rican women who would cook for us. They were lovely and prepared a great meal, but in the end charged is 3x what we were told they would charge. We paid, of course, but didn't (couldn't afford to) ask them to return. Better to find a good Costa Rican place in town for a fraction of the cost.

All in all, it was a great experience, and everyone in my family would love to return. (Zip lining, and surf lesson are a MUST!)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Everything you need for a great vacation

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

Spent the 1st week of July 2013 at Casa de Memphis with my wife and 2 children ages 3 & 1. The house is at the northern end of Playa Pelada, a beautiful stretch of beach with a nice swimming area and lots of tide pools. From the front door of the house it is only a 2 minute walk to the beach and about a 10 minute drive to the "downtown" area near Playa Guiones. The 2 bedrooms were good size with comfortable beds, fans and air conditioning, and each with their own bathrooms which were large. The house offers a fully supplied kitchen connected to a good size living room area. Nice porches at the front and back sides of the house with comfortable furniture to sit outside and enjoy the daily visits of the howler monkeys and birds. Additionally, there is a washer and dryer which was very helpful. The house offers good speed wifi and Sky TV.
Dave, the owner, is very knowledgeable about the local area and provides a detailed accounting of many of the area attractions. He is quick to respond and makes the rental process quite easy. Tiffany, the local property manager, was quite helpful in getting us checked in and making sure we had an enjoyable stay
Note: We rented a GPS from Dollar at the Liberia airport (highly recommended accessory from whomever you rent a car from) - Casa de Memphis is preloaded as one of the Nosara sites.
We look forward to staying again soon.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Vacation paradise

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

Case De Memphis was everything we expected. The house and property are in great condition.
I would not travel at the end of the dry season in future travel, as we did this time. I would stay here again if travelling this way. The owners information is current and very helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Casa de Memphis 1

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

Awesome time at Casa De Memphis 1, great location and quick walk down the beach and you are at the local tico bar and resturant. Fishing was awesome and the neighbors were wonderful at giving us advise and letting us in on the local favorites. Loved it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Un lugar espectacular!!!

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 15, 2012

Este lugar es sencillamente fantástico!

La casa está decorada de forma muy hermosa, estoy impresionada por la calidad del mantenimiento, la limpieza impecable pero sobre todo, el servicio al cliente, la atención es de primera calidad!!! Uno puede sertirse 100% seguro y tranquilo en este lugar.

Definitivamente, los mejores días que pasamos mi novio y yo en la playa, fueron en Casa de Memphis. Esperamos poder regresar en un futuro y por supuesto, vamos a recomendar este precioso lugar a todas nuestras amistades y familiares.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Translation: This place is just fantastic! The house is decorated in a very beautiful, I am impressed by the quality of maintenance, impeccable cleanliness and above all, customer service, attention is first class! One can sertirse 100% safe and quiet here. Definitely, the best days we spent my boyfriend and I on the beach, were in Memphis House. We hope to return in the future and of course, we will recommend this lovely place to all our friends and family.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Kids vacation of a lifetime

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

What a beautiful place to relax! Our kids loved being so close to the beach and we loved being able to walk to great restaurants. The kids were amazed at how close the monkeys were to the house and how big the iguanas were. We are from Heredia, so having such a great haven within driving distance is amazing. We are already figuring out dates to come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Costa Rica at its best

Review submitted: November 24, 2012   Date of arrival: November 3, 2012

I was thrilled to have so many things for me and my friends to do, right in the middle of the remote paradise of Playa Plaeda. Zip lining, four wheeling, hike to the waterfall, walks on both Palaeda and Guiones beaches, swimming in tidal pools, excellent food and a quiet community. The bird watching was amazing, as well as the appearance of holler monkeys and large iguanas. The house is very comfortable!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great vaca!!

Review submitted: November 23, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

It was a great location for our family! Easy access to the beach!! Close to all
the restaurants!! Beautiful house!! Everything was perfect!! So easy working with the property manager!!
Awesome!!! Will go again!!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: November 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

Finally I had a vacation that was exactly as advertised. The house was perfect for our family. The owner was helpful and accommodating, the house and the area were beautiful, clean, with all the ammenities we could ask for. We loved the access to the beach, it made us feel that it was our own private area, sort of like playing rich. We love the spaciousness of the area, but were never intimidated and always felt safe, whether in or out of the house, an important feature when children are involved. We will definitely be in touch with the owner about future stays.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic Vacation!

Review submitted: November 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2012

We rented Casa de Memphis for a 50th birthday celebration this summer and we couldn't be happier! Everything about it was fantastic. The house is beautiful, roomy and spotless, and location was excellent -- right next to the ocean where we swam, boogie boarded and watched the incredible sunsets. Access to the neighboring pool (complete with monkeys in the trees above us) was nice for a change of pace from the ocean when we wanted it. In addition to ocean activities, we went zip lining, four-wheeling, took a fantastic yoga class outdoors and had wonderful massages (owner has provided abundant notebook of near-by activities and restaurants). We also went out dancing two nights with the locals and had a blast. Tiffany was gracious and attentive, helping us figure out best places to shop, get groceries, dine, and especially, how and when to use our internet for the best access (can be a problem in Costa Rica). I don't really like the resort experience, so Casa de Memphis is the perfect balance for me -- really nice accommodations combined with local flavor. Hope to go back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great property with an excellent location

Review submitted: November 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

This was a great place to stay for us and I would recommend this property. The owner dealt effectively with everything we needed particularly directions and places to go locally. It is a great place for kids with the facilities, the beach, and the wildlife.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: November 7, 2012   Date of arrival: September 12, 2012

To start with we left the US for Nosara the day they had a huge 7.6 earth quake. The first thing we did was contact the owner on our way to the airport. He had not heard of the earthquake (He is a FedEx pilot and works at night) and said he would get back to us. Surprisingly and most fortunately he got back to us to report that there was little if any damage. The electricity was out but the phones worked fine. The four of us pressed on and what an adventure did we come upon.

We arrived in the afternoon to find the staff of the management company finishing the clean up of the house and the electricity on. It seams that everything on the floor faired well but anything else went to the floor. The owner has two houses close together and both were unscathed. In a phone conversation that night with the owner he told us that the epicenter of the biggest earthquake in Costa Rica in 50 years was just under the welcome mat of casa de Memphis I. WOW

Hard to believe but the earthquake lifted Playa Pelada, the beach where the house is located, six feet. I was told by Richard, a year round local gringo, that what used to look like low tide is now in fact high tide and beach gained over 100 yards from the previous high tide line to the new one.

The most memorable comment was the one from a “surfer dude”, “dude you should have been here after the quake we all just got a bottle of something and started heading for high ground.” I guess I missed to biggest party of the year.

It has all the benefits of being "away from it all", with howler monkeys outside our window, crabs roaming around everywhere, a beach to ourselves, and jungle all around - except for the exceptional restaraunts and bars, shops, public surfing beach a short drive away, and the comfortable accomodations. It was the perfect getaway, unlike anything we've experienced. Our 5 year old had a blast! The owner is a stickler for details and it is apparent he takes great pride in his guests having a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend it for families and romantic couples alike.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Robbed! Casa de Memphis is not safe.

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

We are a family of four, with two young girls, and stayed at Casa Memphis in Aug 2012. First of all, we were disappointed in the quality of the house, given previous reviews. It was lacking in basic maintenance, for example: the bedroom screen was ripped in half, walls were scratched, the couch smelled so much like cat pee that I couldn't bring myself to sit on it, the top shelf of the fridge was a piece of plywood, written on with a black sharpee. The entire house felt like a dingy 1980s basement rec room. The locks on the doors were so poorly aligned that it took 5 minutes every time we needed to lock or unlock a door. The keypad on the house safe was broken, so instead they had installed a lock with a key.
Then we read the house information book and learned about previous “home invasions.” We kept doors and windows locked at all times, even when we were at home. Knowing the house had already been robbed, I didn’t sleep very well at night and kept waking up to triple check the doors and windows.
On the fourth night of our stay, we went out for a quick dinner. It was the first time we had gone out after dark, and we were only away for 90 minutes. We returned to find we had been robbed. The bars had been pulled off a side window, the (locked) window was forced open, the safe was pried open and all our valuables were gone (brand new laptop, wallet, checkbook, cash, phone, 2 cameras…and all the pictures from our 2 month trip to Costa Rica).
Needless to say. it’s a total NIGHTMARE to be in a foreign country with no means of communication, two freaked out young children, no credit cards and all bank accounts back home frozen. We were forced to end our trip a week early.
The owner called us the day after the robbery to ask what happened and said it was his intention to refund the money we had paid for our stay. Then, the day we were leaving, we were informed by the house manager that the owner decided to charge us for the night we were robbed and the night after since we were reloacated. This added insult to injury. This robbery simply would not have happened if the owner had installed the kind of bars that cannot be pulled off a house, or the kind of safe that cannot be opened so easily (a cheap safe is WAY worse than no safe at all). Or an alarm or a caretaker. As it was, no matter what we did, we had no way to prevent ourselves from being robbed. I'm so sorry I ever rented this place and hope I can help others to avoid this experience.

Owners response: The person who posted the review did not stay at the house. They had contacted me via email here in the US while they were down in Costa Rica and were a few days away from the day they wanted to arrive. This is most unusual as everyone who has rented the house has reserved it far out in advance. I told the party to contact my house manager there in Costa Rica and let the two of them work it out. That was my last contact and I just assumed that all went well because I never heard anything about this until the review was posted. After much digging around this is what I found out:

The party was to arrive in the afternoon but called and said they would be arriving around 10:00 PM. My manager has children and does not check people in after 8:00 PM. She informed them that she could have someone else check them in but that she would to charge them an extra $50 for the service. The person who wrote this got very upset and was down right rude, hostile and said she would say elsewhere says my manager. Last she heard of them. The party stayed the night at a local hotel and the next morning contacted other house managers in the area. She became upset that those few houses that were available were outside her budget and would charge her for a weeks stay even though they were now down to six nights. All of this took place over the phone in the office while the owner of the hotel was listening. The owner of the hotel and my house manager are best friends. After staying at the hotel a few more nights they left the town.

While checking out the hotel staff heard the women say that "Casa de Memphis had trashed there holiday with their $50 fee and that they (Me ) would regret it." Two weeks later the review appears.

Some things to also consider are the fact that there was never a signed rental agreement. The other is the very nature of the review. The house is the most rented property in Nosara, Costa Rica and has the most reviews of any of the 190 homes listed on VRBO and all had a five star rating. Then out of the blue this. The intent is to smear me because of the actions of my manager and by way of this review section has accomplished just that. Clearly the previous reviews don't add up to this. She down loaded a rental agreement from the house's website and used it to document to VRBO that she stayed there. She did not. All of this because of $50

Helpful votes: 29 / 33

 

Great home in beautiful area

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

Got to Nosara early and went to Marlin Bills resturant to meet Tiffany, who arrived in minutes. We drove to the home over the normally bumpy dirt roads (thats part of the charm). Tiffany gave us the big tour of the home, and her personal phone numbers and we were on our own. We all enjoyed the home very much, and I have no complaints what so ever. The local dog came to visit us daily. Daniel, the caretaker of the ajoining condo's, said the dogs name was Fleka. He said when she heard English being spoken, off she would go. We used the large pool at the condo and it was very refreshing. The local water is a bit hard, so we avoided washing clothes as much as possible, but the water can be drank from the tap without any problem. While there we rented four ATV's from I Quad, located behind the Guilded Iguana. The rates were great and they Do Not Take your passport. We rode for over 30 miles on roads and trails in the surrounding area...amazing. Try to make the trip to San Jaunillo, which has a most beautiful coastline you can imagine. Thats about it, loved the place both house and town. Always check Tripadvisor for great reviews of local businesses, written by those who have been there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect location!

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

My husband, daughter and I are still talking about what a wonderful vacation we had while staying at Dave's house. We were there for two weeks, and tried to pack a lot in, but it was hard to leave the comfortable house and fabulous pool. The house is well appointed with every comfort of home. It was clean and even nicer than it appeared in the photos. Dave was a pleasure to work with. We were fortunate that he was staying at his home around the corner for a few days, and we were able to share a pleasant dinner with him at Rancho Tico. There are so many great restaurants in the area that it was hard to stay home for dinner. We bought fresh fish twice and shrimp from a truck that visits the neighborhood. It is a short walk to the beach, and each sunset is better than the last one. The local people made us feel so welcome. I would highly recommend staying at Case de Memphis!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Playa Pelada is a hidden gem

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 26, 2012

This year was our third time in the Nosara area and 2nd time staying in Playa Pelada. It is truly a hidden gem! CDM is a great well appointed home with all of the amenities needed for a comfortable stay, what makes this home even nicer is the lack of development in comparion to Playa Guionnes. Tiffany the property manager (A Toronto Native) was extremely helpful and was always available if we had any questions. If you are looking for great surf, a pristine environment, great people, and great food look no further! Nosara will not dissapoint.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The Explorers

Review submitted: February 18, 2012   Date of arrival: December 10, 2011

The house is in the perfect location. Walk to the beautiful Playa de Pelada and Biological reserve. Easy access to 5 corners to go fishing in Garza, Miss Canopy Zip Line, Ostional Turtle Refuge, and generally explore the country. The house itself is perfect, relaxing, and has everything you need as home base.
I would definitely recommend this house and we will definitely stay there during our next visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: December 3, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

We went for a week to Nosara to attend a friend's wedding there. We found Casa Memphis I online, and I began an email correspondence with the owner. He was extremely helpful in answering all my questions and providing additional information that hadn't even occurred to me. When we actually arrived, we were thrilled to discover the house was just as it appeared in the online photos, and was very clean and well-maintained. We enjoyed the wi-fi, the outdoor grill, the pool and occasionally, the A/C. I loved sitting on the second floor balcony outside the bedroom first thing in the morning to listen and watch the birds and monkeys. The beach is just a minute or two away. Also, we enjoyed the horseback riding tour as well as the canopy tour by zipline, which was an awesome experience.

The local property manager was very friendly and helpful, and the whole experience was totally enjoyable and pleasant. I would not hesitate to recommend Casa Memphis to friends and family, and hope to go back again myself. What a wonderful little piece of paradise! Thanks for a very happy experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great House, Helpful on-site managers - Great Pool out back gate

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

Dave and Mary's Case de Memphis UNO is great. Tiffany and Frank (nearby mgrs) will take care of any issues during your stay. Turn left out of gate &less than 100 Steps to quiet beach. Both large bedrooms upstairs w/ large walk-in showers. Plenty of space in living room, kitchen, dining room for a large family. Just a Wonderful House. Look at Memphis II right around corner if have larger group. As Dave & others have discussed, PLEASE rent a car in Nosara as the roads are certainly an adventure during daylight(night time even mo' FUN) & some of the hills make biking back to the casa a bit impossible unless you are interested in hiking with the bike uphill. The folks at National/Alamo near Marlin Bill's and Rosie's Soda are GREAT. Make sure to just get all the insurance you can get. It's easier than hassling with your credit card company back in States should something occur. the maximum coverage is NOT that much more than the minimum req'd monopolized liability insurance for CR. Plenty of surfing, yoga, adventures, great meals right in/nearby the Nosara Beaches/Playas. We really enjoyed the Miss Sky zip lines - GO. Had a blast and I am a wimp who can't handle roller coasters. The folks take care of you the entire time on the zip lines, it's fail safe with heavy duty carbiners plus backups, heavy cable reels, DOUBLE cable lines, thick gloves - think brakes, upper and lower body harnesses, helmets and unbelievable views of the canopy, hummingbirds, more birds,river, waterfalls &Monkeys. Wear a swimsuit under your gear to enjoy the pond and waterfall. CHOW - don't miss Gilded Iguana ( wide Menu, they take Credit cards - no added fees and prices include both the 13% tax & 10% tip) - we just left another 10% tip each night since the service was excellent. Live Music Tuesday and FRI or SAT. LaGarta Lodge - great view for sunset and a libation. Giardino Tropicale under new mgmt. Staff great, food excellent. La Luna ( had just opened for season - beautiful, good CR microbeer) and Olga's ( very good, very Tico menu) an easy walk south on Playa Pelada from Casa Memphis. Super Nosara Market well run, just keep on road to left when see airport runway. New Gas station on way in to Nosara Village will take good care of you. Robin's Ice Cream/Helado is all homemade - try it. Advice: prices in Nosara and Costa Rica in general are not cheap but not overly pricey either. Many dining options, groceries, excursions comprable to States. Pura Vida.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Hands Down Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 28, 2011

My wife, our 18 year old son and 15 year old daughter stayed at Casa de Memphis for a week at the end of March and it was the best vacation we ever had. If we could have figured out a way to stay there we never would have left. Dave, the homeowner, and Tiffany, his local contact, made sure that everything worked out fine logistically. The house is as advertised and while there is one house right next door it was not a problem. The owners of that house were present during our stay and we wish we could have got to know them better. The pool in the villa complex was fantastic and we had it to ourselves most of the time.The beach is absolutely awesome and most of the time we had it to ourselvers. There is an undertow so don't go too far out if you are unfamiliar with dealing with that, but you can safely bodysurf or use the boogy boards to ride the 3-6 foot waves in. When the tide goes out you can go to the exposed rocks and find little fish and crabs. The front porch was a great place to have coffee and listen to the howler monkeys that were in the trees about 50 steps away. The monkeys were not inhibited by our presence at all. I could not believe there were actually monkeys in the trees! Hibiscus bushes and bouganvilleas are like weeds there. It was absolutely beautiful and we were there towards the end of the dry season! Tons of birds with some big hummingbirds.

We did the zipline tour (terrifying at first if you are afraid of heights like I am) and the guides were very professional and entertaining at the same time. We went deep see fishing and my son caught a 7 foot sailfish! You would think that this would be a huge highlight but it was just one of a never ending series of all time great vacation experiences. The kids took a surfing lesson and were catching their own waves in an hour's time. We went horseback riding as well. The local people were really friendly and the restaurants were out of this world good. The Pacific Azule is a must on Sunday night.

We would go back tomorrow if we could. One week is definately not enough time in this place. You almost instantly fall into a natural rhythm with sunrise and sunset and you can't help but unwind here.

Thanks Dave for the best vacation we have ever had!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa de Memphis - Great Get-a-way Vacation

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. When looking for a location for our vacation we wanted something different from the typical touristy vacation with large hotels, amusement parks, and crowded beaches. When we talked to David he sold us on Nosara and Casa de Memphis. Had to go with the fellow Tennessean. There were six of us traveling together, my wife, 2 children (18 & 21), and 2 of their friends (18 & 21). The whole group tried the Zip-line with Miss Sky Canopy, which was a great adventure! The kids took a surfing lesson from Kimbo at Nosara Surf Academy. They were very professional and accommodating. Kimbo worked with the two boys and the two girls had a female instructor which worked out great. They did pretty good for some Tennessee kids. The next day we took an ATV tour with Nosara Surf Academy. Mark & Mike were great tour guides. The tour went up into the mountain to a family coffee plantation (farm). We also had lunch with Howie who I think is one of the few if not the only Gringo living in that area. Thanks so much for inviting us in to his home. The views from the mountains are breathtaking. We were glad we took this tour vs. the others in town as they seemed to stay to the main road. As far as food we cooked a few meals at the house but also ate at the following: Poncho's, La Luna (great pizza), & Rosie's Soda Cafe (great food @ great price), The house was great. Plenty of room for the six of us. Beach was minutes away and very few people on the beach. We had the pool to ourselves when we used it as we didn't see anyone else around. I would definitely recommend renting a car, for sure rent a 4WD. It came in very handy and the drive from Liberia was no problem. There are some very interesting roads in the area if you get adventurous. Overall a great experience and would highly recommend the house and location. Tiffany was great and helped answer any questions that we had.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a great first taste of Costa Rica!

Review submitted: March 18, 2011   Date of arrival: March 7, 2011

Just ret'd last night from our 10 day stay at Casa De Memphis I. House is as advertised, as close to the beach as is allowed in Nosara. You walk down a very short path and the whole Playa Pelada opens up in front of you. The house looks exactly as pictured - open concept first floor and two spacious bedrooms w/separate baths upstairs. All is clean and well-maintained. The porch/deck on the front of the house is a wonderful place to sit and have coffee. There's a great hammock to hang from the ceiling out there which is a perfect place to take a break from the sun. Sunsets on the beach are a must - house is equipped w/a blender - you provide the rest and go enjoy...The property is quite close to the house next door but there is a lot of foliage/landscaping that maintains privacy. It's not an issue. The pool is easily accessed out the back gate. As mentioned, it’s situated on the property of a small condo development but as owner states, it's rarely crowded. This house and the one next door have rights to use it. At most, there might've been 8 other guests there at any time we were there. Pool is a nice option in late afternoon when the sun gets to be too much. The beach in front of the house and the larger Playa Guiones beach are NEVER crowded - water is clear and warm and waves are great to play in (at both beaches). You can walk from Playa Pelada over to Playa Guiones - there's a small path at the left end of the beach that will take you there. There are two restaurants/bars on Playa Pelada that are fun to walk down to as well. If you've not been to Nosara before - it's quite a place - transports you to a calmer way of life - one "real" grocery store, two banks (one with an ATM), one gas station...people are very friendly, both locals and other tourists or expats and your stress melts away. Food was good everywhere we dined. We have minimal (ok no!)…spanish but communication wasn’t a problem. We really enjoyed everything about our stay and would love to go back again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Casa de Memphis/Nosara

Review submitted: July 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

My friends and I had a wonderful time in Nosara! We ate amazing food, saw beautiful sunsets, went zip-lining, enjoyed a yoga class in a open air tree house yoga studio, got a massage, and so much more. Best of all, we left feeling 100% relaxed and as though we experienced authentic Costa Rica.

Casa De Memphis has everything you could want -- a pool, a hot tub, movies and a flat screen, board games, etc. I plan to someday return to Nosara and when I do, I hope Casa De Memphis is available!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise retreat

Review submitted: July 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

Casa de Memphis is a paradise retreat. It is close to all the beaches and located in a small village/city that offers both amazing natural environments and all the necessary amenities. The house is kept very well and the owners are very nice and friendly. There is also a pool available which can be a lot of fun, and the bathrooms are royal. Great place to escape the world and retreat to your own Costa Rican paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your kind words.

Dave

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 17, 2010   Date of arrival: March 17, 2010

Shopping over the internet for a vacation rental always leaves me with a case of the jitters. So, arriving at the Casa de Memphis, I was hugely relieved and happy to find it just as the photos showed on the VRBO site. Even better, actually. All the cupboards and drawers were well-stocked, the beds were super-comfy, all applicances worked, it really was just a breath away from the most awesome beach, and the pool is huge and just next door. Our two week stay was a real pleasure. Doing business with Dave Caywood was an immense pleasure. Thanks very much Dave. Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2010

My husband, Dave, and I vacationed in Costa Rica for 2 weeks in January of 2010. Our second week was spent at the Casa de Memphis in Nosara. While we enjoyed both weeks, our stay at the Casa de Memphis was definitely the better of the 2 weeks.Casa de Memphis is located near many of the activities that Dave and I had circled on our "to do" list. We chose Boca Nosara Tours for our horseback riding excursion, Miss Sky Canope Tours for a zip line experience, and Half Moon Bay Sport Fishing Charters for a deep sea fishing adventure. We were not disappointed in any of these recommended activities. The road to Casa de Memphis keeps the area around Playa Pelada from becoming overly populated with those not residing or vacationing in the immediate area. To say it is a little bumpy would be an understatement. It takes a little getting used to and it helps to watch the locals maneuver around and across the impediments (for lack of a better word).Casa de Memphis is situated within a very short walk to Playa Pelada. Early morning brings the chatter of howler monkeys, parrots and a variety of other wildlife. Dave would prepare a hearty breakfast in the well stocked kitchen while I wandered to through the trees to the beach - camera in hand. We scheduled each of our activities for the morning hours with our afternoons open for lounging by the beach or the pool next door. After a brief respite we would wonder out for dinner. We enjoyed a meal and bonfire at Playa Garza (Pacifica Azul) and dinners at Lagarta Lodge (reservation required), Olga’s and Marlin Bill’s. The view from Lagarta Lodge was everything I expected and the food was enjoyable. The best dinner I had all week was the whole fried fish from Olga’s (I believe the worst meal I had might have also been from Olga’s).Aside from the kitchen, Casa de Memphis held other attractions. There was enough of a selection on television to keep us occupied when we retired for the evening. The full kitchen is stocked with all the essentials and more from a utensils and appliances perspective. The 2 bedrooms are roomy – each having its own bath with tiled floors. Each bedroom has an exit to a deck where you can hear and see some of some indigenous flora and fauna. All-in-all Casa de Memphis was our home away from home. Situated in an area where rest and relaxation or adventurous activities could be incorporated into every day.We would like to thank Dave Caywood for his hospitality and hope

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 4, 2010

We (a family of five, kids ages 15, 12, and 9) just
returned from one of our best vacations ever, and
we loved staying at Casa de Memphis! In fact, if I'd
known before what I know now, we would have
allocated more of our two weeks to Nosara/Casa de
Memphis. One week was not enough. There were
plenty of exciting activities (the whole family did
the Miss Sky zipline tour and loved it), but when we
wanted to just relax, the beaches and pool were
perfect. We followed a lot of the owner's
recommendations on food and activities, and all
were great. The nice touches at Casa de Memphis,
such as a real kitchen garbage can (not the itty
bitty bathroom size in the kitchen that we had
everywhere else in CR) and the oversized, thick
beach towels, as well as both washer and dryer,
made our stay extra comfortable. Also, when I first
found the house on Craig's List, the owner (Dave)
answered all my questions promptly by email. My
best find on Craig's List by far. Overall, a great
experience, and we hope to return before too long.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 1, 2009   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

Costa Rica and the Casa de Memphis were awesome. The house is only meters away from the ocean and only minutes away from Playa Pelada (drenched in the Costa Rican Tico culture) and a 10 minute beach walk to Playa Guiones. On the beach wlk, we encountered surfers, Ticos, and many other local treasures.We ate breakfast at several places, but especially enjoyed Robin’s – her homemade ice cream became an everyday favorite for my husband and our 2 daughters.Our family (me, my husband, and our 2 teenage daughters) stayed for 15 days and we would return in a heartbeat. Almost everyone in Costa Rica speaks Spanish, so hone up on your Espanol. I had fun using my limited Espanol abilities—but next time we go back, I’ll be even more proficient.My husband and I started our mornings watching the monos congos (howler monkeys) feast on fruit off a near-by tree while we sipped strong Costa Rican coffee on the porch of our beach house. The parakeets were as thick as thieves and they make a crazy sort of racket. We took long walks on the beaches and along the dirt roads of the jungle forests. We saw iguanas and a couple of coatis)—very cool! The cows (vacas) of Costa Rica are interesting creatures—they mostly hale form India and make for interesting viewing and conversation.We went on a 13-cable zip line experience above and through the canopies of the Costa Rican Rain Forest. About two-thirds into the 4-hour trek, the rain poured in the jungle like we’ve never seen. It was astounding. If you want to experience the best (and safest) zip line in Costa Rica, be sure to visit Miss Sky.Some of our adventures were NOT for the faint of heart. We went caving (spelunking) in a series of incredible caves in el Parque National Barro Hondo. The ladder down to the caves was attached to a rock wall and descended about 60 feet. We were harnessed in, but it was still a bit daunting. If you go spelunking in the Parque National Barro Hondo, be sure to ask for Norman and Seldarno—they were outstanding guides and local informants.The girls went on a horse ride with Hans from the Boca Nosara Tours— they loved riding on the Costa Rican coast. They galloped their horses along the shoreline—and had a memorable time. We highly recommend Hans and his wife, Beate.We often dined at Ponchos (our favorite place to eat) and enjoyed margaritas at La Luna Beach Bar. We also watched the Nosaran men play soccer in downtown Nosara on Sunday morning--which is a huge sport in Centra

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

AMAZING!!

Review submitted: May 21, 2009   Date of arrival: April 20, 2008

My boyfriend, my parents, and I stayed in this house in April of 2007, and we absolutely loved it. It was such a beautiful secluded area. The hardest part is actually getting to Nosara, but once you are there, this is definitely the place to stay. You have access to the pool area of the small group of condos next door which no one was in the entire week we were there. There are very few/any houses located directly on the beach, but this is as close to the beach as allowed (about 100 yards). We went offshore fishing with one of the local guides for a really reasonable price, and caught enough fish to cook several meals. There are monkeys and exotic birds in all of the trees around the house. The house is roomy and spacious enough for two couples to feel right at home. We truly had the most amazing vacation in Nosara, and I highly recommend this house for your next visit to Costa Rica.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 21, 2009   Date of arrival: May 21, 2009

Thanks a million to Memphis Dave for his wonderful casa in Nosara! Our many thanks to Tiffany and Frank (property managers) too, who were incredibly helpful, friendly - far beyond expectation! From the moment we stepped into Casa Memphis, we felt at home - and the magic of Costa Rica. Just a short 3-5 minute walk to the ocean water with the BEST sunsets we've ever seen - and great sunrise walks! Every imenity was available in the home. The outdoor shower sure came in handy when returning from the beach! The pool is very large and well kept - we spent many afternoons lounging and doing laps. Air conditioning & ceiling fans in every room keep it cool on those hot days/nights. The grocery stores had everything else we could possibly need. The restaurants were amazing, most only a short walk away (but be sure to bring a flashlight at night!). The "locals" of Nosara are always friendly and willing to talk or help with directions, but make note of landmarks because that is how you will get verbal directions (adds to the charm!). The black photo album/binder Dave leaves on the table is filled with many useful tips and things to do. We can't wait to return to Nosara! Thanks again! Such great accomodations (thanks Casa Memphis) made such a great vacation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 14, 2009   Date of arrival: May 14, 2009

In February 2009 my family and I set out to see how many days in a row we could go to the beach to play or surf in the morning and then lounge by the pool in the afternoon before we got bored. The answer: A LOT.

We had a fantastic vacation in Nosara and much of it's success was due to Dave and the Casa de Memphis.

The house was complete with everything we needed. And Nosara, too, has everything you'll need from groceries to gasoline to internet cafe and restaurants.

Don't hesitate to visit this wonderful place and stay in this wonderful house. Chances are you will love it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 9, 2009   Date of arrival: May 9, 2009

We were at Casa de Memphis the second week of January 2009. From the moment we got to the house everything was just wonderful. The property, the people in Nosara, the horseback riding, our day exploring the town and beautiful scenery on 4 wheelers, and all the wonderful hours we spent on the beach, which was right there just a minutes walk from the house.
The pool was not as close to the house as it looked in the pictures but it was beautiful and after a long day on 4 wheelers it was fabulous to undwind with a few laps and a soak.
Everything was just as David explained it would be. All the amenities you expect and then some. We didn't want for anything.
We love to travel and always try to go somewhere we have never been before but our stay at Casa de Memphis was so great that we have been considering making another trip to Nosara.
The only thing we could find to complain about were the roads. I just love pavement. But that was all part of the package that made it a wonderful destination to experience.

Owners response: After much delay, the government is to begin paving the road into Nosara in January 2010. They have already surveyed the route and it will be somewhat different from the route we currently use. Instead of exiting to the right just after the gas station you will down drive on past the gas station and take a right closer to Samara. This will definitely change thing both good and bad.

Dave Caywood

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 31, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

We just returned from our second vacation at Casa de Memphis & it was even better than our first! Only because we were more familiar with the roads,knew where places were & what things there were to do. We even met up with some of the locals we had made friends with on our first vacation to Nosara over a year ago & they still remembered us!
We can't say enough about the accommodations at Casa de Memphis. Everyting you need is right at hand. The new lighted privacy fence that was put up this year is very nice & attractive too.
Two of the couples that came on this trip with us stayed at the condos right behind Casa de Memphis. We all enjoyed the pool & we would congregate there for afternoon cocktails & salsa. Daniel oversees the condos and he is so nice! He would bring cold drinks to us ladies while we were lounging in the pool & pay us huge compliments that really made us laugh!
The men went deep sea fishing and had no luck but we discovered there is a fresh fish market in Garza. There we were able to purchase freshly caught fish, huge fresh shrimp & crabs for the nights we did not want to go out to eat.
I can't say enough about the people in Costa Rica. They are the most friendly & kind people I have ever met. I can't wait until our next trip back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 30, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

This is my 5th time to Costa Rica and I have to say that Nosara is everything Dave Caywood told me it would be and more and Dave’s house actually does sit at the corner of peace and quiet. We arrived and were met by the house’s manager Tiffany and the rest of the week just unfolded into one of the best vacations we have ever had. The house has everything, far better appointed than what we have ever rented in the past, and is in perfect working order.

We had heard that the only restaurant in Nosara on the beach, La Luna had not been up to par but when we were there it was fabulous. It looks as if their problems are behind them and the walk at sunset from the house to La Luna one of our favorites. I would highly recommend Casa de Memphis over and above any of the other houses we have rented and the Tiffany the manager says it stays booked up. Now we know why. We are coming back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 3, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

Casa De Memphis is a beautiful and well-appointed house. The grounds around the house and the pool area are very nice. Nosara is a magical place to visit, and the surf was great while we were there. Thanks for sharing your home with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 3, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

I highly recommend this as the perfect central location to build your Costa Rica vacation around. The short walk to such a gorgeous ( and often private) beach was made even better by all the sounds and sights along the path. Everything thing needed in a rental home was provided and more. I have rented vacation homes for many years and this was easily one of the nicest and best equipped. It was great to have the pool when the beach was just a little too hot and only once while we were there were there any other folks at the pool besides our group.
One of the greatest treats was discovering something new around every curve on those crazy roads.
You must go to the beach at night( take a flashlight for the path) just as the stars are coming out, turn off your flashlight and just sit quietly and watch an amazing view of the very stars we never see when we are in well light civilization.
After our week there we headed up to Arenal Volcano area. It was so beautiful and cool there but we sure missed waking up and being on the beach in one minute.

jrj

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 26, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

We had the pleasure of staying at Casa de Memphis mid July 2008 and had a wonderful experience.
I'll preface my remarks by saying that I am one of Mary Caywood's brothers: TREMENDOUS time! The house is well built and secure, everyone with whom we interacted, locals and transplanted Americans/others, were friendly and helpful, the beach was easily accessible and quite beautiful, the water was warm and the waves were large. Lots of stuff to do in and around Nosara including the "zip line" which is well worth the money (hanging upside down is cool to do), surfing (all three of my children learned the basics after an hours lesson), exploring nature and watching monkeys go from tree to tree (when walking to the beach, listen for the "blop-blop" sound often accompanied by a fine, yellow mist; those are the telltail signs of monkeys having fun with you).
Dining out is a must but, if you prefer to stay at the house to eat, you can hire a cook, arranged by Tiffany, to buy groceries and cook for you. The house next door is of similar design and was available for another family with whom we have traveled.
The roads are bumpy but you get used to them. Just plan your outings by car well. It is currently the "rainy season" but we had plenty of sun. For us, the rain typically came in the afternoon so we planned our days accordingly. There were some days without rain and oftentimes the rain, when it comes, is transient, lasting 30 minutes or more, then it is gone. American dollars and VISA accepted most places but bring cash for the zipline, AKA Canopy Ride. Don't expect paved roads, malls or huge supermarkets; you have enough of those in the States. Consider this an adventure and know that there or no expectations from you from the locals except respect of them as you would expect for yourselves.
Thanks, Dave and Mary!
Steve, Wendy, children, Beth and family next door!

Owners response: In Laws: Like a bad habit, they eventually return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 22, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

My family group of 6 adults and four small children (ages 9 months to four years) stayed in Casa de Memphis and the neighboring house for a week in late March/early April. Casa de Memphis is a great vacation house. It was very hot in Costa Rica at that time, and the air conditioning and ceiling fans all work well, which was good for us as we were not used to that level of heat. The house is very comfortable, and has a working grill, television, and washer dryer. The pool in the adjacent small condo complex was gorgeous, and had shaded areas that were nice for the kids. The bedrooms and bathrooms are clean and comfortable. You can easily walk to the beach, to a few different restaurants, and through a forest path to the river. There are lots of good restaurants in the area that you can drive to, and there are parts of the beaches that are great for kids, as well as the good surfing spots. My husband also took a fishing charter out and came home with mahi mahi, which was great on the grill. We saw lots of monkeys, lizards and iguanas in the area. It was a beautiful, relaxing, comfortable spot, and everyone we met in Nosara (and all over Costa Rica) was very friendly. We would definitely recommend Casa de Memphis as a great place to stay in Nosara.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 1, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

Case de Memphis is indeed an awesome paradise. We loved the place and the location. After travelling around the countryside we could appreciate to quaintness of Nosara and the friendlyness of the people.Being walking distance to the beach was a big plus. The house is more than expected, clean and well furnished. My family is already talking about going back here.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 25, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

Our family stayed at Casa de Memphis for almost a month. The casa is absolutely beautiful and spacious. It had everything we needed. Having two kids, we appreciated being able to use the washer/dryer. The house management was easily reached by phone, anytime, and attentive. You can't beat the short walk to Playa Pelada! It is not too far of a walk to Playa Guiones, even with surfboards. Our family enjoyed the laid back atmosphere of Pelada-Guiones tends to be a little busier. We can't wait to go back to Costa Rica! Enjoy the sunsets! Pura Vida

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 16, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

We rented Casa de Memphis and the house next door and our whole family loved being together and right at the beach. The houses were perfect, clean, and a one minute walk to the beach. Loved hearing and seeing all the native animals and eating all the local fish. From massages in town, horseback riding, zip lining, r & r, it was a perfect vacation for a family. Thank yoo so much.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

PURA VIDA

Review submitted: November 27, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

Where to start. First off we were a group of 6 in our late twenties and Early Thirties who came to stay at Casa De Memphis for Thanksgiving 2007. We actually drove the 5 hours from San Jose after taking the red eye from Los Angeles, and were eager to get to Nosara. When we finally made it we meet up with Tiffany who Dave had arranged for us to get the keys from at Marlin Bill's. We each ordered a drink for the road and followed Tiffany down several dirt roads to the house.

We got to the house, unlocked the gate, opened the door and found the interior and exterior of the house to be fantastic. From the tile flooring to the wood cabinets and trim everything was superb. We walked upstairs to check out the rooms and the only thing we were not sure about, was the bunk beds. We were not completely clear on the website as to their location in the second master bedroom or if they were in their own room (for the record they are in the second master bedroom). That didn't really matter because we planned to spend all our time exploring and surfing so we didn't really need the space for anything other than sleeping.

When we walked around upstairs I noticed right away the toilet in the second master bedroom was running. We opened the lid and pushed the rubber stopper all the way down and that ended the problem so we thought. The plumbing in that 2nd master was the only problem we had with the house. The toilet overflowed after we left that first night to go and explore. So after that we just turned off the water to that toilet until we needed to use it. Not really an inconvenience at all. ( I am sure this is already worked out.)

The property manager Tiffany, gave us some advice for our time in Nosara. She recommended we "Just drive around, get lost, and we would figure it all out". That was the best piece of advice because once we realized there are no street signs or street lights, we had a ball trying to look at our map and figure out if we were going the right way.

We ended up finding some great places and fun people. We rented Surfboards from Coconut Harry's. Had great meals at Cafe De Paris, Marlin Bill's, Harmony Hotel had a great vibe and cool bar (don't recommend the Daiquiris they are not sweet), Had great pizza at the Pizzeria, bought groceries at Pancho's and eat on their patio. Patrick the son of the owner of Pancho's became our new friend and joke. He would work the restaurant, then walk inside and work the Mini Market, and was there every time we were. He brother and sister were also there but they were not as prevalent as Patrick.

We spend all of our days surfing, going to the Nosara Yoga, drinking beers, zipping through the Canopy, watching the worlds happiest dogs run on the beach at Playa Guiones, becoming the happiest people also running down the beach at Guiones and playa Pelada.

At night after leaving the restaurant or bar we would come back to the house which is only 200 yards from the water and walk out to enjoy the view. The house sits basically on the end of the river where the water meets the ocean. There are numerous monkey's in the area. Horses and dogs roaming free down the beaches, giant iguana's, large insects, and nary a person in sight. We loved going out sitting on the logs in the full moon (which was like having the sun up) and just chewing the fat. We also made a trip to the pool and hot tub and the guard at the gate went out of his way to make sure the lights were turned on, the hot tub was bubbling (unfortunately it wasn't really hot but the 80 degree temp make the lukewarm water feel amazing anyway), and we had everything we needed.

The house was equipped with pots, pans, and all the cooking accoutrements we needed. It was nice having access to washing machine so we could wash and dry our towels before our next beach session. The girls with us loved these towels. They talked about them being plush and comfy… I kid you not they LOOOOVVVVVEEED

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 27, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

Where to start. First off we were a group of 6 in our late twenties and Early Thirties who came to stay at Casa De Memphis for Thanksgiving 2007. When we finally made it we meet up with Tiffany who Dave, the owner, had arranged for us to get the keys from at Marlin Bill's. We each ordered a drink for the road and followed Tiffany down several dirt roads to the house.
We got to the house, unlocked the gate, opened the door and found the interior and exterior of the house to be fantastic. From the tile flooring to the wood cabinets and trim everything was superb. We walked upstairs to check out the rooms and the only thing we were not sure about, was the bunk beds.
The property manager Tiffany, gave us some advice for our time in Nosara. She recommended we "Just drive around, get lost, and we would figure it all out". That was the best piece of advice because once we realized there are no street signs or street lights, we had a ball trying to look at our map and figure out if we were going the right way.
At night after leaving the restaurant or bar we would come back to the house which is only 50 yards from the water and walk out to enjoy the view. The house sits basically on the end of the river where the water meets the ocean. There are numerous monkey's in the area. Horses and dogs roaming free down the beaches, giant iguana's, large insects, and nary a person in sight. We loved going out sitting on the logs in the full moon (which was like having the sun up) and just chewing the fat. We also made a trip to the pool and hot tub and the guard at the gate went out of his way to make sure the lights were turned on, the hot tub was bubbling.
The house was equipped with pots, pans, and all the cooking accoutrements we needed. It was nice having access to washing machine so we could wash and dry our towels before our next beach session. The girls with us loved these towels. They talked about them being plush and comfy… I kid you not they LOOOOVVVVVEEEDD these towels. So basically the house was exactly what we needed, with everything we needed.
When it was all said and done, and we had to leave Nosara and Casa De Memphis we realized two things. He had stumbled upon a gem of a house in a magical place, and with 6 strong headed late 20's early 30 year olds we all left craving a return. . That is a story for another time. The second thing we realized was Dave has found the pulse of Nosara with his home Casa De Memphis and it resonates with the town attitude of "PURA VIDA".
We plan to come back and hope you have the same experience we had. To the "Pure Life"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House in a great setting

Review submitted: November 13, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

I stayed here last summer with my wife and twin 12 year-old sons. The house is beautiful and roomy. Everything is new and everything works. We enjoyed walking to the nearby beach and swimming in the huge pool. The monkeys are just outside and the iguanas and red crabs are plentyful. We saw an armadillo in front of the house one evening. If you are planning on visiting the Nosara area this is a great place to stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 1, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

I cannot say enough good things about my experience in Costa Rica and with Casa De Memphis. A group of four of us spent eight days in mid July in and around the Nosara area. The area is amazingly beautiful, the people are friendly, and prices were extremely reasonable.

The house is beautiful and is located perfectly for quick access to the beach and the many restaurants. The house has two bedrooms with full bathrooms. The showers are amazing, beautiful tile and plenty of room. Each bedroom has a comfortable queen sized bed and one bedroom also has 2 bunk beds.

A large living room open to the kitchen with bar and a dining area give plenty of room to entertain. We met lots of great people, some local, some on holiday and enjoyed cooking and entertaining during the week. The kitchen is fully equipped with utensils and cookery to do anything you need. We made frequent use of the blender…

The house sits adjacent to a condominium complex that is under construction. The pool is here and it is awesome. Hot tub, with swim up bar and cabana it was a favorite place to relax and play.

A quick 200 meter walk through a jungle trail takes you to Playa Pelada a great place to relax, swim and enjoy the scenery. A great breakfast was a half kilometer down the beach at Olga's. and La Luna restaurant. Olga's was the most authentic 'tico' restaurant with great prices, wonderful food, and very little English. La Luna was more formal atmosphere with a great Reggae party and excellent food. Overall I was surprised at how much English was spoken. I was hoping to be able to practice my Spanish a little more.

A short drive into the beach town area brings you to Bleu Dawgs, the Guilded Iguana and more. We found both of these restaurants to be great. Some of the other restaurants were a little pricey, but no matter what the food was great.

I also recommend driving into Nosara itself and shopping at ‘Super Nosara’, the grocery store. There is a smaller version in the beach town, but the one in town has far more selection and better prices. Do not be afraid of either produce or meat. We found great fresh fish and other meats and cooked without any problems. The supermarket carries a full range of liquor, wine, and beer as well as everything else you could want. Bottled water is available at the house, but a lot of money is put into the local water system to make sure it safe.

The roads were never an issue. Bumpy, well traveled, and dirt, but even in the rainy season we had no problems. I definitely recommend and SUV. Theft is a problem that we avoided. Only take what you need and don’t leave your vehicle unlocked.

I highly recommend the Casa De Memhis, Nosara, and Costa Rica. We had a phenomenal time with no difficulties. This area is off the beaten path enough to be pristine, not crowded, and is a great escape for individuals, couple, or families.

I will definitely return in the future.

Owners response: The construction next door was completed in late 2007. This is now the quietest address in the Nosara Beach area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 8, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

The house was beautiful. All wood trim and furniture with plenty of windows to enjoy the view outside. Plenty of space; large bedrooms and bathrooms, and roomy downstairs. The nearby pool was beautiful and resfreshing. The local beach was virtually deserted everytime we walked down there. The washer & dryer were a great feature also. Great hosts and representatives (Tiffany). Can't wait to stay there again. A perfect ending to a perfect trip in sunny Costa Rica!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review