reviews for: listing #12657 - Mendocino, California House rental

Mendocino Village - large house with ocean views
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Mendocino Village
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $375 - $475 /nt
    $2,250 - $2,850 /wk

sort by:

ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!!!

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

Just got back from a couples weekend and can't wait to go back. This is the perfect place in Mendocino - all four couples have already agreed to do another weekend here. The house is spacious with excellent amenities (loved the hot tub and sauna!). Appliances are all relatively new and everything is in good working order. Great backyard as well!! Location couldn't be better - quiet side street right in the heart of Mendo - we were able to walk to everything. Only two negatives - one bedroom has two single beds (we played cards for rooms) and you should plan on bringing your own BBQ if you are cooking for a large group. Besides for that, everything was outstanding. We'll be back for sure! One of our best couples get away weekends ever!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great 4th of July

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2013

We live in Mendocino County but I decided to rent this cottage for a family reunion instead of having it at my own house. I am soooooooo glad I did because it was 107 degrees at my house but sunny and cool in Mendocino. Perfect weather, perfect house for a very far-flung family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Long weekend with family at former Litton House in Mendo

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

Our group of 7 adults and 3 kids enjoyed a long weekend in Mendo at this retreat house. Facilities were "as promised" - hot tub fun for all - house was clean with many extras in the kitchen. The dishwasher didn't work but we survived. Lots of room for us to spread out and we used the dining area as a focal point for our activities - we celebrated a 50th birhday plus 4 others and family staying elsewhere in Mendo came over for the birthday bash. Would recommend it - close to all of the joy and beauty of Mendo - comfy accomodations with nice accessories.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enchanting

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We have stayed there 3 times and absolutely loved it each time. The house is so well equipped!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enchanting

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We have stayed there 3 times and absolutely loved it each time. The house is so well equipped!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mendocino Vacation rental

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

It was an excellent house with antique pieces all over the property. Enjoyed it very much. Walkable distance to beaches. Center of the town place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Renewal Weekend

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

My wife of 41 years and friends of similar vintage spent 4 glorious days at Litton's House in Mendocino. Having stayed previously we know we would enjoy the weekend but owners Richard and Susan Strom were gracious hosts and nothing went amiss. The February weather in Mendocino was typical (windy, cool and wet) but little did we care with a gas-fired stove and ample supplementary heat. All was clean, crisp and organised so that we had only to cook, enjoy and sleep. Rest assured, this will be a relaxing and enjoyable respite from your routine - whatever it may be.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Weekend

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

Location, Location, Location! Spent the weekend with six mid-twenties people and two early 50's. Did not have to worry about if someone set something down without a coaster. The house was lived in and liveable and TOTALLY MENDOCINO VILLAGE LIVING! Enough room for everyone. The kitchen, while not fancy, was the easiest kitchen I've ever cooked a meal in. The dishwasher saved us! Everything was as described. The ocean was so close you could hear, see and smell it. The market and local stores WE WALKED TOO! The only time we left the house or village was to celebrate a birthday and we used Mendocino Wine Tasting & Mendo Limo for our ride to the Albion River Inn! Excellent Limo Service too! WE ALL WANT TO GO BACK!!! We were natives for the weekend. Parked our vehicles and our cell phones and relaxed. Didn't start either up again until we had to on Sunday. THANK YOU! PS check out the whiskey tasting at the inn, very enjoyable!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely House

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

My wife and rented this property for a weekend getaway in mid-May. The house and cottage are well-equipped, comfortable, and incredibly well-located for a quiet weekend in the village of Mendocino. We said to one antoher that we'd like to return and, given the property's size, to bring friends. Thank you, Richard.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Family Home Away from Home

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

Richard has made this place fantastic. We have been returning to this house for many years and feel like it is our home away from home. It is large, roomy, nicely furnished (has everything you need!), lovely garden, dog friendly, the location can't be better, and the price is affordable. We have used this home for a family reunion, a small family gathering, and a weekend away for relaxing. The best part is you can park your car at the house and not use it for the whole weekend. Walking distance to main street, resturants, grocery stores, beach, and shops. A true gem hidden in the small town of mendocino. We plan to continue returning for years to come.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Location! a Sauna, Hot Tub and an huge yard which accomodates our family Reunion.

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: November 6, 2010

We stayed there in October '10 while we were attending our family reunion.
The house was very spacious with a great open layout.The yard is a wrap around yard with a huge lawn in the back. We were able to set-up everything perfectly for our family reunion without being cramped. The kids spent their time outside running around and having fun with our 2 dogs.
The house is located on a quiet street with hardly any cars and is walking distance to the grocery store and convenience of the main shopping street. The beach is 3 blocks from the house. We couldn't have asked for a better location! We will be back next year without a doubt.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great for Family Reunion

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2009

Our family stayed here a few years ago and we're quite pleased. The ocean and shopping is within walking distance and the barbeque in the backyard is nice for evenings at home. Games and puzzles were provided for those of us that don't sleep well, which was wonderful for catching up with those we don't see often. An extra plus is the hot tub and steam room.
We look forward to our next trip to the cottage soon, celebrating a 75th and 50th birthday.

The owners take pride in the home, it's not everywhere there is a bidet in the bathroom.

We would highly recomend this wonderful place to anyone, just make sure to leave a date for us to come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic location and room for 4 couples + kids!

Review submitted: September 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

We were looking for a rental in the town of Mendocino so we could be walking distance from everything, but with 4 couples and 2 kids, we didn't think we would find anything large enough. This property turned out to be great for us. We rented the main house as well as the cottage and studio. 2 couples were in the main house, one upstairs and one down, so there was plenty of privacy for all. We didn't end up using the room with 2 twins at all. We had another couple join us for dinner one night, and all 10 of us fit just fine in the dining room, though we did have to add a folding table and some extra chairs.

The property itself was very nice, with a large living room area and open kitchen, as well as comfy beds with nice linens. The kitchen was pretty well-equipped, we made 2 nice dinners there. The hot tub and sauna were a nice treat to have, something I usually associate with bigger rental homes outside of town, so somewhat unexpected for a village house. The outdoor space was lovely - we BBQ'd both nights and enjoyed sitting outside in the evenings. We brought our dogs with us, and they loved the large yard, though we had to keep an eye on them as the property is not entirely fenced in.

I think my only complain is that our trip was too short!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review