reviews for: listing #12694 - Lubec, Maine House rental

First Light Loft -- Oceanfront, Sandy Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $625 - $675 /wk

sort by:

50th Wedding Ann.

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

This was great. As advertised and more. The location is near everything. The kitchen has everything you need and the sunrise is wonderful( very early)Bald Eagles and a very interesting tide.Jodie was very helpful with all the information there with things to do and places to go.If it is relaxation you are looking this is the place.Quiet and comfortable. We are planning our next trip..Thanks again Jodie for a great job..

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Peace and tranquility await you in Lubec Maine

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

First Light Loft is situated steps away from the waterfront of "Down East Maine" and is the perfect get-away. Leave all of your worries and the hustle and bustle of every day life and come relax in the most beautiful natural surroundings you will ever enjoy.

Steps away from the loft you can stroll the beaches for miles as the tide receedes and hunt for sea glass, shells or walk the mussel beds and hunt for "rinkles" a real down east delicacy. Perhaps while walking the beaches you will see seals, bald eagles, whales or catch the rare glimpse of a sand dollar moving along the bottom of the bay.

Within 2 miles is East Quoddy lighthouse with all of its breathtaking views and hikes along the jagged rock cliffs of Maine. While at Quoddy you can stroll an Artic Bog and be amazed at all of the beautiful and unusual plants.

Located within a short drive is the town of Lubec - a peaceful friendly New England fishing town. Or Campobello Island full of natural wonders, FDR's summer home, lobster pounds and salmon farms. You can take the ferry to Deer Island or East Port and enjoy all they have to offer.

You can travel into Lubec and purchase fresh lobster and seafood direct from the docks and cook in the well equipped kitchen at the loft. There is no better way to spend the end of your day then cooking and eating fresh lobster then dining at the loft and watching the sun set over the bay.

The loft is well equipped, clean and will meet all of your needs. The loft is located at a VERY QUIET, peaceful and serene location. Just hop out on to the deck at night and be amazed by the beauty of a night sky that is not ruined by light or air pollution.

We highly recommend the First Light Loft and Lubec Maine to anyone that wants to experience the tranquility of Down East Maine. It is a great escape you will never forget and you long to return every day you are away. It was one of the best and most relaxing vacations my wife and I have enjoyed over the last 30 years.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Relaxation the way it is supposed to be!

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

First Light Loft is situated steps away from the waterfront of "Down East Maine" and is the perfect get-away. Leave all of your worries and the hustle and bustle of every day life and come relax in the most beautiful natural surroundings you will ever enjoy.

Steps away from the loft you can stroll the beaches for miles as the tide receedes and hunt for sea glass, shells or walk the mussel beds and hunt for "rinkles" a real down east delicacy. Perhaps while walking the beaches you will see seals, bald eagles, whales or catch the rare glimpse of a sand dollar moving along the bottom of the bay.

Within 2 miles is East Quoddy lighthouse with all of its breathtaking views and hikes along the jagged rock cliffs of Maine. While at Quoddy you can stroll an Artic Bog and be amazed at all of the beautiful and unusual plants.

Located within a short drive is the town of Lubec - a peaceful friendly New England fishing town. Or Campobello Island full of natural wonders, FDR's summer home, lobster pounds and salmon farms. You can take the ferry to Deer Island or East Port and enjoy all they have to offer.

You can travel into Lubec and purchase fresh lobster and seafood direct from the docks and cook in the well equipped kitchen at the loft. There is no better way to spend the end of your day then cooking and eating fresh lobster then dining at the loft and watching the sun set over the bay.

The loft is well equipped, clean and will meet all of your needs. The loft is located at a VERY QUIET, peaceful and serene location. Just hop out on to the deck at night and be amazed by the beauty of a night sky that is not ruined by light or air pollution.

We highly recommend the First Light Loft and Lubec Maine to anyone that wants to experience the tranquility of Down East Maine. It is a great escape you will never forget and you long to return every day you are away. It was one of the best and most relaxing vacations my wife and I have enjoyed over the last 30 years.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Wonderful Retreat

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

First Light Loft is perfectly situated on a remote sandy beach. It is possible to walk for hours in either direction, traversing both sandy and rocky beaches and the classic rocky Maine coast. The beach is only a one minute walk away, down a well maintained grassy path. The Loft itself is clean, well maintained and equipped with everything you could possibly need.

The surrounding area is filled with beautiful scenery and friendly people. I found everything I needed within a small radius of the Loft. I enjoyed peaceful quiet, beautiful sunrises across the water, and exciting beach-combing.

I highly recommend First Light Loft. It is the perfect remote Maine get away.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful, Convenient Spot

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

Clean, comfortable, well equipped, and a wonderful view. Convenient to Lubec, Campobello, Moosehorn National Wildlife Refuge, many state and trust lands, beautiful lighthouses, and lots of activities. Access to the apartment is via an interior hallway and an interior flight of stairs, both with windows. There is a path to the beach, where there is a small, easily negotiable drop off. Although there is another rental unit on the property and there are other homes in the area, none are intrusive and there is a feeling of privacy. Would love a repeat stay and would highly recommend to those for whom stairs are not an obstacle. Some highlights: Two days of foggy yet lovely mornings were followed by a truly breathtaking sunrise visible from the living/dining room and deck. One morning around 11, a bald eagle spent about an hour perched on a rock on the far side of a mudflat in front of the property. Through a spotting scope it was possible to see the bird standing mostly still, regally moving its head from side to side. Occasionally it preened and vocalized a bit. A few moments after it flew away, the rock disappeared on the incoming tide.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

75% Accuracy

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

The accommodations were everything advertised with a very roomy 4 rooms and an updated and fully functional kitchen.
The drawback is the misleading "sandy beaches", not. The water view was great, but the walk to the beach was not as advertised and the beach is stony and covered in mussell shells.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: I am sorry you found the beach to be less sandy and more difficult to access than you had hoped it would be. The "sandy" beaches of Way Down East Maine do have more small stones, polished rocks, shells, and gravel than do the sandy beaches of southern Maine. Our 15 - 20 foot tides change the beach every day, sweeping sand off the beach and sweeping it back on the beach. There are times when there are more stones and times when there is more sand. The shape of the beach and the shoreline also changes daily. Unfortunately, the beach has suffered some erosion problems recently and the path onto the beach is currently steeper than usual. While the ever-changing tides and the natural fluctuations of the beach and shoreline are fascinating, it does mean that from time to time the beach will have less sand and the path onto the beach will be steeper or longer than at other times. Again, I am sorry your visit was during a time when the beach had more shells and stones and less sand.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

First Light Loft....LOVED IT!!!

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 20, 2010

Annually my mother,sister and I enjoy a week long vacation just the three of us girls. This year we chose Lubec Maine and I found the First Light Loft it was a wonderful place to stay only foot steps away from the beach. The views were beautiful as well.
We did not find a lot of "tourist" attractions in Lubec, BUT we weren't looking for any! Quoddy Head is not far down the road and there were some nice walking trails there.
The loft had everything you could need for weekend or week long stay; the only thing we had to bring was food!
I plan on going back!!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful "Home Away from Home"

Review submitted: December 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

My husband and I have been coming to SummerKeys, the music and fine arts program, in Lubec, for the last eight years. We have been renting this property from Jody every summer. She is wonderful to work with, and First Light Loft has amazing views plus every amenity one could want. It is cozy yet spacious and feels like home.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

First Light

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 15, 2010

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at first Light. The Loft was clean and cozy with all the comforts of home. The view is spectacular especially sun rise. We plan to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

First Light

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 15, 2010

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at First Light. The loft was clean and cozy with all the comforts of home. The view is spectacular, especially sunrise. We plan to return again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Views with all the Comforts of Home

Review submitted: February 23, 2009   Date of arrival: August 9, 2008

Young's by the Sea is wonderful! My husband and I have rented Young's for the last six summers while I have been attending the music workshop at SummerKeys (I'm a cellist!) We hope to return to Young's for a long time to come!

The kitchen is well-equipped; we both love to cook meals there. You can hear the sound of the waves at night and see all the stars in the sky from the deck. Our dog loves to take walks on the beach as do we. I can't say enough about this wonderful, charming oasis by the sea.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

My favorite beach.

Review submitted: February 16, 2009   Date of arrival: May 24, 2008

I have spent hours just sitting on the deck watching the sunrise, watching the tide come in and out, and all the time listening to the sound of the sea. Every morning and evening I walk the beach and just enjoy the beauty and the solitude. The apartment offers everything that is necessary to make yourself comfortable and just relax and enjoy. I have cooked dinners, baked cakes, and entertained friends in the weeks that I have spent there. It is my first choice if I have time to get away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review