reviews for: listing #12725 - San Francisco, California House rental

Large 4 Bedroom House near Golden Gate Park, Wifi, Garage
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $450 - $500 /nt
    $2,800 - $2,800 /wk
    $9,000 - $9,000 /mth

sort by:

Perfect house for our group

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

We had a great stay at the Inner sunset home. We live a few hours north of the city and came to San Francisco with friends who flew in from Atlanta, GA to visit for the first time. There was 8 of us and there was plenty of sleeping room. We paid the pet fee and brought our two dogs, they enjoyed running around the back yard, it is much more comfortable for them than a hotel would have been. The house has a pool table and we played on it a lot. The Muni runs infront of the house which can be kind of noisy but I got used to it and I noticed that it didn't run on the weekend. We rode the Muni to the AT&T park where we were going to see a concert. It is also a short walk to Golden Gate park. the house is walking distance from a variety of restaurants. there are some cosmetic blemishes but I thought it added to the original charm of the old San Francisco home, and I could tell that a lot of it has been recently renovated. Danielle helped me with booking and instructions, she also gave me tips of a few fun things to do in the area and answered all of my questions. I would definitely stay at this home again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to write a review. I do think the house is charming as well. The homeowner has spent a lot of time and money to fix some cosmetic issues. So, if you stayed with us again, I do not think those items would be there.
That is common with the muni. When people arrive from very urban areas, they do not notice it. Others notice it at first, then don't notice it after a while, it tends to blend into all the city noises. It is much quieter than the sirens of downtown.

We would be pleased to accommodate you another time. If you need a home again, please keep us in mind. Thank you again for being our guest and writing a review.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

A lot of room

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

The house is a bit worn but very spacious and comfortable. The heating system needs maintenance, makes a lot of noise and fails to adequately heat the upstairs room. However, in overall terms, I would definitely recommend this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for being our guest. We also appreciate you taking the time to review us. You were correct about the heating system. Thank you for letting us know. We have corrected that issue and many cosmetic items as well.

Thank you again for your feedback, it helps us to improve.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Lovely house, in a great location

Review submitted: November 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 24, 2011

8 of us stayed at Inner Sunset for a couple of nights during a fly drive of California. The property was perfect, very spacious and clean, and in a nice area. We spent the evenings at the northern part of San Fran, around Fishermans Wharf, but getting there was no problem with transit stops right outside the house. If we'd have had more time, we'd have visited the Golden Gate Park which is literally a few blocks away. This home is perfect no matter what you are looking for in San Francisco. Would reccomend to friends and family in a shot!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to review the Inner Sunset House. I am glad you and your group enjoyed the stay at the house and in San Francisco. I love the Inner sunset house for all reasons you stated. It is only a couple blocks away from Golden Gate park and has VERY easy transportation around the city. The house is 100 years old, and when I am in he house I feel like I am definitely in San Francisco. If you want to experience San Francisco as a local would, I think this house is perfect for that. Again, thank you for being our guest!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great location and spacious apartment

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 27, 2011

If you're headed for San Francisco and want to be close to downtown but not right in the middle, this place is great. You have the Golden Gate park just a couple of blocks away and the neighbourhood is charming with lots of shops and cafés. The muni will take you straight downtown in just 15 minutes. The apartment is big with a pool table (fun!) and a big kitchen. Thanks to San Francisco Vacation Rental Homes for a great stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Home in need of help!

Review submitted: October 8, 2011   Date of arrival: September 21, 2011

Our extended family of 6 rented this home for our Son's Wedding in San Francisco. From the online pictures it looked perfect! The pictures were not anything like the real thing. There were large sections on the walls of chipped paint, missing window coverings, door and door jams rotted and unsightly, unable to close. The bottom floor smelled strongly of mold and the back yard a mess. The shower blinds were moldy. Since all accommodations in the city were full, we had no where else to go. The worst place we have ever experienced and we we traveled all over the world including third world countries. This house needs major help!!

Owners response: Thanks a lot for the review of our San Francisco vacation rental home. Reviews really help us to improve. You are right that this vacation rental home is not modern. This SF rental went through a $90,000 upgrade about 1.5 years ago. The kitchen, all 3 bathrooms and lower level were all gutted and then modernized. Also, I purchased 3 all new TVs for the downstairs living room, main floor living room and upstairs. However, I struggled about remodeling the living room, billiards room, and bedrooms. Since this home is over 110 years old, I decided to keep the original old woodwork, original mirrors, and original feel. Some people like the older style and some people prefer more modern homes. There is a small crack on the wall in stairway due to the earthquakes that San Francisco has on a regular basis. But during the major remodel, I also added in a major earthquake retrofit to stabilize the house. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Property 87844

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

House was in very poor condition and smelled of smoke. Do not recommend anyone staying here. Poor location and pictures look so much better than the actual house. Can not believe the price we paid for this disaster!!!

Owners response: We have a very strict no smoking policy. If someone smokes in the house, they will lose their security deposit. Our records indicate the cleaning and inspection crew did not smell any smoke. I believe the guests wanted a refund since there was not a bed in one of the rooms. However, our San Francisco vacation rental website advertises a Murphy Bed on the wall so there was a queen bed in that room. Our photos are all accurate however the garden changes due to the seasons.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sunset

Review submitted: November 29, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

Stayed for a great week in this house in Sunset district. Location is great for easy access to all restaurants and shopping on Irving street and it's only a couple of blocks from Golden Gate park. The Muni stops right in front of the house, so there's convinient transport to downtown SF.
Can highly recommend as a low key getaway in and older, but charming house.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review