reviews for: listing #12730 - Seneca Lake, New York Cabin rental

Cobtree Vacation Rental Resort
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Finger Lakes
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $320 /nt
    $765 - $1,595 /wk

sort by:

What a wonderful stay!

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 19, 2012

The resort is the perfect location to take advantage of the Finger Lakes wine region. The price for a complete house is a much better deal than the cost for a much smaller hotel room. We had a wonderful stay and would definitely recommend it to friends.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Relaxing stay at Cobtree

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

Me and my family (2 boys aged 10 and 13) enjoyed our stay very much at Cobtree. The log cabin was exactly what we were looking for. Beautifully located on a hill top overlooking the Seneca lake with wide open ground around us. After visiting the exciting cities of New York and Wahsington we loved to have some time to relax without the rush and hectic of the cities...

The cabin was excellent, well equipped and clean. We loved the BBQ in the evening while sitting on the terrace.

All in all a well spend time and money at Cobtree.
We can only recommend to visit Cobtree.

Owners response: Jane and I are grateful that you and your family visited the USA all the way from Germany and decided to stay here at Cobtree. We hope that one day we will be able to welcome you again on another visit.

Thank you once again for staying with us Andreas.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

fabulous place!!

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

The house is fantastic, even better than what we expected from the pictures on their website. The location is good too, close to watkins glen state park, which is the most beautiful park in finger lakes region. Highly recommend this place and we will definitely come back if we stop by in the future.

Owners response: We have found that even with the best possible photos the real life experience is the only thing that does justice to our wonderful location and to the standard of our properties. Many thanks for taking the time to post the review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Robert and Jane

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Lovely Cabins on Beautiful Seneca Lake!

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Hemlock Cabin at Cobtree Resort, Geneva, NY. The property is very nicely situated and the owners are friendly and accommodating. The cabin was clean and very well equipped. The resort overlooks gorgeous Seneca Lake. It is also conveniently located to all of your shopping needs. The added benefit to staying at Cobtree is that it is pet-friendly. Our dog loved it there! We would definitely stay here again if we visited the Geneva area in the future. The Finger Lakes are the most beautiful of all lakes in upstate NY. The wine trails are a nice attraction and Cobtree Resort is the place to stay!

Owners response: Thank you for your kind and generous review. Jane and I work very hard to try to make Cobtree a destination of choice and we are forever upgrading and improving on our accommodations too.

We hope to see you again next time you are visiting the Finger Lakes and hope that you enjoy the rest of your summer.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

HONEYOYE CABIN

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

Excellent place to stay with 3 bedrooms and everythingwas very well kept. Don't expect a great view of the lake but you'll be very close to many wine tasting venues, Bellhurst Castle, 2 golf courses, and Geneva.

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review. We have recently felled 27 trees that were starting to block out the view of the lake but now the view once again is fantastic. Check out our own web site by searching Cobtree on any search engine and look at the photos and virtual tours around the Cobtree Resort!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Hemlock at Cobtree

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

Cobtree rentals are located very close to numerous activities and super convenient shopping areas. Hemlock log house rental is large, very well equipped with all that one really needs for self catering experiences. We did, however, find that the pump or whatever it is under the first floor was a bit of an irritant especially when trying to sleep. The house was super clean upon our arrival and we left it a bit cleaner is some areas especially the barbie. The description provided on line is accurate in all ways. The owners provided support when needed. We would recommend these places to anyone seeking self catering opportunities for family support and convenience. A long term stay would be recommended although an over night or two would suffice. We were in the area for family business and are unable to recommend activities, etc...

Owners response: Thank you for your kind and generous review. The pump you mention in your review is when the water softener located under the house goes into back flush mode from time to time depending on the water usage of the four log cabins at Cobtree.

We have already taken steps to insulate the ceiling of the crawl space under the cabin but obviously we need to do more about this problem. It really is only a problem though for light sleepers (so a survey of other guests reported to us)

We do take seriously any review posted and try to remedy any issues that arise from time to time. We cannot always do anything about a certain problem but, we do our best to do so whenever possible.

Once again, many thanks for staying at Cobtree, the real Finger Lakes Experience!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

At Home without being at Home!

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

What a quiet, tranquil place. The view is incredible. We rented two homes for 4 families and truly enjoyed the peace!!! The homes were clean, roomy and the owners would do anything to make your stay pleasant. The homes have all the appliances that you could imagine for a vacation home. You can use this as your home base and drive anywhere around the Finger Lakes of New York!! I think my heart rate dropped 20%!!! The residences are very unique, and will convince you to never stay in a hotel again!!! We will be coming back again!! The perfect meeting place for families from different parts of the country!! What a wonderful long weekend!!!
Sincerely, Doc Mike and Christina Kabot

Owners response: Wow! how can Jane and I give any response the credit it so wholly deserves to your kind and generous review here on homeaway. We have always striven to make Cobtree such a unique destination of choice for our discerning visitors and guests and, at an affordable competitive rate.We cannot always be everything to everyone, sometimes it is not easy and sometimes we may not get things right but, we do try our best to do so as can be seen by the many positive reviews here and on other review sites.Ultimately it is our guests that we have to thank for our success and we should always remember never rest on our laurels.

Thank You!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Most Relaxing Vacation!

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

My husband and I thought the Finger Lakes would be the perfect place to celebrate 10 beautiful years together. We couldn't have had a more romantic, relaxing vacation! The Hemlock cottage was cozy, relaxing, and most importantly, just like home! We were able to bring our dogs AKA kids along, and we couldn't have asked for a better stay. The view from the cabin was beautiful and the wineries and vineyards were magnificant. We could have only hoped for better weather! Thank you to Cobtree for providing us with our best vacation yet. We will most certainly be back!!

Owners response: Thank you for your kind and generous review of Cobtree. My wife and I work very hard at making our estate a destination of choice for the discerning, pet friendly and budget minded traveler to this stunningly beautiful part of the world that is called the Finger Lakes.

As you can appreciate, it is a massive task to maintain our properties to the high standards that you have experienced during your visit here and, with so many acres of grounds (Now 64 acres) it is a constant job keeping everything looking as well as it does!

We are forever grateful to guests who take the time and trouble out of their lives to post reviews on web sites such as Homeaway and we will always do our up most best to ensure that when guests arrive to stay with us, they will enjoy all the comforts of what we call Home Away from Home!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cobtree is our favorite vacation destination

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

We were a little apprehensive back in October 2008 when we booked out first week at Cobtree. It was the first time we made reservations over the Internet. Well, we loved that week so much we have just returned from our eighth visit.

The setting is exquisite –farmland, woods and a beautiful view of Lake Seneca. Yet 10 minutes away is Wegmans and a number of fine restaurants. Each day we choose a different State Park or waterfalls as our destination –with stops along the way at the wonderful Finger Lakes wineries. And we have our lovely cottage or cabin at Cobtree to come home to.

Our dogs love walking in the woods every morning and evening. Jack and I look forward to our breakfast on the deck and our glass of wine in the evening watching the sun set.

You really don’t have to bring a thing. It is the most well-equipped place we have ever stayed. And Robert and Jane are wonderful hosts -- warm and welcoming.

We have travelled throughout Europe and the US over the years, but Cobtree is now our only vacation destination.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Home away from Home...

Review submitted: March 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

Our stay in the Hemlock Cabin was everything we expected and MORE!! The cabin was exactly as listed, size, layout, amenities....The kitchen has everything you need to enjoy your stay, from pots&pans, glasses, even coffee, filters, tea and a wine bottle opener! :)

The cabin was immaculately clean and welcoming. We will not only recommend this to friends and relatives but will be returning ourselves! Cant wait to come in warm weather to enjoy the views from the porch!

We enjoyed the proximity to all the vineyards. We always love walking around Watkins Glen and took in Sushi from Hong Restaurant!

Thanks again!

Owners response: Jane and I wish to thank you for kindly choosing to stay with us here at Cobtree as your accommodations of choice whilst staying here in the Finger Lakes Region of upstate New York.

We look forward to your next stay with us and rest assured we strive very hard to ensure that our properties offer the best value for money for some of the best equipped homes in the region.

Best wishes and Kind regards

Robert

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfectly Relaxing Stay

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 12, 2012

We just returned from our second visit to Hemlock Cabin at Cobtree and we can't wait to go back!

This perfectly sized, ultra-clean cabin has absolutely everything you might need - 3 bedrooms, 1.5 baths, full kitchen with dishwasher, and a washer and dryer. It really feels like a home away from home!

The location is ideal, close to both the Seneca and Keuka Wine Trails and only a few minutes from Geneva and fantastic restaurants.

We loved the gorgeous views from the cabin, and wonderful property for walking your pup - by far the best pet-friendly accomodations in the Finger Lakes region.

The owners are gracious and helpful, and the rates are extremely reasonable for the quality of the property.

Thank you Robert and Jane for another wonderful stay!

Owners response: Jane and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us once again and we look forward to your next visit. Happy New Year!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

family stay

Review submitted: December 20, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2011

i was looking for something to gather the family and have a chance to catchup usually we try a motel but there is no room, or space. this work out great. and i can't say enough about the hosts, they put up with all my silly questions and requests. many thanks

Owners response: Merry Christmas to you and your family and thank you so much for posting such a positive review.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

More than we ever expected!

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

We had a great time! Otisco cabin was set up perfectly for our group of 6 and we even squeezed in 2 more on the second night. The open kitchen, eating and living area was pefect for everyone to congreate while cooking, drinking and playing games. But there was also the bedrooms for everyone to have their own space. I brought a lot of kitchen supplies with us not knowing what to expect and I couldn't have been more wrong. Anything we could have possibly needed was there. It was extremely clean and the grounds and the views of the lake are terrific. I never thought I'd like the group setting but I was definitiely sold and we will stay here again! Thanks Robert and Jane for providing such a great place.

Kellie Lewis

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Seneca house

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

The house is very clean and with a beautiful view of the lake. The property is very close to many very good winery. We were a group of friends from Brazil that leave in PA, MA and Toronto and decide to meet some place in the middle. That was the best for everybody. We are planing to came back next year. Thanks for everything.
Cassia

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A great place to stay in the area for 6 or more

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

I tried to find rooms in the motels in the area for 6 people and found nothing. These cabins are very roomy and accommodated 6. We took advantage of the grill for a nice supper, and cooked all our Breakfasts there. The only down thing is that all the floors are wood and to move around became a bit noisy. We would strongly recommend these cabins to all our friends.

Owners response: Ah...the beauty and rustic nature of a real log cabin. Sorry, but no carpets I am afraid which make them very pet friendly and much easier to keep clean!

We look forward to seeing you again on a return visit and Jane and I thank you for taking the time and the trouble of posting such a glowing and positive review about your stay with us. Robert.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wedding Weekend at Cobtree's Hemlock Cabin

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

Stayed in Hemlock Cabin for our godson's wedding at Belhurst Castle. Between the bride's family and the groom's family we rented 4 properties for the weekend. How nice to be near each other, but in our own homes, and about 5 min. drive to the wedding. Our mature dog and his owner enjoyed the great places to walk. We appreciated the helpfulness of our hosts, and the neat, clean cabin. The kitchen had more than we could have hoped to find. We teased our aunts that we expected them to bake muffins for us when we found muffin tins in the cupboards! A sidewalk or boardwalk from driveway to the house would have helped our 92 year-old aunt, but I don't suppose many folks of that age are looking for a place to stay! The beds were very comfortable, mattresses like new. Could use a few more towelbars for hanging up wet towels. The lighted magnifying makeup mirror was a real bonus for making up my 60 year-old face. We have already recommended Cobtree to friends who want to go to wine country. Thank you Robert and Jane for your hospitality.

Owners response: Jane and I are grateful for your positive review on Hemlock log cabin here at Cobtree. We do actually have an elderly, infirm and disabled cottage called Keuka Cottage for rental at Cobtree which has level access from the parking area outside, a wrap around patio, wider doors downstairs so that guests in wheelchairs and walkers can gain easy access to all of the downstairs areas. There is also a disabled friendly shower room with a low threshold shower and shower chair as well as grab handles and low level mirror.

The other properties at Cobtree were designed just as any normal home would be I am afraid. In Hemlock log cabin, there are hooks behind each door of the property for hanging robes or towels (5 in total). The downstairs shower room has a towel rail as does the cloak room upstairs. There are also a number of pegs on the wall behind the futon on the ground floor for hanging coats, robes and towels and of course, there is always the back of one of 7 chairs in the property as well!

Hemlock log cabin like all of our properties as you have pointed out in your kind review, are fully equipped and our own stand alone web site (which you can locate by searching Cobtree on any major search engine or link from this site) has a link to an inventory for the property that you wish to rent as well.

Jane and I are so pleased that you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us here at Cobtree and hope that it will not be too long until your return visit. The fall colors right now are spectacular but the spring is equally beautiful here in the Finger Lakes as indeed the winter time is too and our rates are the lowest during the off peak seasons as well!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Cozy, well-appointed cabin in a superb location...

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our week-long stay in Hemlock cabin. The kitchen was well-equipped with everything you might need to cook the occasional dinner when you don't feel like dining out at one of the excellent restaurants in the area. We loved the smell of cedar that permeated the cabin--Even after we returned home, the wonderful aroma lingered in the clothing I unpacked. The bathrooms are rather small--not much space for hair appliances or many toiletries, but they are functional with good water pressure and heat. Robert, the owner, was quite friendly and offered excellent advice regarding restaurants and local attractions. The rentals are conveniently located to restaurants and food markets (even a Wegman's), wineries, state parks, and historical attractions. We definitely look forward to a return stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review today. When we designed these small intimate cabins, they were designed mainly for use by couples or small groups up to six people sharing an mainly for those on a limited budget. They are indeed compact but as you pointed out, functional in all respects. As you discovered, they are fully equipped with all the comforts of home including free WIFI, central air, free phone calls USA and Canada wide, cable TV with hundreds of channels to choose from, DVD player and Video player incorporated in the TV's as well.

The views over Seneca Lake and around the grounds as viewed from the covered porch of the property, is simply breathtaking as well! Behind the property are walking trails throughout the 18 acres of woodlands as well as a campfire area for guests enjoyment too.

We thank you for choosing to stay at Cobtree and look forward to your return visit!

Robert and Jane

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful Place

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

The cabin is in excellent condition and have all the necessary equipment and much much more.
The level of details shows in every aspect and it clear that the owners are focused on their customers' satisfaction.

The area is beautiful and we enjoyed our weekend very much.
Highly recommended!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Online and offline reviews form an extremely important function in our overall management and guest satisfaction protocols. Every review is read carefully to ascertain whether or not something can be or needs to be done. For example, one guest suggested that we install dimmer switches on all of our lights in the property but to do so would not only be very expensive but, would not easily be achievable with the energy saving light bulbs that we use in our properties.

Some things are easy to do and others not. Also, as we host over 400 reservations per year (around 2500 people and around 15 wedding parties per year) we are able from their reviews to understand whether or not there is a common issue with our rental properties in which to address more readily.

As you can see from this response, we are indeed focused on our customers satisfaction within the bounds of what is a reasonable suggestion and what is affordable and achievable from a management and operational point of view.

Thank you for staying at Cobtree - The Finger Lakes Experience. We look forward to welcoming you once again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Honeoye review

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our family reunion/vacation at Cobtree's Honeoye cabin in the New York Finger Lakes: swam at the Sampson state park and the oversized pool at Watkins Glen state park, hiked the Watkins Glen gorge, visited several wineries and a microbrewery, watched the sun rise from our comfortable cabin, walked and dined in pretty Geneva, biked the backroads, grilled out, chilled out. All laid-back and lovely.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay at Honeoye Log cabin at Cobtree. Not only do we pride ourselves on providing some of the best, cleanest and fully equipped accommodations in the Finger Lakes but as you have experienced first hand from the content of your review, there really is so much to see and do here in the region and, our vacation rental homes provide an excellent springboard in which to explore the area and to enjoy such activities.

Watkins Glen is but a short drive away where not only can you enjoy the activities that you have already done with your family but also, you can visit the race track at the Glen itself, visit Montour falls, go horseback riding, take a lunch or dinner cruise out onto Seneca Lake, shopping and dining and much more.

In the other direction from Cobtree to the Wset, there is the Ontario county town of Canandaigua which has numerous activities as well as the Roseland water park, Kershaw park beaches and, kayaking on the lake offered by the concession company from the beach.

Just a little further you could have visited Letchworth Park and looked over what is lovingly referred to as the Grand Canyon of the East as well as the water falls there. It is particularly beautiful in the fall when the leaves change on the trees to their spectacularly beautiful Autumn colors.

In the winter, Bristol mountain offers downhill skiing as well as a fully equipped teaching center where you can learn to ski in just three days! It takes just 35 minutes to drive to Bristol mountain from Cobtree and with our winter rates being so cheap, it is really worth the visit in the winter as well!

Thank you again for staying at Cobtree and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful view

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 25, 2011

Great location and gorgeous views! Hemlock cabin was what we had expected and we enjoyed our stay there. We definitely recommend this property and it's close location to the great wineries and restaurants (especially Ports Cafe!!).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect winter respite

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

It was an excellent location, with fantastic amenities! We will definitely stay again! The are has something for everyone!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Here at Cobtree we try our best to maintain and offer some of the best and cleanest accommodations in the region. We thank you for staying with us and for visiting this beautiful part of the world.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review