reviews for: listing #12744 - South Lake Tahoe, California Condo rental

Spring Rates From $79 plus t/c, Location!, Hot Tub, WIFI,
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Bavarian Village
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $79 - $250 /nt
    $590 - $1,575 /wk
    $1,400 - $2,200 /mth

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 18, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

This is a great place to stay, and the price is very reasonable. We took our children on family vacation and stayed at the Ripke condo. The location, ammenities, decor, and new updates to the condo make it perfect for a couple to get away, or a family vacation. We want to go back and plan far enough in advance to take advantage of this place again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced

Review submitted: February 2, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

My friends and I had a pleasant stay. The unit was clean and comfortable.

A few things we liked:
- comfortable living room, perfect for unwinding after an exhausting day of skiing; the fireplace and large TV add a nice touch.
- reasonably priced
- reasonably equipped kitchen

There are just a few things I’d recommend to the owners to improve the guest experience:
1. Improve the Internet speed. These days, everyone expects reasonable network speed for their laptops and mobile phones. Some of my friends couldn’t even get on the network, likely because there were too many connections. For the geeks: 385ms latency and 0.7Mbs download speed! Loading YouTube videos resulted in an error. Oh, and the network doesn’t even work in the back bedroom (there’s a sign that says “network works best in the front of the unit.”
2. Provide soap and shampoo in the bathrooms. I’m lucky that one of my friends brought an extra emergency soap and shampoo from a previous hotel stay.
3. Use brighter light bulbs in bedrooms. Felt really dark and dreary.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We have been working with our HOA to upgrade our Charter internet service for the last two years. Our HOA has been slow in responding as far as negotiating a bulk rate for broadband service.

Our management agency, Pinnacle Lake Tahoe Getaways provides toiletries (soaps and shampoo) for our guests. We'll immediately get in touch with them to find out why they were not provided with your stay.

Each bedroom has a table lamp on each night stand (master has two), and brushed nickel wall sconces. So, each bedroom has at least two light sources (75 watt bulbs each wall sconce). We'll check our bedroom lighting next time we are in the condo.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great weekend getaway!

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

This cabin is perfect for a weekend getaway with friends and family. The spacious rooms provide a comfortable environment for everyone. The cabin is fully equipt with cooking necessities making it easy to cook in rather than going out. Also being down the road from the Safeway is very convenient. There is a park near the cabin and it made it easier to play in the snow. Overall a great place and I'd stay there again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay!

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

PERFECT PLACE for young families! Traveling with a 19 month old is difficult. This Condo made it so much easier! Condo is stocked with everything you need, just like a hotel! Towels are laid out on each bed on your arrival. Kitchen has some basic staple items, and everything you need to cook with! Hairdryer, towels, blankets, even lawn chairs are available. There is a HUGE playground within a 5 minute walk. The pool is heated, hot tub is nice. The area is well kept, and we saw maintenance people at the pool everyday doing upkeep. Wi Fi is good, sometimes a little spotty, but for the most part fine. DVD player for your videos is easy to work. The owner is awesome! Even arranged for a late check out so my little girl could get her nap in before we left so my whole day wasn't ruined! Extremely conveniently located.... safeway 3 minute drive, casinos and restaurants about 5 minutes. We come to Lake Tahoe every year for a hockey tournament, and will be sure to try and rent this condo again!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Dear Kara.......We appreciate your kind words. I thank our property manager, Michelle Benedict, at Pinnacle Lake Tahoe Getaways, who worked with me to arrange your later check-out time! We are so pleased to see comments that justify all of our "owner upgrades" and care. You won't get that staying in a hotel room!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful View / Central Location / CLEAN

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

This Condo was fabulous! Not only was it a short drive anywhere in Tahoe, but we were able to walk to dinner & the lake! The view's from the Master & second bedroom were GORGEOUS! The breeze at night, being on the second floor was perfect to leave our windows open, waking up to fresh mountain air was delightful! Very well maintained, cared for home - we will definitely be back. (TV was fuzzy when we arrived, Greg - the owner was super responsive, and Bruce - the technician, was fast and very friendly) Cards on the patio w/morning coffee awesome! iPod stereo, baking cookies, refreshing pool, my teenagers enjoyed themselves very much as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

Loved it - great location near everything but still felt peaceful and serene. Had everything my family of 5 needed to be comfortable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Solid affordable choice for ski vacation condo

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

Clean, well stocked, good location. Owner is helpful and responds quickly. Two bathrooms are key when on ski trip! Good water pressure, nice upgraded bathrooms, kitchen is well stocked, living room is comfortable, and big enough for everyone to relax in. Don't be fooled by the outside of the buildings, the area seems a little ghetto but that is how most of south lake looks. Inside is nice. It's not fancy but fits all your needs. Price is right!! The hot tub was was super foamy, like a bubble bath, when we were there(not sure if some kids soaped it or if they forgot the anti foam) so I can't comment on it. Wifi is slow but useable, don't plan on streaming Netflix or pandora etc. but fine for checking the ski reports weather etc. was nice to have a tv in master bedroom. Plenty of Linens and towels and extra blankets. Walls are thin, bring earplugs if u have a snorer in your group!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the positive comments on our condo. We are up twice a year to restock and clean and we think all of our upgrades have many guests coming back for future stays. Our upgrades for 2013 will include redoing our fireplace stone and moving our 46" HDTV above the new fireplace mantel. We are also replacing our sofa with a new queen sleeper and comfortable love seat.

We have this to say on your remarks about South Lake Tahoe,
being a "little ghetto". We love riding our bikes all over the south shore in the summer. The area varies, as some homes were built before the city enforced building codes. We think the city of SLT has a wonderful collection of log homes and updated vacation homes.

On our way to Pope Beach during warm summer months we have never considered the South Shore to be a "little ghetto". I guess it depends on where you ride. You can ride from friendly Bavarian Village, through Meadow Woods, and then west through the Tahoe Keys with it's million dollar homes and their own boat docks. You will find more apartment buildings the closer you get to the casinos.

We think South Lake Tahoe and Bavarian Village, with it's central location, offers all the comforts of home in a safe and clean mountain setting.

The owners

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A cozy place to stay!

Review submitted: December 6, 2012   Date of arrival: November 25, 2012

Our group really enjoyed our short stay here. It's clean, organized, and cozy. The location is very close to downtown, the lake, the gandola...It would be perfect if the heater was more quiet. Overall, this condo is definitely worth the price we paid!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear Grace; Thank-you for your review on our condo! We will certainly check into installing a quieter heater fan the next time our heater needs service. Our forced heat does have to reach into the three rear bedrooms. With the three bedrooms doors CLOSED through the night, we have found our MB is so quiet you can hear a "pin drop".

Again, thanks for your comments,
--Greg

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice condo close to Heavenly

Review submitted: December 31, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here for a week. The condo is comfortable and was a good size given that we had five people here for the week. It's also conveniently located near Heavenly and basically all of South Lake Tahoe.

The minor complaints we had were that the internet was very poor and didn't work most of the time and the hot tub was also a bit far from the condo, although it was so warm the week we were there that it wasn't a problem to jog there and back.

All things considered, it was a great week except for the general lack of snow that Tahoe has had this year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Refreshing Getaway

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 19, 2011

We had a wonderful time at this condo. It was spacious & very comfortable. The view from the master
bedroom was beautiful. The kitchen was stocked with about everything you need. (The potholders were
ready for replacement though-very greasy.) It was quiet most of the time. We enjoyed the wi-fi
too. Overall, we definitely plan on paying a return visit. We will recommend this property to friends &
relatives.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyed our stay!

Review submitted: March 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in your condo. There were 6 ladies here for 8 days. It was convenient to Heavenly Ski Resort, shopping, the grocery store and all the action in South Lake Tahoe. The condo was comfortable, never ran out of hot water and there was plenty of room for us to hang out and relax after a day of skiing. They did a good job with snow removal considering we had 88 inches of snow the week we were there! We would recommend this rental, just keep in mind that it's on the second floor and the stairway is outside in the weather. They advertise a hot tub but it's on the other end of the complex, not very convenient and not well kept.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Yes, there was a "ton" of snow during your visit, and our maintenance man was overwhelmed with his "snow removal" duties, i.e., keeping the snow off the stairways. This was a big job for the 18 buildings in the complex. I can assure you that the hot tub is well-maintained and in great condition 99% of the time. The hot tub is in the middle of the complex and is five buildings from the Ripke Condo. We chose our condo because of the unobstructed view of Heavenly you found so enjoyable and peace and quiet being away from the center of the complex afforded. P.S. Dianne we did replace our missing snow shovel

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Location, location!"

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 19, 2003

The location of the condo was just right. Slightly away from the main street and nicely located in the trees. A short walk from the Lake and a short bus or car ride to Heavenly and the Casinos. The laundry was useful but could do with having machines that accept $1.00 bills as finding 4 quarters for every wash was not easy. The pool was nice as was the hot tub. I would highly recommend this property and would willingly visit again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Pleasantly Surprised"

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 16, 2006

We were pleasantly surprised when we stayed in this condo. Not only was the condo spacious, clean, comfortable, newly remodeled and nicely decorated, the management personnel were very friendly and helpful. I'm going to refer this condo to all friends and family that stay in Tahoe. It was nice to get away from the casino scene. The area the condo is in is so quiet, peaceful with squirrels running around. We also used the pool and spa close by, and both of those were very clean.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great For Children"

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2006

This is a great place to stay, and the price is very reasonable. We took our children on family vacation and stayed at the Ripke condo. The location, amenities, decor, and new updates to the condo make it perfect for a couple to get away, or a family vacation. We want to go back and plan far enough in advance to take advantage of this place again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great Location"

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2006

This was a great place to stay! Great location, great price, great owners. One thing i would advise is maybe bringing your own towels as the ones provided by Bavarian Village are kinda rough on the skin. We definitely hope to return again.

Homeowner Response:

Hi Susie! Yes, we listened to a number of guest concerns about the rough towels provided by our former managers in Bavarian Village. We replaced their linens with our own in September, 2008.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Savings!"

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: October 13, 2006

10/13/06
Positive Rating

Greg and Penny Thank you for renting us your lovely and very comfortable Tahoe condo. We found your vacation home to be very spacious and well equipped. Your website mentioned your kitchen and bath remodel and I think you did a wonderful job on both. The finishes you selected and the hunter green trim color gives your place a woodsy feel. Renting your condo was so much nicer than staying at a hotel. Plus renting your home was a tremendous bargain; besides the low rate you offered we also saved a bunch of money by having a number of our meals in. We enjoyed our Tahoe vacation and I hope to make it back for another one soon. Maybe I’ll be able to rent your Tahoe home again someday. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Conveniency"

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2007

We were really pleased at how convenient the condo was located to the grocery stores and also the state line, but most of all how clean, roomy and comfortable it was the only thing that we were sorry about is that we could only spent four days but next time hope to spend more time. It really did feel like home away from home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Everything We Needed"

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: December 27, 2007

Hi Greg, we had a great time at the condo. It had everything we needed, was wonderfully maintained, and was a great deal for the area. The goodie bags in the office actually had some very useful stuff in them! We also enjoyed the hot tub after a long day of skiing at Heavenly. On the environmental side, looks like you've done a good job. Only problem with the CFLs is they don't throw out enough light with the thick dark shades. Once we took the shade off, I could read in bed so I'd just recommend some thinner shades. We didn't see a recycling bin in the garbage area so we took our recyclables home. Maybe curbside recycling isn't available up there in which case you could just ask people to consider bringing beverage plastics and cans home with them. Last thing, a coffee maker with an auto shutoff might help conserve some additional electricity. There's no light that tells you it's still on and I ended up leaving it on longer than I intended. Thanks again. I'm so glad I found you.

Regards, Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Impressed

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: March 15, 2008

Very impressed with the accommodation and location was excellent in respect of both skiing and apres-ski. Kitchen facilities were more than adequate although slightly bemused by the selection of plates, dishes and cups! Being English we missed not having a kettle and would have found some baking trays useful. Our only negative comments would be the erratic hours kept by the office, particularly at weekends; and following a problem with a toilet that overflowed when we arrived we were left to clean up ourselves and sort out the problem. Despite this it was a very enjoyable holiday and we will definatly recommend this condo to our friends and are considering revisiting ourselves.

Homeowner Response:
Dear Peter and Kay;
In September, 2008 we switched condo management agencies to Tahoe Rental Connection. They are staffed 7 days a week and you will always reach a live person when you call during business hours! We also purchased a new supply of matching "green-band" dinnerware with matching cups. They complement the "hunter green" trim in the condo. We will keep our eclectic supply of large coffee mugs until they run out due to breakage or wear. We made a special trip to K-Mart to purchase a kettle and some baking trays for the condo. Our guests from England now may have their "afternoon tea"! We also fulfilled other requests for your baking tray, toaster oven and a pizza pan. And DO please enjoy our complimentary hot chocolate.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 17, 2009   Date of arrival: July 17, 2009

FROM THE OWNERS: If you like "personal touches" and extra convenience, the Ripke Condo is for you. We just added our hand-made coat racks trimmed in hunter green. The coat rack next to the entrance door features small hooks for your car keys. And look on the kitchen table! An extra TV remote is nice to change channels while you dine. And we have framed cable channel guides in the living room and MB. You will love our indiglo nite lights and glo switches so you will never lose your way in the dark. We have them in the bathrooms too! When you get up in the middle of the night no need to blind yourself by turning on the vanity lights! During winter storms power outages are common. We even have emergency lighting for the living room and hallway for your added safety. We also may be =one of the few vacation homes with two fire extinguishers and five smoke alarms. We remind our guests that there is NO SMOKING in the Ripke Condo. If you must smoke outside please DO NOT throw your cigarette butts over our balcony railing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 15, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

Very impressed with the accommodation and location was excellent in respect of both skiing and apres-ski. Kitchen facilities were more than adequate although slightly bemused by the selection of plates, dishes and cups! Being English we missed not having a kettle and would have found some baking trays useful. Our only negative comments would be the erratic hours kept by the office, particularly at weekends; and following a problem with a toilet that overflowed when we arrived we were left to clean up ourselves and sort out the problem.
Dispite this it was a very enjoyable holiday and we will definately recommend this condo to our friends and are considering revisiting ourselves.

Owners response: Dear Peter and Kay;

In September, 2008 we switched condo management agencies to Tahoe Rental Connection. They are staffed 7 days a week and you will always reach a live person when you call during business hours!

We also purchased a new supply of matching "green-band" dinnerware with matching cups. They complement the "hunter green" trim in the condo. We will keep our eclectic supply of large coffee mugs until they run out due to breakage or wear.

We made a special trip to K-Mart to purchase a kettle and some baking trays for the condo. Our guests from England now may have their "afternoon tea"!
We also fulfilled other requests for your baking tray, toaster oven and a pizza pan. And DO please enjoy our
complimentary hot chocolate.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 27, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

Hi Greg, we had a great time at the condo. It had everything we needed, was wonderfully maintained, and was a great deal for the area. The goodie bags in the office actually had some very useful stuff in them! We also enjoyed the hot tub after a long day of skiing at Heavenly.

On the environmental side, looks like you've done a good job. Only problem with the CFLs is they don't throw out enough light with the thick dark shades. Once we took the shade off, I could read in bed so I'd just recommend some thinner shades. We didn't see a recycling bin in the garbage area so we took our recyclables home. Maybe curbside
recycling isn't available up there in which case you could just ask
people to consider bringing beverage plastics and cans home with them.
Last thing, a coffee maker with an auto shutoff might help conserve
some additional electricity. There's no light that tells you it's
still on and I ended up leaving it on longer than I intended.

Thanks again. I'm so glad I found you. Regards, Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 21, 2007   Date of arrival: July 21, 2007

We were really pleased at how convenient the condo was located to the grocery stores and also the state line, but most of all how clean, roomy and comfortable it was the only thing that we were sorry about is that we could only spent four days but next time hope to spend more time. It really did feel like home away from home.

Harold and Lorrie DeNike

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 13, 2006   Date of arrival: October 13, 2006

Greg and PennyThank you for renting us your lovely and very comfortable Tahoe condo. We found your vacation home to be very spacious and well equipped. Your website mentioned your kitchen and bath remodel and I think you did a wonderful job on both. The finishes you selected and the hunter green trim color gives your place a woodsy feel. Renting your condo was so much nicer than staying at a hotel. Plus renting your home was a tremendous bargain; besides the low rate you offered we also saved a bunch of money by having a number of our meals in.We enjoyed our Tahoe vacation and I hope to make it back for another one soon. Maybe I’ll be able to rent your Tahoe home again someday.Thanks again,Steve Samuelson

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 13, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

Greg and Penny

Thank you for renting us your lovely and very comfortable Tahoe condo. We found your vacation home to be very spacious and well equipped. Your website mentioned your kitchen and bath remodel and I think you did a wonderful job on both. The finishes you selected and the hunter green trim color gives your place a woodsy feel.

Renting your condo was so much nicer than staying at a hotel. Plus renting your home was a tremendous bargain; besides the low rate you offered we also saved a bunch of money by having a number of our meals in.

We enjoyed our Tahoe vacation and I hope to make it back for another one soon. Maybe I’ll be able to rent your Tahoe home again someday.

Thanks again,
Steve Samuelson

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 2, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

This was a great place to stay! Great location, great price, great owners. One thing i would advise is maybe bringing your own towels as the ones provided by Bavarian Village are kinda rough on the skin. We definitely hope to return again.

Owners response: Hi Susie!
Yes, we listened to a number of guest concerns about the rough towels provided by our former managers in Bavarian Village. We replaced their linens with our own in September, 2008.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 16, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

We were pleasantly surprised when we stayed in this condo. Not only was the condo spacious, clean, comfortable, newly remodeled and nicely decorated, the management personnnel were very friendly and helpful. I'm going to refer this condo to all friends and family that stay in Tahoe. It was nice to get away from the casino scene. The area the condo is in is so quiet, peaceful with squirrels running around. We also used the pool and spa close by, and both of those were very clean.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 19, 2005   Date of arrival: December 1, 2005

This property is absolutely beautiful. The views and warmth make for a wonderful vacation! The owners have gone the extra mile to ensure comfort. I would make this place a repeat get-away spot. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 19, 2003   Date of arrival: August 1, 2003

The location of the condo was just right. Slightly away from the main street and nicely located in the trees. A short walk from the Lake and a short bus or car ride to Heavenly and the Casinos. The laundry was useful but could do with having machines that accept $1.00 bills as finding 4 quarters for every wash was not easy. The pool was nice as was the hot tub. I would highly recommend this property and would willingly visit again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 17, 2003   Date of arrival: February 1, 2003

Condo was in a great location. Five-minute
drive to Heavenly's California base. Casino
shuttle and Heavenly shuttle were
convenient. Only negatives were that
regulating the temperature in the condo was
difficult to regulate due to pre-programmed
digital thermostat, and one of the bathrooms
doesn't lock. Kitchen was adequate, and
bedrooms were comfortable. I suggest
bringing personal towels as those provided
are a bit old and small. Onsite laundry
facilities were convenient and outdoor hot
tub was nice. I would rent it again, and
recommend it for those considering visiting
the area.

Owners response: We absolutely listen to our guest's concerns. Our thermostatt is now set on "manual" and we now have our own linens in the condo. Our new towels are now plush and soft and we ask our guests to take good care of them. When we replaced our linens we also changed out all of our door knobs, including the bathroom locks with brushed nickel to match our faucets.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review