reviews for: listing #12778 - Hull, Massachusetts House rental

Boston Light/Allerton Oceanview
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Allerton Hill
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $483 - $500 /nt
    $3,000 - $3,000 /wk
    $8,360 - $11,020 /mth

sort by:

LOVELY home, great amenities, spectacular views!

Review submitted: August 4, 2014   Date of arrival: July 26, 2014

This home is very accurately described and did not disappoint. The photos and descriptions were great, but experiencing the views first hand from all the decks was thrilling! We had a wonderful family reunion and cherished each morning coffee and evening cocktail together on the front, back or rooftop deck. We cooked each evening (plenty of pots, pans and pantry items!). The gas grill is a tad small if you are cooking for 10, but we managed just fine. We took a few excursions to Boston on the ferry, to the sand beach (dropped gear and people at Y street) and to the carousel. We took walks along the seawall and experienced the "Illuminations Event" the first night.

The convenient location for quick side trips to Derby Shops(lunch at Burton's Grill was fabulous) and Trader Joe's was helpful. And there's a great Hot Yoga Studio next to Stop N Shop in Hingham. The home is away from the hustle and bustle of Hull--- in a gorgeous quiet neighborhood.

The home was very clean, and well equipped with linens, towels, and beach needs. The outdoor shower, and washer/dryer were great conveniences too.

Tom the manager was quick to respond and had many helpful hints since he knows the area so well.

Overall we all had a WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE in this lovely home and would recommend it for others planning family get togethers.

Owners response: Thank so much for this helpful and uplifting description! We didn't know about the yoga or Burtons Grill thanks for the tips!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A large home in Hull that offers much more.

Review submitted: August 3, 2014   Date of arrival: July 26, 2014

My family spent two weeks at this home and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We had 9 total (6 adults and three children) in our group and the home was perfect for that size group. The home is spacious and has an open feel. The kitchen is well equipped for in home cooking. There is a back yard where the children played. This was nice since it is enclosed and you can keep an eye on the kids from the kitchen window. There also is an outdoor shower which was great after a day at the beach. The owner also had beach chairs and an umbrella available for use which was helpful for our beach visits. We took many trips into Boston from the Hull Ferry which is about 1 1/2 mile from the home. The owner had a "helpful hints" books which I used a lot for restaurants and things to do. The home is not in the busy beach area, (great views of the sunset from the house though) but did not find it a problem to drive to that area only to come back to the quiet of the street. I would recommend this home to anyone looking to vacation in Hull.

Owners response: Thank You so much! We are happy you had such a good time.
If you would like to return, we will give you a discount!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A most perfect house

Review submitted: March 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

The days in the house were wonderful! It is a perfect place for holidays. One has an unspoilt view over the sea as well as on the skyline of Boston, and this is a luxury that is not offered everywhere in Hull. You can admire the sunsets and enjoy long walks on the beach. You may meditate on the ideas sailors had about the horizon of the sea and the end of the world in former times or go for a run. But you might as well stay in the house or the garden because the house is perfectly equipped – even with a piano. There is lots of space for relaxing, working or entertainment. And if you are a passionate cook you will love the kitchen because one can find everything one is used to in ones own home and more. The supermarkets nearby offer a variety of good food and fresh fish. Last but not least it is worth mentioning that one does sleep very well in this house.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A perfect house

Review submitted: March 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

The days in the house were wonderful! It is a perfect place for holidays. One has an unspoilt view over the sea as well as on the skyline of Boston, and this is a luxury that is not offered everywhere in Hull. You can admire the sunsets and enjoy long walks on the beach. You may meditate on the ideas sailors had about the horizon of the sea and the end of the world in former times or go for a run. But you might as well stay in the house or the garden because the house is perfectly equipped – even with a piano. There is lots of space for relaxing, working or entertainment. And if you are a passionate cook you will love the kitchen because one can find everything one is used to in ones own home and more. The supermarkets nearby offer a variety of good food and fresh fish. Last but not least it is worth mentioning that one does sleep very well in this house.

Owners response: Thank You for such a beautiful endorsement! We share your feelings about our home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Home, Great Location

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

This recently renovated home was perfect for our five-person group, and it lived up to its description and photos in the online listing. The house was clean, roomy and comfortably furnished. The open layout on the first floor made the the kitchen, dining room and living area seem spacious. The bedrooms are outfitted with quality mattresses and bedding, and the master bathroom is new and inviting. We took advantage of the third floor deck to watch the beautiful sunsets. The outside shower is a plus for rinsing off sand before entering the house. As for the surrounding area, we found plenty of activities to occupy us during our week-long stay (including two trips on the commuter ferry to Boston, visits to Nantasket Beach, biking, etc.). The owner was responsive to our inquiries, and It was also helpful to have a property manager nearby to greet us on our arrival and answer our questions.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Marvellous house with great view

Review submitted: June 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2013

This is the perfect place for vacation. We had the vacation of our dreams!
The location is magnificent, easily accesible and close to all the nicest beaches of the area. The house itself is recenlty renovated and very thoughtfuly designed. The view over the ocean is unobstructed from every room of the house and of course from the main terrace and the balconies -not to mention the room on the top of the house which has the greatest view and which is the best place to relax or to concentrate. It is very spacious (it can easily host 2 families), comfortable and fully equipped. Also, the kids appreciated especially the big back garden.
The owner was a very kind person and the manager, who lives just down the street, could come immediately whenever it was needed (that was really convenient). It also has to be said that the house was very clean - irreproachably clean.
The place deserves to be fully starred. I would highly recommend it to a friend.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect location. Fantastic house.

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay in the house and the owners were very nice and dedicated. One of our very best experiences in the US over the last ten years. Stayed twice in this house, before and after it was renovated and expanded.
The house is beautifully designed and now has one of the best views onto the ocean in Hull. A truly amazing view. It is flooded with light and has great decks.
Very clean, perfectly equipped, luxurious. Great neighborhood, very quiet.
Really a great location and a great place to stay for vacation/work.
Jean-Philippe & Catherine Narboux, Bordeaux, France

PS: En plus, les propriétaires parlent très bien français !

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing family vacation in Hull

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

This home met the needs for the 6 of us- my husband, myself, our two young children, and my inlaws. The views from the home are spectacular and we really enjoyed sitting on the deck both morning and evening. The space was adequate but the upstairs was a bit tight with its low ceilings. My husband and I both bonked our heads multiple times! Parking shouldn't have been a problem but the construction trucks from across the street were constantly getting in our way and two different times we had police knocking on the door to move our, legally parked, cars. But this shouldn't continue for long and isn't the fault of the homeowner. The biggest issue we had with the house was the lack of cleanlines. We each noticed and the day we moved in, I was on my hands and knees cleaning piles of dirt/dust in different rooms and also wiping down furniture including the kitchen table. My father in law moved a table slightly in the den and found that no one had swept/cleaned under this in ages. We also felt that a dog and/or cat had lived on premises as my husband and mother in law who are very allergic were having bad allergies just in the house. Due to the lack of cleanliness, this was obviously a bigger problem. This really made me unhappy and thus I took off two stars. But everything else was pretty much as we expected. Nantasket beach is perfect for children and we really enjoyed ourselves.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: First let me stress that this renter was in our OLD home, in the summer of 2012, and afterwards, in the fall of 2012 we fully renovated to build what is essentially a new home. We have two other reviews from 2013 about the new situation.

Here is our response, though:

Thanks very much for your review, we really appreciate it and are very sorry for the difficulties. We have addressed them. First we must especially apologize for the lack of cleanliness. Our manager had always found us good people in the past, and we had never had a complaint until now. In response, we have hired a new manager and new, more professional cleaning crew. The manager is a custom builder who renovated the house for us ths fall, so he knows it inside and out. He lives down the street and cares abut the house, in particular, keeping it absolutely clean. He will use a crew who will be at guests' disposal if things are not up to snuff. The renovations, completed at the end of 2012, yield a completely new home which is doubled in size, freshly painted, varnished and utterly clean. No more head banging, as we have gone from 1.5 storeys to 4 storeys with a garage, 8 foot ceilings everywhere, 12 foot in the upstairs studio, which is 14 x 16 feet. On the second floor, high ceilings, a third bedroom, and two more full baths. Balconies off the front of the house on the second floor. From the 3rd floor enter a spectacular 4th floor roof deck with over 220 degrees of views. Downstairs a new terrace and decking, kitchen floor, basement and garage and driveway. Square footage of the home has been doubled, 700 square feet of deck are added, and the whole front of the house opened up to take advantage of the great views. Everything is spotless.
With these changes we hope to get back to 5 stars.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful home, beautiful view!

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

My stay here exceeded my expectations! The house is comfortable and very clean which is important to me. While it was just my fiance and I, the house could have slept 6 more people comfortably. The kitchen is fully equipped with every appliance you could ever need, as well as an outdoor grill in the huge backyard. There are two living rooms, so you can choose to watch TV, or sit and look at the gorgeous view of the ocean across the street. The deck is perfect for reading your favorite novel while listening to the waves. The location is ideal. The town is a short bike ride away, where you can enjoy delicious ice cream and some of the best new england clam chowder I've ever had! Popular Nantasket beach is very close and always fun, or if you prefer the private, quiet beach, the house comes with a pass so you can decide for yourself. Overall we had a lovely, relaxing and fun week in Hull, and I can't wait to be back next summer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing week in perfect hull house

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

Just finished an amazing week in hull! A few miles from the popular beaches of Nantasket, the location was perfect! We weren't inundated with people from the public beaches but we were close enough to take advantage of all the great restaurants, not to mention that the house was very close to the private beaches. The house itself was modern, relaxing and those comfy beds! We actually looked forward to going to sleep... We spent a lot of time on the deck, a view the lighthouse and the smell of the ocean made for great evenings. There was also a back yard and a grille --- we regretted not getting fresh fish and cooking out but we couldn't get enough of the chowder in town--- try schooners!

The house was equipped with tennis rackets and bikes--- we used both, and even if you dont love bike rides (like me) you won't regret biking along the ocean into town to grab some ice cream. And when you get back relax in the jacuzzi! And while I've stayed at such houses before, many can disappoint with old appliances or crummy furniture. This wasn't fancy but perfectly modern.... Cozy to say the least. God, I could go on and on but this little house turned out to make for the perfect relaxing weekend away from the city. Thank you so much!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review