reviews for: listing #12823 - Bar Harbor, Maine Cottage rental

1930 bungalow/ 1.5 acres/ 1/2 mile to pristine Echo Lake
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $450 - $1,295 /wk

sort by:

relaxing vacation in Bar Harbor

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Enjoyed staying at your bungalow in Somesville. The location was perfect! Conveniently close to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, and private and peaceful when your tired from a long day of sightseeing. Bought lobster from a fisherman who lives just down the road, and brought them back and enjoyed them at the house. The house was clean and the it was very convenient to have a washer and dryer. Booking the rental was very effortless, as the owner is so nice! We highly recommend a trip over to Bass Harbor at the little restaurant there for lunch on their deck at the pier!!! Booked another week this summer - can hardly wait!!

Larry and Rita

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great getaway in Maine

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

If you want to getaway on one take of gas this is the place. We found the cottage country style and felt relaxed right away. The owner make herself available to you and is great about any questions you should have. Our family hasd a great vacation and would go back again. So much to do and not enough time to do it in. Maine is great

Helen & Bob Jesionowski

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: October 29, 2011

We had a great week at your charming bungalow and a great meal at Cafe Bluefish! Maine is the perfect place to come to get away from our city lived and Mount Desert Island is the best of Maine! It's like being transported back in time and your 1930 Bungalow is part of the reason. Thanks again, Chuck and Rhonda

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We LOVE Maine!!

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

We LOVE Maine and we love your cabin! We had a great week of hiking and site seeing. Being centrally located on the island turned out to be perfect. I never even heard of Southwest Harbor and it is a great little town, just 5 minutes drive from the house and seawall and the lighthouse are all there too!
Thanks!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks!

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Thanks for a terrific week! We really enjoyed the house and your beautiful island. The kids had a great time on the lobster boat("Dive in" Theater) We had a big lobster feed here at the house on our last night and that was great too, then watched movies..perfect get away from our hectic city lives!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great getaway

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

We come to Maine every year and we are so glad to have discovered your little bungalow! It reminds me of my grandfather's vacation home in the Adirondacks, it is cozy and charming and old fashioned. Thank you for a wonderful week and see you next time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Disappointed

Review submitted: September 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We would like to preface this review by stating that we have never written a negative review. We are generally optimistic and content to accept what we get and make the best of a situation. However, we were sickened when we arrived at the property, which was not even close to being as advertised. We hope to help others avoid a similar situation. To avoid being perceived as disgruntled whiners, we have taken photos to document the condition of the property. Unfortunately, Vacation Rentals does not allow the use of HTML tags or links in reviews, so we are unable to post our photos. The problems we found with the property were as follows: The lawn was weedy, overgrown, and unkempt. It was on major highway (Route 102). Lots of traffic noise. Front deck and stairs looked and felt unstable. Front door inside bungalow onto deck blocked by plant. Garage had lots of trash stacked in it. Adirondack chairs not as pictured. The photos never showed dilapidated sheds next to them. No bike path across from the bungalow. The sink and under counters was very dirty and cluttered with items just thrown about. Lack of pots and pans for cooking. There was laundry in the washer, with a note stating that it needed to be finished(sorry but not my job. I would not have minded washing my own sheets upon departure but for what we paid I should not have to tend to the previous weeks laundry). The toaster oven was filthy with lots of old bread crumbs. Mouse traps stacked under the counter cabinet (no dead mice though!). Master bedroom: The lamp shade was peeling and yellowed, pictures on wall printed from a computer and taped to the wall. Paint missing in place where pictures have been peeled off. No curtaines on the windows. Second bedroom: walls lacking paint where things peeled off, bare light bulb hanging from ceiling with no fixture. We did not stay at the property and found another very nice property in Ellsworth, for which we wrote a raving review. Our final comment is please see this property prior to renting...do not be fooled by the picutures.

Helpful votes: 9 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for a lovely week

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

We loved your cozy little cabin and had a great week. There is so much to see and do on your beautiful island that we may come for two weeks next time! One of the very best things about this area is the free local bus that we could get right at the bottom of the driveway! We got the bus schedule and just walked down the hill and waved at the bus. The bungalow is charming and cozy and we had a wonderful getaway from our hectic city lives! Thanks again, Hans and Debra
P.S. dinner at Cafe Bluefish was yummy!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We love your house!

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

Thanks for a great week! We love your house, it is so quaint. We also loved discovering Southwest Harbor which we had never been to before. It is really a beautiful little seaside town and only about 5 minutes drive from the house. Well, thanks again! Tim and Laura

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

charming vintage cottage

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

Great location, charming, rustic bungalow. Pet friendly, close to everything and you can catch the free island wide bus at the bottom of the driveway if you just wave to them as they approach! The weather was chilly at night that week and we were glad to have the hot water baseboard heat! This cozy little house reminds me of my childhood, going to my grandparents place in Vermont.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Our favorite getaway

Review submitted: December 16, 2010   Date of arrival: May 10, 2010

we have been coming to Maine and renting the 1930 bungalow off and on for years. We love the location and the house. As the name implies it was built in 1930 and still has most of it's original details. Yes, the large single bay sink is old but it is sanitary and I wouldn't trade it for a new one. The TV does not get reception, but there is a working VCR and DVD player and a very good selection of videos. We brought our own DVDs. We have very found memories of listening to Red Sox games on the radio - a nice change. The house has original hard wood floors and period furniture. The bathroom is quaint and clean. The bedrooms are charming and cozy, the living room is large for a little bungalow and gets lots of light. We love watching the sunset over the trees across the street. The exterior is rustic and a bit wild but to say it is not rental material seems absurd. We regularly sit in the two chairs pictured having our coffee or reading. Couldn't be more lovely or relaxing.

We love the real Maine feel of the whole house, inside and out. If you like frills or 'country' decor, maybe it isnt the house for you. The folks who did not enjoy the house mentioned the mismatched dishes and bedding. I think it's fair to say the owner is a bit eccentric . She also owns and operates the Cafe Bluefish in downtown Bar Harbor. Go! The Lobster Streudel that was featured on the Food Network is not to be missed. The Bluefish also has mismatched dishes and mismatched linens! We love the house (and the restaurant) and come nearly every year.

If you like cozy charm, this is the place for you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Not a Rental

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

While the cottage was in a great location and was indeed clean...it was not rental material. The kitchen cupboards had
nothing that matched. The sink was in terrible shape. The bikes had flat tires. The TV didn't get reception. The VCR didn't work. The linens didn't match and there was not mattress pad. I don't consider a bed frame made of 2x4's a real bed. The exterior of the place was very unkempt with weeds all around the entrance and the deck needed to be demolished. The flower box was empty. What was really strange to us was that the owner never stopped in or called to see if everything was all right. This cottage was more of a family cottage that was never used....not a suitable rental. We have rented in this website 3 times and have been more than satisfied with the homes.

Helpful votes: 13 / 18

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review