reviews for: listing #12838 - Key Colony Beach, Florida House rental

Sun & Fun-Tropical Pool Home w/Private Beach Access
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $2,150 - $3,500 /wk
    $7,980 - $8,995 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Home

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

Ann,
Too bad you didn't join us. We had plenty of room for you and Steve too. It was the most relaxing of all our recent trips during the 5 years we've enjoyed our annual trip to Key Colony. Arrived 2 weeks earlier than usual and glad we did. Weather was great, lots of lobster caught and new spots found. Only caught a 20# Dolphin (Mahi) but we ate well! ....But we were here during Niaya's swim from Cuba so will remember that part of history for as long as our minds can. Look forward to staying again when we need a huge PERFECT home.
Love saltwater pools!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful 2 weeks in your perfect home

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Dear Ann & Steve,
We had a wonderful 2 weeks in your perfect Keys home. Love the layout of the home and décor. Pool was great to get in after fishing and lobstering, or when the weather is too rough to go out. Hope to come back next year and have better weather.

Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What an awesome and comfortable home

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Ann & Steve,
Thank you so much for sharing your home with us this past week. What an awesome and comfortable home it was for our family. Looking forward to coming back next June to spend a couple of weeks of fishing and hopefully some relaxation...Hard to do for me when the weather is good and fish are to be caught. Our son marries next week and hopefully he and his new wife will also enjoy a stay at your home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise in every way

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

We have enjoyed this home for three years now and are more impressed each time we stay. This home is furnished very nice and is always extremely clean. The pool is an added bonus after a hard day of fishing and snorkeling. The Gulf and Atlantic are super close and plenty of space for our boat. This home is in one of the nicest communities in the Keys and is patrolled by local police throughout the day and night, We go for the fishing and water activities and its so hard to leave after our week is up. Our kids call it there home away from home.. The owners of this home are very nice and you can tell they really want you to enjoy your stay and ask each time if there is any improvements that are needed. I would highly recommend this home for anyone you wont be disappointed!!

The Hazouri's

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate your yearly stay at our vacation home and truly do want to know if there is anything we can do to make your stay better. It's our goal to always make it feel like your home away from home.
Thanks-talk to you next year! Ann

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

MegaNice!

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

We were elated to have found this beautiful home for our 2 week trip to the Keys. Our frequent visits to the Keys are focused on fishing in the spectacular waters surrounding the island chain. While the weather was unusually windy and wet for this particular trip (tropical storm Andrea brewing in the vicinity), Ann's immaculate home helped to greatly ease the mental duress we endured waiting for the wind and rain to clear.
On arrival there was a long, wide driveway in front of the garage. We opted to store our boat trailer off of the driveway in a convenient fine-gravel area on the opposite side of the lot - very convenient for boaters. Exteriorly the house appeared to be secure and well-maintained with attractive landscaping, including a lime tree loaded with fruit.
Inside, the house was clean top to bottom. The kitchen was fully equipped with far more pots, pans, utensils, glasses and dinnerware than we typically see in home rentals. The 3 bedrooms were spacious with large, comfortable beds and crisp linens. Both of the baths were meticulously clean, bright and comfortable. Tons of seating in the living room area with top-notch furnishings. Decorations were very nicely done.
The dock was clean and in great shape with easy access for our 24 foot bay boat, and about a 4 minute trip to Vaca Cut. While we couldn't get out on our boat as often as we wanted, we managed to catch several keeper mangrove snapper off of the dock.
This was truly a wonderful house in a great location and we would love to visit again. We just need to install a "Control Your Own Weather" app on our smartphones next time to keep the occasional bad-weather bugs away :-)

Owners response: Thanks so much for the glowing review! Despite the unusually wet weather, I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay. This home is also our getaway destination so it is equipped with everything we need when we head to the best vacation spot in FL - Key Colony Beach. I hope you return soon and be sure to share that weather app with me!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Beautifully decorated home! My husband, myself and our four girls had a great time. We spoke with the owners, met their friends in the neighborhood and spoke with the pool boy. We were very blessed to have found such a wonderful place to stay, as it was our first time renting.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything we expected and more!

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We had a great time and the house was everything we expected and more! We happened to run in to an old school mate who lives just a street over who was able to give us some insight to some of the characters who call Key Colony Beach home. Some of the houses and landscaping were awesome! Sunset park and Inch beach were both really nice places to go. Although we did not get to fish as much as we would have liked, we were able to do plenty of boating and hang out on the sand bars and cruise the area. If you ever need to use me as a reference for the house or need a reliable house sitter, feel free to contact me, we are just a couple hours north.

Hope we get a chance to come back soon,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Vacation

Review submitted: March 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

The house had a wonderful location. We were able to walk or ride bikes to the restaurants located on the island as well as the beach. Being able to go to Inch Beach instead of drive to a beach was great. Although the weather earlier in the week was not great, we were still able to hang out by the pool when the sun was out. Sunset Beach was a walk away, and we went almost every night to watch the sunset. Key Colony Beach is a beautiful island.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Girls Getaway!

Review submitted: March 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

My girlfriends and I stayed at this house for a week and had a blast! The house is beautiful and a great price. The pool was perfect during the hot afternoons and the private beach was a great place to tan or watch the sunset. The locals restuarants were so good especially the Island. I am most definitely rebooking this house next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Being British we were not sure what to expect!

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

Arriving from Englad, we were a bit disappointed with the Florida weather, but the house and location made up for it. We wanted to be able to visit all of the Keys and we certainly were able to. The weather improved and we were able to enjoy the pool to the fullest and we in there every day.
Being British, we were not sure what to expect, but we were not disappointed with your lovely home and hopefully we will be able to come back some day.
The Keys and your home were welcoming. Everybody was helpful and we felt at home.
Kind Regards,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Looking Forward to Next Year!

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Thank you so much for having your home on the market. Great place to come and relax. We were 3rd week, worked real hard for our bugs and one grouper. Love the location!! The pool saved us every afternoon. We had a great time, lots of memories made! Looking forward to next year, maybe 2nd week.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Family had the Best Time

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Our family had the best time in your beautiful home! Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to enjoy it. It was a long and overdue vacaiton. We have 5 sons ranging from 10-17. They loved catching over 60 lobsters and some dolphin we ate was delicious!!! This was a perfect therapeutic vacation to a rough year! Hopefully we will be able to come back every year! Best time in the Keys EVER! My sisters & their families & Mother-in-law enjoyed visiting us too. They say this home is so gorgeous! This is how I will remember my 40th birthday!

My best,

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We were here for Opening Week of Lobster Season.

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We caught over 100 bugs! (bugs=lobster) We loved the close proximity to Vaca Cut and the Gulf. This is our 6th year coming to Marathon for lobsters and this house was our favorite spot yet! It was great to jump in the pool after a day on the boat. The grill came in handy for some surf & turf. We tried to snorkel at Sombrero Reef one day but jellyfish were everywhere! We were able to get into a school of dolphin about 15 miles offshore and caught 22 Mahi! We missed a 35 pounder though :(. Maybe we'll come back next year for him. We ate at Sparky's Landing one night and it was delicious. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was the Perfect Place for our Keys Vacation!

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

We had a wonderful time during our week stay. The weather was perfect and the house was great! We caught over 45 fish with the Main Attraction fishing charter and definitely recommend that experience. We had a great time boating, snorkeling, fishing, and lounging by the pool. Thank you for sharing your home with us! It was the perfect place for our Keys vacation! We hope to come back in the future. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a Fabulous Time in your Lovely Home!

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

There was plenty of room for all 7 of us. The house was very well equipped and we felt like home. It was so nice to come back in after a day of fishing and relax in the pool. Even though it rained quite a bit, we had a great time.

Once again, thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Family Vacation was Great!

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2011

The weather was perfect (and hot). Seas turned calm, which allowed us to catch 20 Mahi. They were practically jumping into the boat! Your home is beautiful and spacious and we totally enjoyed our time here. And now we have a 2-day trip in our 30' boat to head back to Daytona!

Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Vacation!

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

We had a Great Vacation in your home. It fit all our needs and so much space. The kids loved the pool and my husband loved the dock with quick access to the ocean.

We would like to return again and will request a booking from you once we return home!

Thank you for sharing your home. And like the renter prior, the pictures on the Web don't show true to how beautiful your home is!

P.S. Everything went great for our allergy child!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We hope to return soon!

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

From 6 year old Kate: I liked our time here. It was great and I wish we could stay. I stayed in the bedroom close to the living room and I like how you could open the doors on both sides. I liked all the space, but most of all I liked the TV in my room and the big pool!

From Kate's Mom: We all enjoyed our time in your comfortable home! We hope to return soon. Thank you, Kate's Mom.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home on Canal

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

This home was even nicer than we expected from the photos and description. Our family of 7 (Nana, Papa, Daughter, Son in law, 3 granddaughters) had plenty of room to relax, sleep, watch TV, swim or just vegetate. The kitchen was better appointed than any home we have rented. The beds were comfortable and the kids were in the pool most of the time. It was squeaky clean and located in an upscale neighborhood about a 2 hour drive from Miami, 1 hour to Key West and 30 minutes to Bahia Honda State Park. There is plenty of shopping right in Marathon. The owner was very helpful by answering e-mail questions we had prior to our arrival and they were kind enough to have a couple of bikes for us to use (kids under 16 need a helmet). It is on a canal and the ocean is within easy walking distance. Sunset Park, a picnic non-swimming beach is a short walk away too. The owners have a membership at Inch Beach which is maybe 1/2 mile away and it is a nice, small swimming beach. The sunsets were magnificent from Sunset Park and many other places in Marathon. We would recommend it to our friends and relatives who might visit the Keys.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We have equipped this home for ourown use for our vacations and expect our renters deserve
the same level of comfort and cleanliness. I'm always happy when someone appreciates our efforts!

We've only owned this home for a year. Come back next year, it'll be even better!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous - most enjoyable start to our retirement!!!

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

We just arrived home after 11 wonderful weeks at this home. The home is so enjoyable with all the amenities one needs to be comfortable--decor is so cheerful and elegant and the owners are very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed sun filled days swiming in the heated pool and relaxing around it ending the days with the beautiful sunsets! The fishing is outstanding, we rented a boat and kept it directly at the homes private dock. The ocean and bay are only 5 minutes away, you also can fish right off the dock. The only negative is that we will only be able to come back for 8 weeks in 2012, due to the owners using their home, I guess they want to spend sometime in paradise too.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: I was fortunate to be able to meet these renters and they are wonderful people. We are so grateful that they loved our place as much as we do!

Ann Wenger

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a beautiful home!!

Review submitted: November 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 8, 2010

We loved this home and will return! We have stayed at several rental homes in Key Colony Beach, and this is by far the nicest. We felt as if we were staying in a friend's home, rather than a vacation rental. It is beautifully decorated, with top of the line furnishings, linens, dishes, glassware, etc. The pool is just the right size for socializing, is well maintained, and the landscaping makes it very private. The docking area is wide and the channel location is great to access either the ocean or the gulf. This home has a lovely ocean view from the living room and is just a short walk to the Sunset Beach Park. We enjoy all the restaurants on Key Colony Beach, so we always look for a rental here. We will look no further, but always return to this home. The owners are friendly, helpful, and eager to make your stay all you want it to be. Thanks for your gracious hospitality!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Home, Beautiful Place!

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 28, 2010

Our stay here in late October/early November was absolutely wonderful! The home was beautiful and very well-appointed with lovely furnishings. It is located in a quiet, friendly residential neighborhood, perfect for relaxing. The house and grounds were well-maintained and immaculate. The pool was perfect and in a gorgeous setting over-looking the channel. The sun-room is a great plus. We really enjoyed spending time there. This home has everything one needs for a great stay. I would highly recommend it to anyone considering a vacation in the area. Key Colony Beach is a very safe and quiet place with great dining. We enjoyed all the restaurants we visited and especially liked the Island Fish Co. If you're planning a visit to the Keys...you won't be disappointed here!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review