reviews for: listing #12848 - Kailua, Hawaii House rental

Hale Kai Vacation Rental
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,750 - $1,750 /wk

sort by:

Our Favorite Vacation Rental

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

My wife and I have had the good fortune of staying in
this beautiful home a few times since 2010.
We have had several family members
accompany us on some of these occasions.
The area is beautiful with many tropical plants right on
the property.
The home is very clean, comfortable and well equipped,
and just steps from an uncrowded Kailua beach.
We have always had a great experience at “Hale Kai”,
and look forward to the next visit.

Rose and Bruno (Roseburg, OR)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming Beach Getaway

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: October 29, 2013

My relatives and had a wonderful, peaceful stay. We were very jet-lagged and loved being so close to the beach for an early morning walk and close enough for coffee and breakfast just down the street. We had a glass of wine with the owners for sunset who were lovely and accommodating. The kitchen was well stocked for cooking and there was plenty of beach toys. I loved the private, lanai garden. It was obvious they take pride in the care of their property. My only complaint is that it's getting booked up and harder to rent on short notice.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Holiday!

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: February 10, 2014

With some other members of my family I attended a wedding in February,2014. We had the privilege of staying at this Tropical Garden Paradise . What a perfect place, everything is there that you could possibly need and the owners are very hospitable.We had a wonderful time. The beach(one of the most beautiful I have ever seen) is only about 200 ft. away.The 5 of us were very comfortable in this beautiful place. Thank you Shari and Chuck. We will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Hale Kai

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 1, 2014

I have been there many times (at least 10 or 11 times) i have just loved it and had a wonderful, enjoyable vacation each and every time. I cannot wait to go back. I have traveled there with many friends and relatives, and they have thoroughly enjoyed stay there
also.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

BEWARE! False advertising: it's a ONE (1) BEDROOM, not two bedrooms

Review submitted: March 16, 2014   Date of arrival: March 3, 2014

My wife and baby and I stayed here for 10 days. The "second bedroom" was NOT A BEDROOM. It's not even a room! It's a portion of the living room separated by a thin plastic screen, with another screen separating it from the kitchen. If you close the plastic screens, the light and sound go right through. But air does not go through and it smells like plastic (it has no window). It's impossible to sleep there. We had the baby and jet lag and I had some work to do with phone calls and we had a few visitors during the day. It was a nightmare. There are cheaper and nicer one bedrooms nearby. If you are concerned, ask for more photos of the bedrooms showing all the walls and doors and windows.

There were other issues:
1. All of us got sick with allergies and sinus problems. It's strange because I haven't had allergies for years and my wife never gets sick. It was only inside the unit, and mostly in the morning when we woke up. We were ok everywhere else on the island, indoors, outdoors, in the town, in Honolulu, etc. Must have been mold or dust in the unit.
2. One toilet never worked. It stopped up repeatedly. The owners must be aware of this because they provide a rubber plunger, which you have to use each time. Not my idea of vacation. Yuk. I wish they just told us.
3. Noise. There is a thin double french door separating the rental unit from the owners' living room. You hear their dog shake in the morning, their phone, their TV, conversations, etc. I asked them to turn the TV down once at night as we recovered from jet lag , and they said no they would not! There are other noises: two construction sites on either side (they start at 7:30am), lawn mowers, stereos, car alarms, etc. If you plan to take naps during the day or recover from jet lag or have a napping baby, you are out of luck.
4. The owners are not nice people. They came by repeatedly and left notes, not to ask are we ok or do we need anything, but telling us to do things for THEM: take out our trash at certain times, wash dishes, check out promptly so the cleaning crew can get in, etc. Like they were doing us a huge favor by allowing us to stay there, and we have to work for it! Half way though they informed us we have to clean dishes and take out trash before we leave even though we paid the hefty cleaning fee and had to clear out promptly for that very same cleaning crew! They even made some threat about the security deposit, though we did no damage at all.

Owners response: We have rented our apartment for over twenty years to over 700 satisfied guests. We constantly receive glowing comments from our guests and have never had anyone complain about the second bedroom. It has a queen bed a dresser and two night stands, it is located in an area off of the living room and has bi-fold doors which close for privacy.
These guests were the worst tenants we have ever had. They constantly complained, were very noisy and nasty.
No one has ever left our property in such a mess. They left piles of dirty dishes, filthy dirty diapers and trash everywhere. They were downright disgusting. We are posting all of their info on www.badvacationrenters.com. If you are an owner DO NOT RENT TO THEM, as you will regret it. We have never felt the need to charge a security deposit until now.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Return visit -- updated review!

Review submitted: January 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

We last stayed at this rental in 2010. At that time, everything was perfect except for the very noisy next-door neighbors. (See my earlier review below.)

We just returned from a 10-day return visit, and I am very pleased to say that the large property next-door has been sold. It actually was empty the whole time were were there. The peace and quiet was wonderful. Apparently the new owners are rarely there and never a problem when they are. This welcome change has removed my only concern about the desirability of this property as a vacation rental. It's perfect for families (my 3-year-old loved it) and convenient to everything you'd want while on vacation. The owners remain very friendly and helpful and the unit continues to be well-kept and clean. I'd have no reservations about returning a third time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Large House Steps from the Beach

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2011

We actually stayed at this house about 1 1/2 yrs. ago. This is an update from our previous comments. Since our visit we have been told by the owners that the very noisy neighbors next door have moved away and that the new owners are on site only occasionally. The owner's informed us that they have also upgraded their fans and have put new fans in the bedroom. Overall, this is a very nice house to stay in - extremely clean and well stocked, and steps away from an absolutely beautiful beach. The owner's are on site, very helpful and very friendly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great Location in Kailua

Review submitted: February 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

We sure enjoyed our stay in Kailua. This rental was very nice and roomy for the 4 of us. Beds very comfortable and plenty of closet and drawer space. Lots of kitchen supplies. Peaceful and private lanai. Fresh flowers greeted us and the owners were very friendly. Beach is so close and convenient, but unfortunately the sea breeze does not reach the rooms, and by the afternoon it can get uncomfortably warm in the house. Stronger fans and/or air conditioning would be a big plus.

I was dissappointed with the neighbors. They are living in a small part of their house that is only about 20 feet from the master bedroom and you can hear everything - including the dishwashing at 7 am and their loud voices at midnight. However, they are selling the house and this situation may change with new owners.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: The neighbors have moved and there is no one occupying the studio next door. All is peaceful and quiet.

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Very charming, but with one big drawback

Review submitted: December 31, 2010   Date of arrival: December 13, 2010

This rental unit is exactly as described, and as such it is superb in many ways. It is located on a quite cul-de-sac just steps away from beautiful Kailua beach. The unit is spacious, nicely furnished and well-equipped. The owners, who live in the other half of this duplex, are friendly, courteous and eager to please. The single drawback -- and we found it to be a big one -- is that the rental unit's master bedroom is immediately (i.e., 8 feet) adjacent to a home whose owners engaged in loud, late-night, drunken brawls several of the days we were there. Since the rental unit is not air-conditioned (nor does it need to be from a comfort standpoint), it's necessary to keep the bedroom windows open to catch the breeze. The loud neighbors also keep their windows open, so when they are shouting at each other it's like you are living with them. The owners mentioned that this couple has been a "real problem" for the whole neighborhood, but their only suggestion for our relief was that we call the police if it got too bad -- not exactly the kind of thing one wants to get engaged in while on a vacation. My heart goes out to the owners because until it's resolved this situation seriously reduces the desirability of their well-located, lovely unit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: The neighbors have moved and there is no longer anyone living in the small studio next door. So all is peaceful and quiet.

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

amazing stay on Kailua Beach

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

Thank you so much Shari and Chuck for making our first stay on Oahu a memorable one. Your apartment was just perfect for us. We were 5 adults and it worked out just fine. The beds were super comfortable, the kitchen was very workable, the lanai was adorable...our very own tropical oasis. Kailua beach is the most beautiful beach. We enjoyed beautiful sunrise walks and evening coctails with friends and family on the beach most every day. We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review