reviews for: listing #12863 - Key Colony Beach, Florida House rental

Key Colony Beach Grand Slam Canalfront
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $650 - $1,450 /wk

sort by:

Our Perfect Family Holiday Began Here...

Review submitted: January 20, 2013   Date of arrival: December 11, 2012

This was our first time using a rental home, and booking it online was a little nerve-wracking and called on us to just TRUST that all would work out. And did it ever!!! The owners were honest and trust-worthy. They answered any questions, by email, to the point and were very accomodating for our specific travel needs, but don't expect a "bed-side manner" or any "wooing". The pictures of the accomodations do not do it justice! For us and our 2 daughters, this was plenty of space! It is very clean and tidy, and the recently renovated kitchen and bathrooms are wonderful (there should be a picture of the bathrooms on the site - that was MY biggest worry). Having the dock in the backyard was one of our favourite things - our girls were able to fish for the first time (we purchased $20 rods at the local Kmart). The Cabana Club is such a lovely location to use a pool and a clean beach, and the food and drinks there are extremely reasonably priced. We had such a fabulous time in the quaint, quiet Key Colony Beach rental, and all over the Keys, that we WILL be back to spend more time, and it WILL be at this residence!!! We highly recommend this for couples and families........those who like to party hard would be better suited to stay in Key West. Thank you for starting our family holiday off with the right tone!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic place

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

This was our second vacation at this property. The duplex is beautiful, spacious,meticulously clean. It has been remodeled since out last visit and we loved the new kitchen with granite countertops, new bathroom and new tile thruout. The location is perfect - walking distance to 3 restaurants, our favorite place -Cabana Club, golf course, playground for the kids, Sunset Beach, stores. We love just hanging outside and fish off the dock. We highly recommed this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Spot!

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

We just spent a wonderful week at this lovely spot. The unit was spotless, bright and well supplied. You can walk to any place in Key Colony and having access to the beach club was an added bonus! I have stayed in the Keys many, many times and this was one of the best! Everything in the unit worked fine- having a washer and dryer was great- the area is quiet and peaceful. We are already planning our return trip!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wow ! what a great rental

Review submitted: January 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

" This was by far one of my best vacations in the Keys. The owner is the just refurbished the entire place and it is fantastic! Everything is new, The kitchen is spectacular and big the pictures don’t do it justice, and I love the new style bathrooms . Everyone was so nice and the owner bent over backwards to make sure everything was just perfect for us. I don’t know what that last reviewer / renter is talking about, I’ve stayed here before and everything was great / clean and neat. Perhaps the bad weather set him off.
I love this property because you can literally walk to everything. Having a dock makes it easy for me to rent a boat and keep at the dock. I will continue to tell everyone I meet that this is one of the best deals, properties and owners to rent from.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wow! This is great place to stay

Review submitted: January 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

This was by far one of my best vacations in the Keys. The owner is the just refurbished the entire place and it is fantastic! Everything is new, The kitchen is spectacular and big the pictures don’t do it justice, and I love the new style bathrooms . Everyone was so nice and the owner bent over backwards to make sure everything was just perfect for us. I don’t know what that last reviewer / renter is talking about, I’ve stayed here before and everything was great / clean and neat. Perhaps the bad weather set him off.
I love this property because you can literally walk to everything. Having a dock makes it easy for me to rent a boat and keep at the dock. I will continue to tell everyone I meet that this is one of the best deals, properties and owners to rent from.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Windy and Moldy

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

We arrieved well after dark on Saturday, our check in day, not able to put our boat in. The local cop came by four times making sure we had the boat/trailer just right on the property even though in six hours it would be in the water. The pictures of the property do not do it justice. We found the main living room floor sunk and cracked, mold in the bathroom showers and sinks as well as the kitchen sink, rodent dropings under the kitchen sink, the blender had not been cleaned in forever and the blinds did not work. The winds that were suppose to subside did not and there were small craft warnings posted for the entire week. We are in our middle 50's and come the the keys at least two times every year with our boat and this was not our first time staying in Key Colony Beach, but it was our first time staying at this property. I know that no one controls the weather, but given the condition of the property and that the weather was better at home, we left Tueaday morning. Even though we left 41/2 days early there is no refund unless there is a manidatory evacuatiuon order. We did get our security deposit back, and I hope the owner uses the extra money to get the place fixed up and find a new cleaning person. Would not recomend this property at all.

Helpful votes: 7 / 21

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review