reviews for: listing #12881 - Folly Beach, South Carolina Townhome rental

Oceanfront, Beautiful 3 b/3b sleeps 10
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ocean Pointe Villas
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,550 - $3,125 /wk
    $1,800 - $2,000 /mth

sort by:

Perfect!

Review submitted: August 6, 2014   Date of arrival: July 27, 2014

We had a group of 9 women, and your condo was perfect! It was close to the beach, so we could walk back and forth throughout the day. The extra chairs and beach equipment in storage were a nice feature to have. Everything was clean and well cared for. Thank you! I will definitely recommend this property to others in the future, especially at this affordable price.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Lisa,
Thanks so much for you review. We look forward to your group returning.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location - Beautiful Condo

Review submitted: July 3, 2014   Date of arrival: June 22, 2014

This condo is beautiful! The view is perfect! We had a great time at Folly Beach. We have rented up and down the Carolina Coast and this by far is the best unit we have ever rented. The surprise on my families face when they walked in and could not believe the size of this condo. Having your own personalized parking space under the condo just added to the amenities. Debbie & Michael did a fantastic job with this rental.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Ron,
Thanks so much for your kind words. You are always welcome.
Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summer Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

Had 9 people comfortably stay. 5 adults and 4 kids. Ages from 3 - 68. House was very clean and very close to downtown Folly and the beach. Would stay here again. Glad we came. Best of all, the management company was great to work with. They made checking in/out, payments and scheduling very easy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Natalie,
Thanks so much for your comments and review. We look for to your group staying with us again.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Slice of Folly heaven!

Review submitted: May 12, 2014   Date of arrival: May 4, 2014

This is the second year in a row our family has rented this house on Folly Beach and it was fantastic! You are so close to the beach, the Folly shops and restaurants and yet a short drive to Charleston, one of the most beautiful cities in America! I highly recommend this location for your next vacation!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Slice of Folly Heaven... Very True!

Review submitted: April 29, 2014   Date of arrival: April 27, 2014

A wonderful condo and wonderful location! We enjoyed hanging with the locals at the Wall! Can't wait to return!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent - Exactly as advertised

Review submitted: April 12, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

Great location on the beach. Condo was roomy and well equipped.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

David B

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

A very nice and well equipped townhouse. The owners are quick to respond and very helpful in providing information. We visited a plantation and the Yorktown and enjoyed both of them. The accommodations were just what we needed with our family that included five children. Beach is easily accessed and the sand chairs provided were very helpful. A very nice place to spend some time relaxing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for your review David. We look forward to your return!

Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A fantastic escape from the snow

Review submitted: March 29, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

My wife and I along with family members enjoyed a relaxing and enjoyable 2 weeks at this villa. Michael does a superb job in setting up all the details and was quick to respond to any questions prior to our arrival. This unit is more like a beachfront house with awesome views and plenty of space. The sound of the waves crashing on the beach lulled us to sleep each night. The sectional leather seating was much more upscale and more comfortable than most other homes/villas that we have rented. It made a wonderful conversation area. The fact that you can park your car and walk everywhere was a first for us and it really made this trip unique. They keep this unit exceptionally clean and the bathrooms were spotless. I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a great location in Folly Beach with excellent amenities. We plan to return next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review and kind words Stephen. I have passed your comments to the cleaning staff and I'm sure they will appreciate your comments as well.

We look forward to your return.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place, great location!

Review submitted: November 22, 2013   Date of arrival: November 14, 2013

We loved our stay at this condo. Its really more like a townhouse - 2 floors, plenty of space, two balconies. And Folly Beach is such a sweet little town! We were there in November and had a weekend of 70 degree days. Divine!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Property!

Review submitted: November 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

This property could not be more lovely and what a great location...across from the beach on a quiet street! We also loved that with three couples, everyone had a queen size bed or larger...which was fantastic! Mike and his wife were extremely gracious and helpful prior and after our visit. If you're going to stay in Folly Beach....this place is a must!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

VRBO 52060 Folly Beach Townhome at Ocean Pointe

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

What a nice property! It's actually on the beach with a nice walkway over the dunes. Folly Beach is a cute beach community with restaurants & shops within walking distance from the unit. The Lost Dog Cafe was our favorite breakfast place.
The town home is very spacious with comfortable leather couches & well equipped kitchen. The covered parking is located right at the entry which is very convenient. The bedrooms are comfortable & the bathrooms are very nice. The owners provided lots of helpful info & southern hospitality.
We would rent here gain & would recommend it to friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

First time vrbo renters

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

What a pleasant experience!! Unit was perfect for anyone vacationing with kids. Beach and pool are within 5 minutes. Unit was clean and had everything we needed and more. Including a spectacular view. We even found a playground a couple of blocks away which kids enjoyed!! We had planned to spend a day in Charleston, but we could not get kids away from beach, pool and pier!! Maybe next time!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review Jackie. We look forward to your return.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, Great Place to stay

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

We love vacationing at Folly and the location of this unit is perfect for us. The unit is decorated nicely with all the necessary comforts of home. We have rented this unit multiple times and each time the process has been without issue. We will continue to be return renters and recommend this home to anyone considering a rental. Just don't book the week we want to come down ;)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beach Vacation w/ Charleston Wedding

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2013

We were part of an extended family that rented the 3 units managed by Michael & Debbie. We found the property to be spacious, accurately described and well maintained. The kitchen was well equipped. Our son was delighted to discover a waffle maker! Our unit had tile, wood or laminate flooring throughout which I preferred over carpet.The beds were comfortable. The location was fantastic. Just cross a little used road to access the beach. Our unit also provided pool passes for the pool located on the way to the beach. We were glad to see the items in the storage closet; beach chairs & toys, wagon & other units had bikes. A pack n' play and highchair were also available between the 3 units. I really appreciated the hose and spray nozzle in the carport area; wonderful for rinsing off the sand before going inside. The parking was ever so convenient, being underneath the townhouse & out of the sun. It was an easy and short drive to Charleston. I would recommend staying here!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Lisa,

Thanks so much for your review. We look forward to having you and your family return.

Take care,
Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mid May Family Getaway

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2013

Great stay in May and we hope to return again next year. This was our first time in this unit (our 2nd time in this building) which was clean, comfortable and well equipped. We enjoyed being close to the pier, within walking distance of restaurants, having pool priviledges and direct views of the Atlantic. Our only suggestions would be a ceiling fan on the porch and a slow cooker for the kitchen, Wonderful experience.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review Arlie. We hope to hear from you again.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Townhouse and Great Location

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

This property was exactly as advertised and made for a great visit to Folly Beach. The house was very nice (great balcony with beach view) and comfortably slept 6 people. Short walk to the shops, restaurants, and bars in Folly. This condo will definitely be on our list of places to stay on our returns to Charleston/Folly!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your comments Adam. You and your guest are always welcome.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great condo!

Review submitted: April 19, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

My family (5 adults, 3 kids) just spent a wonderful extended weekend in the condo and had a great time. It was very clean, user-friendly and steps to the beach!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review and comments Amy. We hope to hear from you again.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Holiday House for Families

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

Just a quick note to say how much we enjoyed our vacation in Folly Beach. The condo was perfect! We loved the layout of the house as it gave everyone 'personal space' when needed. As we had 5 teenage girls with us, we loved the proximity to downtown. We felt safe letting them wander the beach and downtown area together. Your condo will be definitely on our list to visit again as well as recommend to friends!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break 2013

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on Folly Beach! The house was gorgeous, clean and had all the amenities you could ask for; we will definitely be back next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your comments Charles. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

I stayed in this condo with 6 other ladies. There was plenty of space for everyone with extra to spare. We had everything we needed for a great relaxing weekend. Perfect location!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review Megan. We hope to hear from you again.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a little bit of heaven!

Review submitted: February 27, 2013   Date of arrival: February 18, 2013

what a wonderful condo and the perfect location. i took a walk every day to center st. and had breakfast then cursed the streets of this little'key west village"
the condo is well furnished,all the kitchen gadgets,new appliances that work!
the view is great, looking and hearing the ocean 24-7.
the bathrooms are convenient and well kept. you have your own private balcony off the master bedroom to have your morning coffee and watch the beach! we can't wait to make more memory's !

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your comments Mike. We look forward to you staying again.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

January wedding

Review submitted: February 3, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

My extended family gathered for a Charleston wedding, and the three units that can be rented together were our accommodations. What a wonderful setting! The condo was very clean and tastefully decorated, with everything anyone could want. The beach is right out the back, just steps away. We all enjoyed sitting on the porch and sipping coffee while watching people on the beach and listening to the waves. It feels as though you are on the beach when you are sitting on the porch/balcony. We opened our balcony door from the master bedroom at night, to sleep while listening to the gentle sounds of the waves. It was amazing. Another thing we all loved was the easy access to Charleston. It is a straight shot into the city from Folly, and only takes minutes by car. What could be more perfect than a beach vacation alongside the historic, beautiful city of Charleston?

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your comments Cindy. We look forward to you staying again.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Rental Property

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2012

Very impressive townhome! We loved the convenience of having a bath next to each bedroom. Also the parking spaces underneath the unit were very accommodating. The view of the ocean from the balcony is beautiful. We will certainly consider this property first when staying in the area again!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review Cheryl. We look forward to hearing from you again. Hope you and yours have a Happy Holiday!!

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Home

Review submitted: November 18, 2012   Date of arrival: November 6, 2012

The location was great. The washer had a problem and it was fixed immediately. Service was great!! The unit was very comfortable. The outside space was large enough for all of the occupants to enjoy! I would stay here again. The master bedroom was large and the bed was very comfortable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for your review Christine. We hope to hear from you again.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

fun weekend

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

the townhouse was beautiful and we enjoyed our stay. The weather was perfect and seeing my son get his ring at the Citadel was priceless.The only complaint would be the size of the tvs. Flat screen tv would make a big difference. Hope to see you in May for the graduation in May. Thanks for sharing
you home with us

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your comments Kathy. We look forward to your return.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

On the beach in downtown Folly

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

This condo is in a great location which makes it great for families with kids of any age. Midweek the kitchen sink became clogged and the owner handled the problem. He also went the extra mile in customer service when he mailed us 2 items we left behind. We'll definitely return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks so much for your comments Donna. We hope you will return.

Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I would definitely return

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 2, 2012

The condo had a beautiful view and was in a very convenient spot. It was close enough to walk to all the restaurants but far enough away that street noise didn't distract from the ocean sounds. Very quiet at night. I was impressed by the high quality furnishings and appliances in the kitchen and bathroom. The washer/dryer was so nice to have. The kitchen was fully stocked with pots/pans/cooking utensils which was great. I came here for a girls' weekend and it was very comfortable. Two wonderful patios where we enjoyed breakfast in the mornings and a glass of wine at night.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks so much for your comments Teri. We hope to hear from you again.

Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Come back soon!

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

Sturcken Reunion Kelly Fellows Denver, NC
Review Submitted July 24, 2012 Date of Stay July 15, 2012 Michael, where do I begin. Our big family stayed in your 3 Townhomes last week and it was absolutely wonderful. We could not have asked for better accomodations. We have stayed in many of the rentals on Folly Beach over the years and we must say that these were the very best that Folly has to offer. There was absolutely not one complaint and we had a lot of people. As in the descriptions for these condos , the owners definitely out did themselves on decor. They were all just beautiful. If we can ever get everyone together again, we will defintely stay here again. Thanks again for you wonderful hospitality. Kelly Fellows Rating:
5 out of 5 Edit your Response Owner Response: Kelly, It was great meeting you and your family. I know this was a very special event for your family and I was happy to be a part of the gathering. Best to you all. Hope to hear from you again. Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful stay!!

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

Hi Michael,

We had a wonderful stay at unit 104, 212 West Arctic Avenue 4/27-4/29.

Thanks,
Jennifer

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

weekend Getaway

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

What a perfect place to stay. Located directly across the street from the beach. The view is perfect. We were able to walk everywhere we went. The condo is comfortable and spacious. Extremely clean and beautifuly decorated. We will return very soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for you review Lisa. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

ENJOYED FOLLY AGAIN!!

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

This is about the 4th time my family has stayed at this unit. We cannot beat the location and value of this townhouse! As with every beach rental in which we've stayed (and no matter how expensive), there are bound to be things that need attention with such a popular unit. This was no exception; HOWEVER, everything was taken care of promptly and politely. We requested a coffee pot and received a brand new one the day we moved in (had the other renter informed the manager, I'm sure they would have had a new one immediately as we did), there were extra sheets and towels AND, as always, lots of beach items that were free for our use! This is a lifesaver when my very young nieces need a wagon ride to and from exhausting days of fun on the beach (and I was so grateful for an umbrella)! We were even provided fabulous recommendations for local restaruants off the "tourist" map. I have already booked my vacation for this summer and cannot wait to return to such a great townhouse at a great price!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

ALWAYS A PLEASURE!

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2011

I am compelled to write this review after reading the previous, totally erroneous review, written by the woman from Tennessee. This was my family's second time renting this wonderful townhouse. The location and views are spectacular. The owner was thoughtful and communicative and the rooms were spacious. This townhouse was as clean as any beach house can be expected to be! When we travel to the ocean my family appreciates staying in a nonsterile yet homey environment. I am a nurse and appreciate making my own bed these days with the threat of bed bugs on the rise. People expecting any more than a warm comfortable living space steps away from the ocean should consider renting a character-lacking condo with plastic palm trees and maid service! Thanks again Michael! See you next summer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review Kristine and taking time to show the "rest of the story". You come back anytime..........you hear!!

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cleanliness and Maintenance NOT where it should be.

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

While the unit's view and location were great, the cleanliness and maintenance were totally unacceptable. I have rented many times through VRBO, and this is my first experience with these kind of problems. Here are the specifics (which I related to the property manager in an email and his response was basically, Sorry)
1. Cleanliness - While charging a fee is pretty standard these days, arriving to an EXTREMELY dusty unit, where I have to make my own beds is not acceptable with that fee. The place had been surface cleaned at best, the towels were super dingy, there was dust everywhere, we found clothing and other detritus when we moved the cushions around on the couch and the back porch was flat out filthy. We had to wear shoes out there from all the sand and nasty dirt on the floor out there. Also the seats on the chairs were literally molding.
2. Maintenance - The screen door, complete with massiv hole, did not work (it would get stuck or completely fall off when trying to open it) and we had to completely remove it, meaning we could not leave the door open to hear the ocean and keep the bugs out. I called the property manager the first day, and he claimed he could not get fixed in the week we were there. The coffee pot was literally held together at the bottom by tape, one of the railings of the staircase was on the ground. None of the remote controls had functional batteries and the mattress on the bed in the guest room upstairs had literally been snapped and was totally broken at the foot of it.

I would definitely NOT stay here again, and frankly wouldn't rent anything associated with this property manager.

Owners response: The tenant called me to let me know that neither her boys nor she could open the sliding screen door on the patio door. She wanted to hear the ocean from inside the unit. She said it was too hard. She said her husband could open it. I told her that I would call a repairman but didn’t think we would be able to have the door repaired while she was there. I also reminded her that the glass patio doors should not be opened while the A/C was running. That was all that she mentioned to me about the unit.

Three weeks after she checked out, I received an e-mail from her. (see her review)

I responded to her e-mail. (see below)

Also, please see e-mail from a recent tenant that stayed with us after this tenant checked out.

Our goal is to provide and clean and comfortable setting for our tenants so that they can enjoy their stay at Folly & Charleston in hopes that they return. Many of our past guests do so yearly.



From: Michael
Sent: Monday, June 27, 2011 10:24 AM
To: 'K J'
Cc: 'J W'
Subject: RE: Rental
Kelly,
Thanks for taking your time and sharing this with me. Several items you mentioned have been taken care of since you left. I’m sorry that they were not repaired before you arrived.
I notice that your family has several restaurants. I’m sure the vast majority of people find your restaurants excellent. But, knowing people, I’m sure you have had a few disgruntled guests.
Likewise, we have guests that have stayed with us for years. But, we have had complaints as well and when we receive complaints, we handle them accordingly.
I’m sorry our unit did not meet you expectations.
Sincerely,
Michael


-----Original Message-----
From: J M
Sent: Tuesday, June 28, 2011 7:50 PM
To: Michael
Subject: Unit 104

Having an incredible time and the place is better than we imagined.

- Jason

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Two Wonderful Weeks in Folly Beach

Review submitted: September 2, 2009   Date of arrival: August 16, 2009

My family has been making the trek from the Philadelphia area to Folly for years now. For our 2009 vacation, we decided to block out two full weeks. We rented this house for a change of pace from where we usually stay and it was awesome! The two-floor layout gives a lot more privacy than a condo--it was furnished beautifully--the views were incredible. We were just steps from the beach, where we spent most of our days.

We also enjoyed having the private parking underneath along with an ample storage area. We could not have asked for more. I am already planning our return as soon as we can escape from PA again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 17

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review