reviews for: listing #12947 - Traverse City, Michigan House rental

Murphy Manor on Spider Lake
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $300 /nt
    $1,500 - $1,800 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

Our group included my wife and I, our children and their children. Murphy's Manor was an excellent vacation house for all our interests. The lake offered very good fishing and wonderful swimming beaches. When our group wasn't busy at the lake we were at points of interest in the Traverse City area. Our hostess and host were most gracious and helpful. We had blue gill straight from the lake to the fry pan one day and everyone loved it. The kitchen and laundry were both well equiped and the accomodations were roomy and comfortable. Three boats are on the beach and fun to use in the lake. We brought our own small boat and found easy put in at the DNR ramp and easy tie up to the dock. The whole family had a great time and hope to be able to return next season.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fanastic Wedding Weekend!!!!!!

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

Search no further....this is the place to stay!! This is a gorgeous, well-maintained home on one of the most beautiful lakes in the Traverse City area. There is no reason to bring anything but your family as the owners keep this house clean and well-stocked. You can take a short five minute paddle boat or canoe ride over to the "Island" and swim on a clean, sandy beach. Traverse City is only 15 minutes away but there are convenience stores much closer. We had a fire on the beach every night as all the wood is provided. The house is very pet friendly and our dogs enjoyed the place as well. The bedrooms are HUGE and the kitchen, where we spent a lot of our time, is one of the larger rooms in the house. The place is obviously very well maintained. You have your choice of a dozen fishing poles where we were catching Sunnies right off the dock. I would recommend this place to anyone with children, pets or just couples wanting to kick back in a remote setting but close enough to everything the Traverse area has to offer. I would not hesitate to go back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Wonderful comfortable and clean home

Review submitted: February 25, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

A group of teachers stayed at this home so we could attend a conference. The house was so clean and had everything we needed to feel right at home. The lake is so beautiful and we enjoyed watching the ice fisherman right outside the window. The fireplace kept us toasty warm at night while we played games. The bedrooms are roomy and have lots of closet space. All in all I would stay here in a heartbeat again. Loved it and the host is so kind and helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Vacation Time

Review submitted: January 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

We had a wonderful time, great weather and everything we needed. What an awesome location. We caught a huge fish and saw a snapping turtle. We roasted marshmallows and enjoyed laughing and talking many hours around the campfire. Thank you for creating such a comfortable beautiful place.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Annual Family Reunion

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

Our annual family retreat was well enjoyed in your home. We took many day trips to wineries, lighthouses and Sleeping Bear Dunes. Everywhere we went was so beautiful. The scenic drive points at the dunes is a must see. We loved the use of the boats to enjoy the lake and swim with all the kids at the island. Also a beautiful full moon to light up the nights and enjoy the campfire. Some lazy hours were spent just sitting on the swing looking out at the lake.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Annual Michigan Trip

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

We had a wonderful week in this awesome clean home. We had everything we needed and more. Perfect house, perfect weather. We swam, fished and explored Traverse City as well as the sand dunes and spent a day on Mackinaw Island. The location is great. We loved the large sandy beach and the privacy of the home. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review