reviews for: listing #1298 - Clearwater, Florida House rental

Unique Beautiful Best area private heated Pool Nr #1 BEACH
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,100 - $1,595 /wk

sort by:

Stunning we loved it

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

We have spent wonderful two weeks in the Bay Area and The Hummingbirds.
The House met our expectations and suited well to our family. The area is nice and more peaceful than areas closer to Tampa and St Pete. Especially route to Tampa is easy.
We recommend.

Family from Finland

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great home close to Blue Jays

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

We had an excellent time at your home. Place was exactly what we needed for a few days away from home and to spend time with our son who is down in Dunedin with the Blue Jays playing.

I will keep you all in mind for the next time we are back watching some more baseball.

Everything went very smoothly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

FANTASTIC PLACE

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

I meant to drop you and Gaye a note to thank you for the wine and the use of your the house, but after a week away from work, I'm still catching up. So now that I have a moment, Thank you! We had a fabulous time and enjoyed the area immensely. We chartered a fishing boat in Dunedin with Oakley Charters with Captain Ray and had a great time. I left some of Captains Rays cards in your book for future renters. By the way, the book was a huge help for first time vacationers. We will be back next year. I'm not sure if I told you, but this trip was planned around my mothers wish to go to the Philadelphia Phillies Spring Training for her 80th birthday. A week before we were to leave, she fell and broke her shoulder and could not make this trip. My partner Deb and I made the trip without her. We will probably try again next year and will stay in the Palm Harbor area in one of your properties. I have also decided that when the time comes to retire, Palm Harbor or Dunedin is where we are going. So thank you again for the use of your wonderful home..

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Our Honeymoon home

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

We loved staying at the Hummingbirds for our honeymoon. It was the perfect size for us and gave us a great place to kick back and relax. It's in a nice quiet spot but there were plenty of places to eat and shop in the area, and the beach was just a short drive. Palm Harbor was very easy to navigate, which we loved! Because the weather was a little cloudy during our stay, it was wonderful to have a pool out back to catch some sun between storms. The house was well stocked, very clean, and Paul & Gaye were very nice to work with.Thanks so much again. Erin & Paul

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Quiet Get-a-Way

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We really enjoyed the Hummingbird home! Our last minute rental arrangements went smoothly. The home was well stocked with everything we needed to be comfortable and the pool area was great, very private and quiet- we spent most of our time out there! Our family would definitely visit again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic home

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

Our stay at the hummingbirds was great. My sisters and I stayed from Sat March 17th-24th, 2012. The house was adorable and the pool and tiki hut really added to our enjoyment. Everything was at the house - even a cooler for the beach which was thoughtful. Plenty of towels too which we loved. The location was really good too. We love old town Palm Harbor and it's neat that you can walk to the little restaurants etc. We did ride bikes that we rented from a few blocks away and the price was good too. As you can see we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would definitely come back so thanks again. Bernadette Waters and sisters!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks.
We try so hard to think of different ways to make our guests more comfortable, and to make their vacation special.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Hummingbird house rental in Clearwater

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

This house was so quaint and cozy. It was beautifully furnished. The pool was clean and there was a deck with a small shower rinse off the chlorine from the pool. The master bedroom was very spacious and the bathroom had huge closets. There were plenty of towels to use. I also enjoyed the sofa. Great experience.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great home and area

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

Paul,

Just wanted to tell you my family had a wonderful time at your place. Thank you for letting us stay there. A really nice house, great pool and deck.

Thanks again,
Lynn Wiginton

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful home

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

Thank you Gaye and Paul we had a wonderful time staying at the Hummingbirds. Its the perfect getaway with its very convient location. The booklet you provided was very helpful and saved us plenty of time. We look forward to going back next year.

Sincerely
Sev

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic rental home !

Review submitted: January 9, 2011   Date of arrival: December 4, 2010

If you want a wonderful home come here -
Ultra clean
Beautiful inside
Great pool area
Walk to restaurants etc
THE BEST BEACHES WE HAVE EVER BEEN ON
Family area
We are ready to book for next year
Jim and Lori Walker
CT

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Another Great Stay

Review submitted: May 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

My family recently returned for a second stay in your lovely home. Once again we were very satisfied with the amenities of the home – can’t think of anything that’s missing. We have 3 children ranging in ages from 6-16 and the house provided everything we needed from the pool to the two levels to allow for an earlier bed time for the younger child. In addition, your home is centrally located to so many things including Busch Gardens, Disney World, Tarpon Springs, and, of course, the 10 minute drive to Honeymoon Island which is a short boat trip to Caladesi Island - one of the highest rated beaches in the country. Thank you so much for making your home available to us two years running – we’ll definitely be back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

My stay at the Humming birds

Review submitted: March 31, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

We had a wonderful time at your Hummingbirds rental in Palm Harbor, everything was so close and easy to get to. Your recommendations and menus were so helpful. It is a great area to walk and get excercise, loved the downtown restaurants. Went to Honeymoon Island, Tarpon Springs, Clearwater, all within a few minutes drive. We will definitly recommend you to our freinds and relatives. Thank you so much for the wine, we really enjoyed it sitting by the pool while watching the lizards.



Thanks again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 17, 2010   Date of arrival: February 17, 2010

Hi Paul and Gaye,

Thank you once again, for the stay in your comfortable home which was everything you said it would be in our calls and on your website.

The house suited us very well being in a good peaceful area with excellent amenities.

Kind regards,

John and Barbara

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: November 21, 2009   Date of arrival: November 21, 2009

Hi Gaye & Paul

A big thank you for allowing us the relaxation and privacy of the Hummingbirds. We had a marvellous time. The pass for Honeymoon was a big plus and we appreciated the wine. Sorry we left the red but we ran out of drinking and eating time!! The garden revamp looks most attractive and I enjoyed the pool. Back to sweeping up the leaves in the UK!

Plan is a return visit towards end of April.


Warmest wishes

Zena & Bill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 20, 2009   Date of arrival: August 20, 2009

Dear Gaye

I just want to say thank you for letting us stay at your home in Clearwater we had such a great time. We also got to say hello to your neighbours across the street Scott & Julie and they were able to help us out with directions etc.

Again I want to say Thank you as we had a wonderful and relaxing time and I hope maybe again the future I could contact you to go back as we got to know the area quite well.

Thanks Again
Julie
P.S. I have recommended your house to a number of family and friends but I want to make sure if it is alright to give them your email address for contact???

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 4, 2008   Date of arrival: December 4, 2008

Hi, Paul & Gaye,
I hope you had a lovely Thanksgiving. We certainly did.

I just wanted to say thanks for the rental of your comfortable Sandpiper
house. We had plenty of room & everything was so clean. I hope we can
maybe
do business with you again in 2009.
Merry Christmas & a Blest New Year,
Linda McInturff & gang
Sherwood, Ar

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 15, 2008   Date of arrival: November 15, 2008

Dear Paul and Gayle,
We really enjoyed your wonderful home for our vacation. It was very convenient for all our needs. We reccommend Caledesi / Honeymoon Island for beaching. The ferry costs $10.00 per person, and it runs every hour on the half hour. You can rent lawn chairs with umbrella for $10.00 for the whole day. Restaurant with good, inexpensive food on site. The Moccasin Lake Nature Park, 2750 Park Trail Lane, in Clearwater, is also worth the trip. $3.00 for adults. $2.00 for children 3-12 years and free for under 3 years. Tues. through Fri 9am-5pm Sat. 10am-5pm closed Sunday, Monday and all city recognized holidays. Very educational and relaxing for the whole family. Palm Harbor is a nice walk from the Hummingbirds also. Thank you, Nancy and Dayton Hausman


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 19, 2008   Date of arrival: June 19, 2008

Dear Gaye / Paul,

Well we arrived back home safe and sound. I just wanted to say that we had a fantastic holiday in Florida and loved staying in the Hummingbirds. It was a great house and lived up to our expectations and the information and pictures on the website.

We would definitely recommend it to friends!

I hope that you found the house with everything left as should be.

Regards

Tracey Pike

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 25, 2008   Date of arrival: May 25, 2008

I just wanted to let you know we enjoyed staying at the Hummingbird rental this past week. The home was lovely and in a perfect location for our needs. I will recommend this property to others in our family that may be making travel plans. I hope to rent from you again in the future.

Thank you.
Eileen & John Pachuta

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 5, 2008   Date of arrival: April 5, 2008

Gaye~
My sister and I had the most luxurious vacation in your home. We
were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness, the info. about
restaurants, and your welcome note with wine. We may want to book
one of your larger homes next year if we can talk our parents into
coming with us. Thank you for everything. Lori and Jill
(sister)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 26, 2008   Date of arrival: March 26, 2008

Mr. and Mrs. Vogel

Just a note to say how much we all enjoyed our week in Florida. All good things must come to an end, they say, so we had to head home on Friday to weather here in Cobourg which holds a slight promise of spring, but also to large snow banks which accumulated during the week we were away. We certainly enjoyed staying at Hummingbirds and it was a wonderfully comfortable place for all of us, including our daughter, son-in-law and the wonderful grandson. We found the location quite central to many things - a very short drive to beautiful Honeymoon and Caladesi Islands, and to the ballgames that we enjoyed in Clearwater and Dunedin. It was nice to have a real "home" where we could prepare our own meals as often as we wished, and still be able to "dine out" at some great local spots. We appreciated the heated pool which was wonderful for the little guy to enjoy. We hope we left the house as close to the neat-as-a-pin condition in which we found it as possible. We hope to perhaps avail ourselves or your hospitality again at some point in the future, and we will certainly recommend the location to anyone interested in travelling to your part of Florida.

Thank you for the opportunity to enjoy a wonderful week's vacation at your spot.

BRAD AND HEATHER HALLS

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 19, 2008   Date of arrival: February 19, 2008

Hi Paul,
Thanks again for the house, it was
great! We will definately rent from you again next winter....

Regards,
Robert

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 16, 2007   Date of arrival: May 16, 2007

A plus for the Humming Birds comment book. It was our first time staying in a holiday rental property and we were apprehensive about cleanth and standards of decor and maintenance. We enjoy high standards of living in our day to day existence so The Humming Birds really did feel our home for a couple of weeks. The privacy of the pool in the back yard was an added bonus.

Expect a request from us when next we visit Florida. In the meantime, thank you.

Warmest regards

Bill and Zena Denne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 18, 2007   Date of arrival: April 18, 2007

Hi Paul & Gaye just a quick note to say how much we enjoyed staying at the
Hummingbirds during our visit to Florida, in fact, when we moved to another
villa near Orlando for the 2nd week even the kids were saying how much they
preferred yours!

Thanks, and kind regards

Neal and family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 3, 2007   Date of arrival: April 3, 2007

Hello Gaye,

We returned from Palm Harbor, Florida on 3/31/07 after having a great week in
your rental property.

The layout of the house was lovely and we were so thrilled to have our own
pool. The location was great too, as we were able to visit a few of the
surrounding areas while in town. Thank you for the accommodations, as we
hope to return again soon.

We hope that your cleaners will find the house in tip top shape from our
visit.
Thanks
Miles Connors

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 30, 2006   Date of arrival: September 30, 2006

Hi
just back today and wanted to let you know all went well and we had a very relaxing time at the house. Thanks for letting us use it - we really liked it.
We left a map book there for future people plus a couple of finished novels as well.
Thanks again.
Stephen & Steve

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 16, 2006   Date of arrival: August 16, 2006

Warm Greetings Paul & Gaye,

Steve & I wanted to let you know that we enjoyed our week at the Hummingbirds (Aug 5-12) The home is beautiful, clean, very tastefully decorated, comfortable and the pool area private and well secluded. We enjoyed our time in Palm Harbor and ventured out to Clearwater/St. Pete also. We have a good friend who lives in downtown St. Pete and he acted as our tour guide.
All and all, it was a wonderful week in Palm Harbor and we look forward to returning soon.
Thank you for allowing us the time in your beautiful, quaint Hummingbird home.

Sincere regards,

Steve & Marsha Hubicz
Uniontown, OH

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 2, 2006   Date of arrival: July 2, 2006

Hi Gaye,

We had a lovely time in Hummingbirds! It is a lovely place. What is the
process for getting our deposit back?

Regards,

Kat

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 21, 2006   Date of arrival: April 21, 2006

Dear Paul & Gaye,



Just a quick note to let you know what a grand time we had at your house last week. The accommodations were as lovely as advertised, and the weather was ideal. Because the area was new to us (most of our visits to Florida have been spent on the east coast and in the Keys), we enjoyed exploring the nearby towns and beaches and discovering good restaurants.



Many thanks,

Neil & Lindsay Johnson

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 18, 2006   Date of arrival: April 18, 2006

Gaye

Just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay in your lovely home! It is
absolutely beautiful and set in a lovely location. I really didn't want to
leave after our week and can understand why you spend all winter there.

I will definitely want to stay there again and will contact you the
next time we go to Florida
Kind Regards

Jane Fellowes

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 26, 2005   Date of arrival: October 26, 2005

Hello Ms. Vogel! My friend and I enjoyed our stay at The Hummingbirds very much! It was a wonderful vacation and a great place to stay.



I was writing to inquire about when the deposit will be returned. It may have already been mailed, but I just wanted to check on it.



Thank you for sharing your home!

Beth Wahler

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 27, 2005   Date of arrival: August 27, 2005

Hello Gaye and Paul

This is just a note to say what a wonderful time we have had in your house in Florida. The whole setting was lovely, and we all really enjoyed having the pool to fall into. The weather was incredibly hot! We've spent the past nine years going to Florida, the last five of which have been during July and August. This year has been the hottest we have encountered, and we have been told that it's the hottest August in the past 100 years! Last year we had a hurricane to contend with! You can't win!!

Anyway, we found all the facilities in the house great - the boys thought the TV was magnificent - they managed to tell us that ours was really small when we got home. (The only thing I think was lacking was a vacuum cleaner. I know this sounds funny being on holiday, but being in a place for three weeks, bits do tend to gather on rugs, and I would have liked to have been able to hoover them up!!! I must sound sad!)



As I said before, we all had a wonderful time, but after the rain at home this week it's started to seem a distant memory.

Many thanks.

Regards.

Sue Smith

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 11, 2005   Date of arrival: July 11, 2005

Thank you for a wonderful home for our stay in Florida. The children loved the pool, and the big screen tv. The weather was beautiful, and we got out just before hurricane Dennis could cause much delay on the roadways. Your home was beautiful, relaxing, inviting, and most of all close to everything that we wanted to do, but yet we felt as if we were miles away from the city. Thanks again for a delightful stay, and please advise when you will be returning my deposit via paypal. Thanks!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 10, 2005   Date of arrival: July 10, 2005

Thank you very much. My family had a wonderful time in Tampa and enjoyed staying at your house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 1, 2005   Date of arrival: April 1, 2005

We arrived back today and wanted to thank you for providing such a lovely house. You must be very proud of how you developed it.
We really enjoyed the pleasures of your pool, our five year old was taught to swim without armbands. The location was perfect. We enjoyed wonderful beach days at both Honeymoon Island and Clearwater Beach.
We especially loved your location as Clearwater was jam packed, it was great to have a wonderful oasis.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 27, 2005   Date of arrival: March 27, 2005

I just wanted to thank you for providing such a beautiful vacation home for my party. We were all very impressed by the layout and designs in each of the rooms and the exterior as well. Thanks again, we will consider coming back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 21, 2005   Date of arrival: March 21, 2005

Dear Gaye,
Thank you for once again allowing us to rent the Hummingbirds. We had a good time, it was lovely. The weather held out too which was nice. It was great to take walks in the morning with the kids, it's too cold here right now to do that. Hope everything was left the way you like it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review