reviews for: listing #12987 - Dana Point, California Condo rental

Dana Point Oceanfront & a Heated Pool overlooking the Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Dana Point
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,200 - $3,000 /wk
    $4,000 - $11,000 /mth

sort by:

Breathtaking mornings!

Review submitted: August 12, 2014   Date of arrival: July 13, 2014

This is by far one of the most memorable vacations my family and I took! To start off the Owner is so so nice, he makes you feel right at home from the beginning. Next you imagine the views to be what you see online and let's just say there's no way the camara can really show the beauty this condo has to offer with it's location! You are as high as you can be to capture the beauty of the ocean and the sunset views alone are worth the stay itself.... The pool was awesome very clean, well kept BBQ and I cannot stress enough the view every time you look out from the kitchen, living room, pool and did I mention the sunsets!! The condo itself was also very clean and oh yes there is a beautiful view from the master bedroom as well! If I had to say one bad thing about this place it would be that we didn't book for a long enough stay and that was our fault. You need more than a weeks stay to enjoy beautiful Dana!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Going to SoCal? This is the place to stay...Dana Point is a hidden treasure and so is Chris

Review submitted: August 10, 2014   Date of arrival: July 1, 2014

My family and I were lucky enough to be able to rent the week of the 4th of July. The views of the multiple SoCal fireworks were unbelievable. The view was incredible the whole week. Dana Point is truly a hidden gem and this condo is perfectly situated. The pictures do not truly capture how great this place is. The heated pool and patio area (with grill) were wonderful. I have rented through VRBO previously and I have to say that Chris was far and away the best host. He met us at the condo upon our arrival, walked us through, and answered all of our questions. He provided me with his phone number so I could contact him with any questions or concerns. Our main purpose for the trip was to see MLB games in the Southern California area. Dana Point was a great midway point between LA and San Diego. Upon returning to our condo one night after a game, we found a California Angels hat on the coffee table with a note from Chris just letting us know he hoped we were having a good trip so far. On Sunday, Chris texted me to inquire whether my family (wife and two boys ages 13 & 11) would like to go paddle boarding. He met us at the condo with all of the equipment and we followed him down to the Dana Point Harbor. Chris provided us with instruction and my family and I spend the afternoon learning to paddle board. It was a great way to wrap up our vacation. Chris was very gracious with his resources and his time as well. I can not truly convey how his attentiveness and kindness helped make this a vacation which our family will remember forever. If you're on the fence as to whether or not this is the place for you, hop on off, get ahold of Chris and sit back and enjoy. I can guarantee you will not regret your decision.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a remarkable find!

Review submitted: June 27, 2014   Date of arrival: June 3, 2014

I was expecting a beautiful view, judging from past reviews, but it still took my breath away when I stepped foot on the balcony for the first time! Chris met us upon arrival, and was the kindest and most gracious of hosts! He even provided us with a high chair, play pen, etc. for our baby and other toys for our toddler! He went above and beyond to make sure we were happy and comfortable. The spacious condo was more than enough room, and we sure enjoyed having a fully stocked kitchen on those evenings when the kids were in bed and we wanted to listen to the waves and watch the sunset. The heated pool was awesome….my son went swimming for hours! Not one complaint, and I hope to be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Dana Point View

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 13, 2014

Wow, the view is incredible. It doesn't get any better. The condo has the best location of Dana Point. Breathtaking! And a heated pool was a big bonus, since the beach water is chilly. Condo is nicely appointed - beds very comfortable, which is big for us. It was a great stay, and appreciated Chris being so accommodating and flexible. He is GREAT to rent from. Goes out of his way to make our stay wonderful. It meant a lot. We would love to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing getaway with spectacular views

Review submitted: November 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

This was a dream vacation...very relaxing with perfect weather and the scenery was to die for. Awesome picture opportunities mixed with great hiking around the property made for a very enjoyable trip. Surfing and the beach were great as well. Look forward to going back again someday soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Delightfully Dana on the Beautiful Bluff

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

This was our second stay in this clean and cozy little beach condo with a million dollar view. The area is quiet and not overcrowded like so many other nearby beaches. Chris, the owner is warm and welcoming. The condo has everything you will need from a kitchen stocked with tools for cooking, a downstairs grill next to the pool, a well stocked game closet with mini library and every beach toy you could want in the garage downstairs. The second bedroom with two twin beds and a foldout mat fit our family well with our children sharing that room. The great location gives the opportunity for beach days or for sightseeing around Southern Cal. Thanks Chris for another wonderful Dana Point stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A place to exhale!!

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

My husband, our 6 year old daughter and I just spent a stupendous 5 days at Dana Shores. We LOVED the view, the location, the quiet and peaceful setting and just everything about the place! The owners were so gracious and accommodating to our needs and requests and we loved our stand up paddleboarding session with Chris and Magic. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

As good as it sounds

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Our family of 4 was very comfortable in the condo and loved the decor, the view and the pool. Great paths for walking are right out the door, and the beach is great--not too crowded. Dana Point is a great destination on its own, but we were also able to take a couple of easy day trips to both LA and San Diego. As mentioned in other reviews, Chris is an excellent host. He was reachable by text when we were on our way and when we were arranging paddle-boarding with him for our kids. I would definitely do it all over again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location, Location, Location!

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

We first decided to book this condo because of the views (and pool) of the ocean. With two young kids we like to be close to the beach, but yet have a pool nearby to enjoy while taking in the views! The views don't disappoint. Among all the multi million dollar homes I still felt like we had the best view!

Shortly after contacting Chris regarding this unit it was clear to tell we were getting much more: CHRIS! A tour guide, a paddle board instructor, innkeeper, etc. He went above and beyond to insure our stay was grand! We arrived late the first evening. We mentioned to Chris that all we wanted to do was sit and have a glass of wine when we arrived and RELAX. Chris sat out the wine bottle opener and two wine glasses prior to our arrival. It's the little things that made our stay extra special. It felt like home the entire week. The place had everything we needed to feel comfortable.

The view and multiple windows in the master bedroom make this unit better than the others rented in this group of condos. I should know, I visited two others while I was there. It's on the second floor and the views from inside the condo are superb.

Dana Point is a great place to visit. Laguna Beach is nearby. I highly recommend Carmelita's at Laguna Beach. Capt Dave's Dolphin and Whale Safari was a lot of fun and just a couple miles down the road.

Don't hesitate to book a week (or two) at this condo. It was a fabulous family vacation with wonderful memories and pictures to share!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply Wonderful!

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

A perfect place to escape - the view is AWESOME - and as my review title states - Simply Wonderful! Highly recommend if you want to just relax ... very very peaceful.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Time!

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

We loved our stay over spring break 2013. It was still a little chilly so the warm pool protected from wind and the amazing views made it a perfect stay! There was only one other family there during this time so we almost had the entire complex to ourselves. The owners couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. We will definitely go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic property...highly recommended!!!

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

My husband and 20 month old son just stayed here for a short getaway weekend. Chris, the owner, went out of his way to accomodate us and welcome us to his rental property. He even set up one of the twin beds with a bedrail for my son. The condo was extremely clean and is well-stocked. It was very quiet at night. The beach toys, chairs and beach towels were a great addition! But the best part of this condo is the VIEW. The pictures cannot do it justice. Waking up to this view every morning and hearing the waves crashing at night, while we had a fire going in the fireplace was amazing. The heated pool is also fabulous. I cannot say enough about this property owner and the condo itself. Stay here! You won't be disappointed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

INCREDIBLE

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

I cannot say enough about how amazing not only the condo was but also the owners. They went above and beyond to make sure my fiance and I had the BEST experience. I have a difficult time trying to always find the perfect place to stay when finally getting the chance to go on vacation and I have to say this was a blessing from God. The view is beyond belief and it is close to everything! I am a runner and having the perfect weather and views, every day was an adventure.

The sunsets were a dream and increase the already romantic atmosphere. Also, the activity recco sheet that the owners provide give a great idea of what is available in all the surrounding areas (and they share the top choices).

I sincerely hope you consider this property as we will most certainly be back, each year. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions, but believe me, you will be blown away and NEVER get a better deal on such a priceless experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a place!

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

As SoCal natives we were looking for a place to escape the crowds for a weekend and reconnect as a family. What we found here was so much more! Early morning walks on the gorgeous, uncrowded beach, fun in the heated pool, learning to paddleboard in the harbor, playing in the surf & sand and soaking in the majestic views. Definitely one of the best family vacations ever! Chris (the owner) was the ultimate host, going out of his way to make our stay unforgettable. You will not be disappointed with your vacation stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We absolutely love it here and keep coming back for more!

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2011

we have stayed at this property several times and you can't beat the view. the owners go above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable and provide many extra services and amenities including beach equipment, kids toys and games, advise on local events, restaurants, activities, etc. The place is always very clean which is a very important factor also. The surrounding area is beautiful also and so peacefully quiet especially at night. We highly recommend this property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Ritz Carlton doesn't even compare

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

We are had a great time here. One day our family split up near the Ritz Carlton area some of us cycling and some exploring the beach and the hotel. We met for lunch at the Ritz and then came home. We realized as nice as the Ritz Carlton is, we would much rather stay at this condo. We've hardly seen anyone here at the building. The pool and the beach have been great. The place is clean and very nice and the sound of the surf was wonderful

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Place,..Views are Spectacular

Review submitted: March 21, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

Everything about this place was peaceful ,comfortable,Immaculate,
My wife and I had a wonderful time there, it has everything you need
and views were Awesome..Thanks so much Greg for your hospitality. ;)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

One of the Best Places We Have Ever Stayed At!

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

My husband and I were blown away by the incredible views! Ocean, ocean everywhere! In addition to being able to enjoy these luxurious views from the condo we were able to do so from the pool as well over a glass of wine at sunset. Our hosts Shirley and Chris were incredibly welcoming and helpful. We weren’t sure where to go for dinner and they gave us great suggestions and also told us all about the different beaches nearby and what they were known for. The condo had also been thoroughly cleaned before our arrival so that was nice to walk into as well.

The kitchen had all the amenities necessary to prepare everything from a good cup of coffee to fresh food we brought in from the local market. Add a comfy couch, big flatscreen and a huge, comfortable bed, and you've got a great ocean getaway. A steal! We had such a great time.
We will certainly be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect Location!

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

My family had a wonderful time in California and the highlight of the trip was the condo. We would be out sight seeing or at a theme park and enevibly every day after a few hours the kids would ask to go back to the condo LOL! Please thank Chris for his offer to teach the kids paddleboarding, but with our limited time and unpredictable weather we just didn't have the oppurtunity. When I travel my accomodations are critical to me. No matter what the day brings, the thought of going back to a great home at the end of a busy vacation day makes it all worth it to me. I cannot imagine a more perfect location than your condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best views in California

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

I traveled from New Jersey to stay at the Dana Shores Vacation Rentals. What a great place! It has the best views in California and is very centrally located to shopping, restaurants and the airports.
The owners are incredible and so much fun to be around.. I couldn't have asked for a better week. The hardest thing was getting on the plane to come back east.
I give the Dana Shores Vacation Rentals my highest recommendation. Don't bother looking anywhere else. This place is Paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a view!!!

Review submitted: August 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

We recenlty stayed at this awesome condo last week, and all I can say is -- WOW... What a view!!!! It's location couldn't be any better... on a bluff overlooking (literally "over") the south end of Dana Strands Beach, and was only a short 10 minute walk down an easy pathway to Dana Strands Beach -- perfect for families. It's got a better view than the Ritz, and sits above $20M beach estates!

The decor and feel of the condo was very much a "SoCal + Aloha" feel -- nicely upgraded, very comfortable, beachy, and very, very relaxing, with an unbeatable view. Watching the sun sink below the horizon each evening was incredible. We were lucky enough to watch a pod of dolphins swim out a 100 yards or so beyond the surfers below the condo. We also enjoyed swimming in the heated pool while looking out over the Pacific Ocean... that is a must. Boogie boards, beach toys, towels and bags are all provided... such a great thought... made vacationing so easy.

Location was fantastic -- quiet in the evenings, easy access to an incredible beach & headland trails, cool ocean breezes, and very close proximity to so much OC fun.

Finally, and most importantly, Chris & Shirley are awesome hosts --They're kind, relaxed people who make themselves available, are very easy to deal with, and who obviously care about their guests' vacation experiences. We're already looking forward to another vacation here next summer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Oceanfront-"I want to retire here someday"

Review submitted: July 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2010

Chris and Shirley were truly awesome. We have rented several homes through Home Away and this was by far our best experience. The location is extraordinary. The views of the ocean are breathtaking. We could not have been happier. We cannot wait to return. Thank you for your attentiveness and hospitality.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Breathtaking View - Relaxing - Gorgeous

Review submitted: July 1, 2010   Date of arrival: June 11, 2010

My husband and I and our teenage daughters had the pleasure to stay at this home in Dana Point for Fathers' Day and all I can say is that i wished that I owned it and I would live there full time. It's beautiful. It's clean. It's relaxing. And you get both the ocean and a pool!!! Our daughters loved it also and we definately would like to come back. It's lovely for BBQ'ing, hiking, swimming, surfing.... and long walks...we took a walk to the Ritz Carlton. Close to grocery stores and restaurants. If you are looking for a place to rent at the beach for a week or a month centrally located to everything, I would highly recommend booking this home. You will be glad you did!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful time

Review submitted: October 8, 2009   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

Wonderful location and fully equipped property. We found the condo to have all the little things that we needed, including some toys for our two children (4 and 6). It makes it so much easier when the little things like foil, table salt, detergent are all on hand. This was our first time in a rental unit and we had a great time. The beach is five minutes walk away down the steps and there are many restaurants and grocery stores within a few minutes drive. Chris was happy to send photos when I had questions about the location and we would stay there again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family summer vacation

Review submitted: August 21, 2009   Date of arrival: August 9, 2009

Great place with excellent location and view!. The apartemnt was very well equiped and comfortable. We really enjoyed it. Chris was very helpful and accomodating.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Heavenly Retreat

Review submitted: August 2, 2009   Date of arrival: July 31, 2009

Words can not describe the time we spent at this unit; very tranquil and private. The view is to die for!!!! It was our first experience renting a place from Homeaway, but were not disappointed. Chris & Shirley are wonderful people to work with. The unit has all the ammenities you need to vacation. Just pack your bag and go. We highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dana Point Condo,

Review submitted: March 2, 2009   Date of arrival: January 20, 2008

I stayed at the condo Jan and Sept 2008. The repeat visit should say enough. However, throw in the great ocean front position, stunning sunsets, supreme comfort and the only noise is the surf peeling across the sandy beach below, you have an ideal luxury holiday base.
Chris and Shirley make sure your stay is worry and problem free.
The property is also in the perfect location to explore the rest of the surrounding area which is probably the nicest part of So Cal.
I would 100% recommend this property to all my friends and look forward to future trips myself.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dana Point Ocean View

Review submitted: August 9, 2008   Date of arrival: July 21, 2008

Our stay at Dana Point was great. Waking up to this view every morning was outstanding. Chris was a great host and made our first visit to southern California one for the scrapebook. The beaches and the shopping was very good. The whole family agreed that we would have to make a return visit someday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review