reviews for: listing #13110 - Mission Beach, California House rental

Ocean Front Single-Family Home
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  South Mission Beach
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $550 - $550 /nt
    $3,000 - $4,900 /wk

sort by:

Awesome beach house

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

We have stayed here twice with an extended family, it is a great place to enjoy San Diego summer

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay - Exceeded Expectations!

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 16, 2013

My family (2 seniors, 2 adults, 2 young grand-kids) had a great experience this spring at this South Mission Beach property. The location was ideal for us - directly on the sand, views of the beach, volleyball, palms,and sunsets - but a little more private and less busy than most properties on Ocean Front Walk. Also the location is of course very convenient for trips to Sea World, The Zoo, Downtown SD, etc. The accommodations were clean, updated, comfortable, tasteful, and in good repair. The layout of the bedrooms, kitchen, and baths were great for us. The kitchen was clean and well equipped and the master bath (newly remodeled) was great and had many accessibility features that came in very handy. Parking for multiple cars was spacious - very rare and valuable for Mission Beach. All aspects of the property exceeded our expectations. The management (Andrea) was friendly, helpful, and very hospitable.

We will definitely return for another visit and very much would recommend this property to friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

we will be back :D

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

We loved our fun filled week in San Diego. My grandchildren were in heaven having the entire back yard as a sand box.
No matter what time of the day, we were either on the deck or on the patio. The view was nice and everything was very close (including the ocean).
We had total privacy unlike others that were on the boardwalk.
We especially appreciated the bikes, sand toys, boogie boards, beach chairs and umbrella already provided. Believe me we used everything they provided.
The beds were comfy and the rooms had plenty of space and storage. We are already talking about our trip next year.

One thing we will do differently next year. We went deep sea fishing the last day and did not get to eat the catch. Next time we will fish on the first day and enjoy several days eating our catch.
Thank you Andrea for a memorable family experience.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Happy Campers

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary with our family at this beach home. We found the place as described and the photos were accurate in showing the location. The property was clean and well maintained. We were especially glad to have easy access to both the ocean and bay. There were so many things to do that we had trouble fitting everything in. Some things we especailly enjoyed were walking, boogie boarding, swimming, golfing, playing pool, bike riding and going out to dinner. When we ate at the house we found a very well equipped kitchen. It was nice having so many toys available to us such as bikes, boogie boards, sand toys, etc. There is so much to see and enjoy in the surrounding area such as Sea World, San Diego Zoo, tours of the Midway, Lego Land, and great golf courses. The parking is a big plus. We had ample room for three cars which included a truck, suv and small van, and room for one more. The owner was very helpful and answered all of our questions. We would recommend this property. A great time was had by all!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

OUR FAMILY VACTION

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

THE BEST BEACH HOUSE EVER !!!!SAFE FOR OUR GRANDKIDS. PLENTY OF ROOM FOR ALL .. PLUS PARKING, BEACH OR BAY IS ALL THERE WE SO LOVED THIS BEACH HOUSE ,WE ARE BOOKING IT AGAIN !!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We love it every year!!!

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

It has become a tradition to stay at this house for the last six years and we love it every time...we have four boys and we all have a great time. We love the sand access right outside the gate...a short walk to the beach or bayside...the boys play volleyball and wiffle ball right where we can see them or make sandcastles right out front...the view is great! We cook easy meals or bbq and walk down the boardwalk for icecream...lots of sand toys and bike rides are fun...we look forward to it every year!!! Andrea is always so welcoming and helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a great place to stay!

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

Waht a great place to stay. Close to both Mission bay and the Pacific. Iy is in an ideal location for enjoying the beach and water. The house is well situated and very adequate for 8-10 people. It is not a designer house with granit counters etc but very functional and livable, we would and have recommended it to our friends and would stay there again. It is close to all that San Deigo offers just a short car ride.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great Experience

Review submitted: May 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 17, 2012

Can't say enough about your great rental property. A great section of South Mission Beach and a view from the deck to die for! We couldn't have been more comfortable and Andrea couldn't have been more helpful. Loved all the beach toys for the little ones who came to visit.
Hope to rent your property again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

This property was PERFECT for our family gathering. We traveled with adults and teen boys from northern California and Connecticut and the location was a perfect meeting place. It was ideal for all the energy our family has, volleyball courts, our own private sand area where we could play smooshball, ride bikes or when it was time to just relax...all activity needs were already at the house! Access to the boardwalk was convenient, as well as a quick mart we rode bikes to and Ralph's down the road a bit.

Andrea was very accomodating with a last minute travel hiccup. She kept in contact during the booking process, checked in via email while we were there and then afterwards ~ the right amount. Neighbors were quiet and friendly, the extra parking at the house was very convenient.


Thank you Andrea for helping our family create such wonderful memories in your home!

The Boudinot's - East and West coast!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We're headed back this summer for the fourth year in a row!

Review submitted: March 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

We just love this beachouse so much that we are headed back this summer for the fourth year in a row! We enjoy having direct beach access and the close walking distance to Belmont Park, shops, restaurants, etc. without the craziness of being right on the boardwalk. This home is perfect for our group of adults with teenagers. The kids love the pool table, the nearby volleyball courts and of course the Wifi access! The house is clean, the kitchen is well stocked, many beach toys, bikes, etc. are provided and the parking is the best in the area. When not at the beach, we spend most of our time on the upper deck because the views of the jetty, park, and ocean are spectacular....especially the sunsets! Andrea is a joy to work with and we hope to return for many years to come!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A gem of a house

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

3 bedroom is cosy (new windows!) and spacious with a great view and incomparable beach access. Love the pool table. Bunk beds are great for the kids. Andrea was helpful and aimed to please. A great experience all around!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: June 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 9, 2011

This property met all our needs. It was spacious for accomodating extended family, (the reality was better than the pictures). The kitchen was well stocked for entertaining. We found plenty of equipment for fun and activities. Parking at the property and nearby was excellent. The views were beautiful and the privacy of the patio offered intimate space for hanging out, while the section of beach outside the patio, away from the water and the boardwalk, gave our youngest visitors a great, safe place to play.
The ocean was only a short walk away and always visible. A lovely park and the Bay were also nearby. It was clean and quiet, away from the noise of the boardwalk, while still close enough to enjoy observing the normal beach activity and feeling part of the beach community. We could not have been happier and would definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting to enjoy the best Mission Beach has to offer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A perfect trip!

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

The house was fantastic. We couldn't have asked for a better place. Not only was it directly on the beach, but it was spacious, clean, comfortable and stocked with beach activities. We basically decided from day one that when we make another trip to San Diego we would HAVE to get the same house again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT VACATION

Review submitted: January 23, 2011   Date of arrival: October 25, 2010

What a GREAT place to stay !!!! View from the balcony is my favorite.
Had a week at the California shore with my family. Slept 5 adults and 2 kids easily.
Plenty of room for family in the area to visit/party. Close to San Diego attractions (especially Sea World).
Looking forward to our next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The "Bro" Family

Review submitted: October 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 18, 2009

We are headed to this great rental again this year. Our family is involved with the breast cancer 3day event (Susan G. Komen Foundation) and this house is perfect for us. We have direct access to the beach and the walkway curves away from the house, so you dont have the noise of people walking by or looking in! We spent most of our time sitting on the balcony, watching the ocean, beach and the incredible sunsets. The home is clean and comfortable and even our little dog is happy there. He has a little patio and he loves to take his afternoon naps there. The owner is great to deal with which makes it all work out GREAT. We hope to stay here again and again!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our Ocean Front Vacation

Review submitted: October 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 1, 2010

Recently my wife and I had the opportunity to spend a relaxing month at a lovely home right on the beach. Imagine opening the gate to your very own sandy beach with endless volleyball nets everywhere with the ocean in sight. The description on vrbo is very accurate in regard to location and the photos are true to our experience. We had guests join us at different times during our stay and the home is very accomadating. There were plenty of towels and linen with great showers. The beds were very comforatable and the rooms were clean and pleasant. The kitchen was stocked well for all our favorite cooking. The home had a downstairs with a pool table and access to a lovely patio and to the garage. The garage was large enough to fit two mini-vans as well as our bikes the the 3 bikes that came with the home. Also there are three parking spots outside the garage. It was very easy to park. We spent much of our time riding bikes, walking and enjoying the amazing sunsets from our very own deck with comfortable patio furniture. The jetty was nearby. We appreciated watcing all of the boat traffic. Sea World was with-in biking distance for us as well as any restaurant to fit our palete. We highly recommend the home to all of our friends and relatives. The owner was very helpful and kind. We look forward to staying again in the future. P.S. Our lab Tula loved her stay, too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A beautiful little nook in South Mission Beach

Review submitted: June 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 11, 2010

We had a wonderful time at this rental property. The rooms were very clean. The location is incredible, open the gate and your literally standing in the sand (The Boardwalks curves off towards the South Mission parking lot creating your very own strip of beach directly in fron the the house.) LOTS of parking either in the 5 Spaces in the back or parking lot just across the beach. The house also has 3 Beach Cruisers that are availible for occupants.

Fully equipped kitchen, Large dining area, outdoor dining area, fans in every room, Pool Table downstairs, Comfortable living room with an AWESOME TV! Great for entertaining.

Sunsets are Spectacular!

Beautiful views of Point Loma, the Mission Bay Channel (where boats are seen exiting and entering Mission Bay all day), and the Historic Wooden Lifeguard tower of South Mission Beach. All accompanied by a parade of boardwalk cruisers for some excellent people watching.

The beach is quiet during the week but can get lively on the weekends. The area around here is a San Diego hotspot for Beach Volleyball.

If you like to surf, South Mission Jetty offers up a beautiful left-hander the often stays good all day and holds good shape up to 10 Feet. (Intermediate-Experience Levels Recommended)

Good access to night life as there are limitless options of Restaurants, Bars, and Markets that are a quick stroll or bike ride right up the Boardwalk. Or plenty of places to take out from if you just wanna stay at home, which is a definite possibility.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great view, lots of room, good price!

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

I was very pleased with this property. I celebrated my 60th birthday by enjoying the wonderful view and beautiful beach. This property was very comfortable, roomy, well supplied with kitchen supplies, towels, etc., great TV, comfortable furniture AND quiet. Yes...away from the noise if the beach walk! I would no doubt stay here again. We had a little trouble with the BBQ fuel and wireless internet, but any such problems were corrected immediately. Over all, I highly recommend this probperty.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review