reviews for: listing #13164 - Playa Junquillal, Costa Rica House rental

Casa Juliana, Private Ocean View Villa, Playa Junquillal
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Playa Junquillal
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,650 - $2,500 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

We were in heaven at Casa Juliana!!

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

A beautiful home. We tried to imaging what it was like to renovate that house so nicely... must have been a massive project. We were so comfortable and lived outside in bathing suits for most of the week. We went on a few adventures (sailing, zip-lining, Tamarindo, Santa Cruz, waterfall hike), but for the most part, we stayed home, read, played games, cooked, ate, and went to the beach everyday. Loved Playa Negra and Lola's. Steve took over the hammock and read 3 books. We had a great meal cooked by a local chef and a fantastic local tour arranged by Rosalee. We also had fun with the local critters. A frog appeared on patio nightly, we named him Raul. The birds around the house and terrace were lovely and the sounds were delicious. Our daughter graduates from high school this year and our son is almost done with college. We don't know when we might be all together again like that, so this was a special trip for us and it couldn’t have been in a more relaxing atmosphere. I dream of returning in the future with my girlfriends!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bliss Headquarters

Review submitted: May 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

What a perfect spot for a Costa Rican vacation! Our gang of three couples loved the house with the well-equipped kitchen, three bathrooms and plenty of outdoor space to kick back and enjoy. The ocean is so close that you can float in the pool under a star lit sky with the sound of the Pacific crashing against the shore. Exotic birds and howler monkeys inhabit the beautifully landscaped yard, so you'll be reminded that you are, indeed, in a wild world.
The property was very well maintained. The landscapers were there but not intrusive. A pool tender took great care of one of my favorite amenities - perfect temperature and easy on the chlorine.
There are too many options of things to do to list here but include a turtle hatchery within walking distance of the beach, horseback riding, tennis, surfing and a spectrum of restaurants.
I would recommend the restaurant Lola's, which is a short drive to a nearby beach. The setting is unbelievable - with the sun slowly sinking into the Pacific as a backdrop - tables in the sand and great food/drinks.
I would definitely recommend this house to anyone looking for the perfect setting for an exotic vacation away from the heavily touristed areas, and in one of the most fascinating places imaginable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house in a beautiful area

Review submitted: May 2, 2013   Date of arrival: April 14, 2013

This was our first time to the area and the house, it won't be our last. We loved the area, enough stuff to do to stay busy, but no crowds. The low key feel of the area was great, everyone we met was very friendly. The house was absolutely beautiful, we loved the outdoor living space and the landscaping was fantastic. No complaints at all, looking forward to our next visit already.

Dave

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation in Paradise

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

We stayed at Casa Juliana this past March (2013) it was wonderful. The house has four spacious bedrooms, all with air conditioning, and 31/2 baths. Playa Junquillal is a nice little town with a big, beautiful deserted beach. We had a chef come in and cook for us -- that was very special. I would recommend this house without hesitation. The pool and grounds were vibrant, with occasional visits from monkeys, parrots and iguanas.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peg and Friends

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 6, 2013

Our vacation to Costa Rica this past month was made extra special
due to our accommodations. We found an immaculate villa with beautiful
views, a peaceful & private setting in Casa Juliana. The outdoor
living space, beautiful kitchen & bedrooms, and the general layout of the house was
just perfect for six of us. Everything depicted on the web site was accurate
and surpassed our expectations. Thank you so much for this opportunity!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Secluded Paradise

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 12, 2012

I've taken around 12 trips to Costa Rica; the last 3 times I've stayed at Casa Juliana in the special Pacific coast beach town of Playa Junquillal. The house and grounds are spectacular and have continued to improve with each visit. Our trip was filled with exciting things to do - golf at Hacienda Pinilla, snorkeling at Playa Blanca, and boogie boarding at Playa Negra. We fished the estuary that borders the southern end of Playa Junquillal with our local guide, Chenito, and grilled our catch of fresh snapper on the poolside BBQ. We also played tennis on a lighted court next door at Hotel Guacamaya. All of these activities were within walking distance or a short drive of Casa Juliana. Despite this abundance of opportunities, I must admit that my favorite thing to do took place right on the grounds of Casa Juliana - relaxing poolside with a book in hand, enjoying a drink in this tropical paradise! I will definitely return here on future visits to the Nicoya Peninsula.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

Phenomenal place – Casa Juliana is an unparalled vacation spot. Enjoyed a 5 night stay there in November – weather was perfect. The house and surroundings were breathtaking. The many nice touches (abundant comfy outdoor furniture, wonderful décor, comfortable bedding) make it easy to see that the owners put a lot of love and care into this spot and want you to enjoy is as much as they clearly do. Every time you turn around you see something else that takes your breath away – both on the property and in the surrounding area. The house is just isolated enough to feel like you are alone in the world and still in walking distance of a little shop where you can get your essentials (and even fresh baked pastries in the morning). More importantly, Casa Juliana is in walking distance to the beach. The beach bar is just that – there’s a beach and there’s a bar. What more do you need? Howler monkeys? OK. You’ll catch sight and sound of them as you walk home to or from the beach at sunset. Locals and visitors seem scarce but they all seem to show up every night for sunset, cerveza, and company and then wander off again shortly after dark. The house includes an outdoor gazebo/firepit (if you feel like cooking) and is in walking distance to Bernie and Alice’s Hotel Guacamaya at the top of the hill and a wood fired pizza place at the bottom of the road) if you don’t. There is a really cool outdoor half-circle of a bar on the stone patio of the house that is fully accessible from the kitchen. It is so inviting we rarely went further in the evenings. There is golf, fishing, an active volcano, and other activities in driving distance (and locals are available and willing to serve as tour guides/drivers) but there is no reason I could think of to leave Casa Juliana for the short time I was fortunate enough to spend there. I traveled with 3 other adults and 2 children and we all had a magical time. If you are looking for rest and relaxation in paradise – look no further.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Vacation Home!

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

We stayed at Casa Juliana over Christmas this year. We are 2 families with 4 teens and an 8 yr old. There was something for everyone in Playa Junquillal and Casa Juliana was located in the perfect spot. A short walk to the beach, restaurants or little store made it easy for everyone to do their own thing in between excursions. Georgina, the property manager helped us arrange all our excursions, stock our fridge before arriving-she was wonderful and available to us throughout our stay. Would highly recommend this gem property and can't wait to go back. The Costa Rican folks we met while there were warm and hospitable, we just loved it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for the postive feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our house as much as we do when we go there several times a year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Juliana is good for the soul.....

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: February 21, 2011

I've stayed at Casa Juliana 7 or 8 times over the past 6 years. It's an absolutely beautiful home. It's comfortable, private, and oh so relaxing. Start your day with a cup of Costa Rican coffee on the veranda by the pool. The chattering birds and howling monkeys are a nice backdrop to the flowering plants, banana trees, and too many to count palms.
Enjoy a horseback ride on the beach, a sailboat/snorkel/sunset cruise in Tamarindo, a day trip to the volcano at Rincon de la Vieja, the zipline, the Beach bar at sunset, pizza at Hotel Tatanka or dinner at the Guacamaya.
I would highly recommend to family and friends because everyone should experience Casa Juliana.
It's good for the soul........

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Tropical Paradise!

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

Our stay at Casa Juliana was truley amazing! The house was beautifully furnished and had everything we needed from bedding to cookware. We truley enjoyed hanging out on the terrace watching the incredible Costa Rican sunsets while hearing the ocean surf crashing. We loved having the convenience of our own private pool and gardens. We couldn't get the kids out of the pool! We never had a dull moment from the time we arrived. Our vacation was full of activities including horseback riding on the beach, surfing, fishing, zip-lining, playing tennis and snorkeling. The local restaurants were great and offered everything to local fare to culinary delights. We are already planning our next trip back to Casa Juliana!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review