reviews for: listing #13174 - Tucson, Arizona House rental

Spacious Comfortable Newer Home
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Starr Pass Shadows
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $120 - $200 /nt
    $650 - $900 /wk

sort by:

Astronomy heaven

Review submitted: April 4, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

Can't say enough about how great a location this is & how much of an effort the owner makes to be sure renters have everything needed, including information & maps about area attractions, books about birds, plants, the history of SW AZ, archaeology, even novels by SW authors like Tony Hillerman & Barbara Kingsolver! This is our 7th year & we stay for a month, at least. We especially appreciate the location for our family's astronomy interests, as there are no residential street lights to interfere with telescope use, the 2 nearby mountains cut off the lights of downtown, & there
are all sorts of resources & nearby sites of interest (like the U of A mirror lab, making 28 ft. diameter mirrors for major observatories)
Hiking is so accessible & family members rent bikes nearby. Mercado San Augustin is minutes away & has great restaurants, Mexican bakery, & will be a place to board the streetcar soon. We LOVE Windstar.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank You!! We appreciate your annual spring visit to Tucson and your decision to have Tucson Windstar as your home base. The best compliment we can receive is to have repeat guests like yourselves. Your review touches on many reasons why Windstar is an ideal location. We are especially happy that you are able to enjoy the dark skies right from the backyard. Thanks again and look forward to seeing you next year. Lucy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Location

Review submitted: February 15, 2014   Date of arrival: January 27, 2014

Awesome location for Tucson Rock & Mineral Shows. Clean and Lucy is a great Host

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your review. We agree that Tucson Windstar's location is "awesome" for the Rock and Mineral Shows. It also is conveniently located for many Tucson (and southern Arizona)activities and attractions. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks again, Lucy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great rental!

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this property. The view out the back is excellent, and we really enjoyed feeding/seeing the hummingbirds, cardinals, quail, etc.

The house was great for our needs. 4 friends on a week long trip. The house has 3 bedrooms but one bedroom has twin beds so 2 of our group shared that room.

The master suite is huge, and includes a bathroom and huge walk-in closet. You could easily put an inflatable mattress in there to sleep more people! The master bath has 2 sinks, and there is a 2nd full bath as well, so plenty of availability.

Everything was clean and in good shape. The beds comfortable. The layout of the house with the open concept between the kitchen/living/dining room was just what we were looking for.

Location was fantastic for access to restaurants, or to get out sightseeing or hiking.

The owner was very helpful and accommodating, and really wanted to ensure the house was meeting our needs and that we had a good stay.

If we came back to Tucson, we would definitely stay here again.

Owners response: Thank you for the nice review! We are glad you enjoyed the backyard birds. They can be delightful. We are happy you found Tucson Windstar "clean"..."comfortable" and great for your needs. Windstar's location is one of the best features and as you say "fantastic" for easy access to a variety of activities/attractions. Our greatest satisfaction is to hear "we would definitely stay here again." Thanks again we appreciate your review. Lucy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great rental!

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this property. The view out the back is excellent, and we really enjoyed feeding/seeing the hummingbirds, cardinals, quail, etc.

The house was great for our needs. 4 friends on a week long trip. The house has 3 bedrooms but one bedroom has twin beds so 2 of our group shared that room.

The master suite is huge, and includes a bathroom and huge walk-in closet. You could easily put an inflatable mattress in there to sleep more people!

Everything was clean and in good shape. The beds comfortable. The layout of the house with the open concept between the kitchen/living/dining room was just what we were looking for.

Location was fantastic for access to restaurants, or to get out sightseeing or hiking.

The owner was very helpful and accommodating, and really wanted to ensure the house was meeting our needs and that we had a good stay.

If we came back to Tucson, we would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect family stay, charming owners

Review submitted: January 17, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

The house is better than pictured, fully equipped, wonderfully homey. The owners do everything possible to make you feel welcome and at home: fresh fruit, candy basket, complete binder of information and genuine hospitality. There is even a great view of the mountains from the bed in the master bedroom, and the big windows let you birdwatch from bed before you even get up in the morning! Modern appliances and convenient location make it a snap to take care of the chores and shop, so you can enjoy the pleasures of Tucson. Lots of windows and light, safe neighborhood, everything in working order. Enough room for a family to spread out. Nice backyard, although it was too cold for us to make much use of it. Owner even supplies bird food! Clean as a whistle. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you found Windstar to be "fully equipped, wonderfully homey." We like it when guests think of it as a home away from home. Happy to know you enjoyed the bird watching even from the master bedroom! "Clean as a whistle" is a complement we enjoy to hear. Thanks again for your "highly recommended" rating. We hope to see you on your next visit to Tucson. Best Regards, Lucy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful retreat

Review submitted: May 13, 2012   Date of arrival: January 29, 2012

We have rented Windstar three times, every vacation was great. My favorite thing about the house is the location. The house is situated at the base of beautiful mountains and the neighborhood is extremely quiet. It is far enough away from the center of town so you feel you are really in the Arizona desert, but only a 15 minuet drive to Downtown. There are great restaurants near by our favorite is DaisyMae's steak house, the ribs are to die for! This restaurant is only a 5 min drive! Food shopping is only a ten minuet drive and there are shops and restaurants.
The layout of the house perfect for having room for friends and family and is fully stocked with anything you need from kitchen supplies to extra blankets. The back yard is very private with a beautiful of the mountain and cactus. The wildlife is amazing during our stays we have seen in the yard a roadrunner, cardinals, humming birds, yellow finches, and many other types of birds. We love to barbecue and watch the amazing sunsets.
The owner of the house is very friendly and helpful to any questions or needs you might have. This is a very special rental we look forward to visiting again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hello Amy & Gunther, We greatly appreciate your annual visit to Tucson Windstar. Having repeat guests is a measure that we value. Tucson Windstar's convenient location to downtown & I-10 make it a desirable choice. The house layout is great for entertaining family and friends, as is the backyard with the grill for bar-b-ques. The backyard bird watching has proven to be very entertaining for our guests. As you say it is "amazing." We are happy to hear you say Windstar is "fully stocked...from kitchen supplies to extra blankets." We strive to keep Windstar as a "home away from home" and have it equipped as such. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit, Lucy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home is clean and plenty of extras!

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

We spent two weeks in this beautiful Tucson home. The owners are very responsive and available by phone anytime. The house is clean for anyone with allergies. The house is set up nicely for two groups or families, with the master bedroom and bathroom on one side of the house, with walk in closet. Then there are two bedrooms on the other side of the house and a separate full bathroom. Spacious living area is shared in the middle, with two sofas - one that pulls out for sleeping. There are two kitchen tables for plenty of options for dining, including outside eating. The beds are very comfortable and the neighborhood is quiet for sleeping. The yard is nicely landscaped, private with plenty of chairs for grilling and relaxing. Plenty of maps and information on the area are provided by the owners. The house is in a nice friendly neighborhood, located 2 miles from the bike trail (Santa Cruz River)and able to bike to the trail. There is plenty of biking, walking, running and hiking right from the house. Groceries, shopping and great restaurants within a few miles. Plenty of things to do: Kitt Peak Observatory (1 hr away), Pima Air and Space (30 minutes), Madera Canyon (birding and hiking 1 hr), Saguaro National Park West and Desert Sonoran Museum (15 minutes). Tucson is a large city with a lot to do. The home is 5 minutes from Interstate 10, but you don't hear the traffic, making it very convenient to get on and off the highway to travel north or south to destinations. Convenient for birders, especially in May at the height of the birding season. Plus the rental rates drop to their lowest. We have rented houses all over the United States and this house is the best rental we have had. The house and the owners exceeded our expectations!
We plan to return again some year to bird in May and see the other sites on our list that we did not have time for. So much to do in Tucson!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hello Tammy and David. Thank you for choosing Windstar for your 2 week vacation. We appreciate your thoughtful review. We believe that one of the nicest comments we can receive is "exceeded our expectations." And as seasoned travelers throughout the U.S., we are honored that you would write "this house is the best rental we have had." Your description of Windstar, its location and proximity to local attractions is greatly appreciated. And you are absolutely correct about the rental rates (seasonal) that drop from May to August. Regarding the bird watching, you will see in addition to our local birds a variety of migratory birds depending on the time of year. We are happy that your experience at Windstar was such that you would return again. Thanks Again, Lucy

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great December Vacation

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 18, 2011

This was the third time we rented a private property from Vacationrentals.com. Again, the house was true to its photographs and description on the website. We found the home to be spacious, well-designed and extremely clean. We especially appreciated that:

1) the WiFi provides fast/easy internet access;

2) the linen closets contain plenty of extra blankets, pillows and towels;

3) the kitchen contains plenty of dishes and cookware.


The owner, Lucy, welcomed us upon our arrival and showed us around. Very nice welcoming touches included:

1) a welcome binder containing more information about the house, the nearest gas station and grocery store, and local restaurant menus;

2) a basket of fresh fruit;

3) bottles of water in the fridge;

4) candy;

5) local maps, tourist magazines and brochures.

In addition, as we had told Lucy that we were birdwatchers on our first trip to Arizona, Lucy added a second hummingbird feeder to the backyard patio and provided birdseed to sprinkle on the back wall. She even bought us a map of the region's birding trails that came in very handy. And as an extra special surprise, her sister dropped off an Audubon Society 2012 Calendar as a Christmas gift for us to take back as a beautiful souvenir!

In regard to location, the home exceeded our expectations because: 1) it is located in a small suburb facing a tall hill in the back so is very private; and 2) it is close to the Interstate 10 highway making many tourist destinations in Tucson and Green Valley a short drive away; and 3) it has a nicely landscaped backyard with a patio, hummingbird feeders, a bird bath and a shrub with red berries, all which attract numerous birds.

For fellow birdwatchers/photographers, the following birds visited the backyard during our 2-week stay: Abert's Towhee / Anna's Hummingbird / Chipping Sparrow / Cooper's Hawk / Curve-billed Thrasher / European Starling / Gambel's Quail / Gila Woodpecker / House Finch / Mourning Dove / Northern Mockingbird / Northern Cardinal / Phainopepla / Verdin / White-crowned Sparrow.

In summary, we had a great relaxing stay and would rent this home again if we were to return to Arizona in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hello Susan,
Thank you for staying at Tucson Windstar. We are happy that you had "a great relaxing stay." And we do believe that one of the best compliments we can receive is as you say "the home exceeded our expectations." We are glad that you were able to experience the variety of southwestern birds and waterfowl, all within an easy day's trip from home. Tucson has many great birding places such as the Sonoran Desert Museum, Sweetwater Wetlands, Tohono Chul Park, Sabino Canyon, Madera Canyon, Whitewater Draw (for the sandhill cranes) etc. And of course, all the birds you listed that were right in the backyard! Perhaps on your next visit to Tucson Windstar, you may consider a different season, as many birds are migratory and you are apt to see many other species.
Thanks again and Best Regards, Lucy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Eleven Nights At Windstar

Review submitted: May 29, 2011   Date of arrival: April 28, 2011

Eleven Nights At Windstar
We enjoyed our time at Windstar! We came looking for a unique property as we were watching our two teenage grandchildren at the house for seven days of our stay. The house layout worked very well and would for any group or family.
Charming southwest was the feel with books, pamphlets, and decor. The backyard was peaceful with birds galore. Lucy and Terrie were helpful as could be. Attention to detail and well kept was a definite in this home. Close to airport, Desert Museum, Botanical Gardens, Art Gallery, Arizona State Museum and more. We'd return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Leisurely Living - Lovely Choice

Review submitted: March 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 8, 2010

Four friends and I visited Tucson from California in January for several days to see an old friend for her 60th birthday and stayed at Windstar. The residence was large enough to accommodate all five of us adults (three singles and one couple), plus our friend and her extended family. We have some good cooks and bakers in the group who wanted to create a special meal for the occasion and we had enough counter space and table space so half a dozen people could be in the kitchen working at once and never get in each other’s way. The layout is such that the bedrooms are all separated by other rooms, so there was plenty of privacy too. It’s in a quiet residential neighborhood so we found it very conducive to unwind and relax, not being in a frenetic shopping or tourist environment. We enjoyed watching birds in the yard -- doves, quail, roadrunners (!), thrashers, hummingbirds. All quite different than our city life! We sometimes had fifteen people in there and hanging out was easy because of the spacious common area. After a day of tennis/hiking/sightseeing, we could head back and just chill out, either individually or as a group. The hosts are a pair of very friendly, local-born sisters who live close by and are available to answer questions. They have thought through all the details – down to irons and bike trail maps and cloth napkins and recommendations for restaurants. One of them has a great eye for decorating touches, so the décor had a fun, regional flavor – think chile pepper wallpaper and matching tablecloths! Overall, we had a great stay. Easy, comfortable, relaxing. We felt well taken care of. From Canyon S.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Tucson Windstar

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

Tucson Windstar is the perfect place to stay in Tucson. It is well situated, only minutes from the I-10 yet far enough away not to have to endure any noise or traffic. When out on the road turn right and within minutes you are either in town or on the I-10, if you had turned left you would almost immediately have been cruising along amongst the Giant cacti heading for the mountain pass that leads you to The Sonora Desert Museum or Old Tucson Studios.
The house itself is immaculate, well maintained and incredibly spacious. The main living/dining area is huge yet once settled into the ample sofas has a cosy home from home feel. The dining table comfortably seats six and affords a wonderful view of the birds feeding on the garden wall at breakfast. The view continues on past the cacti and leading the eye up to a mini mountain merely 500yds from the rear porch. There is another less formal table in the airy kitchen area but I preferred to watch the birds. The garden itself is secure and well groomed and had I found the time I would have certainly fired up the gas BBQ and watched the sunset over dinner.
The bedrooms are very roomy with the master bedroom having a giant ensuite bathroom and walk in wardrobe. Everywhere the house was furnished immaculately with more storage and hanging space than even my wife and three daughters could ever hope to fill.
The double garage was accessed through the kitchen which I found very convenient as I didn't use the front door, just drove up through the automatic exterior door then let myself in via the utility room straight into the kitchen.
I couldn't recommend Tucson Windstar enough and am certainly hoping to stay there on my next visit to Tucson.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Tucson vacation

Review submitted: October 22, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

My family enjoyed our stay in this home. Very comfortable and well equipped, easy access to city sights and Marriott resort, large kitchen and living area. The backyard is great for relaxing and bird watching. Quiet neighborhood.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great home away from home!

Review submitted: May 20, 2010   Date of arrival: May 12, 2010

My whole family came in from different areas of the country to support my brother graduating from UofA. The neighborhood was nice and easily accessible to the airport, UofA's campus, and things like the Desert Museum and Old Tucson. Beautiful view from the back yard, lots of bird watching. Clean home. Huge kitchen. We enjoyed the full fresh fruit basket that was left for us! The owner is very responsive, and was open to our staying an extra night last minute at a great rate! I'd highly recommend this to anyone looking for a nice, affordable home away from home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Third stay in 3 years

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

We have stayed at this house three times over the past 3 years, a testimony to our fondness for the house. The house has always been impeccably clean. Nicely stocked kitchen. Very peaceful neighborhood. Restful, cozy backyard with birds, including the occasional friendly roadrunner. Ideal location for bike rides and hikes. Friendly and useful owner.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review