reviews for: listing #13178 - Marathon, Florida House rental

Tropical Mystique Free heated pool
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Coco Plum Beach
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,600 - $1,900 /wk

sort by:

Coco Plumb Heaven

Review submitted: December 18, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

Me and my girlfriend had the the pleasure of staying at this property for two weeks in Novemebr 2007.

It was without a doubt the most wonderful holiday we've ever had. The house is clean, well equipt, the pool fabulous and you can fish from the back door!!

I cannot thank Dave and Joyce enough for allowing us to share their fantastic home in the Florida Keys. We can't wait to return.

If you're thinking about it, do yourself a favour, just book it, you won't regret it.

Regards,

Darren Lane

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 30 / 31

 

Excellent - love it!!!

Review submitted: February 10, 2014   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

Wonderful place to stay! Feels like we are at our own home away from home. Everything you could need is already there. Dave & Joyce are so amazing to deal with & are wonderful hosts. Home is very clean & has everything. We took our boat & they have a vast amount of waterfront for docking, cleaning station, outside freezer, patio & a lovely pool. Inside is warm, tropical yet cozily decorated. Have stayed there twice & would not think of staying anywhere else.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice and quiet

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

Had a great time during our short vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding waterfront rental

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

Wonderful week of boating,fishing and swimming!
Two bedroom home was. Comfortable for a child and four adults.
Great waterfront dock large enough for big boat and fishing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxation

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

We stayed at Tropical Mystique for 2 weeks in October. It was perfect. Dave & Joyce are the best and made sure our stay was perfect. It didn't take long to catch the "keys disease". All the restaurants that were recommended were great and all very laid back. We rented a boat and had a wonderful experience. We will never forget our vacation and the Tropical Mystique. Thanks again Dave & Joyce!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing Keys Vacation 2012

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I come down to the Keys every year for lobster season with a couple of friends. This is the nicest place we've been in so far. Great location, lovely home, quiet neighborhood, had all the amenties that you could need and the fact that the boat rental marina was just minutes away by drive was so convenient. We also enjoyed our nightly dips in the pool after a long day on the boat. Definitely a ++ feature. I certainly would recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice quiet place to relax with close access to the water for boaters. Very nice!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My Wonderful Stay in the Keys

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

My family had a wonderful stay at the Bower's residence in Marathon. We rented a boat, the dock facility was excellent, and we really enjoyed fishing. The pool was great, especially at night looking at the stars and feeling the nice ocean breeze. The beds were very comfortable, and we had all of the ammenities we need to have a completely comfortable stay.

We will definitely be going back next year!!!!

Jay
Baton Rouge

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Amazing Place

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Has everything as expected. Beautiful location and easy access to the Atlantic and in the center of everything.
Thank you for such an amazing week, very relaxing and enjoyed all the snorkeling and fishing that we could do in one week. Wish we had more time.

Hoping to make this Tropical Mystique my yearly vacation home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We had a great vacation in the Tropical MystIque with our boys and our yorkies. The house was perfect, it had everything we needed. Dave,the owner called and doubled check on us to make sure everything was good. That was a pleasant surprise most owners only care about getting your money.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beyond Expectations

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

We are winding down our 2nd week at Tropical Mystique and logged onto the website hoping to discover next week as an open week so that we might extend it to a 3rd. Darn... guess we have to leave! While we were on the site, we re-read all the previous reviews. They are all 100% accurate so there's little we can add... except "thank you, Dave and Joyce. Fabulous house and near perfect vacation." Kari

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Happy with our stay

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Our rental house was awesome. The house was very clean and had everything you could possibly need or want! We enjoyed the pool every afternoon. The kids enjoyed fishing off the dock and the kayak was fun as well. We rented a boat for four days from Silver Palm. Great experience with them as well. The house has easy access to Atlantic and the gulf. We had a wonderful dinner at Castaways, I would highly recommend eating there! The owners of the house were easy to get a hold of, always answered our calls. Dave, was super nice, thank you for an absolute wonderful home!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful In Every Way

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

My husband and I recently returned from a wonderful week at Dave and Joyce's Tropical Mystique. They had done some renovations since we had last visited, and the house looked especially beautiful. The house is all on one level with no stairs which is nice when you're bringing in suitcases or groceries. Dave and Joyce are extremely nice and welcoming. Very easy to deal with. The kitchen is outfitted with everything you could ever need. The beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms fresh and modern. The sunroom overlooks the wide canal and the private pool is the icing on the cake. The house is in an upscale quiet neighborhood and the canal out front is ideal for boaters (which we are).
The location is minutes away from restaurants, grocery stores and shopping. We really enjoyed sunset dinners at the nearby Island Grill, just across the main road on the bay side. We also love fishing in the creek that links the canal to the ocean, and more fishing in the Vaca Cut, just a short boat ride away.
I would recommend this house to anyone and everyone!
Can't wait to return,
Ann

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Keys Vacation

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

This was the ultimate family vacation for us! The house was wonderful and we felt like it was home, even if only for a week! The kids enjoyed the pool, fishing off the canal, and my husband and I enjoyed the tranquility. At the end of our stay we were sad to leave. Thanks so much we truly had a wonderful stay.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

perfect in every way

Review submitted: May 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

My wife, Donna and I flew down from Maine to Ft.Lauderdale, and drove to this fabulous place. Welcoming to the eye, spotless, everything in perfect condition, with the entire house cool and fresh. Beds and furniture delightful, kitchen had every appliance ,gadget, pot and service you could hope for.
Hmm. what type of ice cube shall I select for my beverage? Should I fish off the canal or go in the pool before breakfast?
No sounds of dogs or traffic. What beach do we choose today ( we checked out over 6 of them.. The Coco Plum one was a short walk. Our favorite was Sandspur at Bahai Honda, which was voted # 1 is the USA.
Conveniently located but away from the hecticness. The Island fishery was our favorite place to eat, and the Wooden Spoon was perfect for breakfast when we were too lazy to cook. The sunsets were awesome, weather was perfect, people were friendly.

Thank you for a most memorable vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Tropical Mystique

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying here the third week of March, 2011. What a find. This is a perfect spot for relaxing and doing nothing at all. One week was too short. Dave and Joyce always responded with any questions we had which was much appreciated. Many good restaurants..we liked Lazy Days but there are so many. This is a perfect location and a beautiful drive from Ft. Lauderdale. One day we saw a manatee right in front of the house in the canal and took some awesome pictures while giving him fresh water from the hose. Too much to see, too much to do, so little time! Definitely a great place to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Christmas 2010

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 25, 2010

My husband, three adult children and I had the pleasure of spending the Christmas holidays at Tropical Mystique. The photos, while accurate, don't do the property justice, as you can't get the sense of serenity from them or comfort from them. From the time we first opened the front door, we felt at home. The furniture was oh so comfortable, the kitchen fully functional and stocked with any dish or utensil one might need or imagine. The landscaping was lovely. The pool delightful. We also appreciated the quiet neighborhood and the friendly neighbors. We also appreciated the proximity of the property to shopping, restaurants, jet skiing, snorkeling and snuba.

The first evening we were there I noticed a small leak under the kitchen sink. I called Mr. Bowers and he had a handyman there the next morning to fix it. Any questions we had for the Bowers about the property were answered in quick time.

Truly, it was a lovely time. We would highly recommend renting this home, and look forward to our doing so again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ryan & Lauren King

Review submitted: October 1, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

This was an amazing place for two couples in much need of rest to get away and have some fun & relaxation. Two awesome beaches were very close and there was nothing like relaxing on the deck or the pool (which is extremely nice) after some time on the beach. Kitchen was perfect for cooking meals and with TV's in the living room and both bedrooms everyone could watch what they wanted. The beds were really comfortable and having separate bathrooms was really nice. The living room and sun room were also great to hang out in, along with a dining room table to eat from made it the perfect vacation house. We are definitely going back!!! Fun restaurants and attractions were also really close, as well as Key West was less than an hour away. What can I say it was one of the best weeks of my life!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Kick back and relax

Review submitted: August 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

This place is a real find. 6 guys, all approaching 50, down for a week of lobster hunting. There is plenty of room inside and out. Just about all the amenities you could want. (We only used 1 of the 5 tv's) Plenty of freezer space for ice, beer & what you bring back from the sea. The pool is great. Easy access to the ocean. We've been coming down to the Keys for 20+ years, usually to the Middle/Lower Keys. There is a little bit of night life on Marathon, but if you really want that, head west to KW. We thought is would be a bit fancy for us but it quickly felt like home. Very comfortable. Large dock and wide canal made docking the boat quite easy. Eastern sky from the backyard gave us clear viewing of the meteor showers while we were there. Plenty of parking and room for outdoor gear. The outside shower is also nice. Fresh water rinse hose & fillet station made cleanup very easy. This place is at the top of the list for our next venture to The Keys. The owners are very easy to work with.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

"I DO"

Review submitted: August 20, 2010   Date of arrival: May 5, 2007

My husband and I are in the Keys at least twice a year. We like to fish and we usually go with friends. Tropical Mystique is a great place to be for a nice quiet couples retreat. My husband and I said "I DO" at Tropical Mystique in a small secluded ceremony on 5/6/7. The house was comfortable and cozy and had absolutely everything we needed for a relaxing and enjoyable weeks stay. The neighborhood was great. Access to the Ocean was great. Tango is the world's best dog ever, our yellow lab, who we were able to take with us on the trip which was great because we rarely go anywhere without him. He loves to go fishing. The three of us felt at home at this house. On 05/06/2011, my husband and I will be married 4 years!! I cant think of a better way to spend our anniversary than at the house where our lives together began, Tropical Mystique, for a nice quiet couples retreat alone...well just us and Tango.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lots of fun

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

The house was great! It was on a wide, deep canal. We were there to fish so the convenience to get to the Atlantic was perfect. The house was very clean both inside and out. Everything worked great and was very accurately depicted in the pictures. Definitely glad we chose to stay there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

THE BEST PLACE TO STAY IN THE KEYS!!!!

Review submitted: April 29, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

We have now stayed at your wonderful home 5 times! Your home is always beautiful when we come and you have everything anybody would ever need! We bring our boat and go fishing to come back and fall in the pool and sit on the back porch for cocktails and fun times! Told my husband I don’t want to EVER stay anywhere but at your Tropical Mystic!! Thank you for all you do for everybody that comes to stay there. I can’t wait to go back in June!! :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tropical Mystique

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: March 7, 2009

To:Dave, Joyce, Sarah and Katie We have had the pleasure of enjoying your most comfortable, homey house here for a month. We come down to the Keys each year for the Earnest Hemingway contest in Key West and for our sons and grand- children to enjoy and participate in the "mini lobster" season. This year in your home has been a memorable one. All the conveniences are supplied-and the organization of the cabinets is a joy. The decor is superb! Our stay here has been one of the most pleasurable of all our visits. Thank you for opening your home and for your thoughtful welcome in the preceding page. Sincerely,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tropical Mystique

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: November 7, 2009

We want to thank you and wife for a pleasant vacation with the rental of your house. It was better than we had hope. We will remember this, this year when we plan our next vacation. The location on Marathon was perfect, quick access to the Atlantic and gulf made our lobstering easier. My wife is always leery about buying things on the internet, and obtaining this property for vacation, sight unseen, was no different. In a funny kind of way, when we arrived on F street, towing our boat and with my sister and brother in-law towing their boat, all eyes were on me when I was standing outside my truck looking at a vacant lot between addresses 2 & 6. I kept saying to myself out loud, 2...6...2...6.... hoping that address 4 would appear soon. It then dawned on me, that when I was google'd the address, on the map, it was near the end of the street, not at the beginning. To my delightment (and further life as I might know it) your house was there. Again, thank you both for an enjoyable vacation! Best Regards, Clay & Shelly Carroll

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 20, 2010   Date of arrival: January 20, 2010

ave,

We want to thank you and wife for a pleasant vacation with the rental of your house. It was better than we had hope. We will remember this, this year when we plan our next vacation. The location on Marathon was perfect, quick access to the Atlantic and gulf made our lobstering easier.

My wife is always leery about buying things on the internet, and obtaining this property for vacation, sight unseen, was no different. In a funny kind of way, when we arrived on F street, towing our boat and with my sister and brother in-law towing their boat, all eyes were on me when I was standing outside my truck looking at a vacant lot between addresses 2 & 6. I kept saying to myself out loud, 2...6...2...6.... hoping that address 4 would appear soon. It then dawned on me, that when I was google'd the address, on the map, it was near the end of the street, not at the beginning. To my delightment (and further life as I might know it) your house was there.

Again, thank you both for an enjoyable vacation!


Best Regards,

Clay & Shelly Carroll

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 3, 2009   Date of arrival: May 3, 2009

AFTER MANY YEARS OF RENTING MOTEL ROOMS IN THE KEYS; NOTHING WILL EVER COMPARE TO RENTING DAVE & JOYCE'S HOME IN COCO PLUM. THE HOME & FURNISHINGS WERE 1ST CLASS COMFY AND THE LANDSCAPING WAS BEAUTIFUL! AFTER SPENDING ALL DAY ON THE BOAT, THE POOL AND THE OUTSIDE DECK WERE MOST INVITING FOR RELAXATION; NOT TO MENTION THE PEACEFUL SURROUNDINGS. THE HOME AND YARD PROVIDED ALL THE SPACE AND AMENITIES ANYONE COULD NEED OR WANT; INCLUDING AREA FOR BOAT/TRAILER PARKING. THANKS ONCE AGAIN FOR SHARING YOUR TROPICAL MYSTIQUE WITH US!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect !

Review submitted: April 10, 2009   Date of arrival: February 14, 2009

We spent 6 perfect weeks at this property. The location is great for visiting any of the Keys. The house is beautifully furnished and very well maintained, the laundry and home office were a real bonus. One of the few homes for rent that is a ranch style . We brought our boat with us and loved cruising the canals of Marathon, swimming at the sandbar, and some great stops for lunch. Staying at the house and lounging in the pool was nice too. I would recommend this home to anyone. The owners were a joy to deal with. Hope we can return again one day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful and relaxing tropical stay!

Review submitted: June 10, 2008   Date of arrival: May 31, 2008

This was our first time visiting the Keys and we had a wonderful week in Tropical Mystique! The home was decorated in beautiful tropical decor and was plenty of room for our family of four. There was plenty of space for our boat in the canal and we had a blast fishing from the dock. After a long day on the boat, the pool was the perfect place to cool off. In fact, we had such a fun time that we didn't want to leave. We would definitely go back to visit again! Thanks so much Dave and Joyce for an amazing time in your lovely home!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 11, 2006   Date of arrival: April 11, 2006

What a "chillin" blast! We have not had this much fun in a long time. Your place is just perfect in so many ways:beautiful vegetation, nice homes and no condos that you have to look around to watch the pelicans and moon. And no snow! We'll always have happy memories of dancing, eating lobster, etc. Key West and all the other keys, tequilla, relaxing, or should I say chillin. What else can I say. We hope to be back every year! Thanks so much

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 11, 2006   Date of arrival: April 11, 2006

Dear DAve and Joyce
You have a great home and the interior decorating is fantastic! The McCormicks and Waddells had a marvelous time here in the Keys. The weather has been the best that we have experienced - 80's with a nice breeze. We would certainly be happy to come back to your tropical paradise.
Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 22, 2005   Date of arrival: July 22, 2005

We had a blast! Your home is perfect! Thank you so much. When we come next year around the same time we hope to stay here again!
Thanks again, Andrea, Nate, Dave, Shannah, Sierra, Ashley,baby Kyleigh

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 9, 2004   Date of arrival: August 9, 2004

To:Dave, Joyce, Sarah and Katie
We have had the pleasure of enjoying your most comfortable, homey house here for a month.
We come down to the Keys each year for the Earnest Hemingway contest in Key West and for our sons and grand-
children to enjoy and participate in the "mini lobster" season. This year in your home has been a memorable one. All the conveniences are supplied-and the organization of the cabinets is a joy. The decor is superb!
Our stay here has been one of the most pleasurable of all our visits.
Thank you for opening your home and for your thoughtful welcome in the preceding page.
Sincerely, The Ream Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review