reviews for: listing #13230 - Bonita Beach, Florida House rental

Westwind South Duplex 2BR/2BA - Rent 1 or Both Units!!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $750 - $1,250 /wk
    $2,800 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

Fabulous family vacation!

Review submitted: July 13, 2014   Date of arrival: July 3, 2014

My husband and I brought our daughter, her fiancé and 9 month old grandson for a 9 night stay. The house was fabulous. Completely stocked with everything we needed including washer, dryer, a pack n play, high chair seat, beach chairs, umbrellas, beach cart cools ect. The gulf is just across the street with our own private entrance gate and east side of the house our screened in lanai facing the bay with our own private dock and a roof top deck that you can walk entirely around, fabulous pics from there of sunrise over the bay and sunset over the gulf. Had a great time fishing (can locally rent fishing poles per day) I will most defiantly return here for future vacations. Candice the owner was great! Always available if we needed her and respected our privacy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing week in Bonita Springs

Review submitted: July 7, 2014   Date of arrival: June 29, 2014

My family and I were searching for a nice, clean, relaxing place to spend a week long vacation. After searching many locations, we came across this pearl of a place. What can I say except for extraordinary! The apartment was a 2-bedroom, 2-bath, with all (and I mean all) the things we needed for a week in the sun. The kitchen was ample and well stocked with dishes, cookware, etc. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The living room was open and spacious. And, lest we forget, clean. Everything was spotless. There were nice flat panel TVs in every room with cable, beach chairs, a cart to carry the chairs to the beach, beach umbrellas, etc., etc. Oh, and did I mention quiet? Just what the doctor ordered, quiet rest and relaxation. You can tell attention was paid to every detail. And no, it was not directly on the beach. We had to cross the street to get to the beach. An inconvenience, not in the least. Do NOT let this deter you. We left after a great week and promptly reserved for the following year. If you are looking for a great place to vacation with the family, this is the place. I wish I could think of some way of deterring you from renting here so I could keep it to myself, but this would not be fair to the owner. I guess you can tell by now we were fully satisfied with our stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bonita Vacation Summer 2014

Review submitted: June 25, 2014   Date of arrival: June 6, 2014

I was very please with Westwind South Bonita Beach condo. It was well maintained and had everything for a much needed vacation. The unit is located directly adjacent to the Gulf of Mexico with its own private beach access. Bonita Springs is the perfect place to get away. Beautiful Sunsets and Star gazing on the Roof Top. Close proximity to Ft Myers Beach and Naples as well as Coconut Point shopping center. We will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

outstanding

Review submitted: June 14, 2014   Date of arrival: May 30, 2014

my wife, my 20 year old daughter and myself enjoyed a perfect stay at the unit provide by the owner. What you see in the photos are accurate. the property was spacious and well maintained! the cool thing was the beach chairs/umbrellas/ and a cart to wheel across the street to the quiet beach area. we also used them one day when we went to bowman beach on Sanibel island! that is a great feature provided by the owner! look to come back. Thank you, Candice

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful time in a beautiful place

Review submitted: May 28, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

My wife and I spent a delightful week in the Pelican View unit. The location was so convenient for our long walks on the beach and viewing the sunsets with the warm Gulf waters lapping at our toes. The kitchen was convenient for preparing our breakfasts to be enjoyed on the screened porch with a peaceful view of the canal. We are already planning a return trip!

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mike & Linda Pezza

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

This was Our 4th year coming to Bonita Springs, and we look forward to it more and more each year. We start counting the days until we arrive beginning around Thanksgiving each year... We hope to be able to start coming for 2 weeks real soon, once it becomes available... We love it!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great florida atmosphere! Wonderful roof top for sunning!

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

This a great place to come to and when you leave you will have your own story. It was everything the owner and the pictures said. When you book a place you are a little apprehensive about how it will really be, but oh my it was very clean and had that open homey atmosphere. It was equipped with everything you might need and had a washer and dryer.

The screened in deck was a nice place to have your morning coffee. We used the roof top for sunning or for sitting in the shade reading, enjoying the warm breeze off the gulf.

This duplex is situated on the bay but the beach is across the road through a private gate. You can be at the water in minutes- depending the traffic as late morning it is heavier than early morning.

There are lots of very nice restaurants with Randy's being one of our favorite especially for the best Key Lime pie.

We liked it so well that we are going back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Arrival date August 28, 2013

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 4, 2013

My mother and I stayed here for a long Labor Day weekend and had an amazing time. There is not enough space to say everything that needs to be said about this property. The 2BR/2BA "home" was almost as big as my own home only with a much better location. There was not an amenity that was not included from the cooking utensils to the great beach chairs, umbrellas and even a cart to get everything to the beach. We were only a short walk across the street from the most beautiful private beach which we had almost exclusively to ourselves. Everything was immaculate including the decor. We cannot wait to return. We had the opportunity to meet both the owner, Candice, and the manager, Mary. Two wonderful and hospitable ladies!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect beach place

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

My sister and I enjoyed a wonderful week on the beach at Candice's great rental. She has thought of just about everything to make your stay comfortable and relaxing. The beach is so close and everything to make that trip to the beach has been provided---chairs, umbrella, towels, etc. Best thing--- it is only a short walk away!
The home itself is very clean and welcoming. It comes well supplied with all the things you need. Although there are many great restaurants nearby, the kitchen has everything you need to cook a great meal yourself. The roof top deck is a wonderful place to have a drink and watch the stars! We enjoyed the visit from the manatee and osprey in the backyard area. We practically had the beach to ourselves on our morning walks.
Having a garage is a big plus. it helps keep your vehicle cool and away from salt spray. Laundry area is a huge help.
Candice and Dave, the caretaker, helped to make this stay a great one. Both were helpful in answering questions and showing us around the property. I have stayed at many VRBO properties and would rank this one as one of the VERY best!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a quiet place with romantic sunset

Review submitted: September 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 26, 2013

The location of the apartment is in a very nice area, perfect beach across the street. The beach is quiet and perfect to relax and swim. Candice is doing a very good job having very nice apartments with real good equipment and always taking care about the guests. Very good shopping as close to coconut point or miromar outlet.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Westwind South

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

This was our sixth vacation at Westwind which speaks for itself! We enjoy the easy access to the beach (w/o beachfront prices), beach chairs and umbrella for the beach are provided. The units are well equipped very clean and well kept. For us it's like coming home, especially when Candice is around.
We are looking forward to coming back next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Westwinds South - gem in Bonita Beach

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

This property it a gem in Bonita Beach. Easily accessible to the beach and a wonderful screened porch looking the bay, lots of wildlife. Very large and nice inside. Having a garage is a nice perk. We have rented here for several years and always have a wonderful stay. Very clean and this year updated bathroom fixtures and several new in the kitchen as well. Would not hesitate to stay here every year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Farmer

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

Great location, secure feeling, with good access to beach or bay.
We love to use the porch and view of the bay.
It has good parking for us and also for friends to visit.
It has a good setup for 2 couples. Bedrooms are separated and each have a bathroom.
We have enjoyed our stays there for the past 12 years.
It is not handicap friendly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Stay

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 2, 2012

When I travel, I expect not only to be in nice places, but also to meet wonderful and trustworthy people. I found all this here.

Additionally, specially when booking online, I greately appreciate the Claim to meet the actual facility.

In Candice's apartment we found all this and more.

Not only the apartment was great,(as advertised), it was also in great shape and perfectly clean. It was a great pleasure to be there.

Candice, Dave and everybody where just great.

We will sure be back as soon as we can.

I higlht reccomend it.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place!!

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

My family has stayed at Westwind on 4 occasions and we love coming back. Easy access to the beach (w/o beachfront prices), the kithcen is fully supplied and beach chairs and umbrealla for the beach are provided.
Westwind is clean and well kept.
The king size bed is very comfortable.
I would highly recommend Westwind.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Christmas in paradise

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

The accomodations were excellent. The description and photos were exactly as we expected upon our arrival. No surprises. Felt just like at home only warmer. Best deal around. Would highly recommend as long as it's not when we plan to use it again.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Ideal Spot for our Vacation on the Beach!

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

My husband and I were delighted with our stay at your exceptional condo. We were very impressed by how clean, well-equipped, convenient and quiet everything was during our vacation and how reasonable the rates are. We have family in the area but didn't think about renting a place on the beach until this trip. Now we're kicking ourselves for waiting this long!
Loved being able to cross the street to the sand and enjoy a practically deserted beach in the early morning each day. We really appreciated your willingness to let us stay for 10 days instead of 7 or 14 only! The walk to Doc's was quite a bit longer than we expected, but we made it home again just fine. We really enjoyed all of the dining and shopping options nearby (Coconut Point is amazing), and my husband had a terrific time trying stand up paddleboarding with Southwest Florida Stand Up. He ended up having a private lesson and tour because the rain in the forecast scared everyone else away (It didn't rain until late that night <g>)! The palm tree light sculptures in the front yard really help when you're returning home after dark!
We've been disappointed at other places in Florida, but this rental was just as it was pictured and described - what a joy! We hope to be back again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

We spent a glorious week at the Westwind and couldn't be happier. Like many travelers, we always have a bit of anxt by shopping a vacation rental online. This duplex couldn't be nicer -- everything you need, super clean, and a bed that enfolds you at the end of a busy day. Close to everything and shells galore (we found about 24 sand dollars just off Candice's private beach area. We were tickled that the lounge chairs were provided on the beach side, but thrilled that Candice also furnished sand chairs and beach umbrella -- coolers too -- for our day trips to various beaches up and down the coast! Nice touch when you fly in. Wonderful. Amazing. Not to mention that it was a joy meeting Candice and Dave (Dave met us at the house, walked us through the house, provided us with garage door opener for our stay, and provided me with a loaner hairdryer!). Everything is just like pictured. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

"The Best of Everything"

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

Can't say enough good things about our stay here. We have been coming to this area for 25yrs. always staying at the end of Ft. Myers Beach and this trip wanted to be closer to friends in Bonita Springs. How lucky we were to pick this unit! First off the website photos were very appealing and being familiar with the area we knew the location was great. We were not disappointed! Immaculate unit and property and all the comforts of home. Full size washer & dryer in unit and each unit has own garage. Loved the lanai which was like being in a tropical tree house among the birds. The beach.....cross the street and there you are with access to lounge chairs etc. Beautiful.
Friends who came every day and beached with us wanted to know "how did you find this place and where do we sign up if family wants to come down"!
Dave who is caretaker of this lovely property does his job well (even though he is a Red Sox fan). And Candice, the owner, has thought of everything to make a vacation stay here a "home away from home". As the saying goes "location is everything". This place has the beach on Hickory Blvd. which is a beautiful residential road leading to shopping, restaurants,etc. just a few miles away.
You will not be dissapointed and we can't wait to return. Thank you Candice for providing such a wonderful place to spend a vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Vacation!

Review submitted: May 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

We just wanted to thank you for providing such a nice vacation rental for our stay in Florida. Everything was clean and well-maintained. It was nice to have access to the beach for our walks at sunset. We also appreciated having a well-equipped kitchen and grill to barbeque. Thanks again! Hopefully we'll see you again next year!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Vacation ever

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

My wife and I have just returned home after having stayed the past 12 days at Westwind South .I could not have had a better time . It was relaxing and stress free. The beautiful beach across the street with all the lounge chairs you need. The unit itself is fully furnished and the lani out back that over looks the canal is great. Ther is a small marina about a mile and ahalf up the street that also has a great little resturant, I beleive it is a hiddden jewl. Over all I would recommend WeatWind south and this property to anyone that need a much deserved vacation. Looking to many more stays.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our little part of paradise!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Had a Nice Wonderful Vacation!

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

We spent a very relaxing week at Bonita Beach. Condo was very nice. We walked the beach every day, and just recharged a very drained set of batteries, with a much needed vacation, and Bonita Beach and the condo, gave us just that. Breakfast on the lanai overlooking the lake every morning, a nice walk on the beach to relax, enjoying the 75-80 degree weather everyday, and then catching a nice local restaurant in the evening. Highly recommend the NEW Coconut Jack restaurant just a mile and half away. It just opened 2 weeks ago, and has some of the best Calamari my wife and I ever had. Can't wait to go back in 2012...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning again in 2012!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: December 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 21, 2010

I heartily recommend this as a place to stay, the fact that it's such a great value is just icing on the cake. The rental is exactly as described, clean, comfortable, and well maintained.

Dave, the caretaker, was around every day and always asked if we needed anything. Candice, the owner, is very easy to deal with.

AC is great in the daytime, we liked opening the windows up for cross breezes at night.

Accessing the beach involves crossing the street and around a building- takes about a minute. It's so nice to have the beach chairs and BBQ to use. It's located at one of the least crowded spots on this stretch of beach, another plus. We'd walk the 1.2 miles down to Doc's Beach House for breakfast. Nothing fancy, but a perfect way to get the paper and justify some hash browns.

The kitchen is well enough equipped that I was able to make Thanksgiving dinner for 12 to take over to my parents house. I know knives are impossible to keep sharp in a rental, so I brought my own, but everything else was there.

No smoking is allowed indoors, which helps so much to keep things fresh. Smokers can relax on the lanai (door closed) or the rooftop deck (beautiful in the evening, a view of the ocean all the time), so they don't have to feel like pariahs standing outside.

Though someone was staying in the other side of the duplex, there was almost no sound carried from there.

The washer and dryer are great, and can save checking a bag if you don't mind wearing the same clothes a couple of times.

We grocery shopped daily for food, preferring simple cooking or Fresh Market's great deli to most restaurant fare. This allowed us to have a great stone crab dinner for 3 for less than $100, including drinks and dessert. FM's sushi was a favorite lunch.

Restaurants:Thai Home Sushi had delicious cooked fish, but we didn't like their sushi. Rhodes has terrific rice and beans, and tasty fish in a comfortable setting. Dolly's is fun for breakfast, and cheap. If you're after huge servings at breakfast, try Mel's Diner. We didn't eat at A Table Apart, but someone I trust said it was good.

Corkscrew Sanctuary (south on I-75) and The Edison House (Ft Myers) are my favorite attractions. I didn't like Edison House during the holiday season, however. It's decorated beautifully by local groups, but if you're interested in the historical aspect, a lot is obfuscated by the bows, flowers and lights. If decorating's your thing, however, it's perfect!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Duplex on a wonderful beach!

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2010

The duplex has all you need. Just across the street you've got a private place with palm trees and sunchairs right on the beach. We always come back. If you like shopping or dining out, there are several possibilities only a few miles away.
The Hausers, Switzerland

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Vacation Spot!

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 26, 2010

This condo duplex was the perfect place to stay for our family! We have a toddler, and all of our accommodations were met!! A pack-n-play and booster seat/high chair were provided which made travel for us so easy. The condo was spotless upon our arrival, and had everything we could ever need for a week-long stay. We were steps from the beautiful beach, and a short car ride to all the dining and shopping we could ever want. Candi went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. We will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 5 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: October 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

On behalf of my family –we want to thank you again for the wonderful experience we had staying at your location. The weather got better as the week progressed!

We would recommend your duplex to All of our friends and hopefully we will be able to utilize the location in the very near future.

Again, thank you for your kindness and wonderful CLEAN place!

The Lisek's

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Experience!

Review submitted: August 18, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

On behalf of my family –we want to thank you again for the wonderful experience we had staying at your location. The weather got better as the week progressed!

We would recommend your duplex to All of our friends and hopefully we will be able to utilize the location in the very near future!

Again, thank you for your kindness and wonderful CLEAN place!

Helpful votes: 5 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 1, 2010   Date of arrival: December 19, 2009

"We loved staying in your home!" It was perfect for us and would like to come again. It was just what we had in mine - thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 30, 2009

We have stayed many times and would highly recommend these accommodations. We will be returning again in 2010.

Helpful votes: 4 / 7

 

Very nice place to stay!!!

Review submitted: June 16, 2009   Date of arrival: June 1, 2009

We stayed there in June 2009 - we are a family of three and were very happy there.
The beach is beautiful and very calme and the duplex is really comfortable, clean and spacious.
We would like to return as soon as possible.....

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: Hans - We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you visit us again soon!
Sincerely,
Candice

Helpful votes: 16 / 18

 

Great place.

Review submitted: August 12, 2008   Date of arrival: August 2, 2008

Great place to stay, especially if you want a kitchen and home type atmosphere.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 32 / 34

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review