reviews for: listing #1324 - Silver Lake, Michigan Cottage rental

"The LoveShack" | Private Beach & 1.5 miles from dunes
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Upper Silver Lake
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $200 /nt
    $525 - $1,050 /wk

sort by:

Great Time

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here and had a great time. The lake is very peaceful compared to the neighboring lake that had boats and jet skis running all day. There is a lot to do in the area and we even golfed at the golf course nearby.

I read a lot of the reviews and I guess I know what to expect in a single wide trailer and I found the pictures to be very realistic to what we experienced. Most importantly it was very CLEAN!

The landscaping is beautiful and I would definitely return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Feedback - HOT!

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

We just returned on 7-19-13. Much to our surprise, the "Cottage" that is described is a single-wide trailer. We were disappointed to find this out on arrival. It was extremely hot in the trailer during the week. It was unbearable. We had the AC running with 4-5 fans running all week and the temp easily crept into the low 90's inside the trailer every day. Granted, the week we just had was the hottest of the summer, but we left a day early due to how hot it got inside the trailer even with the AC and fans running. Thankfully we spent most of our week in the water at the State Park, Silver Lake, Ludington State Park and Michigan's Adventure. But when we came back for lunch or dinner, all I could hear is Glenn Frey singing "The Heat is On"....

The outside is very nice....the dock, swing area, fire pit, nice landscaping, beach, etc.

Owners response: Yes it definitely was a HOT week! With highs just shy of 100 everyday everyone was running for the water :) The a/c does a great job removing the humidity although as with most a/c units in those kind of temps it had a hard time keeping up. This property is excellent for relaxing outdoors and stepping on your private beach to cool down. All pictures are completely accurate to what this home is and the amenities you have. The perfect place to cool down is laying on a tube in the water 50' from your door.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect spot for a family vacation!

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 19, 2013

We have four young children (8,7,3, and 1) and this was the perfect location to suit all of our needs. We had the best sandy beach on upper upper Silver Lake right outside our door. The lake felt secluded and private, yet we were less than 5 minutes away from the dunes and action in town.

The owner was very nice and accommodating, and always quick to respond. Great location, great owners, great vacation! This was exactly what our family needed!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for choosing to stay with us. I am happy your family enjoyed your stay and hope you came home feeling refreshed :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

R & R

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

The landscaping on your place was very nice. We enjoyed sitting on the swing watching the kids from across the way, play and fish.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I'm doubt we'll be back to this location.

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

The outdoor space is just as it appears. The little lake that the residence is on wasn't horrible, but it surely doesn't compare to the other lakes in the area. Silver Lake and the other lakes in the surrounding areas (Lake Ludington, for example) were much cleaner. However, it was nice to just walk out the patio down and down a few hundred feet to your own private area. The surrounding neighbors were friendly enough, though there weren't too many renters in the other residences during the week we stayed, and most of the residences are all mainly comprised of trailers. The slide that appears in the picture looks bigger than it actually is, which is just a toddler-size slide.

The rooms ARE terribly small. One of the girls staying with us refused to sleep in the twin-bunk bedroom because she was too claustraphobic, so she slept in the recliner and ended up with about 30 mysterious bites all over her arms. The pull-out sofa is horribly uncomfortable. I'm not sure how the owners think someone can spend an entire week sleeping on that thing!

The bathroom is nice and big and clean, though! However, some of the kitchen equipment is old and needs to be replaced or updated. Having a washer there was extremely convinient, to be able to re-use clothes. Taking showers was tricky becuase there isn't much hot water. I think we maybe got two showers in a row, then would have to wait a couple of hours to get more hot water. It was difficult getting 7 people ready to go anywhere.

The camper is OLD. My teenage boys didn't mind it, although they knew they didn't really have a choice, but I know I sure as heck wouldn't have stayed in there.

The Sand Dunes are a MUST SEE, going there was the favorite attraction for our crew.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: What is contained in the details & shown in pictures is exactly what you will receive.It disappoints me when a guest is not happy.Our lake is a spring fed lake that is not comparable in size to LK Hamlin.Our lake actually connects to 2 of the other lakes in the area & is treated on a regular basis and is not known for swimmers itch like Silver Lake. It is quiet compared to other lakes where you listen to jet skis & boats all day. I have repetitively heard from past guests & guests of neighboring cottages that they prefer our lake due to the peacefulness and having both a shallow area available for small children and deeper areas with floating docks for older children and adults.Our cottage is in the largest residential development in the area which is comprised of 700+ homes in a subdivision, not a mobile home park. Directly west (2 homes over)you will find homes valued $300-500,000.00. You will find a mixture of mobile homes & frame homes to the east(there are 8 lots in total east).The comment that most of the residences are all mainly comprised of trailers is not accurate.The slide is not toddler size and is standard size normally attached to swing set. Based on past use it is perfect for kids under 12. My children 8-10 rather enjoy it. The bedroom with twin bunk beds is small with normal size bunks as shown in picture.I have 2 cots available and would have offered their use if I had known about this situation. We have never received any complaints about the sleeper sofa and I will start asking guests in the future about it. If the consensus is the same we will consider replacing it.Our place is professionally treated every 30 days for pests so you can be assured of no problems and I am not sure what could have caused bites. I agree that 7 people taking consecutive hot showers is not a possibility and ask future guests to be realistic. We have a standard size residential hot water heater & 1 bathroom so the expectations should be accordingly.Two (or 3 if quick) consecutive showers is not a problem & waiting for more hot water is normal in any home.. Yes the camper is old but it works great and is clean.The kitchen is stocked with necessary items that work for their purpose and are updated as need be.The appliances are brand new and some of the pans/dishes are not the latest trend/color/style but they all work great.If you are a guest and need something you just need to tell me & I will do everything I can to make you comfortable.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Thank you so much. We enjoyed staying at your place. The kids enjoyed the water and the grounds were so beautiful, definately a relaxing place to spend time. You were very attentive when needed and willing to make our stay enjoyable as you did. The only thing which wasn't a big deal, just thought was kinda wierd was you and your husband on the property during our stay alot. In future it may have been nice to mention you stay in garage/apt during the day and night. I only felt to mention this because my kids were alittle shocked seeing a man coming in and out. Overall I felt despite this, you respected our space and allowed us privacy in the trailer and grounds near water.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Vacation

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

The place was alot smaller than what it makes out to be. The views were pretty and lake nice. The rooms weren't even standing room. Had to squeeze side in sideways in both bedrooms. My husband kept hitting his shin on the master bedroom. the bunk bed broke the first night and even after my husband fixed it my daughters were scared to sleep in the room after that. The trailer was very cold at night and we didnt bring extra blankets b/c blankets were supplied- Note- Bring extra blankets- we froze every night. The place was clean. We were not happy with the money we paid for the place- would have been better off staying in hotel for the money. We left 2 nights early b/c we were unhappy. I emailed owner to let her know we were unhappy and she never sent me a reply back. When I asked for other pictures- did not have any. The best pictures are posted- be aware of what is not. The picture of lake is of other lake on other side, the lake house backs up to is alot smaller. I was very disatisfied as was my whole familt. Was barely a step up from camping- which we probaly would have enjoyed more. I would reccomend for someone with 1 or 2 young kids- not with family with 3 teenagers. .

Owners response: For those of you considering being a guest at my cottage I can assure you that there is standing room in all of the rooms, and that you do not have to squeeze sideways to get into the bedrooms. The bunk bed on the lower bed did break on their first night due to a support board below the mattress slipping below the frame. This caused the mattress to fall approximately 6" resulting in a small thump. Instead of being notified immediately so that I could remedy the problem, I was notified the next morning and offered to repair it then, however, was refused the opportunity to repair it. The guest informed me that they moved the mattresses from the bunk beds into the living area because they liked it more open, which I can see would probably make my cottage feel smaller. I supply all the blankets you will need and have them available for your use. Each bed is supplied with sheets and a comforter. This guest did not communicate to me that they needed additional blankets, so therefore, I was not able to provide them or turn on the heat for them, both of which are available if needed. There is standing room in all the rooms. I received an email the day after this guests departure, which I responded to as soon as I returned from a family vacation. I also responded immediately via a text message when notified they were leaving early in which I never got a response. The pictures posted on my listing are accurate. Page 1 shows Upper Silver Lake which you have a view of from the deck & page 3-4 shows our lake. As a result of this review I have additional pictures available upon request. I can assure you that anything you need to be comfortable for a vacation is available to you. If you have any complaints and let me know about them I will do everything in my power to remedy the situation and make you comfortable. If you plan on spending your entire vacation indoors, my place may not be right for you. However, if you wish to enjoy the great outdoors with ammenities that you will not find at any hotel, our place is perfect for you. I work hard to make my cottage the best it can be and realise that you are spending your hard earned money to enjoy yourself. In comparison to the local hotel which charges $1800.00 a week for a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen, I would say you are getting your moneys worth and lots of extra amenities. I welcome the chance to speak with you about this review if it is causing you doubts.

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

Thank you so much for renting your place we had a great time. Brianna loved the beach, Brian loved the fishing and I loved the peace and quiet. It was hard to leave and we are hoping to make it back next year. By the way, Brian caught a 33 inch Pike in that lake, very good fishing. Anyway just wanted to say thank you and we had a great time. Shannon

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My kids loved it

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

We had a wonderful time and our kids loved staying at your place. We loved the bright colors and the beautiful beach. We found that we did not have to leave the property because our kids were entertained just playing in the water and the beach there. We loved the landscaping and just the beauty that surrounded us. Pretty flowers and butterflies everywhere. The home was decorated awesome with a great cottage feel and the dunes were incredible. Thanks for all your help in planning places to visit, we will be coming back soon for sure.

Helpful votes: 30 / 31

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review