reviews for: listing #13256 - Healdsburg, California Villa rental

Villa Terra Bella, Spectacular European Vineyard Estate
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,300 - $1,500 /nt
    $8,500 - $9,500 /wk

sort by:

Villa Terra Bella

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: June 15, 2014

Thirteen family members, plus a dog, just returned from an amazing vacation week at Villa Terra Bella. Each member of our family, from our two year old granddaughter to my 74 year old husband (and all those in between) had a wonderful time. I had expected to do lots of day trips but people were so content to hang out at the pool and on the rest of the property that we rarely left.

Darlene has a lovely estate that was matched by her gracious hospitality. Prior to arrival, I mentioned my two sons were allergic to feathers. Darlene rearranged bedding to make sure their rooms were feather-free. And when I mentioned we couldn't locate pot holders and large cooking/serving spoons late one afternoon, the very next morning we found a bag at the door with lots of potholders and new spoons.

We appreciate Darlene's responsiveness to our needs and the beautiful property, which together provided us all with a wonderful vacation. We are already talking about our next family vacation at Bella!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous New Year's Retreat

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

Villa Terra Bella was a stunning property and perfect for a three day/night getaway to celebrate New Year's Eve. We had 6 couples, and the space was perfect for a group our size. It was wonderful space for cooking, sitting by the fire, and relaxing in the hot tub. Darlene was fantastic and very easy to work with, and her recommendations for a NYE chef (Maria Vieagas) and other activities were absolutely perfect! (I highly recommend Maria and her team as well!) Tons of lovely details about the property and thoughtful touches for our stay (beach towels waiting by the door, a bottle of wine with a note, etc.). I'll be going back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"Bella" indeed!

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

I rented Villa Terra Bella for a weekend for a group of 10 adults, 2 kids and 2 dogs. It was the perfect house for a group as large as it was varied. Everyone had a wonderful time. It's a beautiful property and the pool was the perfect place to relax. Even the weather was perfect!

The owner was extremely responsive and helpful. She recommended a caterer for dinner on the Saturday and it was fantastic! Maria Vieages and her staff were friendly and professional. The food was amazing - a Cajun menu cooked to perfection.

Per another recommendation from the owner, I arranged for Refresh Event Massage to come to the house to give some of us massages. They were the best massages we have had in a while!

Everything about our rental was smooth and perfect. I would definitely recommend this property!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

We rented Villa Terra Bella for a girls weekend and we cannot tell you how happy we were to find such a gem! We had an idea of what to expect based upon all the details of the property and peoples' reviews, but we still could not believe how amazing the home turned out to be. It was perfect!

Since we had reservations in Healdsburg on Friday night, we were looking for something close to Healdsburg and reasonably priced. We found Villa Terra Bella, located just one exit from Healdsburg, which was ideal.

Our favorite things about the house:

The pool and hot tub were the highlights- we spent most of our time outside as it was gorgeous. They had everything stocked including towels, pool floats & a CD player to listen to music while we lounged by the pool.

We made all our meals besides our one night out, so it was important for us to have a nice kitchen. The kitchen was great & had every tool a chef could want. We did not have to run into town for a single item.

We had scheduled a wine tasting at the house so that we would not have to drive. The dining room was perfect for this as it had a beautiful large table, plenty of seating and enough room for those who wanted to move and mingle.

The manager of the home was incredibly organized and easy to work with. We had a slight mix-up on dates (on our end) & she was kind enough to assist in getting us an alternate place for a night. We really feel we lucked out!

All in all - one of the best vacations we've ever had!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Villa Terra Bella

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

Six couples rented this Villa and the cottage for a long weekend in early August when we attended a wedding in Windsor. It is a heavenly oasis - perfect as a home base for those of us going back and forth to the wedding venue and as a gathering spot for friends and family who stayed in nearby hotels. We spent hours in the hot tub and lounging by the pool, making use of the kitchen and the barbecue (both with music capabilities!) Two of the four bedrooms in the Villa are spacious with luxurious private baths and patios; the other two are smaller with a shared bath but still quite comfortable. The Villa is close to Windsor, a little town with a movie-set exterior, quaint shops and cafes as well as a fabulous place to rent bikes. The caretakers at the Villa responded within minutes to questions about an extra propane tank and the outdoor heating lamp and Darlene was exceptionally gracious as we dealt with the uncertainties of advance scheduling. We heartily recommend this vacation destination.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review of Sonoma's Villa Terra Bella

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

Our entire group had a marvelous time at Villa Bella Terra. We spent a tremendous amount of the time in pool area each afternoon after visiting local wineries, and cannot say enough about the great surroundings. We felt as if we had this whole little part of the world all to ourselves. Each evening, we divided up dinner duties to 2 couples (of the 6 couples total) who made wonderful meals in the kitchen and grill area by the pool. The kitchen and dining area are so inviting and great to work in as everyone waited for the evening meal. Conversations around the large dining table went on until late every evening. We even brought our own Karioke machine and sang the night away in the great family room in the main house.

I highly recommend this villa for large groups that enjoy each others company. There are so many places to relax and talk, as well as come together as an entire group for entertainment. Just a wonderful experience all the way around!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Accommodations at Villa Terra Bella

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

The accommodations at the Villa Terra Bella estate were fabulous. I would certainly stay there again and it was very comfortable for our party of 12. We spent most of the day's visiting wineries and spend the remainder of our time at the Villa using the outside grill, pool and hot tub. The property was very clean and well kept in a very quite and private setting.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wine, Sun and Fun!

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

Villa Bella Terra is the perfect rental for exploring the wine country; both for Sonoma and Napa! We had a party of 6 couples for a 5 night stay and we all loved the accomodations. It is a perfect house for a large group; for adults or for a family with children. Many of the Sonoma wineries were just minutes away and the Napa Valley is a scenic 30 to 40 minute drive.

The pool was the gathering spot every afternoon and evening and was very relaxing after a hard day of wine tasting (and buying)!

I would definitiely return to this home on a future trip to the area and I highly recommend this to any type of medium to large size group.

Dan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Property, Beautiful House, Professional Owner

Review submitted: May 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

Our wonderful vacation at Villa Terra Bella was only surpassed by how professional and helpful both the owner and local staff were. A small vineyard backdrops the pool and patio area which opens out onto the front of the house and cottage. I can't say enough nice things about the accommodations, nicely furnished spacious rooms, comfortable beds, large kitchen. There was plenty of room for us to congregate as a group or spread out on our own. We received updates and calls before we arrived, there was local wine available for purchase on arrival, and we even had some issues with our checkout and both the owner and local staff were incredibly understanding and helpful. One guest forgot a personal item and they went out of their way to ship it back to them. I reserve top marks for exceptional service, atmosphere, and lodgings and Villa Terra Bella hits the mark on all counts.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wedding Party & Parents

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 24, 2011

I wanted you to know how much we all enjoyed staying at VTB!

It was a blessing as the "Oasis" we could all retreat to and enjoy
during a wonderfully busy wedding week.

Thank you for a great place to enjoy a special event in our lives.

Regards,
Bruce W

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Week at Villa Terra Bella

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 17, 2011

We chose Villa Terra Bella for our annual family vacation. There were 12 family members including 2 children (7 and 5). This home was perfect for all of us. The guest house was used by the "late sleepers" and night owls. The early risers including the children and grandparents took the two bedrooms in the one part of the main house and the other two rooms in the main house (you go outside to reach these) were used for the kids parents and relatives. Everyone had privacy and the beds are wonderful. All of us enjoyed the beautiful pool and the surrounding area. We ate outside every night by the pool. The mornings and early evenings were great for walks looking for deer and picking blackberries down by the little bridge. Even though you feel like you are alone in the country it is a short drive to local grocery stores and restaurants. We went to the farmers market and entertainment on the village green on Thursday night - the food was good and the band was fun. This location is perfect for a trip into San Francisco or visiting the wineries, the neat towns such as Healdsburg, the Charles Schultz museum in Santa Rosa or hikes around the lakes. Our only regret was not enough time to see all the area has to offer and having to leave! Hopefully it will not be our last stay at Villa Terra Bella. Thanks Darlene!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

5 of 5
Perfect!
I stayed at Villa Terra Bella with a group of my HS friends. We were in town for a wedding and wanted to be able to stay together and have some down town together during our time in Ca. This house was perfect for us on paper and when we got there, it did not let us down!

The house was spacious enough that each of us (there were 13 in total) had our own space but we didn't get lost when we wanted to be together - usually in the huge functional kitchen or out at the pool swimming, sunning, and grilling.

Darlene was awesome. She helped hook us up with a driver and some wineries to do a tour while we were there. She also was accessible at any time before or during our stay to answer even the silliest of questions.

It really was the perfect vacation rental property and I recommend it to anyone that is staying in the Sonoma area.

Thanks again Darlene!
-Melissa

Helpful votes: 9 / 11

 

Thank you!

Review submitted: September 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 19, 2010

We stayed at Villa Terra Bella for a long weekend with friends and family. The grounds were spectacular and the pool was divine. We enjoyed the layout of the two homes which provided a lot of privacy. We spent most of our time at the large pool area but the kitchen was warm and inviting. We will definitely come back and recommend to friends. We appreciated all the special touches and care that went into the property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Great Escape

Review submitted: September 2, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2008

I rented the cottage for my wife, my dog and me for a long weekend getaway. The accommodations were just "OK" since the cottage is pretty much what one expects from a cottage-serviceable bed, serviceable kitchen, OK TV. What makes the place outstanding are the spacious grounds and beautiful pool with gourmet grill for BBQ poolside. I understand the "main house" is now available for rent and if you want better accommodations than rustic, I'd go that route.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The cottage was renovated in 2009 - inside and out. The main house and cottage rent together starting 2010.

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You!

Review submitted: April 23, 2010   Date of arrival: April 12, 2010

I just wanted to let you know again what a wonderful few days we had at Villa Terra Bella. Everyone agreed that it was a perfect getaway. I particularly enjoyed the lush landscape and the natural pool and spa. I think I still feel a peaceful glow. It was so thoughtful of you to provide coffee and the flower arrangement was a lovely touch.

We hope to visit again!

Sharon and friends,
San Bruno, CA

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

We had an incredible time visiting with our friends from Chicago at your Villa. We loved the luxurious beds and hot tub. We had a great time BBQing and lounging by the pool. Everything was just as your website showed only better. We'll definitely come back soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review