reviews for: listing #13271 - Santa Barbara, California Cottage rental

Casa Alisos
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $250 /nt
    $1,400 - $1,575 /wk
    $4,200 - $4,900 /mth

sort by:

Absolutely perfect

Review submitted: June 22, 2009   Date of arrival: June 17, 2009

A gorgeous, completely renovated cottage just off Milpas. Photos don't do it justice. Owner spared no expense on amenities, towels and sheets, dishes, appliances, decorating. Fabulous backyard w/ hammock, deck, lounge chairs, privacy. One-car garage. Super clean, beautiful colors inside, the landscaping is spectacular. We had an idyllic three nights away from reality in lovely Casa Alisos, Santa Barbara, and we'll be back as long as there's availability.

Tammy & Jeff

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

919 Casa Alisos

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2012

The cottage was even better than it promised to be - accurately advertised and depicted and stocked with everything you would need (and I mean everything - toilet paper, bath gel, sun block, zip lock bags, seasonings, paper towels) - except for your grocery purchases. I don't think there was an instant where we said, "Darn, wish we had brought that from home". There was a Bose radio, iPod charging station, and Wi-Fi. There is a list of amenities on the web site.

Amazingly livable for the small space of 788 sq ft. Large Master with King, sufficient and comfortable LR space, tiny but very nicely appointed kitchen, 2 full baths, small 2nd bdrm. Plenty of clothes hangers. The cottage The backyard was private with BBQ, table and chairs, hammock, and chaise lounges. Plenty of beach towels, umbrella, ice chest, chairs, etc. for enjoying the beach. If you're a walker - 20 min (brisk) to State Street.

The cottage is perfect for a couple but might get a little tight with an additional person. Because the baths are smaller than what we have at home, we each took a separate bathroom which really helped. Originally my niece was going to join us for 2 nights, but she had to cancel and we were actually relieved.

Bottom line - WE LOVED IT and would stay

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for us!

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

As soon as we entered this house, I felt happy. That first view - the colors, the layout, the generous windows, the cleanliness - told me all I needed to know, and I continued to be delighted with the place. My husband and I found it to be comfortable, well-stocked, and charming. It proved to be an ideal home in which to enjoy the great Santa Barbara weather with great outdoor space, as well as a sweet home in which to welcome dinner guests. The kitchen is small but efficient and it had everything I needed to prepare meals (including useful, sharp knives!). We were happy to return there at the end of each day and wake up there each morning. Perfect for our needs. One evening we made dinner for our son and his wife and for another newly-engaged young couple. When the soon-to-be bride arrived and looked around, she declared that this house was her "dream house." I already know the dates of our next visit to Santa Barbara in October and am bummed that this charming home is not available. I sure hope we will get to stay here again sometime.

Owners response: What a wonderful review. Thank you. I really appreciate folks taking the time to share their impressions of Casa Alisos as I have put a lot of love and care into the cottage.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet, peaceful, cozy cottage

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 11, 2011

My grown granddaughter and I had a wonderful stay. Our favorite activity was sitting out on the deck chatting and drinking coffee and watching the birds and hummingbirds. The back yard is so private. The landscape so green including the St. Augustine grass in the front yard. The happy colors of the walls are fun. The towels colorful and luxurious. Although we ate our meals out, the kitchen was fully furnished for home cooking. All was as discribed including photos. Clean and well maintained. Very quiet neighborhood. Beware of narrow street. Cars park on both sides of street making it one lane. I drove my pick-up and it made it very difficult to back out from driveway onto street. Had I known I would have driven my SUV. Santa Barbara has wonderful places to eat. Our favorite was Olio Pizzeria. We had the eggplant appetizer and the Parma pizza. Very different from American pizza. Tofu and vegetable meal was excellent at Something's Fishy on State St. A little surprise was at the corner of Canon Perdido and Milpas. Taqueria El Buen Gusto had some tasty burritos and taquitos. I would recommend Casa Alisos to family and friends. Laura was right...We didn't want to go home!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing Getaway

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Casa Alisos with our 12 month old daughter. It was our first vacation together as a family since she had been born. Casa Alisos was the perfect place us. The size of the home was wonderful and the back yard is to die for! Beautifully landscaped with a hammock, lounge chairs, and a patio table and chairs. We visited in June and the weather was gorgeous! We enjoyed our dinners on the outside patio table. Laura was great to work with in helping us to reserve our stay at her lovely home. She has made it comfortable, homey and welcoming. We wanted to move right in and never leave! It is just a few blocks down from all the shops and restaurants on State Street - an easy bike ride away. - and a short drive down to the beach. This home was perfect for our little family and we hope to have the opportunity to visit again in the future!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Santa Barbara Sweetheart of a Cottage

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 13, 2010

We loved the lovely, whimsical and tasteful decor of this cottage, plus the private & peaceful garden /deck.

The location is perfect being 4 minutes from the beach, good grocery shopping, and 8 minutes from downtown. We wouuld stay here again in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing option in the heart of Santa Barbara

Review submitted: April 12, 2010   Date of arrival: February 27, 2010

My husband and stayed here for 4 days early March and would go back again in a heartbeat. The size of the house was perfect for both of us & we appreciated having two bathrooms. The highlight of the house was the backyard. We napped in the hammock and sunned on the patio. We even had breakfast outside while listening to the birds. The house is a 3-min drive from State Street and a short walk from a couple of restaurants. Nice washer/dryer in garage. The process of renting was easy, and the house was clean and in good shape (except for the disposal, which we had been warned about before arrival). Just loved the entire experience!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice to come home to...

Review submitted: March 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

My husband and I and our 14-year old daughter and her friend just returned from a wonderful stay over Spring Break. The house is clean, quiet, well-equiped and decorated so lovely. It was nice having two bathrooms for four people. We appreciated the beach towels and the beautiful back yard with so many different areas to relax or eat a meal. The girls enjoyed the hammock! The location is good for grocery shopping, access to State Street and Highway 101 for more exploring. We would definitely stay again. Thank you Laura.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great place to stay in Santa Barbara

Review submitted: September 29, 2009   Date of arrival: August 30, 2009

My wife and I stayed there during the first 3 weeks of September 2009 and loved this charming home. All the right touches for comfort, close to town and the beach. We will definitely stay there when we visit Santa Barbara again. The owner is a delight to work with and she takes great care to make your stay a very pleasant one.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming

Review submitted: June 26, 2009   Date of arrival: June 10, 2009

I've rented a few houses in SB all very nice. This place is
great. Very clean, open, warm and colorful. Everything
you need and good location. I would never even inquire
looking into another place. The owner seems like a very
nice person and very helpful. Voted best Thai food in SB
just down the street. I hope to vacation here again. The
real truth is that I would rather live there then visit. You couldn't not love it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 26, 2008   Date of arrival: May 26, 2008

We LOVED our time at Casa Alisos! After lots of family time and driving on freeways in LA and San Diego, your home was a welcome retreat! It was sooo relaxing and comfortable. You thought of everything! I especially enjoyed the vibrant yet soothing colors you used throughout the house, the cozy rooms, our daily visits with the Jay that ate at the feeder and then tried to mooch our breakfast at the table on the deck, the quiet neighborhood.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 24, 2008   Date of arrival: May 24, 2008

Santa Barbara – and more importantly, Casa Alisos – was wonderful! It was a beautiful retreat from crazy Los Angeles. You have made it such a tranquil environment that we found ourselves returning to the house just to enjoy the peace and quiet of your yard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 20, 2008   Date of arrival: January 20, 2008

We are delighted with the house and all the thoughtful additions like the Bose radio, tasteful decorations, helpful notes and extra blankets, etc.

The house is perfect for a couple like us, just the right size and with all the conveniences that are so important when you travel.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review