reviews for: listing #13317 - Tulum, Yucatan Cottage rental

Stone Tree Tulum-Cottage 5 Min drive to Ruins & Beaches
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Solidaridad
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $80 - $200 /nt
    $500 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

Engaged @ the BEST Vacation Rental EVER!

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 18, 2013

This review is long over due. It has been one year exactly to this day that my lovely Fiance, Jonathan, proposed to me. Donna, the owner, was kind enough to upgrade our reservation from the cottage to the house for this special occasion...(which we don't even know her personally which means- she's just that nice!) Soco, the sweetest and most helpful property manager, even set up the upstairs room with a swan made from a towel, rose petals all along the stairs leading up to the room, and all over the bed. She even put rose petals in the shape of a heart on the bed and there was candles all through out the room. She set it all up when we went out on a wonderful adventure to Coba. All of this came from the kindness in Soco's heart. Soco also treated us to her restaurant and cooked for us, which we invited her to stay and eat with us. Soco and Donna both gave us tons of recommendations to places we should eat, visit, and see. Soco and Donna are both genuine, kind, and very giving people and exactly the kind of people you want to support. Oh, and of coarse, the house was BEAUTIFUL! The house was authentic and centralized in the downtown area. It was walking distance from the heart of the town but just far enough where you can still get peace and quiet. The house was perfect for when we came home, beat, tired and hungry from a long day of adventures. It felt homey and was fully equipped for any family home cooked dinner. There are hammocks that can be set up for relaxing, especially with the windows open, you can get a great breeze. Not to mention is perfect for a cat nap after you've been drinking and just need a little snooze before your out having fun again ;) I highly recommend this location if you are someone looking for a home away from home that has fantastic hosts and is walking distance from all the greatest restaurants, music, cafes and shopping in downtown Tulum. Lastly, the beaches are only about 2 miles from the house. Also, the Ceynotes are even closer and just as fantastic to experience. Thank you Soco and Donna, you both are gems and we look forward to our next visit at Stone Tree!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unforgettable holiday in the tropics of Tulum!

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

My family of 11 ranging in age from 1 to 75, stayed at Stone Tree for 1 week and we had the time of our lives. We absolutely loved the house and the two studios. They fit our family's needs well. The house is large, the bedrooms roomy, and the kitchen fully equipped. The beauty of the house and gardens exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed a lot the location as it is in a real neighborhood so we felt we had an authentic experience of Mexico. We will never be able to say enough about Socorro, the manager, as she was available daily for questions, concerns and suggestions. She went completely out of her way regarding my one year old granddaughter as she was ill and so she took us to a pediatrician and stayed with us from seeing the doctor to picking up her medicine at the farmacia. And this was after she worked all day in her restaurant. We are already planning the next vacation to Tulum and would stay at Stone Tree again. You can call me or write me anytime if you want to know anything else about the house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

New Years 2008

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2008

Thank you for renting us your beautiful house in Tulum! It was the perfect way to ring in the New Year! We noticed on the day of the 31st that the neighbors had started to set out stuffed men on the street. We made our own stuffed man (stuffed with balloons)and set him out. We then discovered that they were meant to be burned, and furthermore had firecrackers embedded in the stuffing! We had such a great time wandering around the neighborhoods at midnight amid all the burning men and wishing everyone feliz ano nuevo! Everyone we met in Tulum was SO nice and helpful--Soco was amazing--gave us much advice, helped arrange for two friends whose luggage had been lost by the airline to have their bags delivered directly to the house, and did such a beautiful job tidying up after us and she even made us a flan for our last night. We went swimming with turtles in Akumal, to the secret beach you recommended (everyone's favorite), snorkeling in the Grand Ceynote, to Coba and the Tulum ruins, and best of all, just relaxing in hammocks and cookiong delicious dinners at the houses. Everyone loved your place so much. It was the perfect spot to return to at the end of each day's adventure. Thank you for all your helpful advice and tips and for being so responsive to all of our many emails.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

In the heart of Tulum!

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

We have just returned home after a week's stay in the lovely Alta Cottage and could not have had a better time! Donna was a wonderful host and guide, sharing her list of places to visit which became the framework for our trip, and even taking us to her private beach! Soco provided 2 amazingly delicious meals for us, one when we arrived tired and hungry. The cottage was charming, clean and so close to the downtown activity which we loved ~ every night we strolled downtown to a different restaurant, enjoyed the carnavale going on, and just people watching from the sidewalk cafes. The beach was a quick drive from the house also . . . . all in all, an A +! We'll definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely Cottage in Tulum

Review submitted: February 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

My husband and I spent eight nights in Alta Cottage. Everything was perfect for us. The views into the courtyard and off the rooftop were especially charming. It was great to have the convenience of walking to restaurants, shops and the central plaza. We enjoyed spending relaxing time at the beach with Donna who was great at providing good tips for day trips. The cottage was clean and even the small kitchen had everything we needed to cook in. Thanks Donna...we'll be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Review July 2011 - 11 persones

Review submitted: August 3, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

My family and I have stayed at Donna's house during 7 nights in July 2011. We were 11 persons and we rent the big house + the 2 small independant rooms. We inmediatly loved the place, it's quiet, charming, secure and Socoro gives an excellent extra service (she cooks great, she delivered us some quesadillas and we went to her resturant too). We highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Tulum in-town accommodations

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

The room is comfortable and cozy.Everything was in working order. I would add a microwave to expand food preparation options.
I would also suggest to the owner to include the available (already existing) WiFi in the published rate. The additional $15.00 for the use of WiFi makes the room a bit expensive when compared to other similar places in Tulum.
I was fortunate to have the owner on the premises while I was there as she provided a great source of information about Tulum and the area in general.
The place is a good choice for a person who seek peace and quiet in a safe and convenient setting in Tulum. It is NOT close to the beach. One will need transportation to get to the beaches.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Owners response: I differ with David's remarks that the room is a "bit expensive". The going rates for rooms only in Tulum are the same as what DC paid for the Cottage Unit he rented including the added charge for wifi access in the unit and my cottage units are not "rooms only" but include full service kitchens with stove frig etc. and are air conditioned.

The beaches are 2 miles from the house. Most guests rent cars but like DC, a few do not. Taxi's - to and from the beaches, if you go every day amount to about the same as a car rental, if your-to and from-Cancun airport is factored in. There is a bike path to the beaches and bikes or scooters can be rented.

Owner of Stone Tree Little Ceynot

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Beautiful and Very Relaxing

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

Stone Tree is a beautiful and very relaxing environment. The grounds are landscaped to perfection with local flora and the house is very comfortable. The moment you walk into the house, you feel relaxed and "at home." We rented Stone Tree along with another family and everyone had plenty of room and slept very comfortably. The house had everything we needed...including air conditioning which is a huge bonus in the hotter months of the year. The house is centrally located in Tulum and close distance to the main strip and the beaches.

Another great benefit was the professional, yet easy going demeanor of the owner. She was very pleasant to work with, responded almost immediately to our emails, and provided an incredibly detailed overview of all the places to see and things to do in Tulum.

I highly recommend Stone Tree!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review