reviews for: listing #13355 - San Miguel de Allende, Central Mexico House rental

Casa Central
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Centro
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $320 /nt
    $1,050 - $2,240 /wk
    $2,300 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

Casa Central A+++

Review submitted: April 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

Casa Central has that unique location; easy walk to the jardin, safe walk for single women. San Miguel has become more lively, especially on weekends. Being removed from nightclub noise, street crowd activity and loud church bells was divine. The house is extremely spacious, beautifully furnished, well equipped with many places to be outdoors (ground floor patio, upper level patio, roof). I stayed at Casa Central for a full month and had a series of house guests.
HIGH POINTS:
The ground floor master suite is downright glamorous.
The kitchen is large and laid out so that many people can work at the same time.
Bedrooms are very private from one another.
A+ location
Lounging and cocktails on the roof - spectacular

But the best thing about Casa Central is the Owners. They live full-time in San Miguel, have deep knowledge of the City and are very attentive and responsive.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Captivated by the Magic of San Miguel

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

Casa Central was a very special home away from home and we were quickly enamoured with San Miguel. Loved the location within easy walking distance to restaurants, a grocery, the Warren Hardy Language School, concerts, the central library with its many programs, and our favourite breakfast cafes. The cobbles of San Miguel take some getting used to and living on a flat road makes a huge difference. Felt welcomed by our neighbours and loved to stop in to Las Conservas two doors away for the best paella and a friendly chat with Maria and her son, the Spanish chef Jorge.

The house has a huge comfortable light-filled master on the main floor with a superior bathroom and an immense amount of closet space. We didn't use the two bedrooms on the opposite side of the lovely garden but valued the fact that guests would have very private space and separate bathrooms.

The living and dining areas on the second floor are bright and comfortable with good lighting and a gas fireplace to take the chill off on cool evenings. The gas stove, refrigerator and marble countertops with all the necessary pots and Mexican dishes made meal preparation easy. And it was a delight to have unobtrusive housekeeping twice weekly.

The "Gaudi" design is complemented by tasteful art and furnishings. We made minimal use of the top floor patio but the views are stunning.

The stairs and balconies make Casa Central unsuitable for those physically challenged and for children.

Highly recommended. Go and be captivated by the magic of San Miguel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfectly amazing!

Review submitted: July 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 19, 2013

My husband and I needed some R&R and San Miguel was our destination. This rental house came available and was more than we had dreamed of. We immediately relaxed in our home-away-from home. It is beautifully and artfully appointed with every modern convenience...we lacked nothing. Centrally located on a reasonably quiet street, it was only a short walk to the heart of town filled with boutiques, galleries, and an unlimited selection of restaurants from a list the owners so graciously provided for us.

The house was private and safe and so very relaxing with its garden and water feature, yet you could feel the pulse and magic of Mexico around you. A true sanctuary.

Thank you for the perfect vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place!

Review submitted: February 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 18, 2012

This was beyond my expectations. There's lots of bright light, the garden is beautiful, it was an easy walk to everything in town, and all three private bedrooms were private and suitable for couples.

Really beautiful and comfortable place - everything we needed was there, and the American owners have lived in town for a long time and were generous with tips about what to do, where to eat, how and where to travel in the area. Great value for the money.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a surprise!

Review submitted: November 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 20, 2012

A surprise awaits guests behind Casa Central’s nondescript double doors facing a quiet street just a few blocks from the main action in town. My first reaction on entering was, “Is this all ours?” It takes several days to fully appreciate the owners’ first-rate design sense and all of their home’s appealing amenities—from intricate stonework, Gaudi-inspired ironwork, and fine art to multiple sunny terraces and a lushly planted courtyard with waterfall. Our group of six was amazed by the spacious property and sleeping accommodations. All agreed it was a very special and hasslefree place to headquarter for a week in historic San Miguel de Allende, with lots of privacy and all of the modern conveniences. Typed, detailed notes orient first-time visitors quickly. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

When can I return???

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2011

We rented this lovely place in June for one month...ended up staying two extra months.We were so fortunate someone could not keep the appointed time.
What a great location!!The house is comfortable and had everything one needed.
Friends very delighted to be able to share a few days with us, private quarters for them.

The property is wonderful, but the owners are the hidden asset.They Super guides, know the best places to dine as well as anything else of interest, be certain to ask for the great cook and masseuse.

Would highly recommend a stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Gaudi comes to San Miguel

Review submitted: May 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 15, 2012

We arrived mid March for 2 weeks. The owners were very helpful in helping us move our luggage across town as we had been staying with some friends until then,and during our stay any time we had a question about the use of the house it was answered promptly and efficiently. The house has a very unusual architectural style inspired by Gaudi the Spanish artist with whom the owners fell in love on a trip to Spain. The kitchen was well equipped, the house spacious and comfortable and its location very central. As there were only the 2 of us we did not use the 2 back bedrooms which are also very spacious. We enjoyed the free calls to the US thanks to the magic jack on the upstairs phone.The roof terraces offer a great view of the town. We would recommend this property to our friends in the future

Resubmit this Review

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible House in Amazing Town

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 8, 2010

This house was so much more than we imagined it would be. It was designed by the owners, Caren and David, and they attended to every detail. It's as beautiful and comfortable as anyplace we've ever stayed.

The master bedroom and connected bathroom is all white and off-white, and filled with gentle curves. It was like falling asleep inside of a cloud every night. (I especially love the tub in the bathroom. I'm usually too tall for bathtubs, but this one was long and deep enough for me to soak in.)

Our kids were each able to have their own bedroom on the other side of the garden, which they loved, and when friends came to stay with us for a week, the kids shared one room (which they loved less, but it was fine - there are two beds) while our friends took the third bedroom. Everybody who stayed in those rooms commented on how incredible it felt to start their day by walking out into the garden and seeing the waterfalls.

Nights and mornings can be chilly in San Miguel in winter, but David showed us how to use the heaters in the bedrooms, and they warmed up the rooms very quickly and effectively. Caren and David also gave us detailed information on local restaurants and were always available to answer our questions about things to do in and out of town. They made us feel more like houseguests than renters. Mariana the housekeeper and Ramon the gardener were equally friendly and very responsive to our needs.

I can't say enough good things about this place or the owners. The kitchen was stocked with all the equipment we needed, the internet was fast and always worked, the various rooftop patios were perfect for sitting on and soaking up the midday sun or the nighttime stars. The location is great, too - just a couple of blocks from the "jardin," which is the center of town.

The only problem we had was that for part of the time we were there, the town was tearing up the street the house is on. Caren was genuinely apologetic about the street work, but we knew it had nothing to do with her. As we learned, the town is always tearing up the street someplace or other in San Miguel to make improvements to the infrastructure. The work was done by the time we left and taxis were able to come to our door again. (Actually, it wasn't so bad when they were doing the work. The taxis just left us on the corner.)

This house was really a little piece of heaven. We can't wait to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very convenient location!

Review submitted: February 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

Caren and David, the owners of this property, were as helpful as one could ask. The house is beautiful, but with no central heat was cold at night. Existing fireplaces not for use. It is well equipped for warmer weather with ceiling fans in every room. You can't beat the location!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: I'm curious as to why our guests in January didn't use the state-of-the-art heaters that we have in the bedrooms. I've lived in SMA for 14 years and have never heard of one person who has central heating. I'm so sorry that they found it cold. The heaters work like a charm!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review