reviews for: listing #13387 - Paris, France Apartment rental

Charming, Quiet and Cosy Apartment in the Latin Quarter
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (EUR) €1,000 - €1,500 /wk

sort by:

Great, well-located Paris apartment

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 16, 2014

Me, my wife and two sons stayed here for 5 nights in February. The apartment is ideally located and, despite being in the heart of a bustling part of town, very quiet. There is a nice courtyard and the street on which it's located had many good shops and restaurants. We walked all over the city from here. As one would expect of a city apartment, it is smallish but perfectly adequate. We enjoyed the movie collection and watched several films that were all listed with descriptions in a big binder. Instructions for everything were detailed, and the WIFI worked perfectly. No one showed up at the appointed time to check us out on the last day, which added some stress, but was not a big deal. John-Pierre was very accessible by email even though he was traveling. Overall, this was a great stay and I would definitely recommend this apartment.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT LOCATION FOR PARIS VACATION

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 9, 2013

Jean-Pierre was a most welcoming host and very helpful as I had arrived in Paris with severe Bronchitis and he organized a Doctor to visit in a very short time - Thank you Jean-Pierre. The apartment was clean, comfortable and contained everything my Daughter and I needed for our stay. The location was fantastic with access to transport close by and a great range of restaurants nearby.Jean-Pierre also arranged fro a taxi to pick us up on the morning we departed. All in all a very comfortable and convenient Paris vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Perfect Location, Fantastic Host, Great Value, Quiet Comfortable Apartment

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2013

We have rented several apartments throughout the world through VRBO and our experience in Paris at Jean-Pierre's was one of the best. We arrived in Paris at 09:00 on the overnight train from Milan and since there was no one booked in the apartment the night before, Jean-Pierre advised us to come right over from the train station (a 12 Euro cab ride from Gare de Lyons) and he would be there to greet us for the check in. His information package on the apartment is complete and easy to follow and he carefully went through all the essential information so we were set for the week. A large bowl of fresh fruit and a litre of fruit juice was a very nice added touch to welcome us to Paris.

Within a liesurely 5-10 minute walk, we could reach the Cathedral of Notre Dame, Museé de Cluny (Medieval Museum), the Sorbonne University, Museé Delacroix and the Luxembourg Gardens. Within a 20 minute walk, we could reach Museé d'Orsay, Museé du Louvre, Museé des Arts Décoratifs, and Museé de l'Orangerie. And with a Metro stop 3 minutes away, we could get anywhere we wanted to go in Paris once we figured out it how it worked (it really is quite easy).

The apartment is located on the ground level (no stairs) in a courtyard right in the heart of the Latin Quarter. This area is very busy at night, which is part of the fun of staying in the Latin Quarter. There is considerable noise from the nearby restaurants into the wee hours of the morning, yet we heard absolutely no street noise from inside the apartment. We were visiting Paris during the second week of August and were concerned about the heat, especially since air conditioning is very rare in Paris. However, the evenings were comfortably cool and we slept with the windows open and were not disturbed by any noise at all. The beds and leather couch in the living room are very comfortable and the apartment had everything we needed. A large supermarket is two minutes away and other amenities such as a post office, bank, pharmacy and Lebanese, Crepe and other takeout and dine-in restaurants are even closer.

We highly recommend Jean-Pierre's apartment for its location, comfort, fantastic value and the friendliness of the host.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Quiet retreat in vibrant part of Paris

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 3, 2012

Apartment is as is appears in the advertising. Quiet, with comfortable beds and furnishings. Kitchenware very adequate, amenities all in good order. The owner, Jean Pierre, was very responsive to my emails and reliable in meeting us and assisting us to settle in. Excellent instructions on apartment's facilities. Great location. Absolutely would stay here again and recommend the apartment to friends

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Quiet retreat in the heart of Paris

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 6, 2012

Four of us (2 adult couples) spent five days at J-P's Latin Quarter apartment in early June. The apartment is small, but very efficiently laid out so it seems bigger than its dimensions suggest. It's on the ground floor, so no stairs to negotiate. And it faces on an interior courtyard so, despite being on a very busy street (busy with pedestrians, not cars), it is very quiet inside. The place has everything a group of 4 could need for an extended stay, including an extensive library of books and movies, wifi, washer AND dryer, dishwasher, etc. It is within an easy walk to all the restaurants, boulangeries, markets, etc that you could possibly need, and to all of the central sites, like Notre Dame, the Louvre, and Luxumbourg Gardens. The owner, J-P, was quick to respond to my many emails prior to arrival, and met us at the apartment at the pre-arranged time with a gift of wine, water and fruit. Thanks J-P, for providing us the opportunity for a wonderful stay in Paris!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect location - simple but functional

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

This apartment was perfect for a family of 4. It was simple and cozy, as the title suggests and very well located for exploring all over Paris, or just staying close by in the Quartier Latin. We ate in for several meals and the kitchen was appropriately sized. There was noise transference between the two bedrooms, the dryer was not working and a number of the lights in the bathroom were burned out, but these were minor problems and otherwise we had a smooth stay. Jean-Pierre was very helpful and kindly accommodated our early arrival. We also found lots of helpful information for our stay, in the pamphlets and binders Jean-Pierre supplied. The apartment would typically be quiet, except that renovation work was going on in the building at the time of our stay, so we did have construction work in the mornings. We would absolutely stay here again, as it met our needs and our budget.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Dear Heather,
I apologize for the renovation work which tainted your stay at my place. It was scheduled to be finished by your time of arrival, but was unduly delayed. If you choose to come again, please mention this exchange of review and response, and I will give you a discount.
Best regards and happy new year.
Jean-Pierre

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ease of living. Great instructions

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2009

J.P.
Thank you for a wonderful Parisian experience - what a joy to be able to be here in such a great location! Easy to find everything one could possibly want!
You're going to have to come to California sometime! We so appreciated your apartment and indulged in the movies. Your explanation book was brillant! Great instructions.

We experienced many great things but the ease of living here for 9 days was what made it all the more enjoyable. How lucky to be in such a vibrant city!
Thank you again,
Au Revoir,

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best place we've ever stayed in...

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 29, 2011

Jean-Pierre,
Thank you so much for letting us use this amazing little home. We really liked the location and all the amazing monuments around us. We will tell all our friends in Boulder about this home. We think this is probably the best place we've ever stayed in, in Paris.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cobblestones & gargoyles

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: April 6, 2011

First time in the beautiful city of Paris. Perfect location to beautiful and historic sights. Cobblestones, gargoyles - splendor. Amazing. Historical. And the food - yum.

If I ever get the oppotunity to return, which I hope to - the apartment is the best location I could ever imagine. The memories will stay with me forever, the sights and sounds of beautiful Paris.
Au revoir.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wine and Cherries

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

Jean-Pierre
We've been extremely privileged to have been able to visit Paris, not once, but twice in the same month - and even more so by being able to stay in the cutest apartment in Paris! It has its own little personality and character - helpted by its owner, JP. After long days sipping on coffee, shopping, seeing the famous sights - and most importantly, being 'French', it was nice to be able to come "home' to this fabulous apartment. Thank you, Jean-Pierre, for your fantastic hospitality during our two stays... truly a gentleman with great taste in wine! (and his love for cherries ;-) )
Expect to hear from us again, hopefully in the near future. We love Paris and the Latin Quarter!
Love from your Aussie friends,
(PS: go to the creperie 4 doors down and ask for a Nutella crêpe - this was our diet for most of the stay. :P

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

perfect accomodations in the center

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

Jean-Pierre,
Thank you for the perfect Paris accomodations.
We loved being in the center of everything. So convenient.
Thank you for meeting us here, showing us how to maneuver and for leaving special "snacks".
You are a host anyone would love.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Returning guests from Australia

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

Our second stay at JP's! Once again we found the location perfect. The shopping along Rue St André des Arts is as good as anywhere else in Paris. We enjoyed dinner at "Vin et Terroirs", again, just down the street.

Although we used the metro a couple of times, there was little need as there was so much to see within walking distance of the apartment,
eg: the oldest church in Paris, the oldest restaurant in Paris, the oldest tree in Paris.

We plan to return again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful experience & beautiful apartment, films!

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

Dear JP and Jules,
Thank you so much for letting us stay in your aartment for the week! The location was perfect for shopping and for picking up something to eat. We particularly enjoyed the movies in your collection and we watched one or two every night after walking all over Paris. This was an unforgetable trip for all of us and we will hopefully be coming back again someday! Thank you for the wonderful experience and the beautiful apartment.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

relaxing space just steps off the busy streets

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 7, 2011

We have had a wonderful week exploing more of Paris, thanks to this quiet and comfortable escape. Who would believe we could have such a relaxing space just steps off the busy and interesting streets of the Latin Quarter? After hours of walking around Paris nearly every day, it felt great to come "home", put up our feet, and recharge for the next adventure. Thank you for the wine and fresh fruit, which we throughly enjoyed.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

My dream apartment

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2009

My 10 year old twins and I stayed at this apartment for a week to celebrate their 11th birthday. We had more than a great time. We tried out hardest to figure out how we could rent the apartment for a year. Alas reality sank in. My kids could go out the front door by themselves and get crepes from one of the many creperies on Rue des las Artistes. In the morning they would go down the street for pain chocolat. I honestly could not have been happier with the apartment. I was very warmly welcomed by JP and his son Jules. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

still dreaming of returning...

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2009

Believe it or not, my family and I actually stayed here two years ago now, and I still talk about it. We looked everywhere for good accommodations as my mother has Parkinson's and my daughter was under two at the time. We needed to be in the thick of things, but quiet at the same time - and no stairs was important for both of them as well. The apartment was very comfortable, very quiet, well equipped, and right in the center of everything. I don't think I had to take a bus once! J.P. was very courteous and hospitable, and helpful when the little one came down with croup. In addition to all of the convenient delicious restaurants in the area, there is also a pharmacie right across the street. One evening there was literally a professional singer having an impromptu performance 1/2 block from the door of the building. All I can say is I highly recommend renting from J.P., and enjoy!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location in the heart of Paris

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2010

would like to personally thank you and your daughter Jessica for your hospitality and consideration whilst in your accommodation. Not only did your accommodation live up to the description but the location, service you provided and accommodation facilities were better than what was described. After getting to your accommodation via a train and bus strike it was so lovely to have the bottle of wine and fresh figs and grapes ready for us. We could just relax for the rest of the night.

I am very happy for you to use these comments in your feedback reviews if you desire.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: June 10, 2007   Date of arrival: June 10, 2007

I knew exactly what I wanted in terms of location in Paris, amenities, ambience. I researched many apartments and communicated with many owners, with my list of questions, before selecting 37 rue St. Andre des Arts. It was a perfect choice! A friend and I rented the apartment for one month and during that time had two adult guests. For one week all four of us were residents. We found the apartment to be very functional for us, with lots of storage space. We were delighted with the location; we could walk to many of the places we wanted to be or had easy access to public transportation or taxis for others. This was a special concern for me because I have restricted mobility. But I could walk to Notre Dame, the Cluny, the markets, Eglise St. Germain--and the street itself and neighboring streets are wonderful for strolling. If circumstances allow me to return to Paris, I will most assuredly return to what became my Parisian home for one month this spring.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Review submitted: May 8, 2007   Date of arrival: May 8, 2007

We had a wonderful time in this apartment. Although a little small, the apartment was perfectly suited for our family with 2 young children. The apartment was close to everything and in the middle of a great neighborhood. The owner went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable, as we visited Paris during a brutal heat wave. We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review