reviews for: listing #13427 - Harsens Island, Michigan House rental

Huge new waterfront vacation home on 2 acres
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $900 - $1,900 /wk

sort by:

Fantastic place

Review submitted: August 25, 2014   Date of arrival: August 21, 2014

Everything was exactly as stated. What a beautiful home. It's as if you don't have any neighbors. With all the shade trees you feel and really are completely secluded. Lake St. Clair is known for it's smallmouth bass and wow are they fun to catch. You could spend the summer at this place and never run out things to do. Owner was great and very easy to work with. The pier is over 100 yards long and it takes you out past the sandy beach to deeper water which was a plus for those bringing up boats. There is a line of reeds 30 yards past the pier and it really knocks down all the waves coming in from the bigger boats going down the channel and really helps protect the boats from banging the pier. There's just nothing negative about this home. Big, well decorated, nice comfortable beds and everything you need for a great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: The dock is capable of mooring several boats, the largest we had was a 50 foot Sea Ray. The swimming and diving are excellent, the water is blue and clear.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A little piece of Heaven

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

The owner is very nice and professional. The house is fully furnished and has plenty of sleeping room. It's by far the best house I've rented on the island. The dock is in deep water and the boat parking is proper for a 30' formula without issue. 10' of water at the end of the dock makes for perfect diving and flips without hitting the bottom.
The beds are all comfortable, and the kitchen is perfect for getaways or longer stays. Flat screen TV in the main living room worked great.
The neighbors are quiet and respectful, I got along perfectly with everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Family time on Harsens Island

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

Thank you Donn we had a great time! We swam, fished, played games, and enjoyed the the home and the deck as much as we could. The pictures don't do the home justice. It has everything you need. We took many great pictures. Thanks Don.

The Baker Family

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Good to hear, and thanks for leaving everything in such great shape.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous Experience!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

An excellent all round experience! The house is lovely, clean and updated nicely. The property sits right on the shore and there is very easy access to the water and dock. The owner is great -- very accommodating, flexible and easy to work with. Stayed there with my husband and four kids, endless things to do for the kids to amuse themselves outside. Though it was winter, we could see the nice sandy beach right in front of the house, with shallow water for small kids to gradually wade in. We had a great bonfire at the fire pit on the beach too. Home is well equipped with everything you'll need and very centrally located. Ferry access is easy, there is a local grocery open nearby and prices were actually pretty good. We took a quick trip back to the mainland too, which was easy and quick -- there is a large Kroger just minutes from the ferry.

Would strongly recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 12

 

Harsens Island North Channel

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2009

We highly recommend this rental. Our family has rented this home for a week each summer for the past several years. It is clean, spacious, comfortable, well-equipped and easily accomodates a large family. We've hosted a one-day family reunion each year with plenty of space for about 20-25 people. The owner is great -- flexible and responsive. It is easy to get there and easy living once you arrive. You can pick up groceries before boarding the ferry -- there is a supermarket very near the dock. There are also a couple of stores on the island where you can buy food and supplies but the selection is limited and the prices can be high. A former school on Harsens Island had been converted to a restaurant and we had a terrific Sunday breakfast there last year.

Bottom line: Harsens Island is a wonderful getaway if you're looking for a place to relax and rejuvenate and this home is an excellent spot to do it. Although Harsens Island is easily accessible from Metro Detroit, it feels like you've left all of life's stresses behind as soon as you board the ferry. Once on the island, you can do as little or as much as you please, be it enjoying the water from a comfortable chair under a shady tree, wandering into the town of Sans Souci or using the house as a base for day trips to Port Huron or other nearby towns. Last year, we took a boat tour from Port Huron into the St. Clair River and up into Lake Huron. But we spent most afternoons at the house watching boaters and wildlife, reading and napping. We're looking forward to another great week this year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 19 / 25

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review