reviews for: listing #13538 - Sunset Beach, Hawaii Villa rental

Sunset *Beach Front* Hale Kalea
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $495 - $600 /nt
    $3,465 - $4,200 /wk
    $13 - $16 /mth

sort by:

Great Home!

Review submitted: April 1, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

Just wanted to say thank you very much to you for the opportunity of staying in your beautiful home . We thoroughly enjoyed it , the house works really well with the large bedrooms , comfy beds, large separate ensuites . Kitchen is very well equipped & all the TV , DVD , iPod etc are great. Wireless network excellent! Towels , sheets etc supplied is a nice touch. Keys , Codes , Gate remote system works perfectly! The location is perfect , definitely one of the best on the North Shore! & thank you for your kind emails & caring follow up with the BBQ etc. I bought a couple of new cooking tools & left them there as a token of my appreciation. Cheers!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Amazing and Magical!

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

Tara, I really want to thank you for sharing your hone with us. We had a fantastic trip. My husband really enjoyed the surf right outside the house, our teenagers and younger kids had plenty of space to hang out and play, talk, and watch movies, we enjoyed many grilled meals at home and watched some stunning sunsets and a striking lightening storm. We also had good fare from the Pupukea Grill truck (yum), went on a great hike in the mountains behind Pipe, went horseback riding at the Hawaiian Polo Club and again at Happy Trails Ranch, enjoyed lounging on the beach at Laniakea, and went to a fantastic Luau at Chief's on the Hawaii Kai side. And every morning we saw fantastic surf and surfing while drinking coffee on the deck. Your beautiful home contributed greatly to our magical vacation. Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sounds like a fun trip! Welcome back anytime!
Owners

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Incredible Location! Incredible House!

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 22, 2013

This review is overdue, but we just can't stop talking about the incredible vacation we had at Tara's beautiful beach house on the North Shore in January. We were celebrating my parents 57th wedding anniversary and things couldn't have been more perfect. The house is beautiful and literally right on the beach. We sat on the deck for hours watching the big surf and the brave surfers who were challenging it. The house had everything you could need and the layout was perfect for a large group. Most of all, Tara was a joy to work with and responded quickly to my many inquiries. We're talking about where to go next January and we all want to go back to Sunset Beach! Thank you Tara for the wonderful Aloha.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Sunset BeachOcean Front Beach House -Best Value

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

This house is absolutely the best deal for a Sunset Beach ocean front house. The house has an unobstructed view of all of Sunset Beach. The house has four very private bedrooms that are actually more separate suites with their own bathrooms. Two of the bedrooms have ocean views and decks. The house is immaculate and very high quality (designer kitchen, etc.). The great room is very large and open with magnificent views of the ocean. The house is separated from the main road and as a result was very quiet--no road noise. (Many of the ocean front houses in North Shore are right on the highway and suffer from lots of road noise.) The owner is very very helpful and responsive. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and our looking forward to returning in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed!
Owners

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

First Class Stay on Sunset Beach!

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 13, 2013

I just wanted to let you all know that this is the 3rd time we've stayed in this house. We have stayed in 4 others on Sunset Beach and this is by far the most elegant - large - updated place we've rented.

For an awesome stay with plenty of room you can't beat this house!!!

Watch surfers right off the front deck. BBQ dinner and see some of the most fantastic sunsets you've ever seen. Then sleep in one of 2 suites that are enormous and very nice!!!

You will not regret staying here!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: So happy to share the magical place!!
Owners

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

love this house

Review submitted: February 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 28, 2013

thank you so much tarra for sharing this house with me and our friends we had a great time the house and beach were awesom very clean very beautiful house would reccomend very highly the only promblem we had was it was to close to teds bakery had a different pie every night for dessert lol
see ya next year thanks again

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Minnesota

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

This is a beautiful home on an amazing beach. It is always hard to tell from pictures what a property looks like and I think this home is even better then the pictures. And I am very picky about cleanliness and this one definitely passed my test. If you are questioning to stay in Honolulu or the North Shore, pick the North Shore. We went to Honolulu 1 day to visit Pearl Harbor and never cared to go back after that. It is just too gorgeous on the North Shore. And this home is in the perfect location. Who wouldn't want to wake up, go out on the deck and watch the surfers and soak up the sun. And in the evening have dinner and drinks out there and watch the sunset. And both directions, you never run out of beach.
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful home and beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

This beautiful home was my Christmas present to my family . No one was disappointed. Great location. Well maintained and comfortable home. Beautify views. Great beach. Owner anticipated the guests needs. Shrimp trucks, Ted's Bakery, Shaved ice.I thought I died and gone to Heaven . I didn't want to leave. I would highly recommend a stay at this wonderful home. I would go back in a heart beat.

Owners response: We are happy to share our special place! So exciting to hear the great experiences..
The owners

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Happy from Australia!

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 12, 2012

We have just returned home to Australia from our holiday to Hawaii so we would like to take the opportunity let you know how much we enjoyed staying at your wonderful home. The location was fantastic and the house itself was just perfect for our family. All of our children loved the house it and particularly enjoyed having their own room. We were very impressed that the pantry and the fridge was stocked with the basic essentials and we just enjoyed staying there so much and will most certainly be returning. We have told our friends about it as well so expect some more Aussies to use your wonderful home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely Beachfront Property

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Just a quick note to tell you how much we enjoyed staying in your lovely home in Hawaii. Wish I was there now and out of this Califofnia heat!! My favorite spot was just hanging out on that wonderful deck looking out at the beautiful ocean and beach. My son took some great pictures of your home while
staying there, I should send them to you! We did appreciate how well stocked the home was with those essentials you hate to go out and purchase when staying at a vacation home. We appreciated the ample sleeping space and plenty of bathrooms, always important when traveling with extended family! Mahalo, and we hope to visit again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Week on the Beautiful North Shore

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

Thanks for the wonderful week on the beach. The house was outstanding! Fantastic location at Sunset Beach. Close to everything on the North Shore. A mile from summer snorkeling at Shark's Cove. Directly on the beach with fabulous views. House was very comfortable, clean and well-cared for. Everything was as pictured, but so much better in person. Owner was a pleasure to rent from; no hassles. Wonderful experience all around. We would highly recommend this house to anyone looking for a beachfront stay on the North Shore.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We loved this beach house!

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

We had an incredible time at the Sunset Beach home and didn't want our vacation to end. We did a lot while we were there...Pearl Harbor, the Cultural Center, and Hanauma Bay, but the kids just wanted to get back to the beach house!

It was very private and the home is beautiful. Sometimes the waves would get a little bigger than our kids could handle, so a couple times we walked up to the public beach to the north and enjoyed the calmer surf there. The view of the water from the home can't be beat. It was fun to look outside and just see ocean. :)

We have very fond memories of the five days we spent on the North Shore and Tara was wonderful to work with. This beach house made our stay on Oahu absolutely ideal! Thank you so much!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sunset Beach House

Review submitted: May 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 2, 2012

We stayed here with another couple the first week of May to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The property is advertised as the house looks exactly like the photos and you feel like you have your own private beach! We walked the beach each morning for a good workout,rode rental bikes up and down the North Shore, snorkeled,swam,played horseshoes which have been donated to the house and BBQ'd each night to beautiful sunsets. Made the requisite visit to Ted's Bakery,hiked to Waimea Falls and cruised through the surf shops in Haleiwa. You won't be disappointed wiht your stay here, very laid back and great views from the deck!
Aloha:)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

We had a group of four friends celebrating my brother's 50th birthday and we couldn't have picked a more perfect home to celebrate! We especially liked the floor plan configuration...4 bedrooms each with their own bathroom plus there is a large open living room / kitchen area for our nightly entertaining. We each had our own private areas along w/ TV's in each bedroom when we wanted some quiet time but at the same time, had a wonderful area for gathering to eat wonderful meals together and play cards and scrabble almost every night (just fyi...scrabble game is missing a lot of letters but we made due..it made it more challenging). The location was perfect for us and it felt like we had our own private beach...hardly any people around. We mostly enjoyed hanging out on the porch by day, sunning, listening to music and reading. By night, the porch turned into a really fabulous place to dine...one of our group members is an excellent cook so we had a five star view of the ocean along with five star meals and cocktails. I'm ready to go back!! Tara was wonderful...Thanks Tara!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Exceeded Our Expectations!

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

We knew the house would be great but this place is awesome! Beautiful, clean and comfortable. It's even better than the photos shown. We had 4 adult couples and the house was perfect for all of us. Very few people on the beach this time of year, which gave the feeling of having our own private beach. Favorite activities were early morning surf check with coffee on the deck and sunset cocktails, again, on the deck! We spotted turtles swimming by the house every day. Ted's Bakery became a regular stop. Fun, small surf most days at Rocky Point which is practically in front of the house. The property owners were great to work with and very responsive. The only problem was that 6 nights was not long enough. I highly recommend this property to families and groups of good friends who want to kick back and soak in the beauty of the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Kim,
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful home, beach, and surf! We miss Ted's Bakery often :) It was unfortunate you weren't able to stay the rest of the month with the rest of your group, everyone seems to be having a great time!
Regards,
The Owners

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Couples Vacation

Review submitted: January 27, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

Words can hardly describe a vacation here. From the first moment I contacted Tara I knew this would be an excellent vacation. The pictures don't do the home or the view justice. I planned a trip for myself and my wife along with two other couples, this home provided all of us plenty of privacy when we wanted and because of the size of the living room and kitchen area we never felt cramped when we were all together. The sounds of the ocean with the doors and windows open was intoxicating, that is what I will miss most, because that you cannot duplicate. The views from the deck and beach are unmatched. All the bedrooms we used had ocean views and there for got wonderful ocean breezes. The outdoor shower is also a great feature after a day at the beach. Asfor the beach it is for all intents and purposes private. We saw only the occasional person walking by. Also you are a very quick walk to sunset beach park and also pipeline. We saw a small surfing competition while we were there. There are so many great things about this house I am sure I am forgetting many. The kitchen is top notch all the silver ware and everything else a large group needs. Plus you have a washer and dryer. Too many great things to list. I promise this home will not disappoint. Plus you are close to the polynesian cultural center, a must do while you are there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing

Review submitted: January 26, 2011   Date of arrival: January 11, 2011

My husband and I took our two little girls 2 and 4 along with both sets of grandparents. We absolutely loved the house. It was so nice to walk out on the porch and hear the waves crash (especially at night). It was so convenient to walk off the porch down a set of stairs to the sand and walk along the ocean. I would love to book this house again next hear.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise - May/2010

Review submitted: June 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 26, 2010

We recently returned from spending a week at this beach house. It was everything we could want and more. The location is perfect if you want to be on the beach. The house is spacious and very comfortable. The area is peaceful and quiet with neighbors on both sides. The kitchen has everything stocked in it and we grilled out every night and the living room is very comfortable. The beds were comfortable and there was plenty of room in them, the bathrooms are large and beautiful. There are TV's in every room, however we never turned them on as we spent much of the time on the deck and at the beach. The view is spectacular and we enjoyed watcing the surfers and the sunsets. The house is centrally located, we went to Ted's bakery often (highly recommended), Turtle beach, Shark's Cove and the ate at the Shrimp trucks. You need a car, but the parking is more great. There are some really great fruit stands nearby as well. Our family hopes to return and I would definately recommend it to friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

brought our family together for my son's wedding

Review submitted: October 27, 2009   Date of arrival: July 7, 2009

the house was beautiful, the setting was awesome and the family was totally comfortable and happy here! my son got married during the week we were here at Turtle Bay Resort which was a few minutes down the road. of all the mainlanders that attended his wedding, we were the closest and frankly the envy of everyone there. it was tough to leave that beautiful beach setting, the amazing amenities and total luxery we felt there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a wonderful experience!!!

Review submitted: August 27, 2008   Date of arrival: July 19, 2008

What a truly memorable holdiay our family experienced at this house. It met all our expectation and then some. I will honestly say all of us are spoiled now. No one wanted to leave.
The house was immaculate and had everything we could possibly need in terms of cookware, grill, dished. You name it they had it.
The beds were very comfortable and with individual bathrooms everyone had their own privacy.
The Foodland was only at most a 10 minute drive down the road..
We loved swimming with the turles at Turtle Beach and jumping off the rock at Waimea Bag.
A truly wonderful experience was had by all. Would definitely return to this house
Our last evening there we were entertained by 11 surfers and the most gorgeous sunset ever
We would definitely return to this wonderful relaxing retreat on the North Shore.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review