reviews for: listing #13560 - Truro, Massachusetts House rental

Luxury Truro 2BR vacation home &/or 1BR guest house
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $500 /nt
    $975 - $3,500 /wk

sort by:

GREAT HOUSE, LOCATION AND OWNERS

Review submitted: June 21, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

Rented the main house for 2 weeks in June and had a wonderful time.

Open and airy upstairs level (great room in center, master bedroom off one end, screen porch off the other) is even nicer than photos suggested.

Comfortable bedroom suite downstairs.

Private and quiet with great views.

1 mile from Truro center, 5 minutes from magnificent ocean beach, and 15 minutes from Provincetown.

House is well maintained, with owners who are well organized and receptive to questions or requests

We have rented many vacation homes over the years and feel this was among the very best.

The next time we vacation on Cape Cod, we will definitely try to rent it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love Truro? Love this property!

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Everything was fantastic! We have been to the Cape a number of times and we love Truro. The clean guesthouse was perfect for the three of us, home away from home. Plants and cozy places to sit, ponder and work or read. Wi Fi worked fabulously. It was nice to have linens, towels, a comfortable bed and couch! Great outside space (lovely patio, real outdoor furniture, outdoor shower, hammock, clothesline), awesome bbq, fans (didn't need the AC), cool measuring cups, TV, stereo and much more that I haven’t listed. All that one needs! Your rocking chair upstairs is beautiful! Thank-you so much again, we felt very comfortable in your home. Appreciated the warm welcome note and email. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love Truro? You will love this property!

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Everything was fantastic! We have been to the Cape a number of times and we love Truro. The clean guesthouse was perfect for the three of us, home away from home. Plants and cozy places to sit, ponder and work or read. Wi Fi worked fabulously. It was nice to have linens, towels, a comfortable bed and couch! Great outside space (lovely patio, real outdoor furniture, outdoor shower, hammock, clothesline), awesome bbq, fans (didn't need the AC), cool measuring cups, TV, stereo and much more that I haven’t listed. All that one needs! Your rocking chair upstairs is beautiful! Thank-you so much again, we felt very comfortable in your home. Appreciated the warm welcome note and email. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Terrific place in Truro

Review submitted: September 27, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed here and it continues to be a great place. It helps that the owner is an architect who places a premium on quality design, furnishings, landscaping, and decorating. While the original design is late 70s, it holds up well and far surpasses most Cape-style ticky tacky and poorly built rentals. The main room has lots of natural sunlight, large windows, and a fantastic deck. If you like to cook, the stove is to die for. The downstairs accommodations are a separate unit providing complete privacy from the upstairs. Not much going on in Truro other than great beaches on the bay and ocean, and an outstanding restaurant down the street (The Blackfish). If you want to drive ten minutes up Rt. 2A, there is another outstanding restaurant, Terra Luna. Both are pricey but worth it. All around a great place!

Owners response: Although I designed the home (1988), I am a former builder, not an architect. Thanks for the kind words about the house and for sharing your restaurant suggestions.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truro perfection

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Well thought out, well furnished and decorated, excellent appliances, more electric outlets than any group could need for all their electronic devices, very clean. You will want to take good care of it and leave it as you found it.

Our family has been renting on the outer Cape for decades and this house met the demanding standards of three generations!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unpretentious good design and comfort in a private, convenient location

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Well thought out, well furnished and decorated, excellent appliances, more electric outlets than any group could need for all their electronic devices, very clean. You will want to take good care of it and leave it as you found it.

Our family has been renting on the outer Cape for decades and this house met the demanding standards of three generations!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Magical retreat

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

The Laurel was a gorgeous, spacious, quiet and clean house. There is a beautiful view of national forest from the screened in porch. The rooftop porch is perfect for stargazing. It was the perfect place for a vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ideal Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

We have been vacationing at the main house for the past six years. The house layout accommodates our family of four perfectly.

You are surrounded by nature at the Laurel or the "Red House," which is what our kids call it. The screened-in porch, off the main living area, is a tranquil spot to enjoy the views, listen to the whispering pines or just kick back and read a book.

The house is well-maintained and is always clean on arrival.

We are already looking forward to our next stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great location

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

We recently returned from a wonderful week at the Laurel home on Cape Cod. We had our entire family and used both houses. The setting and location were great, and the facilities at the home were better than we could have expected. Everything was spotless and ready for move in on Saturday when we arrived, even the bikes we rented for the week were waiting for us. I would highly recommend this location, and will plan to stay there again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful home, wonderful stay

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

This is a lovely home in a wooded area of Truro. It is clean, comfortable, private, well-lit and a lovely place to relax after exploring the bay and ocean beaches, fresh water ponds, local excellent restaurants. There's a staircase to the roof from which to watch beautiful sunsets. The owner was very pleasant to work with and responsive to our needs. Would certainly return again..we just had a great time. Rebecca Berkeley, CA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

September Two-Week Stay At The Laurel Main House

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

Maddy and I took a two-week off season rental at the Laurel Main House from September 17 to October 1, 2011. The house is perfectly laid out for two couples. The downstairs bedroom has its own bathroom and offers great privacy. There is even a fold-up bed downstairs for an additional guest.
Upstairs, the house has everything we were looking for to accommodate a two-week stay. The master bedroom is very comfortable, with plenty of storage in the walk-in closet. The kitchen/living/dining area has everything you might need for meal preparation and entertaining. Even the entertainment system is well thought-out. It offers Direct TV, CD/DVD player, and internet access through a MAC computer. There is wireless access if you bring your own laptop. The screened-in porch located off the living area was great for having some wine and cheese and great conversation. Additionally, we had access to the garage, which was great for storing suitcases, beach chairs, bicycles, etc.
The house is in beautiful wooded surroundings, and the setting is quiet, restful, and stress-free. From Truro, the drive to Provincetown is less than ten miles and all that Wellfleet offers is that distance or less. We even went to the large Stop & Shop in Orleans to stock up on food at only 17 miles distance. You could say that the location in Truro is great for anywhere on the Outer Cape.
Our bottom line is that we stayed in a great home and had a great time on the Cape in September. We highly recommend the Laurel for consideration as a temporary home on Cape Cod.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Laurel guesthouse

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

Our family had a wonderful week in this charming little house in the woods. It's so hard to know what a rental house will be like when you just see it on line, so we took the recommendation of good friends who had stayed here several times, and we're glad we did! Our two daughters (11 and 8) adored the all wood interior, and said they felt like they were staying in the Berenstain Bears treehouse. We also appreciated the seclusion and quiet of being right in the woods. The house is absolutely immaculate, everything works as it should, and there are plenty of high tech gadgets for people who are into that sort of thing. Close to beaches and lots of other attractions. We'll be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loving the Laurel

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Several friends and myself all spent a week at the Laurel, and I can't find enough good things to say. The property was beautiful and felt remote even though everything we needed (beach, groceries) was accessible via bike. We came in late so we just missed Roy, but he called the next day to make sure everything was alright. Then, when we had an issue with the wireless internet, he quickly troubleshooted over the phone with us.

The house itself had everything we could have asked for (a third-floor roof deck for watching the stars, surround sound, washer/dryer, screened-in deck, outdoor shower, etc), and was very clean when we arrived.

We had a fantastic week on the Cape, and we owe a large part of that to the Laurel (the non-stop sun was nice too).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Off-season visitor from Anchorage

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

I just wanted to send a note stating how pleased I was with my stay at The Laurel. It is absolutely beautiful and I will recommend it to anyone. I found the area lovely and the locals fun spirited and very friendly. Thank you for sharing your wonderful property!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We did it all!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

The house and guest house were delightful and very practical and handy. Your instructions answered every question we had. We prepared mussels, flounder, and scallops at home, had lobster in P'town and also managed to chow down at Black Fish (it was Ashley's night off). We also swam, sunbathed, and strolled at either Marconi Beach and Newcomb Hollow Beach pretty much every day. The beach blanket and chairs came in handy. One day Marconi Beach was the hangout for six giant seals. It was high tide and so they were very near the shore and staring at us. They seemed quite curious. We never got to their gathering place near Head of the Meadow Beach. We had great weather and a wonderful vacation. Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A winter stay

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2009

"I was fortunate enough to stay at the Laurel during the winter 2009. It is a wonderful house with all the modern amenities (whirlpool tub, satellite television, rooms wired with stereo speakers, etc.). The house looks out on the marvelous Truro landscape and creature comforts that can be found in Wellfleet, Orleans, or Provincetown are never very far away. The owner was extremely easy to work with on securing the property, too. All in all, a wonderful experience had by all. I would highly recommend a break from the ordinary and stay at the Laurel."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Magic of The Laurel

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2009

It's honestly a shame that everyone doesn't have at least one chance, to experience the magic of The Laurel. I could write a book on what my one experience, gave to me. Maybe that's something for you to consider in the future. Just one other thing. Please don't ever sell her!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review