reviews for: listing #13620 - San Miguel de Allende, Central Mexico Apartment rental

House of the Flowers Suites
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Centro
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $95 - $105 /nt
    $665 - $735 /wk
    $2,660 - $2,940 /mth

sort by:

A Hidden Treasure

Review submitted: March 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

We are from a suburb outside Chicago and were coming to San Miguel as we had never been there and to spend time with our cousins who live there. House of Flowers was recommended to us and what a hidden treasure. We could not have had a more PERFECT stay. Location was such that we walked everywhere. Accommodations were to perfection. No stone unturned. Caren and Dave have thought of everything to make our stay so comfortable. They were both always available if we had any questions. This was very comforting.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: David and I take great joy in sharing "insider" information with our guests. There are so many hidden secrets in this town!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable and Lovely Place

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

A friend had recommended House of Flowers, so without looking further, I booked one of the two suites. From the busy street outside, that gave no clue to what was behind the door, my jaw just dropped when we arrived and saw the lovely refuge inside. And one does appreciate this place as a refuge, after walking around for hours in the busy town and environs each day.

The lovely garden is central, with the two suites surrounding it. Our suite was large and comfortable and decorated like something in a magazine - except it was more unique and colorful. We made coffee each morning (and the coffee was strong and dark and flavorful) - just one example of the attention to detail in this place. And as film lovers, Caren had a wonderful box of films we pawed through to select a few we looked at in the evenings. Be sure to also view the documentary Caren made about San Miguel.

One unexpected, trip-saving plus was that Caren gave us several pages of restaurants, with annotations, and places to visit, even down to the cab fare we should pay - for the few places that needed cab service. I had been so busy prior to this trip, that I hadn't done my usual compulsive planning, and Caren's hand-outs made all the difference for our week-long visit. They were all we needed, along with the tourist office we found in the main square. Caren also volunteered to help us arrange a tour to Guanajuato with the wonderful guide, Angelica.

The location is ideal, because you can walk almost everywhere. But if you just need to crash in a comfortable, charming place where you can sit out in the garden in a lawn chair and mindfully restore the spirit within, this is the place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Little Piece Heaven In San Miguel de Allende (SMA)

Review submitted: March 23, 2013   Date of arrival: March 4, 2013

Choosing a place to stay in SMA was easy because we had help from my girlfriend's cousin Joanie, a discerning retired college professor. Joanie has been coming to San Miguel since she was a child and now she's in her 70's. She usually stays for 2 or 3 months, and since she is part of the SMA artist community,Joan is well informed and well connected.

In SMA, the Town Library conducts Sunday House Tours, where large groups of Americans and Canadians visit elaborate upscale properties. While volunteering on such a tour, cousin Joanie was very impressed with House of Flowers.And she recommended it highly.The rental suites are spacious and located centrally. Both the food market place and artisan's crafts fair were right outside our door.Raphael,the fruit vendor,sold us papayas,oranges,avacadoes,pineapples.We couldn't stop eating the wonderful produce. At Le Jardin,the town square,we saw the Cuban Dance Festival.Just down our street, we caught the local bus to visit the Hot Springs "La Gruta".

Staying at House of Flowers, we very much felt like part of one big extended family.When we needed a refrigerator,one was available.When we needed a ride to catch our very very early bus,a ride was arranged by Caren.When we wanted something good to read, there was a mini library bedside. When we wanted to sit out in the court yard and write,there were tables and chairs.When we wanted to call home to the USA, they had a phone line available to use(for free).When we needed "anything", it was always okay to ask our hosts,Caren and Dave. They even helped Susan to get herbal remedies.If we needed help or advice,Caren and Dave were always there for us. Just like family!
The property is very well kept, they have a gardener and maid service, so it is spotless,orderly, very very clean. Everything here is convenient, easy, available. When on vacation....who wants to hassle? They even have purified water coming out of the tap. So it's safe and healthy too! They have a restaurant list with their own ratings. They have emergency telephone numbers for MD's and medical attention, should you need it! They have a great collection of DVD's to borrow (free of charge). They have Wi-Fi (free). American -style heavy duty plumbing,no rude surprises !
If there is a better place to stay with nicer people,I'd have to say,
"I don't believe it! Because here, at House of Flowers ,we certainly found our little piece of Heaven!"

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect.

Review submitted: February 14, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

I have been fortunate enough to visit San Miguel before, but this trip was so much easier, thanks to Caren and David! The room is just the right size to relax in when not sight seeing. The location was absolutely central, not to mention private and quiet! (Also, it is important to stay somewhere flat, so you are not going up and down the hills to stop by your place, and this location was so easy to get back to from any part of the city, a nice flat walk.) The gardens outside are more beautiful than pictures can show and there are lemon trees with the biggest lemons I have ever seen. Caren gave us a 3 page list of resturants, (because there are so MANY...) and her recommendations are spot on! Order what she recommends and you will have the best food that you have EVER eaten...and that is the truth!!! We really appreciated her system of leaving notes to answer our questions, it made us feel like we had the entire place to ourselves and we also felt like we could ask little questions and not interrupt them as well. They let us borrow DVD's from thier collection and also had a centrally located phone if we needed to make a call. I would definitely rent here again and would hope to stay even longer on our next trip! Can't wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enchanted

Review submitted: May 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

The House of Flowers is enchanting. The two "large-enough" studios open to an private interior garden and have all the amenities necessary for holiday living. A large king size bed doubles as a grand sofa. Mexican tiles embellish the bathroom and kitchen areas, which provide all the creature comforts needed. Television has many channels and a DVD, with a large, up to date selection of movies (complete with hosts’ review). Wireless internet connects you with the world you leave behind...but let it go, and go out. The real San Miguel has great old-world charm which must be savoured. You could not possibly find more informed hosts than David and Caren; they share (generously and unobtrusively) a treasure trove of information on restaurants, stores, galleries, entertainment, craft and food markets, medical care and pharmacies, all within arms reach of the studios. (Caren’s award winning documentary film offers a tempting introduction to the San Miguel experience). Step out the door and the colorful world of San Miguel is there...sights and sounds of the original residents, often in costume for special holidays..interspersed with Anglo-Saxon residents/visitors...you are surrounded by the real San Miguel. But when you return to the little paradise that is House of Flowers, you will want to relax in the garden to recover from walking the cobble stoned street to the Jardin, the Bibliotheca, the Theatre or dining. With ample seating and dining arrangements, you are drawn to this truly magical space, where bougainvillea spills over most surfaces, pots are filled with geraniums, and where a fountain and birdbath animate the centre of the oasis. Walls and steps beside Caren’s studio are richly painted in harmonious shades of violet, sage, rose and melon. The long narrow garden is magnified into infinity by beautifully framed mirrors at the back. This is a space never to be forgotten. 'It has captured my heart'.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Magic!

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

We spent two amazing weeks at The house of Flowers, Caren and Dave were incredible hosts and our experience was one that we continue to talk about. A beautiful home, great location and perfectly appointed suites. We rented both suites and invited friends to join us for each week, we will all be going back next year... Our trip so exceeded our expectations, beautiful local people, great architecture and history. Thank you Caren and Dave.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Secret Garden

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

The Crosses are lovely people who have created a home and garden to rival any vision one may have of paradise . Their love for San Miguel is contagious and that translates into a much richer visit to a very unusual spot on our planet.

Need to know the best place to buy your own San Miguel Sandels? Karen knows. Which rooftop bar serves the best margaritas? Karen knows. Overcharged for your trip from the airport? Karen takes care of that!

As you step out of your taxi on a quiet and unassuming street you have no clue that the town's mercado is just around the corner. The door opens and just past your hosts a vision unfolds of your fantasy vacation spot complete with fountain that lulls you to sleep each night as you cuddle under the down comforter.

Check out Caren's award winning documentary about San Miguel. We bought our own copy before we went but I bet she has one you can watch in your room!
Sue

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

This was amazing!

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the House of Flowers for 4 nights. We were a little apprehensive that the pictures and other reviews may have misleading, as the price was so reasonable. Were we in for a lovely surprise! Not only was the suite comfortable, but the decor was very Mexican and very pleasing. The location was excellent, within walking distance of everything. The owners had given us a lot of good info before we even arrived, and then left us some very detailed and helpful info in the room. We didn't get to meet the owners until our last day, but were so happy we did. They are such friendly, wonderful hosts! We will be back here again. We highly recommend this lovely site.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Marvelous!

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: March 2, 2010

**************************

Judy and I had a marvelous visit to SMA in March 2009 --- the Cross
family and their special home made our time in San Miguel de Allende
one of our most memorable vacations.

As hosts the Crosses were warm and welcoming --- a delightful couple
who were so keen to share their home and community with us. Lots of
very good advice was provided re: what to visit and where to dine,
how to be open to everything that SMA offers. Always helpful, always
available but never intrusive.

Our suite was very comfortable, private and nicely decorated. Good
layout with the amenities we were looking for. We also had a special
patio for reading and relaxing, overlooking the peaceful interior
garden.

The House of the Flowers is in the right location --- it's in El
Centro in a safe and secure setting. Very easy walking distance to
the Mercado, Jardin, Biblioteca and the Parroquia ... and to many
other great spots and experiences.

San Miguel is about its light and air, its colours and its warmth.
SMA is interesting places and spaces. It's about intriguing people
and their stories and pursuits ... captivating sights and sounds,
rich culture and fascinating history.

Staying at the Cross' beautiful home was also special. Thank you C.
and D.

***********************

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A piece of paradise

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

The first two weeks of July 2010 in beautiful San Miguel staying in this
luxurious guest house was the best. Private, beautiful accomodations with hosts
who were friendly, knowledgable, and very well known in the area. Free phone
service, movies at your disposal when one felt the need ( very rarely) to stay
put. Step outside their doors and the magic and beauty of San Miguel takes over. The perfect location to walk anywhere, markets nearby, and immediate cab
service should you need it. San Miguel will never leave you. And some are known
to never leave San Miguel. I will be back and stay with the Cross's again.
I lucked out. Book with this delightful couple in their beautiful home, and rest
assured yo do will be very much satisfied.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

Spent the ist half of July in the Cross's garden unit in San Miguel. It was
everything one could ask for. Beautiful accomodations, gracious, friendly, and
helpful hosts. And the most perfect of locations. You would leave their beautiful grounds and find yourself immediately enmeshed in the magic and charm
of San Miguel. Once in your life do San Miguel. You will feel the desire to return. Free phone service on the propety, movies galore for when you want to
stay in and everyting is private, first class, and your safety is never,ever
a concern.I very highly recommend their vacation property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A fantastic vacation- we can't wait to return!

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: December 10, 2009

We cannot say enough about our 2 week vacation in San Miguel. There was so much to do: fantastic food served in amazing atmosphere (every meal was a delight), endless cultural and entertaining events to choose from, activities for every interest from pampering to artistic to educational, terrific shopping, and it’s all a photographer’s paradise….The town is an ideal size to explore on foot - safe, clean and picturesque. We loved the accessibility of everything. Locals are gracious and hospitable, always making you feel welcome. We felt so fortunate to find these accommodations. They are beautifully built, comfortable, ideally located, equipped with everything you need and providing an ideal oasis retreat when we just wanted to slow down and relax. The location is ideal, the design impeccable. Thanks to the fantastic information our enthusiastic hosts provided, we got so much more out of this visit than our first time to San Miguel. They generously shared their knowledge and directed us to the best of everything, according to our tastes and desires. We saved time, energy and didn’t have a single disappointment. Two weeks was not enough time to do it all, so we are eager to head back. We have recommended the city and these accommodations to many friends and family. The only regret you will have is leaving!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Look no further....this is it!

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: February 28, 2010

There are so many good reasons to choose House of Flowers for a stay in San Miguel Allende--the fantastic location, the beautiful gardens, waking up to the sound of the outdoor fountain filled with birds, friendly and helpful hosts, charming and light-filled casitas with everything you need. But my two favorite reasons: #1. Walking out of the big, wooden door and being surrounded by the amazing sights, sounds, smells, tastes of San Miguel and #2. Walking back through the big, wooden door at the end of the day into the calm oasis of your casita among the flowers.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful oasis in San Miguel de Allende

Review submitted: April 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2009

My wife and I were very lucky to find this property online. While we enjoy traveling to San Miguel, staying at this property only made it better.

First of all, the property is located near the center of San Miguel, so many of the attractions located in San Miguel are just a short walk away. There's also a market very close to this property which we found convenient, especially with the kitchenette in our suite.

While we enjoyed the sightseeing in San Miguel, we also enjoyed coming back to our suite to relax. The well maintained gardens located on the property made it very easy to do so. If you cannot relax here, you cannot relax anywhere.

We also found that the people who worked on the property were very friendly and helpful. Our suite was kept very clean, and we found that any of our questions were answered right away. In addition, the owners provided us with a guide to local attractions, restaurants, etc., which went beyond the guidebook that we brought with us. We could tell that the owners really wanted us to enjoy our time in San Miguel.

In short, my wife and I highly recommend this property to anyone who's interested in traveling to San Miguel.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

location, location, location

Review submitted: April 3, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2009

This is our first choice for our stays in San Miguel. It is right in the middle of town, close to everywhere. It is spacious, clean, attractive and comfortable. Caren if very accomodating if you have any questions about the area. Be sure you vieew her documentary on life in San Miguel

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review