reviews for: listing #13631 - Cape San Blas, Florida House rental

BR -Beachfront, private hted pool, screen porch, 4 gf bdrms
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,650 - $4,450 /wk

sort by:

Beach retreat

Review submitted: August 28, 2014   Date of arrival: August 16, 2014

We had a wonderful week at Beach retreat! The house was exactly as the pictures from the website depicted and was spotless when we arrived. We had everything we needed for a week of fun in the sun with our family and our dogs! The house was only a few miles from Port St. Joe where we enjoyed dinners at Sunset Coastal Grille and Peppers and a little further to The Owl Cafe in Apalachicola for a delicious meal on the outside deck. We spent most of our time floating in the pool, walking on the beach with the dogs, or just relaxing on the deck, enjoying the ocean breeze and views that included daily dolphin sightings. It couldn't have been a more perfect week! We hope to make this our annual vacation spot.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: August 28, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2014

Everyone had a wonderful time at the beach retreat, we saw lots of dolphins, and a manatee, also there was a sea turtle nest right in front of the house. The weather was beautiful, and the house had everything we could have wanted or needed. This is our second year at this house and we hope to be able to come back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Beach Vacation Yet!

Review submitted: July 24, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

Our 2 families found this property to be even better in person than the pictures! The owners have been so thoughtful of the details - little and big. From the fully screened in upstairs deck, Comfy lower deck WITH full gate (for pet and babies), the faucet at the end of the path to the beach, the fully functional (hot and cold with mirror!) outside shower, the pool toys, beach chairs and toys, labeling cabinets for easier use, instructions for tvs, remotes, a/c, etc. Nothing was left to guess. Furniture was comfortable - views are phenominal. The management company does a great job - it was spotless upon arrival. We loved every moment - grilled most every night - enjoyed the beach out the back door and the private pool every day. I'd recommend it to all my friends (but only if they dont take the week I'll want next year ;)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad that you enjoyed Beach Retreat. We are sorry that we are not able to capture its true beauty on film but we are thrilled that it surpassed your expectations. We look forward to seeing you back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely one of the best vacations ever!

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

We could not have asked for a nicer home to spend the week. The view was the best, the beach clean. There was very few people on any day, just like our own private beach. We had a fire on the beach most every night, roasted marshmallows, and gazed at the stars. We wanted for nothing in the home. The kitchen was well organized and had everything imaginable.Top of the line refrigerator/freezer and dishwasher. The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable. The pool was perfect, very clean. Our family agreed, perfect house, perfect vacation. We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad that you loved your stay at Beach Retreat. The owners have thought of everything in their kitchen organization and new appliances and upgrades throughout the house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

Rental Staff were terrific! Great stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

family vacation

Review submitted: June 27, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

Fun time. Loved the pool. Kids had fun catching crabs. Super comfy beds.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A family vacation

Review submitted: June 26, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed with my sister and brother and brother's family at the lovely, private, family friendly Beach Retreat. Comfortable, very nicely furnished, relaxing and well equipped. We enjoyed beautiful views, a nice pool and thoughtful touches such as a sand castle kit and many other toys for children, lots of rafts and toys for the pool, comfortable chaise lounges for napping in the sun and balconies on both levels. It was a little slice of heaven.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Fun

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

Beach Retreat is the perfect respite for our busy family. We were able to relax and enjoy ourselves on the beautiful beach. The house was the cleanest rental ever! It is perfectly appointed and organized. The kitchen is stocked with everything you could possibly need. One of our favorite things was building a fire on the beach in the evening and getting to know the neighbors. The staff is professional and a joy to work with. We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Vacation Experience

Review submitted: February 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. I was very happy with the location. The vacation rental was spotless. The property manager was very helpful. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Thank you to
Sunset Reflections, particularly Denise and Janah, for providing such excellent service in all areas

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

True Retreat

Review submitted: February 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. I was very happy with the location. The vacation rental was spotless. The property manager was very helpful. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. This is our
second season at Beach Retreat and it is perfect in all ways—convenience, comfort, esthetic, seclusion, and the beach at your toes.
We chanced on this location while looking for a place we could take our Newfoundland dog. He now believes he is king of the sea. To
demonstrate how complete the thoughtfulness of these owners, they have even provided special towels, bowls, and a shade nook
for pets. The house with it's steady attendance of dolphin, eagles, and sea birds is difficult to leave, but there are many nearby
nature attractions to lure you. Neighboring towns lend charm, shopping, and great restaurants. We could not offer more praise or be
more grateful for our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WOW

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

Wow, we could not have picked a worse week to vacation in warm sunny
Florida! The temperatures fell to the 20's , then it rained and we were
fogged in the last few days. We brought our 2 grandchildren- ages 6 and 10
and our 2 beloved dogs.
But our stay at Beach Retreat made up for it! We had not stayed at Beach
Retreat even though we have been coming to CSB for almost 20 years.
The house is even prettier than the pictures. Cozy and inviting. This place
- inside and out- is absolutely spotless. Everything was organized and
labels assisted with quickly locating items in the kitchen.
This kitchen is completely stocked, you only need to bring your food. Beds
were comfortable, linens soft. The entire home is furnished tastefully and
is not cluttered with silly beach knick -knacks. The decks have ample
seating.
My grandson took a very warm shower outside even though the outdoor temps
were only in the 40's. He said it was awesome and you would have thought he
had won the lottery he was so excited to have "taken a shower outside."
The grandkids can have a tendency to be afraid in new surroundings, but they
took to Beach Retreat like a "duck to water." We only had to sleep with one
small light on (even though there were plenty of automatic nightlights
placed throughout.) Very safe for your doggy friends. A 2 latch gate on the
deck and deck railings that not even a teacup poodle could get out of.
Awesome setting on the beach. You can even hear the waves at night with
doors and windows closed. We saw dolphins, seagulls, pelicans and many
shrimp boats, both near and far.
I do not have a negative comment about this home. We will certainly come
back... and get to use the pool next time-but not in January!
Sunset Reflections staff were professional and polite. They kept in touch
with us regarding the freezing weather and gave us tips on how to prevent
the water pipes from freezing. They also came out twice to check on the
water.
R & R , 2 dogs, 2 grandkids
Knoxville TN

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Boy, Did we love it!

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

My husband, daughter, son-in-law, grandchildren, and in-laws all stayed with plenty of room. In-laws are from Maine and boy did they love it. They are already planning another trip down with some of their friends from Maine. The condo was wonderful. We ate supper every nite on the porch and enjoyed some wonderful weather. The Leonid meteorite showers were in full swing and the grandchildren as well as the adults were in awe. Not to mention the fact that there is very little light pollution in the area and you can actually see constellations. The beach was just a few yards from the condo which is a plus with grandchildren and I loved the outdoor shower. The pool is great when you have kids because when the salt water gets to be to much but they still want to swim the pool comes in handy. It's great to stroll the beach, on one side you hear the waves and on the other side you hear the crickets and cicadas. How odd is that? It's just really hard to describe the area much less the sounds and feeling while being there. The condo was set up to get the maximum enjoyment of the area and to make the vacation a breeze.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beach Retreat was the best

Review submitted: September 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We stayed at the beach retreat house the week of aug 3rd thru the 10th. We wanted to let you know we all had a great time, the house was very, very nice, had every thing we needed, The pool was very nice and pretty. The beach is wonderful there. We saw lots of dolphins and lots of pelicans and sea gulls. The kids { there were 5} had a VERY good time and did not want to go home. God willing we would all like to come back next year. We have rented houses on the beach for many years, and we all agreed the beach retreat was the best. Thank you and we hope to see you next year

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation Perfection!

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

Beautiful, well appointed beach home! My husband and I took our kids and grand babies to this wonderful vacation home 8/31-9/7/2013. It's just steps to get your toes in the sand and the gulf. The view is awesome! We saw dolphins every day. We also saw a small shark and stingray. Our granddogger, a golden retriever/yellow lab mix, had a great time! This home has a really nice outdoor space! Of course, there's a really nice pool with sitting/lounging area, but we spent most of our time on the beach. The upstairs deck is screened with great seating. The main level deck is not screened and has a perfect area for having drinks and watching the sunset. There is also an outside dining area on the main level deck. Loved the outside shower, hot and cold water! The kitchen has good quality pans, dishes, knives, etc. I actually took a sharp kitchen knife from home because many vacation rentals do not have good knives. I didn't need it! Each bedroom had it's own attached bathroom and access to the decks. Loved this! Now, this is not a complaint, but saying this house is a 4 bedroom home is a stretch. The upstairs middle "bedroom" is very small and does not have a bed. It is a sofa bed. This worked for us, because we put a pack and play in that room which fit fine. Our favorite restaurant is a little place in Apalachicola called Papa Joe's. Don't expect anything fancy, but expect good food! The grouper basket is delicious! The location of Beach Retreat is excellent. You're about 20 minutes to Apalachicola and about 15 minutes to Port St. Joe. This is the second year we have used Sunset Reflections to help us plan our Cape San Blas vacation. The staff is very helpful. When they send you info, there are no hidden costs. There website has great pictures and info of their rentals. They recommended Smiley's Beach Rentals for chairs. We called and arranged to have beach chairs and umbrellas, and they were set up on the beach when we arrived. Very nice people to deal with. The only bad thing was coming home after a very relaxing, fun week! I highly recommend this home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear Guests,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your vacation and our home. Regarding the Den upstairs, which has the sofa and pull-out sofa bed. We’ve gone back and forth on this many times, wondering what to do. Unless there is a large group, the sofa “bed” is not used. Some of our guests absolutely love the Den set up the way it is and they use the sofa and enjoy having a second living and entertainment area for their children’s use. However, other guests, like you, prefer to have a bedroom versus a Den/Bedroom. And, we haven’t figured out how to have both, yet! We are going to have another look at this and try to decide on what the best thing to do is. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will come and stay with us again. Sincerely, Jeff & Sheryl Schaffner, Owners, Beach Retreat

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous Retreat

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

The dolphin, eagles, and heron paid their regular visits, plus all manor of small sea birds. We got great photos of a flock of Ibis--there were over a hundred birds in the group. Shelling was fantastic. We managed a trip to
St.Vincents Island this year, as well as returns to Crooked Island, and the State Park, but beach in front of the house gave us a great harvest of unbroken Angel Wings as a going away gift, one was over eight inches long.

Beach Retreat was as gracious and accommodating as we had remembered. True to its name, this house is set for the perfect retreat--every need anticipated, every wish accommodated, and the good taste shown in every
detail is a compliment to the sand and gulf at it's doorstep. The labeled organization so impressed us last time, that I was inspired to do similar
organization in my studio when I returned home.

Our greatest restaurant discovery was the popular Joe Mamas. We had been so disappointed last year to miss it...we had peered in the windows many times thinking it was closed. Thought the same this time only to discover it was only open late afternoon and evening, and we had simply missed it on our mid-day trips. They served fantastic meals, with class service; we loved it.

We also went back to the Owl in Apalachicola, and Provisions in St Joes, both previous favorites. Had great authentic Mexican fare in a very unlikely looking orange former gas station in Apalachicola.

We left the house and the beach with great reluctance, and the Northeast has welcomed us home with one of it's century great storms.

Thank you, thank you to the Owners for providing this magic interlude, and to Sunset Reflections for making it so flawless.


Jeanette, Ron, and 'sea dog' Ruffus

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Vacation House!

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

My family and friends enjoyed our vacation here so much! We stayed at Cape San Blas for the first time in 2011 and vowed we would be back. This was the perfect place for us! The listing and the pictures were accurate and everything was very clean. We enjoyed the pool, the decks, the beach, the privacy and each other very much. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen was well stocked with dishes, etc. The house was furnished well and we felt at home. The washer and dryer came in handy (who wants to go home with dirty laundry?) We love Apalachicola and the girls did some shopping and ate at "Up the Creek" which was delicious. I highly recommend the alligator burger and conch cakes. We all went in to Mexico Beach one evening and enjoyed Toucan's very much. The fishing wasn't great this year for us, but we had a great time anyway! We saw dolphins nearly every day and we even saw stingrays and blue crabs which were a lot of fun to watch. The house exceeded our expectations and I will recommend it to anyone. I can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

the most relaxing and enjoyable vacation

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

My family and I just spent the most relaxing and enjoyable vacation one could imagine. We gathered family members from Portland, OR, Nashville, TN, Atlanta, GA, and W Palm Beach, FL to bask in the sun, splash in the pool, and enjoy the beautiful beach. The house was perfect - clean, well-equipped in every room (especially the kitchen)and just right for our family. The owners have thought of everything and provided their guests with every need. We have stayed at many places over the years but this house had everything. We believe we have found our annual gathering place and plan to return again and again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beach Retreat a perfect location

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

What a wonderful time our family (kids, grandkids) had at Beach Retreat. The house was perfect, and being right on the beach meant we could let the grandkids wander down to the beach without one of the adults having to be right by their side. The pool was so refreshing and was enjoyed by everyone. Our expectations were high and this wonderful place actually exceeded our expectations.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Retreat

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: January 8, 2012

The order and esthetic of the house are perfectly matched to the sand and waves that skirt it's steps.
The Shaffners have designed every aspect for beauty and carefree living, anticipating any need a guest could have. Entry and first floor ceramic tile assure time is spent in the pool rather than on housekeeping. Pleasing art, sophisticated electronics, a kitchen equipped for a chef, guiding notes and labels—nothing has been overlooked.
The luxury of a private beach has been all consuming. We have watched the Bald eagles perch to rest from their fishing, just steps from our door.
Pelicans dive only feet above us, then swoop on, their bellies barely above the waves. Each day there are visits from the dolphin, and I chase ahead of them with the camera, trying to predict their next pop-up. At one sunset there were over forty loons bobbing over the crests of the waves. Terns, and Skimmers, Plovers, all manner of gulls, skittering Pipers, as well as the Great Blue Heron and Snowy Egret have paraded in front of the house. And glory filled sunrises and sunsets bracket each day. Had we never left our doorstep, our days would have been full.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Get-away

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

My husband, our two children and their spouses, our four grandchildren and I had a most relaxing vacation at Beach Retreat. The house was wonderful with its well appointed kitchen, the decor and porches, and the views of the ocean from every room. The pool was great, and even though we visited during the latter part of Dec. and first of Jan., the pool was heated and was truly delicious and fun. We felt like we had our own private beach complete with thousands of shells to pick from, views of playful dolphins, and lovely sunrises and sunsets. We would definitely recommend this home as a perfect get-away.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Delightful Retreat!

Review submitted: November 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

What a delightful retreat. My husband and I flew into the Apalachicola airport. The beaches were spectacular. Listening to the waves from our bedroom was so special. The layout of Beach Retreat is perfect with views of the ocean in every room. Sitting on the covered porch at night and seeing billions of stars light up the sky was amazing! Comfortable beds, clean linens , beautiful furnishings, and a gorgeous sunrise completed the awesome experience of my dream house on the beach.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

We had a wonderful February break from the cold and snow of Vermont at Beach Retreat! My family (including my yellow lab) was together for my 50th birthday and I couldn't have asked for anything more. The house was absolutely beautiful and the weather was just about perfect! We enjoyed long walks on the beach, lounging by the pool, Port St. Joe, and Apalachicola. We met some great people and awesome pets as well! In Apalachicola we dined at Caroline's (get the grouper!) and the Sunset Coastal Grill in Port. St. Joe. And of course we couldn't go home without some Tupelo Honey!
We'll definitely be back! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 16, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

We spent a warm and relaxing 2 weeks at Beach Retreat. This is our 3rd vacation at the cape and this house really had it all. We loved being right on the beach and enjoyed many long walks, watching the dolphins and finding shells. Our 2 MinPins, Stanley and Mandy, loved chasing birds and having the beach mostly all to themselves. The heated pool was divine - warm enough to swim in anytime. The house was well laid out, super comfortable and had everything we could possibly need or want.

We had fun shopping in Historic Apalachicola and our favorite restaurants (we are all about the local seafood) were Up the Creek and Papa Joe's in Apalachicola and the Indian Pass Raw Bar. Anne and Rex, thanks again for another PERFECT vacation!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: April 29, 2010   Date of arrival: April 29, 2010

The beach house was amazing! The decor was beautiful, and the whole house was white glove clean. We sat on the deck every morning, coffee in hand, and watched the sun come up. In the evening we would sit on the beach and watch the dolphins play....Thanks for the memories! Charlie & Sondra Hertsenberg

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 26, 2010   Date of arrival: April 26, 2010

We had a spectacular vaction at Beach Retreat. The house was perfect for our group and our large dogs. The owners really thought of everything. The house was clean and nicely stocked. The pool was perfect with a great view of the ocean. We loved the privacy of the isolated area and almost private beach. At times every day, we were the only ones at the beach - which made it perfect for our dogs to fetch frisbees and swim in the ocean.We loved how well thought out the owners planned for the inclusion of pets. We (and the dogs) loved buddy's retreat, the outdoor shower for rinsing salty and sandy pups, the dog-fenced outdoor deck on the main floor of the house and the fabulous screened-in porch on the upper floor. They even screened in under the floorboards to prevent bugs from invading the screened in area - not that we saw many bugs anyway.I cannot say enough for this fabulous home and location. If you love your dogs as much as we love ours and want to include them on your vacation, this is the house for you. And, whether a testament to the owners, management company or cleaning people, miraculously, this house did not smell like a pet ever entered before. It was a real find.We had one small problem, and the management company responded immediately and fixed it. We have rented before where the management company was not nearly as attentive. They were wonderful to deal with. I recommend this house without hesitation.

Owners response: Thanks Kim, I am glad you had a wonderful time. We had a small problem with the cable in one of the bedrooms, but got it fixed quickly. Thanks. Anne Anderson

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 20, 2010

We stayed at Gulf Breeze for one week in April, 2010. We really loved the home and the screened in porch that allowed a continuous breeze at all times. The weather was great, and we will definitely come back. This was our 2nd trip to the Cape San Blas area, and we will have more in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: April 15, 2010

We have been coming to the FORGOTTEN COAST for about 24 years. BEACH RETREAT is the best house we have ever rented. I recommend if you want to go out on a charter that you contact Capt. Kelly Butler at Robinson Brothers. Tommy caught a 44 lb red fish and we also caught 24 puppy drums, what a day!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

We loved our spring break at Beach Retreat. The house exceeded our expectations and so did the beach. The sunsets were absolutely beautiful over the water. The dolphins jumped and played right in front of us every day.We fell asleep to the sound of the waves every night. The Indian Pass Raw Bar is only 1 mile down the road and has great crab legs, shrimp and oysters. We ate there several times. The locals are very friendly. Beach Retreat is a beautiful home away from home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Winter rental

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

We stayed at Gulf Breeze for 2 months and thoroughly enjoyed this We also
loved all the great restaurants in the area. Will definitely stay again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

We stayed at Gulf Breeze for 2 months and thoroughly enjoyed this We also loved all the great restaurants in the area. Will definitely stay again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2010

I feel like I stumbled onto a hidden treasure. The neighbors who were renting down the street said, "don't tell anyone about this place...we've been coming here for 15 years and we keep it a secret." I'd never been to this area of the Florida panhandle before. I can't believe what I've been missing. The location of the house itself was perfect, right between Port St Joe and Apalachicola. The house itself was pretty and clean. This rates right up there with my week on the beach in Sanibel that I never thought I'd be able to top. I think I found the topper.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 25, 2010

Our stay at Gulf Breeze March 13 - 20. 2010 could only have been improved by warmer weather. The house, the beach and surrounding points of interest, particularly Apalachicola, were superb. Since we had our two standard Poodles with us it would have been great to have the yard completely fenced.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Wonderful Views & Beautiful House"

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: November 30, 2009

We spent Thanksgiving week at Gulf Breeze and had a wonderful time. I absolutely fell in love with the house and did not want to leave. We had a wonderful view of the beach from the screened in porch and a very short walk to get to the beach. For the majority of our stay we had the beach completely to ourself. We have never had such a quiet, relaxing vacation. We have decided to make this a yearly trip and we had such an amazing time we are talking about moving to the area when we retire. Anne and Rex were great and we look forward to arranging our yearly Thanksgiving trips through them

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Perfect house on the Forgotten Coast"

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 28, 2009

We had a wonderful time in Cape San Blas. This house was perfect for 4 adults and 2 small children. We loved the proximity of the beach, the quiet evenings, and, of course, the screened-in pool. The house is clean, well appointed, and spacious. Will definitely stay here again, both at the house and at the "Forgotten Coast".
Br

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Nothing but Praise"

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 30, 2009

We have nothing but praise for the beautiful home and beach. The house is so spacious. We were worried about the day bed, but it was very comfortable. The house is beautifully decorated and had everything we needed for a lovely stay. We really appreciated the screened porch and pool. We very much appreciated the ease of booking the house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Perfection"

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2009

Perfection! I hate to say goodbye, its been a wonderful relaxing vacation. It
was everything I had hoped for and more...The location is amazing and The Gulf Breeze home made it perfection. Anne, you made it so easy to book the home and were so patient with all my questions...Thank you for everything!!!
And, last but not least, the huge screened-in pool was the tops.... Especially for this family!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Just what we hoped for"

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 31, 2009

We stayed at Gulf Breeze from 5/9-5/16, the house was just what we had hoped for. We had 7 sunny/warm days. The beach was beautiful and our miniture daschaud "Sophie" loved running and playing in the sand and waves. Are already talking about coming back. Really enjoyed Apalachicola, highly suggest the "Owl Resturant", they have a great outdoor deck, and Sophie loved napping in the sun. Great shopping in Destin.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Relax in Paradise"

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: March 23, 2009

We stayed at Gulf Breeze 3/14 - 3/21 and had a wonderful time. The house is beautiful and very comfortable. I was afraid that it would be too cold for the kids to swim in the Gulf, but it didn't bother them a bit and the weather was perfect. I would recommend this home to anyone who wants to get away from all the hussle and bustle and just relax in paradise. We will definatley make a repeat visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Highly Recommend"

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: October 28, 2008

We had a great vacation in Cape San Blas. We had discussed vacationing there for a few years, and finally got to go there. The beach was great - the most we saw in 1 day on the beach besides us was 4 people. The dogs had a great time too catching their tennis balls in the water. The house was great. Very clean, comfortable, and great open floor plan. The pool was nice - just wished it had been heated because we would have loved to use it at night too but it was just too cool for that. We loved our stay and highly recommend Gulf Breeze and the Cape.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Absolutely Perfect"

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: September 2, 2008

Absolutely perfect! The house was wonderful. The beach was secluded. The pool was amazing. We will most certainly be making Gulf Breeze our Florida vacation house year after year. If you rent this home you will not be disappointed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Comfort & Quiet"

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2008

This property is ideal for a comfortable and quiet vacation. It is just far enough out of the way for privacy but close enough for a quick trip into town. The house was plenty big enough to accomodate the five of us plus two small dogs. The locals couldn't have been more friendly, and you could tell that they take great pride in their neighborhood. The screened pool was definitely key and was perfect for those of us who aren't "beach bums." Thanks to Anne for all the help and to Diane and Darlene for sharing their home with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Vacation Complete"

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2008

We truly enjoyed our trip to Cape San Blas. Staying at Gulf Breeze made our vacation complete! The beach was beautiful and not crowded at all! The house was absolutely amazing. It was decorated perfectly and very comfortable-much better than we could have imagined. We love the view of the beach from the screened porch. The screened, private pool was also one of our favorite parts! We were concerned about the "pet-friendly" beaches-we do not have a pet. We were very impressed with how clean the beach was! Very happy to see pet owners being responsible. We will be back next year!! Thanks, Anne!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Perfect Vacation"

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

Perfect Vacation! Quiet Beach area - Wonderful Pool and the House was such a Delight... the decor was Fabulous... we went snorkeling in the Bay at the State Park close by and it was such a treat... Very Pleased with our decision to stay at Gulf Breeze and would recommend it to anyone considering it... you won't be regret it! Anne was a Wonderful landlord and just on top of everything from the beginning to the end!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Best Beach, Area & Rental Home"

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2008

The nicest trip to Florida we've ever had. Nicest beach, area, rental home. The house was lovely and roomy and the beach was quiet. We did have to carry our 11 year old lab up the stairs to get in the first day, but then he figured he could handle it and made it the rest of the time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Unforgettable Relaxing Vacation"

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 26, 2008

We truly enjoyed our week stay. The home was well furnished and CLEAN. Gulf Breeze has everything needed for a unforgettable relaxing stay. The dog friendly beach and home made some wonderful memories. We played 5 out of 7 days of golf at St. Joe Country Club and the course was nicely maintained and really easy on the wallet ($41.00 with cart). We do alot of cooking so we only went out 1 night but the food was good at Sunset Grill in St. Joe. We look forward to our return

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Lifetime Memories"

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 19, 2008

Gulf Breeze was an absolute dream come true for the entire family, especially Sandy, our 12 year old Golden Retriever. We actually spent quality time together again. The location is quaint and the beach was filled with shells ! Memories that will last a lifetime. Thank you for making this all possible

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Immaculate"

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 14, 2008

Gulf Breeze was beautiful. It had everything we needed for a great week on the beach, secluded from everything. It was close to small towns for a bit of shopping and dining, but far enough away to feel alone. The house was immaculate! We'll consider coming back again and again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Quiet and Relaxing"

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

This home is beautiful! We've visited in the panhandle for many years now and this home and area is our favorite. Quiet and relaxing!! Many days you have the beach to yourself! The pool is amazing..the biggest/deepest we've every seen in a rental. The local neighbors are very helpful and friendly. Thanks for a great spring break away from it all!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Chill out and Enjoy"

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: February 17, 2008

We had a great time here and loved every minute. The
house is great and very well furnished. Just like being
at home! Beaches were superb and sunsets amazing.
Chill out and enjoy!!!
Anne, thanks for convincing us to come here, and your
kind helpful manner is a great asset.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 22, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

Our stay at Beach Retreat was nothing short of magnificent. I've never seen a home so perfectly designed where everyone wakes up to a full panoramic view of the beach. In fact, all the rooms(except baths of course) have this wonderful view wherever you are in the house. It gives one the feeling of almost endless space having nothing but beach and water on one side of the house. The openness is genuinely rehabilitating. All the rooms were totally immaculate with all the amenities we needed. There was literally nothing for want except our food and drinks. The huge patios on both floors provided more than ample space for everyone. We spent the majority of our time outside of course and the patio was our mainstay. The weather was below normal during our stay but the walks on the beach were awe inspiring. It looked almost endless in one direction & lots of space in all directions. Very wide beaches with great sand too! We really enjoyed the extreme privacy of the beach with just the locals around. Not dealing with the crowds was a real relief. Anyway, keeping it succinct, we totally loved it! We'll be back! Thank you for the great hospitality.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: December 15, 2009

Dear Houseowners, I wish I could express in words the tremendous pleasure, peace and fun we’ve been enjoying in your precious marvel of a beach retreat. The name of the pretty quiet lane that leads the house says it all: Treasure! Vacation starts right at the doorstep! This place has been laid out and equipped with all conveniences known to man, from the beautiful carefree tiling on the floors, the lovely colors all through the house, the spacious kitchen area that’s not leaving a single wish unfilled from the exhausted housewife to the ambitious chef, the most joyful and convivial dining area, the inviting luxurious leather sofas…I was thrilled to find storage space to burn (we could have easily fitted all our belongings into this house and not have it be cluttered, simply amazing!) The rooms are wonderfully spacious and decorated with beautiful taste and loving care, as for the beds they are heavenly comfortable (as I have back issues I was especially grateful for that) floated with light and accessing not only simply the most beautiful fresh bathrooms but also the wide inviting decks with a stunning view on the beach.I could fill page after page here…the laundry blew me away (too sad that in Europe we do not have this kind of powerful, easy to use appliances). The BBQ is all set up for a stunning grill party at sunset along with a cool cocktail after a stroll with the dog on that white velvet beach listening to the easing soungs of the ocean… Last but not least I shall not forget to point out the highly appreciated surprise of the outdoor shower that came along with one of the lovliest pool areas I’ve ever seen, elegant private and safe. It’s so inviting as well for the grown-up relaxing in the windsheltered longue-chairs as for the kids that I doubt ever want to leave again and if you think I exaggerate, well I’m not! We’re all looking forward to coming back a.s.a.p. Until then we send smiling thoughts and wish you all the very best.Jill Mercedes and friends

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 14, 2009   Date of arrival: December 14, 2009

What could make spending a week with your sister at a fabulous beach even more wonderful? Spending it at a beautiful home like Beach Retreat. Just steps from the ocean with a gorgeous interior and private pool, this beach house has everything. The owners have really made it a warm and inviting place to visit. The only problem? Never wanting to leave! Thank you for a jewel in a perfect setting. From the stars at night to the dolphins cruising the coast during the day, every minute was special there.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 14, 2009   Date of arrival: December 14, 2009

7 thru 14 November 2009I've just spent the most fabulous week at Beach Retreat with my dear sister Lynne. Every morning the dolphins treated us with a show while I drank my coffee on the wide and comfortable deck. Each day our walk on the amazing beach brought us peace and joy at the shear beauty of the landscape. Wide white beaches, and a gently musical ocean. The house is so well appointed and comfortable that I lacked nothing. I was so happy to have tons of space to put my clothes and cosmetics so I could totally unpack and not live out of my suitcase. We cooked every day and not once did either of us reach for a utensil, pot or platter that wasn't there. The beds were heaven every night and I slept like a child. Thank you to the owners for making this house so lovely and so much a home. I can only hope to return again and again.Maggie ParkeDirectorWaltzing-Parke Productions and Audio S. a r. l.Luxembourg, Europe

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 30, 2009   Date of arrival: November 30, 2009

We spent Thanksgiving week at Gulf Breeze and had a wonderful time. I absolutely fell in love with the house and did not want to leave. We had a wonderful view of the beach from the screened in porch and a very short walk to get to the beach. For the majority of our stay we had the beach completely to ourself. We have never had such a quiet, relaxing vacation. We have decided to make this a yearly trip and we had such an amazing time we are talking about moving to the area when we retire. Anne and Rex were great and we look forward to arranging our yearly Thanksgiving trips through them.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 21, 2009   Date of arrival: August 21, 2009

We had a fabulous time at Gulf Breeze! It was a roomy, comfortable, beautiful home with a wide array of amenities! Our family had a great time and can't wait to go back! We definitely want to stay at Gulf Breeze again! Thanks Sunset Reflections for helping to make our trip our success!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 28, 2009   Date of arrival: July 28, 2009

We had a wonderful time in Cape San Blas. This house was perfect for 4 adults and 2 small children. We loved the proximity of the beach, the quiet evenings, and, of course, the screened-in pool. The house is clean, well appointed, and spacious. Will definitely stay here again, both at the house and at the "Forgotten Coast".

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 11, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

6/27/09-7/04/09We have been vacationing in the St. George Island/ Cape San Blas area for sixteen years and always look forward to returning.Thank you for sharing your beautifully appointed home. And the location, WOW!!! Brent & Carol Hunter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 30, 2009   Date of arrival: June 30, 2009

We have nothing but praise for the beautiful home and beach. The house is so spacious. We were worried about the day bed, but it was very comfortable. The house is beautifully decorated and had everything we needed for a lovely stay. We really appreciated the screened porch and pool. We very much appreciated the ease of booking the house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 17, 2009   Date of arrival: June 17, 2009

We just returned from the most amazing week at the Beach Retreat. We rented the house with our kids and our best friends. The house was everything it appears to be. We watched dolphins play and swim by everyday. We saw stingrays, watched those silly pelicans drop into the water. The shelling was amazing, I have never been on a beach that has so many pretty whole shells. We found 10 sand dollars (which I had never found before). The house is away from the hussle and bussle which allowed our family time to enjoy each other. We took our dog, a doxie, who also enjoyed himself greatly. I highly recommend this house it is more than worth the money. The kitchen is well stocked, we enjoyed the decks to sit and enjoy the ocean breeze. The beds were very comfortable. We truly felt at home here. I also want to thank Anne Anderson who made the rental process very easy. She checked on us to be sure everything was good. It was truly an amazing week. I pray we can do it again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 15, 2009   Date of arrival: June 15, 2009

PERFECTION! I hate to say goodbye, its been a wonderful relaxing vacation. Itwas everything I had hoped for and more...The location is amazing and The Gulf Breeze home made it perfection. Anne, you made it so easy to book the home and were so patient with all my questions...Thank you for everything!!!And, last but not least, the huge screened-in pool was the tops.... Especially for THIS family!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 4, 2009   Date of arrival: June 4, 2009

This was the first vacation that my husband and I have had with our kids since they have grown and had kids of their own. We all had a wonderful time that we will all remember for the rest of our lifes.We saw dolfins everyday. We pick up tons of seashells and some of us got a little sun burnt. The Beach Retreat House was all and more of what we were expecting.It was very clean and handy to the beach were we spent most of our time... Me my Husband,Kids, and Grandkids recomend it to everyone wanting a good and relaxing time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 31, 2009   Date of arrival: May 31, 2009

We stayed at Gulf Breeze from 5/9-5/16, the house was just what we had hoped for. We had 7 sunny/warm days. The beach was beautiful and our miniture daschaud "Sophie" loved running and playing in the sand and waves. Are already talking about coming back. Really enjoyed Apalachicola, highly suggest the "Owl Resturant", they have a great outdoor deck, and Sophie loved napping in the sun. Great shopping in Destin. Thanks Alison McCallum and Sandy Burns

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 7, 2009   Date of arrival: May 7, 2009

We have vacationed in the St. George/San Blas area since 1994. We look for a clean, beachfront house on an uncrowded beach that welcomes our two Golden Retrievers, Gordy & Libby. Beach Retreat is the perfect, private place to truly relax. We were delighted with the newly renovated house and how well stocked, comfortable, and organized is it. We will be coming back soon with our two- and four-footed friends!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 19, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We had been looking online for several weeks for just the right place to get away from the long, cold winter we'd been having in Connecticut. The home had to be clean, beautiful, spacious and comfortable; on the beach, with views of the sunrise and sunset, in a quiet, peaceful area, and one more crucial element... it had to accept dogs. It sounded like too much to ask for in one package, but when we found Beach Retreat on your web site, we knew that was it! We certainly were not disappointed. Beach Retreat is wonderful. We unfortunately were not blessed with good weather while we were there, but the house was great for relaxing and catching up on some reading. Our dogs Maxie ( yellow Lab) and Maggie (Boxer) enjoyed daily romps on the beach. It truly is a dog friendly place; dog heaven. Mark and I enjoyed exploring the area, shopping in Appalachicola, and trying out a different restaurant almost every night. We had to try everyone's oysters, margaritas, and Key Lime pies. We spent a wonderful day on St. Joseph's Bay in a pontoon boat we rented at the Port St. Joe Marina. We also went horseback riding on the beach. It was all that two obsessive, compulsive workaholics from cold Connecticut needed, and just enough sun to come back with a tan!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 27, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

It was a long drive down to Florida but well worth it because it was our very first time. I really liked the SUNSET REFLECTIONS VACATION RENTALS website it had a lot of information and lots of pictures.

We were so excited to finally arrive at the Beach Retreat house. Everything was just perfect. Very organized, clean and appropriately decorated. It really felt like a beach retreat. With my teenage kids being on the upper level and having their own bathrooms was terrific.

The view, sunrises and sunsets were out of this world. This vacation was all about relaxing which is what we did. The long walks on the beach collecting shells, flying kites, and swimming with the daulphins was enjoyed by all. Even Chanel our dog enjoyed chasing the many spicies of birds.

I loved the town of Port St. Joe quiet and clean with just enough shopping. Panama City was also nice to visit along with St. George Island and Apalachicola. This was so far the best vacation ever.

Thanks for the beautiful memories and peaceful vacation and making Beach Retreat our home away from home. Definately worth going back. LOVED IT!

Sincerely,
Pierre & Diana Jodoin
Jacquelynn, Jonathan & Jenevieve
Chanel who couldn't get enough of the beach.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 23, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

This house is simply adorable! It is obvious the homeowners Jeff and Sheryl painstakingly remodeled and added little touches not found in our own homes. The new tile is beautiful and a perfect choice for the mudroom and first level. The kitchen is stocked with everything you need – don’t bother bringing a thing as it’s all there (lots of utensils, barware, pots and pans, grill accessories and even a filtered water pitcher). We were also impressed with the labeling system (the happy hour cabinet was easy to find and well-used). This guaranteed that everything was put back in its proper place. And turning the lights on and off and even the shower was a snap (I didn’t have to get instructions from the hubster). We loved the wide porches, especially the screened-in porch on the second level. There are lots of chairs on the porches for reading enjoyment, so be sure to bring your favorite magazines and books. With all the fresh air, sleeping in the comfy beds was a welcome retreat.

Our favorite daily activity was the enchanting strolls beside the Gulf with our lab and boxer while gathering a wide array of shells. The sunsets were absolutely mind-blowing! All our wishes better come true from the numerous shooting star sightings. St. Joseph’s National Park offered a peaceful introduction to a stunning variety of plants and trees. Be sure to hike St. Vincent Island and enjoy the solitude with nature in this pristine area. Crooked Island Beach was gorgeous; my husband enjoyed the occasional fighter jets circling the area. Shopping and lunch in the quaint town of Apalachicola made for a delightful excursion. The mango martini at Sunset Coastal Grill is also worth mentioning.

We have rented many homes around the country, but this was one of our favorites. Communication with Anne and Rex Andersen of Coastal Realty was pleasurable and timely. Their website is a breeze to navigate, and the abundance of pictures really helped in choosing the right house.

Thanks for the memories . . . we really enjoyed this little piece of heaven! In the words of Arnold, “We’ll be back”! Last words -- Tranquility rocks!

Ron & Lisa Drewniak
Munster, IN

Owners response: Thanks to Ron and Lisa, our first guests.

I am glad you had such a wonderful time. Thanks. Anne

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 17, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

January 13 to February 14, 2009

We purchased our beach home, Beach Retreat on January 13th, 2009 and have spent the month here remodeling, updating and refurbishing our wonderful "Beach" home.

We’ve had contractors in the home for almost the entire time we’ve been here and have been working right along with them, every day, in order to meet our deadline of having it all ready for our first guests arriving on February 14, 2009.

It’s been a lot of work but it’s also been so much fun and just looking out at the beach and water, makes it all so worthwhile.

We’ve watched the magnificent sunrises every morning and the sunsets every evening and it seems that every time we look out we see dolphins swimming by.

The calm serenity and tranquility of this area swells our hearts and this is what we wish for you, as well.

We absolutely love our Beach Retreat and hope you will love it here, as much as we do.

Have a fantastic vacation, enjoy, relax and have loads of FUN!!!

Sincerely,
Jeff & Sheryl Schaffner

Happy Valentine’s Day, 2009

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 14, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

Jeff & Sheryl Schaffner
Clearwater, Fl

January 13 to February 14, 2009

We purchased our beach home, Beach Retreat on January 13th, 2009 and have spent the month here remodeling, updating and refurbishing our wonderful "Beach" home.

We’ve had contractors in the home for almost the entire time we’ve been here and have been working right along with them, very day in order to meet our deadline of having it all ready, for our first guests arriving on February 14, 2009.

It’s been a lot of work but it’s also been so much fun and just looking out at the beach and water, makes it all so worthwhile.

We’ve watched the magnificent sunrises every morning and the sunsets every evening and it seems that every time we look out we see the dolphins swimming by.

The calm serenity and tranquility of this area swells our hearts and this is what we wish for you, too.

We absolutely love our Beach Retreat and hope you will love it here, as much as we do.

Have a fantastic vacation, enjoy, relax and have loads of FUN!!!

Sincerely,
Jeff & Sheryl Schaffner

Happy Valentine’s Day, 2009

Owners response: Wow! Jeff and Sheryl have made this home wonderful - new tile, new paint, new furnishings and decor. It is beautiful. Just take a look at the pictures and see lots more on our website. Anne Anderson, Property Manager

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 7, 2009   Date of arrival: January 7, 2009

Beach Retreat will be a welcome addition to our rental management program starting in February 2009. This beautiful home is in fabulous shape and has awesome views, easy, private beach access, screen porch and 4 gulf front bedrooms, 3 with attached baths. We hope our guests will enjoy the comfort and views and we will have guest feedback in 2009 to add here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review