reviews for: listing #13704 - South Lake Tahoe, California House rental

Hot Tub, Pool Table, Near Heavenly & Casino Great Deck Views
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Heavenly Ski Area
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $375 /nt
    $1,750 - $2,125 /wk

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 6, 2005   Date of arrival: November 1, 2005

9-28-2005 - 10-3-2005
We traveled 1800 miles for a small family wedding and never felt more at home. The pool table, ping pong table and Jacuzzi were more than enough to keep our 3 teenagers occupied. The views wer exquisite. The people were friendly and the weather was beautiful. We all enjoyed our time here tremendously. Hope to return again soon. Your Hurricane Rita evacs.

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

Family getaway

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: June 23, 2014

We took our 3 teenagers here for a quick (and last minute booking) summertime getaway.
The kids loved the pool table and the ping pong table.
Beautiful views from the back decks - even though there are 'neighbors' close by, you felt like you were by yourself in the woods. Fun to watch the chipmunks from the windows.
It was close to all that there is to do in S. Lake Tahoe.
The kitchen was well stocked with what was needed and the grill worked great (we cooked on it every night).
It was clean and comfy. Beds were nice.
Owner responsive. You can see they have been making improvements to the home, especially in the downstairs master.
A few things to note:
The 2nd master (with the private entry) is down a steep spiral staircase - may be difficult for someone with physical limitations to navigate. (There are another set of stairs, but you have to go outside to use them.)
The family room furniture is definitely used. When sitting on it, you 'sink' a bit which took me by surprise.
We had plenty of clean towels, but only one wash/face cloth in the house.
The hot tub was not bubbly compared to others we have used - think bubbles in a soda vs. rolling boiling. It was however hot and clean.
We felt the $250 cleaning fee is a bit steep, however the home was clean and ready for us.
What you see is what you get with this one. The pictures are very accurate to the home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Significant remodeling and redecorating is nearing completion. The house has been repainted inside and out. Lighting has been updated. Floors and fireplace brick has been replaced with slate. The love seat mentioned in this review will be replaced with a new brown leather reclining love seat ~July 21, 2014. The rest of the furniture is in good shape. The house has plenty of washcloths and everything else; call me to obtain instructions to open the linen closet and if you want anything else.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Birthday

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

The house is very spacious. That is the only good thing about it. It is way out of date and in need of an overhaul. The Hot tub didn't work, gets hot but jets don't work and the BBQ doesn't work. WE went there to relax (hot tub) and eat good food(BBQ). So our weekend was a bust. I wouldn't recommend this place until it's updated and everything works! Bad

Owners response: The entire house was painted indoors with an attractive modern palette May 4, 2014. Worn flooring and fireplace was replaced with slate. New recessed LED lighting was installed in the kitchen, game room, living room, and bedrooms. New decor replaced old in most rooms. New decor was added. New fixtures replaced old. Many items were repaired or replaced inside and out.

The Weber Silver A BBQ was new summer 2013, and works well.
The handyman checked the BBQ Mar 22, and it worked well for him.
I checked it May 4, and it worked well for me.
Like many modern BBQs, this one has a regulator in the gas line near the tank; the regulator will stop the flow of gas if it detects a leak. The regulator will shut off the gas if the burners are turned on before the valve on the tank is opened. To reset the regulator, turn off the burners, close the valve on the tank, disconnect the tank, and reconnect the tank.
The following guests used the BBQ, and it worked well for them.
The hot tub jets are not strong, but the are functional.
The hot tub service company verified this March 22, 2014.
Everything in the house is as nice or nicer and newer than what shows in the photos. What you see is what you get. Items are upgraded frequently.

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 

Private Mountain Getaway!

Review submitted: November 22, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2013

We had and amazing time! Great location. great pool table, spa, board games! The view of the mountains was great from the back deck. The cabin is pretty isolated and my family gets pretty loud so it was nice to know we weren't going to bother the neighbors too much. Only thing I would recommend is a something for us to play music. We luckily brought a JamBox!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Music:
The house had a dvd player, amplifier, and speakers when Dillon visited.
The house now also has a newer and faster Internet modem, 2 newer and better DVR / Cable converters, and an Internet-app-enabled 3D blu-ray disc player which can play Netflix and other apps on the TV monitor.
The house also has a beautiful new Z Gallerie sofa bed in the living room.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect for Two Families

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

This house is perfect for our two families, and we plan to return!
We attended my sister's wedding this weekend, and we were checking out the house and the area for future ski and summer trips. The location is very convenient for getting to skiing, beach, shopping, and nightlife, and the house is in a quiet neighborhood with the forest in the back yard. The house appears to be well-cared for; looks like new paint and stain outside, and comfortable furnishings inside. The house is well-equipped for cooking a nice meal. Some of the pots and pans were too worn to be useful and should be discarded; there were plenty of other good ones though. The grill on the back deck looks brand-new and the big hot tub on the deck was beautiful under the stars and amongst the trees at night. There are no streetlights in this area, so we could see more stars than we've ever seen before! The four bedrooms were perfect for two couples with two kids each. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Good value for the area

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

When we arrived to the property it was evident that it needed some TLC on the outside...paint and general maintenance, however, the inside was better. It was a little dated in some rooms but the floor plan was open and ideal for a large family, which we had. The pool table and game room was spacious and a hit with the kids and adults alike. The beds were comfortable and other than some cobwebs in the corners of some of the rooms, the house was clean. I think the area was nice and reasonably close to the casinos and Zephyr Cove. Our group had a great time and perfect for families with children.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for your review,
In August 2013, the exterior of the house was painted, the decks were stained, and the yard was improved.

Helpful votes: 6 / 10

 

Great Stay!

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

We loved staying at this house! Our kids had a great time playing in the forest, and we had a great time playing pool, soaking in the hot tub, playing cards on the deck, and looking out over the forest and mountains. We skied Mammoth and Kirkwood; what amazing scenery on these drives and mountains, and what excellent spring skiing! The house and deck were so comfortable when we came home to relax. The furniture and decor were very tasteful and comfortable. I have told many friends to stay at this house; it was an excellent value. Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

disappointed

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: February 20, 2013

the place would be nice if it was cleaned before we arrived we had to wait at a casino for 8 hours till they cleaned it we lost a full day and did not get refunded.
all furnishings are 30 years old, beds all have holes in the middle of the mattress's, the couch bed had springs hanging out of it not useable, the other couch when you sit in it your butt hits the floor.
the hot tub was filthy smelled like sewer water and the jets did not work at all.
We left a day early, we told the owner of all the issues and he showed no concern.

Owners response: The guest review above is mostly not factual.

The house was not ready at 4 PM Check in time, but was ready at 6:30 PM.

The first time I heard about these problems was during reading this review. I spoke with the guest right away. The guest admitted that his comments in this review were not factual, and said that "it was not worth his time to open the website" and correct his misrepresentations. I offered a refund, and the guest did not accept my offer.

The guest did not mention any other problem during their stay, as agreed upon in our rental agreement; nor did this guest request a refund; I could have addressed these problems right away and offered a refund, had the guest mentioned a problem.

I started vacation renting this home in 2000. The furnishings were all new then, and most have been replaced since then. One bedroom and bathroom were added in 2007, so everything in that room was new at that time.

The hot tub was checked by a technician after this stay and is working properly and is cleaned and maintained after every guest stay. The mattress on the sleeper sofa has since been replaced.

Helpful votes: 2 / 15

 

B-day trip to Tahoe with friends

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 23, 2013

Me and my friends stayed at this Stateline property and had a great time. The place was clean, with small exceptions that I have reported to the owner only for the purpose of disclosing the conditions of the house at arrival, so it does not create a problem at departure. Vince, the owner was very nice and polite every time I reached out to him during the stay and he was easy to contact.

The hot spa was not working properly but owner offered to fix right away (much appreciated). Also the propane tanks were empty, but we went and replaced them and owner gladly refunded the money, not just the cost but a bit over on top of that. I am assuming for the inconvenience and that gesture shows a lot of character. For that reason alone I would gladly stay and recommend this property to everyone.

Overall, the cabin was clean and in good shape. Lower level master bedroom was my favorite, with a feel of (Tahoe cabin design). Ping pong table was in the garage and we did not get to use because it was way too cold up there. But there was pool table to entertain us, the hot spa, the swings under the deck (brilliant idea Vince) and the beauty of the view and surrounding nature of the property. Also the floor plan of the cabin allows visitors to seat in deferent areas of the house but still be part of the party. Very well designed and furnished. The cabin is being advertised as sleeping 12 people. This is not to degrade the cabin, but I would recommend that if you have a party of adults only, max 10 people is what the cabin sleeps. Luckily we were 9.

The description of the cabin was accurate and expect to find even more and better than what you find on the web page. Location was great, close to heavenly, casinos, and stores. Property was clean, and well maintained. Owner provided the highest level of customer service that you could expect from any individual or professional. Great job Vince (before the stay and after the stay). I would 100% recommend this cabin to friends, relatives, anyone and surely would try to stay here again.

Cabins in Tahoe could be a gamble, but this cabin is your lucky ticket.
GO STAY and ENJOY!

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

A great place to stay in Tahoe!

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: January 18, 2012

 
I just want to say thank you for renting your home to me and my friends. We had a wonderful time and could not have asked for a better vacation. The house was perfect for the number of people and someone was always playing pool, in the spa or playing a board game. We also enjoyed snowboarding at heavenly and your home was in the perfect location for snowboarding, as well as going to the casinos. Your home is also perfectly located to go on hikes and to explore the forests of lake tahoe. I will definitely recommend your vacation home to any of my friends and family. Next time, I'm staying for at least a week!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

This place was wonderful and it is a great value!

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: January 18, 2012

 
I just want to say thank you for renting your home to me and my friends. We had a wonderful time and could not have asked for a better vacation. The house was perfect for the number of people and someone was always playing pool, in the spa or playing a board game. We also enjoyed snowboarding at heavenly and your home was in the perfect location for snowboarding, as well as going to the casinos. Your home is also perfectly located to go on hikes and to explore the forests on lake tahoe. I will definitely recommend your vacation home to any of my friends and family. Next time, I'm staying for at least a week!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

Excellent Hot Tub, Pool Table, Decks, Views!

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

This was the best vacation experience I had in many years; the house was perfect! Lake Tahoe is so much fun to visit in summer! Furnishings and amenities were excellent. I would recommend this South Lake Tahoe Vacation Rental to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Following Up and Thanks

Review submitted: January 6, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

Hey Vince,

I wanted to follow up and thank you again for opening up your home to us for NYE. We had a great time and will be sure to reach out again for future trips. I just wanted to circle back to make sure we left everything in satisfactory condition. I went down the departure checklist to be sure, but wanted to reconnect with you to make sure.

Many thanks,

Adam

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Fun - Luxury - Near Heavenly & Casinos

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: January 27, 2010

Our family loves this fun luxurious home and returns every January. The hot tub and decks are really large. The yard is great for sledding. The views are lovely.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Janet. We're glad you enjoyed your stay.

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Wow! Great Views! Great Layout! Comfortable!

Review submitted: October 14, 2009   Date of arrival: March 11, 2009

We stay in vacation rental homes in Tahoe a few times per year in all seasons. This place stands out as a great value! The house is much nicer and more comfortable than the photos and description. Everything was clean and in great shape. We really enjoyed the big wrap around deck and access to the national forest in the back yard. The open floor plan with everything all on one floor makes it feel really comfortable. We would like to move to this place. Our kids and grandkids don't visit that often, so we usually don't need a house this big, but we will be sure to reserve this place when we do. We loved being so close to the ski lift and live entertainment at the casinos.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 6, 2003   Date of arrival: April 6, 2003

"Your house was great and all six of us enjoyed the weekend.
No significant problems to report with the house.
The roads were clear and it was easy to get around town.
It was very convenient to get to the slopes at Heavenly.

None of us had ever entered Heavenly on the Nevada side
and it was considerably less crowded than the California side.
The Jacuzzi was used several times and enjoyed by all.
We found everything we needed in the kitchen and plenty of blankets, pillows and TOWELS.

Nice place!
I have rented many places in different locations for vacations over the years.
Usually they are marginally as advertised.
We were very pleased to find that yours was better than expected! Thanks!"
-Mike

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 13, 2002   Date of arrival: January 13, 2002

"We were all _speechless_ -- your house is *gorgeous*.
What a fantastic location... fantastic valley view...
fantastic kitchen / layout... unbelievable.
We all really had a wonderful time
- and your house was a very big reason why.
Your House Was Fantastic!
We Couldn't Have Built A Better Place Ourselves!"
-Jim

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 13, 2001   Date of arrival: October 13, 2001

"Vince,
Just wanted to let you know we had a great time at your house.
It was more beautiful than the pictures showed.
The pool table was a huge hit, and the hot tub was perfect after a long day of golf.
Everyone thanked me a million times, so I figured I better pass some on to you.

Hope to stay there again some time in the future; maybe for a winter ski trip!

Thanks for everything,"
-Jason

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review