reviews for: listing #13738 - San Diego, California Studio rental

2 Min. to Downtown - Mission Hills Spanish Studio
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Mission Hills
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $85 - $210 /nt
    $525 - $875 /wk
    $2,100 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: October 2, 2009   Date of arrival: August 16, 2009

We advice this wonderful San Diego Studio to anyone who wishes to live a more independent holiday in California. Even if we did not have a car, the area was perfectly linked to the rest of San Diego(downtown, beaches, the hills...). We had a wonderful welcoming from Yasmin who showed us around the area the first day.
The Studio is very comfortable and was perfectly clean and furnished when we got there. (btw, the most cozy bed ever!!!!)
We suggest it for any couple who would like to spend a relaxing holiday in Sunny California.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Great property - Great location!

Review submitted: July 22, 2014   Date of arrival: June 30, 2014

The studio was absolutely perfect for my husband and I! The place was very clean and cozy with a nice patio we enjoyed attached to the studio. Also the common area was so beautiful with the amazing garden. We got great use of the grill located in the common area. The location is ideal for anyone visiting the San Diego area. Everything you could want is only minutes away. We had a short walk to the famous luche libre taco shop which we fell in love with - we highly recommend their burritos! Yasmin was such a joy to meet and an amazing hostess. We are already looking forward to returning!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful and perfect!

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 10, 2014

This perfect little studio is a great escape from the hustle and bustle yet close enough to be part of it if you want it. Just a quick trip across the bridge to Coronado or downtown. I've already booked my next stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A cozy escape just minutes from everything

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 10, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Mission Hills Studio while on a ten-day combination business/pleasure trip. The studio offered enough amenities to make for a comfortable base camp and the bed was very comfortable. I appreciated all of the "little extras" with which the studio was stocked, like rewards cards to local grocery stores. Parking was easy and the location was EXTREMELY convenient to local dining, freeways, and the airport. Overall a great place to stay!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great property, good location!

Review submitted: August 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

Stayed here almost a year ago and still haven't written a review! What a shame! Because this place deserves a good review!

Why? Because its a wonderful property.
The location is great! Only 5 minutes from the airport, 10 minutes from old town. The tramstop is just down the road. And city center is only a couple of blocks away.
But the condo is also located in one of the nicest parts of san diego! grocery stores nearby!

The condo is clean and spacious with a great kitchen and a good bathroom with tub. Internet works fine and lots of TV channels.
The garden is a real charm and really cosy and great to eat in or have a glass of wine on a sunny afternoon.

Also the contact with the owner Yasmin is very good and very professional. Very clear contracts and very reliable.

next time i have a conference in san diego i will email yasmin again!.

vince

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming place, great value!

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

We had a great stay here. Easy and quick to get to from the airport, easy street parking for our rental car, beautiful garden and clean, comfortable room. Good coffee provided as a bonus! The owner was very nice and easy to talk to and everything went smoothly. I would definitely stay here again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best choice!

Review submitted: May 4, 2013   Date of arrival: April 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this location for a week this past April. What a great decision! The location is ideal. A ten minute drive will get you to the beach, the mountains and to downtown SD (the Gaslamp). Not to mention in this neighborhood alone, you have access to great restaurants and grocery stores.
Yasmin was friendly and helpful, met her when we checked in and felt immediately welcomed.
The studio is clean, quaint and just enough space for me and my boyfriend. Would recommend this place to a couple, three friends, or a family of three.
We would absolutely choose to stay at this location again in the future!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Studio..Cozy, Private, GREAT Location, GREAT Value

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

We (3 adults) opted to stay at the Studio mainly due to it's proximity to SDSU and the affordable rate. Unknowingly we were close to absolutly everything - 15 minutes to downtown, beaches, SDSU, Balboa Park, Little Italy, the Gaslamp District and the airport even closer. The Studio was comfortable, clean and decorated nicely. Yasmin went beyond any of our expectations when our arrival time was changed due to a work conflict. She had everything ready for us and met with us the next day at our convenience to answer any of our questions - mostly about food! The parking is a little tight, due to the hilly terraine, but not something to deter one from staying at this GREAT find. Not only were there close restaurants with great food-within walking distance, but a short drive up W. Washington Steet we located a StarBucks and on Goldfinch Street, Lefty's Chicago Pizzaria! Best pizza ever! Just a tip: all the restaurants in San Diego get very busy, escpecially for Sunday Brunch - be patient & prepared to wait. Our daughter will be attending SDSU and we plan on returning to the Studio in order to visit often. We highly recommend the Studio! Thank You Yasmin!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cute and central location

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

This studio is in a great location, near great restaurants and the Zoo. Place was clean, and well-decorated. The little patio outside is a nice place to eat breakfast.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy, homey studio in the greatest location!

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

My husband & I decided to stay in this adorable studio while we were in San Diego for a friends wedding. Everything was perfect, the studio was so cozy & it really made you feel like you were at home. We felt like it was in the perfect location for everything that we were doing, and it was within walking distance from some yummy restaurants. Just a tip: those restaurants at the bottom of the hill are all good! But they do get busy, so keep that in mind if you're starving and it's dinner time you might have a harder time getting a table quickly. Lucha Libre was good, maybe a bit overrated plus the cashier seriously lacked any type of personality, at least a smile would of been nice out of him. The Japanese restaurant, Yoshino's, was SO GOOD, our server was so sweet and the food was amazing. Anyway back to the studio, Yasmin (the owner) was very nice, and helpful she even has a Welcome binder with recommendations for things to do/food/etc. The listing is exactly right, and the place is very clean and well maintained. We definitely got a work out going up and down the hill that the studio is on, but it was a big part of the experience. We will definitely be back to San Diego and we know where we will be staying from now on. I would highly recommend this place to everyone I know.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home from Home

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay in the studio apartment. The accommodation was clean and well equipped and it was great to have the use of a washer and dryer.

The owner Yasmin was very friendly and helpful but not intrusive.

Even though we were in a city we felt so safe that on hot nights we slept with the windows and patio door open. (There is a large fan in the studio for those who prefer to use it).

The accommodation is in a residental area but is well located, with restaurants just a few minutes walk away.

Should we return to San Diego then we will definately stay there again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice studio!

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this little condo and will likely return. Yasmin was great to deal with in preparing for our stay. The condo had more than we needed to make our weekend getaway feel like it had a touch of home. So many fun restaurants/bars within short, though hilly, walking distance, plus close proximity to all the touristy spots. We have no complaints regarding the accommodations for our stay. Thank you, Yasmin!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great value

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 18, 2012

For the price paid we were very satisfied. The location is great, cable tv/dvd player included, and washer/dryer included. The area felt safe and even though it appears close to the airport on the map, we never even heard airplanes throughout our stay. It does get a little warm but 2 fans are even provided and you can always open the window. Thanks Yasmin!

Owners response: Thank you Jesse for your review and for choosing to stay with us!
Very few homes in the coastal areas of San Diego offer A/C. All of our rentals have floor fans, ceiling fans, or both. There is almost always a nice ocean breeze and temperatures rarely go above 75 degrees during the daytime and always drop to the mid 60's at night. San Diego can definitely boast the best weather in the world! On the very few days during the summer that temps go up above the average our fans do an excellent job.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved the place.

Review submitted: May 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 25, 2012

Loved the place. Is a really nice;y furnished room, and an easy walk to the Washington street station. If I ever go back to San Diego I will certainly stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful private studio; great location!

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

My wife and I were in San Diego for a much needed r and r, and we found this little place just perfect! Quiet, comfortable, cozy. The little gardens and plant beds all around the house are beautiful. Amenities are excellent, property clean and very well maintained. Yasmin was very helpful!

The studio is ten minutes from downtown, Old Town, airport, bay, Balboa Park, so great location too!

To top it all off, the price for the value was amazing! I will recommend this place to anyone I know who is planning to stay a week in San Diego!

Joseph

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly Recommended

Review submitted: January 28, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

The Mission Hills Studio is the perfect alternative to staying in a hotel. It is tucked away in the back corner of the complex so it is very private and quiet, although secure. It is the size you would expect for a studio but has all of the essentials: bed, bathroom, and a kitchen area that includes a microwave and mini refrigerator. I did not rent a car for my 5 day stay and had no problems walking or taking the trolley/bus to the major tourist destinations. A multi-day pass for the transit systems is very affordable and convenient. Yasmin even provides bus schedules and transit maps for the routes you will most likely use for tourist destinations. A cab ride from/to the airport is approximately $12, not including tip. The studio is clean and well maintained. I was especially impressed with the professionalism of Yasmin, the owner. From the initial inquiry, to formally initiating the agreement, to meeting her in person on my arrival, the entire process was straightforward and very efficient. I would highly recommend the Mission Hills Studio to anyone looking forward to an alternative to a hotel for their visit to San Diego. Yasmin’s hospitality far outweighs the amenities of most hotels. She also owns other rental properties, so if your needs require more space than the studio provides, she can still assist you.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great and inexpensive place to stay!!

Review submitted: October 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

This lovely studio apartment was in a great neighbourhood with easy access to both trolley and bus transportation. The apartment was clean and comfortable and the owner, Yasmin, was very helpful and personable. The patio was nice for relaxing basks in the sunshine and there is also a laundry room if needed. The local restaurants were excellent and I recommend the Bluewater restaurant, Saffron restaurant, El Indio restaurant and The Regal Beagle, Sausage grill and bar. The ride to the airport is only 15 minutes and cabs are easily available. A walk to downtown is about 45 minutes but only if you're fit. We didn't need a car for the two weeks we were there.

I would definitely recommend this studio for long or short stays. San Diego has so much to offer we could have stayed two more weeks on top of the two we already stayed.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely place and a very nice location

Review submitted: September 17, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

Yasmin was very friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome.

The flat was perfect - easy to get to, had lovely views and good value for money.

It was also spotlessly clean; had a comfy bed and was well-equipped.

If we go back to San Diego we would not have any qualms with staying here again.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We take all reviews seriously and try and address any issues that may arise.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Zentral gelegen und liebevoll eingerichtet

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

I write this comment in German for all the German speaking people:

Yasmin ist eine ausgesprochen nette und hilfsbereite Gastgeberin, die jederzeit ansprechbar ist.Die Wohnung ist liebevoll eingerichtet und auch sehr sauber. Sie liegt zentral, sodass man auch ohne Auto die Stadt sehr gut erkunden kann. Die Innenstadt ist zu Fuss in einer halben Stunde erreichbar, Little Italy schon in einer Viertelstunde. Auch liegt eine Tramhaltestelle in der Nähe. Es hat in der Umgebung einige gut besuchte Restaurants. Obwohl der Flughafen nahe gelegen ist, schläft man sehr gut.
Die Wohnung ist auf jeden Fall weiterzuempfehlen.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Compact but perfectly formed !

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

Lovely little studio apartment, good for 1-2 people for a few days. I stayed for 3 nights. Owner is very friendly and helpful. Easy access at rear of property for loading/unloading car. Location is just behind airport and just off the interstate in from the east and while outside you can hear the planes, inside the studio is very quiet. It was well placed and easy to access all parts of town by car. Local info pack at the apartment was useful and I actually used some suggestions for shops and restaurants.

Apartment is comfortably furnished in a friendly way - it isn't 5 star but is in good condition and is good value for the price. Not that most travellers cook a full meal while on holidays but note the kitchen only has a microwave, not hotplates or an oven.

I usually stay in these type of apartments for holidays and would definitely stay here again for a stay of a week or less.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for the review.
Future guests, please read the rental description carefully. In the amenities section there is an extensive list of what the kitchenette consists of - there is no mention of a hotplate or a stove of any kind. If you wish to be able to cook, please check out our 1-bedroom Mission Hills condos, which have a full size kitchen (listing #176874).

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great, little pied a terre!

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

My young son and I spent 5 days in San Diego visiting all the hot spots: beach, Little Italy, Old Town, Zoo, Seaworld, Legoland. The unit is very clean, easy to find, and well-located for easy on/off access to the major motorway. The bed is comfortable and the unit quiet in the evenings. I was very pleased with my choice. The owner is very pleasant and I would recommend the unit to others.

One should be aware that you will need a car. The is located on quite a hill (parking is interesting) and does not have any cooking facilities, other than a microwave. Unless traveling with one very young child, 3 in the unit would be very tight!

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, accessible unit w/o all the trappings of a hotel, this is your place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

happy traveler

Review submitted: April 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 10, 2011

Great location, comfortable bed, quiet, clean with Plenty of street parking. We travel too much, and we felt like we were "at home" while staying at this condo. So much nicer than even the nicest hotel, (for us). Listing description and photos are accurate, property was well maintained, owner couldn't be more helpful. I am recommending this property to family/friends who visit San Diego. This property is located minutes from the beach/warf/the great Balboa park. Trolly is within walking distance, as are numerous restaurants and a great little coffee/gelato house. If a visitor had problems connecting w/the internet, it's because they didn't know how to use their laptop. I know because I had that problem and Jasmine helped me.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 13, 2010

My wife and I had a great time in San Diego. The studio is about 10 minutes from the airport. We had no problem checking in, as our host Yasmin gave us detailed directions. We spent the week seeing all the sites San Diego had to offer which included Balboa Park, Old Town, La Jolla, Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter. Also went to the USS Midway, Cabrillo National Monument, San Diego Maritime Museum, the zoo and Mission Basilica San Diego. We also had a good time going to the National Comedy Theatre which is a 4 minute walk from the room and took a Broadway show at the San Diego Civic Theatre. The studio was a great location for visiting all these sites. We also ate at many restaurants. Some restaurants that we visited within walking distance of the studio were Shakespeare Pub (good fish and chips and watched Monday Afternoon Football, coming from the east coast I couldn't get adjusted to watching football at 5:30 in the afternoon, El Indio(good breakfast burrito) and Lucha Libre Taco Shop(very large burritos) and the Reagle Beagle(25 beers on tap and I tried a few. In the Gaslamp Quarter we ate at the Hard Rock Cafe (which is our 24th and counting) the Old Spaghetti House and the Urban Bar and Grill and all them were good. If your looking for clean and simple accommodations in a great location and a pleasant host for a decent price. than this studio will do the trick.

PS. The studio is on a hill, to many people this doesn't mean anything but to an out of shape guy who for the last 7 years lives in unhilly FL, walking back to the studio from down the street was quite a workout.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Entspannung pur

Review submitted: September 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

I write this review in German for all the Germans out there.

Wir hatten anfangs nur drei Tage in der Unterkunft gebucht, aber wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt, so dass wir noch einen Tag verlängert haben. Das Apartment ist sehr sauber und Yasmin und Bill sind zwei wirklich nette und sehr hilfsbereite Gastgeber. Sie waren immer für uns da. Wir hatten ein Auto, aber auch mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln kann man San Diego gut erkunden. Wir können auf jeden Fall die Unterkunft weiterempfehlen und würden auch jederzeit wiederkommen. Wir hatten eine tolle Zeit.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Perfect place

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2010

Cozy place, nice landlords, nice location
A perfect place..

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Clean and Comfy

Review submitted: April 24, 2010   Date of arrival: March 25, 2008

The room was super clean and comfy. I love the detail to being eco friendly. The outside of the property has a beautiful garden and the location is perfect.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great find

Review submitted: July 31, 2009   Date of arrival: July 21, 2009

This is an absolutely lovely property situated really close to the popular Downtown area. Bill and Yasmin could not have been more helpful from the early stages of booking the accommodation right up until when we left. Had a fantastic stay here and would happily come back next time we visit San Diego

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wish we would have stayed here the whole time!!

Review submitted: July 5, 2009   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

My husband and I stayed 4 nights with our 2 yr old daughter. The studio was perfect. It is about the size of a large hotel room, but with a kitchenette, twin futon, and lots of closet and drawer space; it more than makes up for it's small size. The small deck was wonderful and our daughter loved to play out there and look for the cat. The free access to a washer and dryer was a nice bonus as well as the free internet. Location is wonderful, close to everything. The information booklet was well thought-out and very helpful. We added a new Phil's BBQ menu and left some coupons! (Phil's was great by the way!)

The only suggestions for improvement would be a couple additional pillows, towels, and washcloths. Mainly because we had three people with only two washcloths and towels.

My husband kept saying how he wished we had stayed here for our entire time in San Diego, as we spent our first 4 nights at the Omni Hotel for business. So, overall, it was awesome, I would stay here again if ever in San Diego, I would definately suggest it to family or friends visiting the city, and it was more comfortable than the "luxurious Omni Hotel"!!
Thanks so much Yasmin and BIll!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the suggestions. Extra pillows have been added per your recommendation. Please feel free to ask us for any missing items that were overlooked on your next visit. We will be happy to provide them during your stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice

Review submitted: June 20, 2008   Date of arrival: May 23, 2008

Pretty, convenient, and clean. Nice host.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Great Place

Review submitted: May 19, 2008   Date of arrival: May 10, 2008

This place was great! It was perfectly located so we didn't need a car all week, even though we were able to go to the beaches and downtown very easily. I would recommend it to anyone!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Conveniently San Diego

Review submitted: April 21, 2008   Date of arrival: April 16, 2008

I spent three days here with my wife and 1 year old son. The location was perfect. There is easy access to restaurants (I highly recommend the Blue Water Market and Grill), walking distance to the train station and cab rides were inexpensive to anywhere in the city. The owners were extremely helpful, considering this was our first trip to San Diego. This condo was all we needed after a few long days of touring around the city.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Wonderful Home Away from Home

Review submitted: March 6, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

My sister and I met for a weeklong getaway and had such a good time! We took advantage of the central, convenient location for a fun variety of adventures from our nice fresh fish dinner just down the street, to a day trip to Palomar Mtn. Observatory- Anza-Borrego Desert State Park- Julian (small mtn. town), and to all the beaches, Balboa Park, Old Town, Mission Hills-Hillcrest-North Park neighborhoods, etc. We felt safe and pleased with this find. The studio was just right for us in size and value, it was tucked away from traffic noise, and our hosts seemed to think of everything.

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Mission Hills, San Diego Studio

Review submitted: January 4, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

Studio size is sufficient for 2 people. Accommodating a 3rd person is a bit of a stretch, however doable! Great location since you could walk to numerous restaurants.

Reading lights are good.

Owners are friendly and fun to talk to .

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We always appreciate suggestions for improvements.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

A perfect home away from home in San Diego

Review submitted: January 2, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

This studio was perfect for us -- a couple visiting San Diego for a wedding. The studio was exceptionally clean and well-maintained -- all of the appliances were in great working order. The huge flat screen TV and DVD player were a real bonus and maps of the local area were provided too. The local area was great... although the studio is close to the freeway we didn't experience a problem with noise and the location makes it convenient for getting around San Diego. The studio is close to India street where there are great restaurants, including the famous Saffron Thai restaurant, the Shakespeare Pub and Grill, Indian as well as Mexican, Pizza, a fish restaurant and a great little gelato place. The owners are very friendly and helpful and were flexible as to our arrival time (we were driving from Northern California). All in all this was the perfect place for our stay in San Diego - comfortable, conveniently located, clean and cosy! We would definitely recommend this to friends and family. While there were only two of us, the studio could sleep three friends or a couple with a young child.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We always appreciate suggestions for improvements and hope to see you back with us.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great place, great location, great hosts!

Review submitted: December 28, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

We were in SD partly to attend a conference and partly for fun. Yasmin and Bill are great hosts and they take very good care of their guests. The studio is quite comfortable and well-equipped. The TV is very big with more than enough channels to choose from. Wireless internet access is a great feature. Trolley station is about 10 minutes walk down a somewhat steep hill, not an issue if you're strong or have a car. The only thing that might improve the place is perhaps a hotplate with a pot, and a lgiht switch close to the door (maybe there was one and we just didn't find it.)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review! We always appreciate suggestions for improvements.

There is a light switch by the door so you must have missed it. No worries. As to the hotplate, since the studio was not designed for proper ventilation of cooking smells and all that is associated we do not allow hotplates.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great Location and Place to Stay

Review submitted: June 30, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

My husband and I visit San Diego at least 3 times a year and have always stayed at a hotels. However,after staying at Bill and Yasmin's great studio we have found the place we will be staying from now on. The description of the studio is exactly what you will find when you arrive. The one thing that came as a nice suprise was the deck off of the studio, which made the studio seem much bigger. The location was great, close to everything. You cannot go wrong if you are looking for a nice place to stay that is close to everything in San Diego.

Helpful votes: 5 / 12

 

Excellent SD location

Review submitted: June 18, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

This is about as central a location as possible in SD. Mere minutes to everything. Easy access to main streets and freeways.
Quiet location, clean and roomy. Yasmin and Bill are great hosts. Very helpful.
We will be back, without a doubt.
Oh, and the kitty is very friendly....like having a rent-a-pet. Very cool!

Helpful votes: 4 / 11

 

Untitled

Review submitted: November 27, 2006   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

This place was wonderfully located. We used its location to the fullest. We did a lot of sightseeing and used the local travel accomodations even though we rented a car. For car owners/renters, just a tip make sure you crimp the wheels when parking on hills! We had never heard of that before and were ticketed. We will definitely stay there again when we go to San Diego if it is available. I would recommend going to The Shout in the Gaslamp Quarter for the dueling pianos. We really enjoyed that.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great value and location

Review submitted: November 16, 2006   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

Upon arriving at the studio, I was pleased to notice that it is exactly as described online. The landscaping surrounding the building is beautiful, and there is a pretty view from the front of the building. Yasmin greeted us immediately and was extremely polite, welcoming and helpful! :)

The studio is fairly small, but for two of us, was plenty of space. Everything was very clean and modern, and the linens and towels were of good quality. We especially enjoyed having a kitchen, including dishes and appliances. This really helped to save us money by allowing us to have a meal or two a day in the studio rather than eating out.

The private deck was a big plus, and the large TV was very nice. We also had more than enough closet and drawer space to unpack all of our clothes and belongings.

Most of all, we loved the location. There were some good restaurants and a pub just down the street, in walking distance. We made several visits to the Hillcrest neighborhood, which was only a 5 minute drive away and had some wonderful restaurants (Yasmin's suggestion.) Also very nearby were the zoo, downtown, numerous beaches and Old Town. We felt very safe in the neighborhood, and did not have trouble finding a parking space on the street.

We felt that staying at the studio was a great value, and would certainly reccomend it to others! :)

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great San Diego find

Review submitted: November 10, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

The place is small (just as advertised) but very comfortable. The bedding and towels are good quality (not thin or threadbare). The kitchen is well stocked with tableservice and utensils. Big TV was great. Location was great (short drive to Old Town, walking distance to some good restaurants and close to freeways - centrally located and it didn't take us long to get anywhere we needed to go). Never had any problems finding street parking (but hills are pretty steep and can be a bit intimidating). Yasmin and Bill were so kind, gracious and welcoming. Would definetely recommend!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Mission Hills Studio

Review submitted: September 14, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

Absolutely fabulous vacation studio. Seems much bigger than it's actual size due to the enourmous amount of natural light it receives. Sliding glass doors to private deck also make the studio seem much larger.
The location is great - you're minutes to downtown, the beaches, Sea World, La Jolla, Coronado Island, etc
You can't find ANYTHING this nice, with a central location at this price.
-RS

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

A ray of sunshine and a great find!

Review submitted: September 4, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

This Mission Hills vacation studio is exactly as described, if not better. The warmth and comfort that greet you will put you at ease, that you have chosen the perfect, centrally located, vacation retreat.

Simplicity and elegance abound in this studio. The comfort of the sleeping arrangements and storage for your belongings are wonderful. The studio is impeccably clean and greets you with Southwestern Charm.

Once you find your way around the neighborhood, you will realize that you are minutes away from some of San Diego's great attactions and close to major highways.

The efficiency kitchen and deck with sliding glass doors add to the comfort. It's like a home away from home.

I highly recommend this secluded find! See all that San Diego has to offer!

Enjoy!

Lenny of Boston, MA

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review