reviews for: listing #13864 - St Pete Beach, Florida House rental

Discover Palm Cottage - Book Summer Now !!! Pets OK Wifi
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $834 - $1,137 /wk
    $2,400 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Fun in Gulfport

Review submitted: July 16, 2014   Date of arrival: May 26, 2014

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The property is a charming little bungalow that is a very close to the beach / main street of Gulfport. Although the property is older, it is well maitained, clean and offers all the comforts of home. The property managers were very responsive and even brought over some beach toys to play with for our 4 year old. Gulfport itself is a vibrant and quirky area of St. Pete. This was our second time staying here and would strongly recommend it. Gulfport is not as touristy as the main Gulf beaches, and has a distinct charm all its own. The local restaurants are fantastic. We would certainly stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Long weekend mini vacation.

Review submitted: June 26, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Property general condition was satisfied, the area was nice, near to a lot of shopping, restaurant and entertainment. The only think I did not like was the reach itself, beach area very nice, but the beach itself was not a beach but a bay, that was the only thing I did not like ,beach water was dirty. Everything else I recommended/ We rent the place because beach was walking distance and it was, but the water was not nice.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Homey and convenient!

Review submitted: June 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Working on-line can be nervous sometimes but there was never a question the owner failed to clarify right away. Very competent and kind. We upheld our end to leave the place clean and our security deposit was promptly refunded. Definitely would use again and recommend to friends!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relax in comfort by the beach in a little ...

Review submitted: May 12, 2014   Date of arrival: April 14, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Relax in comfort by the beach in a little slice of paradise

The management company was very easy to work with and the property was exactly as described. We loved the town of Gulfport and felt right at home in all the local establishments. Everything was within walking distance and the beach was wonderful with beautiful sand volleyball courts, playgrounds and even a fishing pier. We will definitely return in the future and stay at Palm Cottage again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Most wonderful winter get-a-away

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very dirty.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This was our second year of staying at this location and it is the best! One block from the beach, 3 blocks from the downtown area and a great and very friendly spot to walk with your dog to meet very nice southern people! If you want to be busy there is something to do everyday, but if you just like to relax and enjoy the sunshine by the bay watching the dolphins this is the place.Best food and friendly staff is Tommies Tiki facing the Bay. Our only down side this year was the cleanliness of our cottage. I have asthma and the first nite had an asthmatic attack from all the dust. Found a bag of someone's dirty clothes in our closet, a baby pacifier along with multiple dust bunnies under our bed, broken glass on the kitchen floor(we'de only been there one nite) and lots of dust under all the furniture. Had to spend our first full day doing a complete cleaning of the place.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fun in Gulfport, FL

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: December 6, 2013

Rating Details:
I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We loved the cottage and the location was perfect! Brick streets, lots of well lit area to safely walk or run, one block from the beach...what else could you ask for?!
Gulfport is quaint with a variety of little unique shops and lots of casual restaurants with great food. We enjoyed being able to take our pug to many of the shops and eateries (as long as they have an outside eating area). The beach, pier and park are very nice. We encountered fleas at the cottage, called the rental agent and it was treated the same day. The shower did not easily shut off and, again, the rental agent had a plumber there the next day to fix it. Whoever cleans the cottage needs to make sure the cat and dog fur is cleaned out from under the couches and beds. The kitchen was very well equipped and I enjoyed fixing many a meal there. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay. The screened porch is great for enjoying morning coffee and the newspaper before starting your day! Would rent again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Stay at Palm Cottage August 2013

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 5, 2013

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Great location, well equipped cottage and very helpful management. Will definitely go back there. We all wished our stay had been longer!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place

Review submitted: November 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

My husband and I just completed our vacation week at the Gulfport Palm Cottage. What a beautiful and fully equipped cottage. Everything you could possibly need is there, including a gas grill, washer and dryer. The cottage was roomy and inviting. The front screened in porch was our favorite place to sit at night. The cottage is in a great location, within walking distance to a great artist community and a short walk to the beach. We will definitely plan another stay here. I highly recommend the Gulfport Palm Cottage.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Very nice cottage in good location

Review submitted: September 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2012

The Palm Cottage rental was very good. The description and pictures of the property provided us with a good idea off what to expect and the house was very clean and included all the items described to make our stay very comfortable. It was very close to he Gulfport town centre and the small beach, which is a very nice little community with great restaurants and interesting little stores.
We didn't have any trouble with the property except when there was an issue with the washing machine. We contacted the owner and were called back shortly thereafter with directions to a nearby property where we could do our laundry while the machine was being repaired. We appreciated this prompt level of customer service.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Disappointing

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Beth and Sally,

To say the very least I would not ever use again or recommend your property to anyone I know. Here are just a few of my reasons:

Pictures of cottage look great but do not tell the overall condition of your property. I would rate the inside and outside of your house fair at best.

We arrived to a non working access code. We had to call Sally no answer... she called back in 15 minutes acting like we did not understand how the lock worked when we had already entered the code given to us in the laundry room to verify that the code worked somewhere just not on the most important door in the house the front door. Sally talked to me like I was a child that did not or could not follow instructions, when the problem was really Beth and or Sally did not load the code that you sent us into the lock properly to begin with. Please make sure the codes work. That is not a fun thing to have to deal with after a long drive.
Rating on access. Poor/Failed

Refrigerator was dirty, had to wipe shelves off just to use it. Rating Poor

Look between the stove right side and the cabinet at the build up of dirt on floor I am suprised you don't have a rodent problem. Rating Poor/Failed

Dishwasher installed an an angle. Just an observation for life of the dishwasher.

Dust bunnys under couches & beds, you or your cleaning service are not doing yourselves any favors. Overall cleaniness of cottage. Rating Fair

Beach at Gulfport Rating One star.
You have to travel to St. Pete or Fort De Soto Park for a real beach to use. Rating Four Star

The screen room was not usable a lot of dirt everywhere. Never used it or would have been able to use in it's present condition. Rating Poor I should not have to clean to use.

The outdoor grill was rusty for the facility you are promoting and the price of your rental. I would be ashamed to have that grill. Throw it or give it away.
Rating Poor

Shower curtain rod would not stay up in the bathroom.

Living room ceiling light did not work but the fan did. Perform a light check each week. Rating Poor

Supplies supplies were scattered. No organization to their location. Easter Egg hunt was fun.

Toilet paper was thinner than onion skin paper. You may have a delicate sewer system alright but come On..... Rating Poor

Overall I am streching to give you a one star.

Owners response: We regret that these guests were not satisfied with their rental though we are pleased that others have been not only satisfied and have returned several times.

Regarding the snafu with the lock code. We use SchlageLink to set unique guest codes. During a recent two-week period (which included these guests’ stay), we attempted (for the second time) to use a scheduling feature which did not reliably add the codes at the required time. We were able to give the guests a new code within 15 minutes once alerted to the issue.

Our homes are cleaned after each guest and we perform periodic and seasonal deep cleanings. Most of our guests tell us that Palm Cottage is cleaner and nicer than many places they have stayed. One month prior to their stay we painted the living room. In doing so we moved all the living room furniture and cleaned all the baseboards. The same was done with the second guest bedroom. The toilet paper is Charmin/Scott and works just fine. With respect to the other items, we encourage our guests at several points during the reservation process and upon arrival, to please contact us if anything is amiss, or breaks or otherwise needs maintenance. The contact number is displayed on arrival documents and in the home. It is unfortunate for all parties that we were not aware, until this review, that they had any issues whatsoever with their stay.

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Splendid location

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2012

We spent 10 days at this home and were quickly able to find the beat of the beach , dining, and charm of the community.
The home met our needs in every way and we especially enjoyed cookouts in the back yard, shade of the trees and all the creature comforts.
We look forward to returning for a visit next year and staying at Palm Cottage.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 11, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

What a delightful surprise! The house and yard are lovely, and the location perhaps best of all. One block to beach, two blocks to great restaurants and parks. Lots of interesting bird life. Want to come back for longer stay. Bathroom is a bit tight, though.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 10, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We recently completed our second stay at Palm Cottage. The cottage is roomy, nicely decorated and comfortable. The beds are great for sleeping, the kitchen is well supplied with equipment and the patio and porch area are great for relaxing. The grounds are carefully kept and attractive. The owners/managers are helpful and friendly. The location is terrific. Everything you need is close by but you feel that you are in a quiet, cottagey area. You can see Boca Ciega Bay from the porch and great room area. It is a quick walk to the Rec Centre where they offer a variety of drop in classes, the Casino for ballroom dancing, Wood Ibis Park where there are lots of birds and a short walking trail, and the shops and restaurants along Gulfport's main street. The Library, Seniors' Centre, pharmacy and two churches are all walkable. It is a short drive to downtown St. Petersburg, Fort De Soto Park and St. Pete's or Passe A Grill Beaches. There's even a trolley that stops nearby and will take you to St. Pete's Beach. Palm Cottage is a great place to stay.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 7, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We stayed here for two months over Christmas and into 2009. Palm Cottage is in a great location with the beach just a few steps away! A comfortable property with everything that you could need for your vacation. We highly recommend it! There are also numerous restaurants nearby, and should you want a change of scene then St. Petes or De Soto Park are a short drive away, offering fine alternative beaches and more! - Ken and Elaine Mahoney (England)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 6, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

great place to stay .. nice quiet neighborhood. walking distance to nice restaurants. I would definitely stay here again !!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 5, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Great Little place with all the comforts of Home
including wireless internet. Fully stocked kitchen with
everything you need to cook. You just provide the
food. Short walk to the beach and some great
restaurants. This is a great winter or summer getaway,
We will be back!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great home away from home

Review submitted: July 22, 2008   Date of arrival: July 4, 2008

Super cozy and very clean, good and quiet location and all the amenities you need. We very much enjoyed!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 13, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

This was a lovely place for us and our young son to spend a long weekend. It was quiet yet super convenient to the activities of Gulfport and to other cities in the area. Everything was without hassle. We would stay here again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 11, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

LOVELY! Wonderful retreat that was perfect for our family vacation. Service/amenities/booking/dep refund - all above our expectation and hassle free. We will certainly return.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 29, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

Palm Cottage is a cute and cozy, well supplied and maintained 2 bedroom cottage near the beach and shopping areas of Gulfport. The owners have provided many artistic touches. We enjoyed the screened in porch and barbecue/patio area very much. The area is wonderful for walking and it is just a short drive if you are looking for more action. It appears to be one of the nicest rental properties in Gulfport and is pet friendly. We are looking forward to returning for a longer holiday next time.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 31, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

We had a wonderful time at the charming Palm Cottage. The cottage is very relaxing and the front porch is great. Gulfport is a wonderful little community away from the traffic and hassle of the beachfront. Great little restaurants in the area. Be sure to explore Clam Bayou.
Be sure to get some advice from Sally when you check-in. thanks

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 15, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Great cottage, location, and seaside town! We really enjoyed our stay at Palm Cottage and will stay here again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 14, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

I rented the Palm Cottage for a business associate
who was in town for a two week project. She loved
the fact that she didn't have to live out of a hotel
room. It was nicely appointed, very well kept and
convenient to a number of great restaurants and
shops.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 18, 2006   Date of arrival: December 1, 2006

Palm Cottage worked perfect for me as a little getaway just across town. The home is bright, roomy and close to all the right stuff (beach and quaint restaurants). I would recommend a stay here to anyone!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 4, 2006   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 1 week stay at Palm Cottage. We felt very comfortable in this cottage as it was spacious enough not to be tripping over each other. An added bonus was the fully equipped kitchen and eating area. Palm Cottage makes you feel just like you are at home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 22, 2005   Date of arrival: April 1, 2005

We had a very enjoyable 6 weeks stay. The cottage has everything you need (and everything worked!) to feel like you are "right at home".

And, it is convenient to just about anything you would like to do; St. Pete Beach about 10 minutes, I-275 about 10 minutes and "Downtown" Gulfport, only 3 blocks away!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review