reviews for: listing #13867 - Kiawah Island, South Carolina Villa rental

Oceanfront Premier 2-BR Windswept Villa, High Speed Internet
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Windswept
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $450 /nt
    $1,600 - $3,700 /wk
    $3,600 - $3,600 /mth

sort by:

Almost everything

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 30, 2013

Nice and clean. The owners and managers are very organized and everything was done as promised. Only complaint would be the very soft master bed. If you don't mind, you have lovely views. Also, if you need strollers, be prpared to carry them upnthe first flight. I think all places on the island have the same issue.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for submitting your review. Just a note to let folks know that the master bed is complete with a new top-quality mattress, a memory foam mattress topper, deliciously soft sheets, duvet cover and fluffy pillows. All of our properties have exceptional bedding, and although each guest has different preferences, most find our beds to be more comfortable than their own.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Incredible Vacation

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

Our vacation to Kiawah Island was incredible. From our very first communication with the property managers Jeanette & Shawn - to our very last day, everything was first class. Every minute detail was taken care of from booking the unit, to directions on how to find the property, to places to visit and restaurants to venture to. The unit itself was 5-star - all the amenities you could want and absolutely immaculate. We loved the area/island and will without a doubt vacation here again. We found Kiawah relaxing, fresh and stressfree.

Thanks Jeanette & Shawn for an incredible, first-rate vacation!

Karen & Scott

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful stay!

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

Upon arrival, I immediately felt that this was a "home away from home"! All of the comforts and amenities of home exceeded my expectations! We definitely plan on returning!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Villa!!

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

Thanks so much for allowing us the use of your beautiful villa! Everything was perfect, especially the little details...we've been coming to Kiawah since 1978 and this was the best villa experience we've had so far! A great 40th birthday weekend for my wife!

Thanks!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

Lovely. Rented, many times from this company. You will never be disappointed. Always clean, comfortable bedding, well appointed and breathtaking location.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Vacation At Villa Mariah, Kiawah Island

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

Kiawah Island offers a wonderful panorama of sea, lagoons, wet lands, landscape and golf courses. Villa Mariah has outstanding ocean views from the living, dining, master bedroom and outdoor terrace. Lovely property. Very clean, well maintained and welcoming. We found the decor to be tasetful and appealing. The web is well designed and easy to navigate. The site accurately reflects the villa's appearance and amenities. However, the outdoor terrace was smaller than we thought it would be. The owners were very helpful before and during our stay. In fact, the owners were the best rental group that I have encountered. They provided lots of information about the area's attractions, including directions to Charleston as well as details concerning the villa. Would definately recommend this property. We enjoyed bike riding, the gym, the pool and beach. Also enjoyed beautiful Charleston. Four of us had a wonderful experience at Cafe Cru, a Charleston restaurant. The food and service were outstanding. We thought the space was warm and inviting. For more casual dining, we liked Red, a restaurant on the Marina not far from Kiawah. One thought: the Windswept properties have about 5 or 6 steps leading to the elevator. In the future, we will keep that in mind when packing so as to avoid having to carry very heavy items up the stairs. There are no dollies or carts for luggage transport. We did not notice any ramp access as well.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful experience!

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 6, 2011

We stayed for one week the beginning of April. We arrived late to the villa after a long day of travel and immediately felt welcomed as the lights were on, music was playing, and the condo was presented as if we were being welcomed to someone's home. Early the next morning we called Shawn with questions and he arrived at the villa a short time later to answer our questions and make sure we had everything we needed for our stay. Little things that make a big difference are included with the villa- laundry soap, saran wrap and foil, containers to store leftovers from cooking, wine cork to preserve your wine (loved that as we use those at home!). The villa was immaculate, the quality of furnishings and decorations excellent. The Mariah is even nicer than the pictures reflect! We loved the set-up of the villa with the loft upstairs for reading and the separate master bedroom. The location is excellent with wonderful ocean views and a 5 minute walk to the market for the daily paper. Shawn and Jeanette own these properties and maintain them directly, which shows in the quality and service. There is a binder in the villa with loads of info about the island and Charleston, which we found very helpful although it was not our first time to Kiawah. We will look no further than Kiawah Island Getaways for our next trip as the whole experience, from reservations to check-out, was outstanding.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Mr. and Mrs.

Review submitted: March 16, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

Mariah was everything we hoped for. Its location was wonderful with a fabulous view of the beach and ocean. The apartment was very clean, beautifully furnished and very well equipped, particularly the kitchen, and it was obvious a great deal of thought had been put into its set up. The owners arrived to greet us soon after our arrival and responded very quickly to our one request for help. The resort's proximity to Charleston is an added bonus and we were also able to find and play golf on several nearby courses. We would have no hesitation to recommend this property to friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The perfect solution for the "get-away-from-it-all" problem. A week in paradise!!

Review submitted: November 3, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

"The Mariah" is the perfect vacation spot for a vacation in the Kiawah area. Absolutely immaculate, ultimately cormfortable, and completely convenient, "The Mariah" is exactly as described. Just steps from the ocean, fall to sleep listening to the sound of the surf, and, awake to the warming rays of the early morning sunrise. Watch the feeding dolphins, or the grazing white tail deer from the deck; catch a view of a bobcat, or a blue crab, it's all right there. Kiawah Island is so quiet and peaceful while being within easy driving distance of many other attractions. Outstanding restaurants are just a short drive away, and downtown Charleston offers adventures for all. If you're looking for a place to rest, relax, and recharge, "The Mariah" is the answer. Kiawah Islands Getaways, and Shawn and Jeanette, are the best to work with and I can highly recommend their property and their service.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Stress Reliever

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

My husband works very hard, long days, including many, many weekends. We needed a place that would take his mind off of work and allow him to relax and enjoy everything! We found that at the Mariah! The accomadations were beautiful, comfortable and perfect for our vacation. We started out with 2 of our children and 1 grandchild staying with us for the first part of the week and then it was just the two of us for the remainder of the week. The apartment allowed us the freedom to have group time and alone time. The proximity of the beach was perfect. We enjoyed our coffee every morning on the deck looking at the ocean waves and really unwinding. The bikes that were there for us were great and we enjoyed spending a few hours in the morning exploring the island and looking for a coffee shop to end our morning journey.I'm pretty sure that we will be back to Kiawah Island!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay on the beach!

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 9, 2010

Very nice and roomy 2 BR villa which was nicely decorated/furnished and stocked with lots of little extras (games, movies, books, cooking utensils, etc.) that enhanced our stay. Great view of the beach and ocean, and a short walk to the beautiful beach. Very nice!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Mariah Visit

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

This was our first visit to Kiawah Island. What a fantastic trip! The Mariah is beyond exceptional. The location is fabulous with ocean view. The pictures do not do the Mariah justice. It is much more spacey, open and very comfortable than what the pictures indicated. Jeanette and Shawn made sure that everything we could have needed was available! The property was very clean and well maintained. The washer and dryer were indispensable. I would highly recommend renting the bikes if you do not have your own. The bike paths were numerous and very well tended. In one word I would describe our vacation as being very "relaxed". We hope to return soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Location was Great

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 16, 2008

We had a great time in your villa on Kiawah. Thanks for all the extras that you included to make our stay more enjoyable. The location was great and your unit worked out perfectly for our family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Little Unexpected Touches Made Our Stay Pleasant

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2008

The "Mariah" was everything advertised and more. The home was beautiful, nicely decorated, and very clean. All of the little unexpected touches made our stay even more pleasant, and to use the words of another guest, I felt like I was staying in a friend's home, not just renting a vacation spot. I would definitely stay in another "Kiawah Island Getaways" property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 1, 2009   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

We had a great vacation. The villa is in excellent condition and has everything you need. The beach is very nice, the island is pristine.We have stayed at many other resorts in South Carolina and this is by far the best.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 11, 2008   Date of arrival: August 11, 2008

We loved staying at The Mariah. The condo was located near the beach, beautiful ocean views, wonderful rooms, comfortable beds, very nice bed linens and towels. Unbelievable in a rental, they included all the "little" things, i.e. dish/laundry soap,toilet paper, paper towels, cooler, coffee grinder, napkins, etc. We would love to go return to this wonderful place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 23, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Our stay on Kiawah Island was our first family trip to the beach. The Mariah was beautiful and very well stocked. We are planning to return next summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 16, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

We had a great time in your villa on Kiawah. Thanks for all the extras that you included to make our stay more enjoyable. The location was great and your unit worked out perfectly for our famiy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 14, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

The "Mariah" was everything advertised and more. The home was beautiful, nicely decorated, and very clean. All of the little unexpected touches made our stay even more pleasant, and to use the words of another guest, I felt like I was staying in a friend's home, not just renting a vacation spot. I would definitely stay in another Kiawah Island Getaways property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: April 29, 2008   Date of arrival: April 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Mariah for a lovely week with our 2 year old and 5 month old daughters and found the accomodations perfect for us. Jeanette and Shawn had set up a crib in the master closet (which is quite large) for the baby, and that worked really well. Our toddler was able to have the downstairs bedroom all to herself! The villa was very nicely furnished and clean, and there were lots of little touches such as the toys/games in the closet, music in the CD player, videos, etc... that made it very easy to transition into our "home" for the week. There is an ocean view from the balcony, and nothing was more relaxing than sitting out there with my husband after putting the kids to bed, listening to the waves crash, and enjoying a nice glass of wine! The location is also wonderful - very close to Night Heron park, the beach, and the Sanctuary. Jeanette and Shawn also recommended a fantastic babysitter for us, and I look forward to calling her again next time we visit! This was great, as it allowed me and my husband to get out and play a couple rounds of golf, a little tennis, and go out to dinner in Charleston one night. I highly recommend SNOB (Slightly North of Broad)!

The only thing that I think I was disappointed with is that while staying at the lovely Mariah, you don't have "resort privileges".... meaning you don't have access to the Night Heron pool complex and spa reservations at the Sanctuary are harder to come by. That said, we were still able to do pretty much everything we desired.

I highly recommend this property - especially to families with young children! It is very comfy, and the location is great! We had a week of fantastic weather (last week of April) and couldn't have had a better time. The Mariah suited our needs to a tee! Thanks to Jeanette and Shawn...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 20, 2006   Date of arrival: September 20, 2006

Your unit (The "Mariah") is the nicest I've stayed in since coming back to visit Kiawah, that's eight trips in a little over two years, staying at villas through Kiawah Island Resort, Pam Harrington and Resort Quest. It is very guest-friendly and the wireless high-speed internet has been flawless!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 20, 2006   Date of arrival: August 20, 2006

Beautifully decorated with a fabulous view. What a refreshing change of pace from hotel vacations. Would certainly enjoy another stay. Thank you for equipping the condo with all the essential necessities!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 20, 2006   Date of arrival: August 20, 2006

WOW. Wow. Wow. I may only be 12, but I can tell good style when I see it. Tha Mariah was luxurious. The ocean was so warm, and the one WAVEY day we had, we spent it splashing and sputtering in the water. Great vacation. Very relaxing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 20, 2006   Date of arrival: July 20, 2006

This was our 5th trip to Kiawah over the past years and this was by far our favorite condo. We really enjoyed the nature center programs, crabbing, photography and kayaking. Next time we're coming for 2 weeks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 20, 2006   Date of arrival: May 20, 2006

We really enjoyed our stay in your lovely condo. I have vacationed on Kiawah for several years and the Mariah is the best accommodation I have had. This trip was spectacular due to the great weather, excellent accommodations and the little extras provided by you. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 20, 2005   Date of arrival: December 20, 2005

This place is so great, my kids are ready to move here! This condo is straight out of Trading Spaces on TLC! It is beautiful. The view of the beach doesn't seem real. My husband loved the Kiawah Island Marathon so much, we'll probably see you again same time, same place next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 20, 2005   Date of arrival: April 20, 2005

Outstanding villa and location. Have been to alot of places, but would to love to come back to Kiawah and the Mariah. An absolutely wonderful getaway. Thanks very much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review