reviews for: listing #1388 - Old Forge, New York Chalet rental

First Lake Retreat, Christmas in the Adirondacks anyone?
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Chalet
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Hollywood Hills
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $400 /nt
    $1,450 - $2,450 /wk

sort by:

July is great in the Adirondacks!

Review submitted: August 2, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

I wouldnt normally take the time to fill out a review but my wife insisted on doing so after our fanstastic stay in "First Lake Retreat".

First off talking with the owner Tony was a pleasurable experience. He was very nice on the phone and spent 1/2 hour answering all our questions about the area and the accomodations. And we can say he didnt stretch the truth.

From the moment we pulled up to the property we could tell that is was going to be a good week. the house is situated in a nice area and really gives a great presence over the woods.

The inside was decorated perfect for the adirondack area. Whoever the decorator was.... did a great job. Leather couches were very comfortable and the king size bed made for an easy nights sleep. It is very quiet in this neighborhood and that provided some real peaceful R&R.

After spending some time on the beach we realized that we would probably not rent on the water. I thought that it would be a set back in this house but it wasnt. being 1 block up from the water kept away all the boat traffic that goes on all week long.

There are plenty of activities in the area so spend a week in Old Forge and you'll have a great time. Make Sure to stay here at this home cause they have everything!

Thanks for a great week we'll be back next summer!
Jim and Cathy S.

Helpful votes: 44 / 47

 

Perfect family vacation home for all ages!

Review submitted: August 12, 2014   Date of arrival: August 1, 2014

My family spent a week in this beautiful home and right away it exceeded our expectations! The house was bright, spacious and spotless. The kitchen was fully stocked with any cooking/ serving pieces you could ever need. The wrap around porch was great for the little ones to play on and not have to worry about stairs. The bedrooms were all very comfortable as well- I wouldn't change a thing. We took in many nearby attractions and my husband enjoyed his morning runs around the neighborhood. My family was in love with this house- it was the perfect backdrop to our vacation. Hope to come back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas 2009

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2009

A beautifuil part of the US. We had a fantastic time down hill skiing, cross country skiing, snowboarding, snowshoeing and snowmobiling (to name a few). This place truly has it "ALL". A great place for our Christmas Vacation. Merry Christmas from the "M" Family. NJ/IN/WV and Bradford Oklahoma

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

At the above date and time....

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

We stayed at this residence in Old Forge, NY spcifically located on Mohawk Dr. We participated in the following activities. 1. Chair Lift to mountain top 2. Canoeing 3. Creating Fires in the pit 4. Fishing 5. Shopping 6. Boating/Swimming in the lakes.

Your residence/domicile was a pleasant experience for all who stayed. There are no issues to report regarding the preparation of meals. Your Furniture which was used for sitting and laying was rated comfortable to very comfortabl by all who stayed. Numerous "beverages" were also consumed during our stay which resulted in both no property damage and rough "mornings". In Conclusion.... seriously we had a great time here. For four of us it was our first time and we all loved it. Beautiful house and scenery. Thank you very much Slainte'

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

August Wedding

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

Cannot tell you how much we have enjoyed your beautiful, spacious, comfortable home! We came to Old Forge for a family wedding with 8 family members altogether we had plenty of space (definetely appreciated the 3 full baths). Loved the deck, firepit, everything!. Such attention to detail in this house - 6 days in and I am still discovering beautiful cabinet knobs, accent light fixtures,etc. Everything is such high quality and beautifully maintained. Thank you for a wonderful week in the Mountains. Hope to return to this very same spot someday. Karen & Brian

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dear Tony, Bonita & John

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

Thank you so much for letting us stay in your beautiful house, We've never been in thie town before and di not expect to have so much fun in the cozy little town. We were blessed with lots of snow fall (coming from Houston, TX) our wishes came true. Your home is so decorative and homelike. Our boys were enjoying the snowmobile trails every day of our stay. Hoping to come here again and again. Once Again THANK YOU.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas in Old Forge

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 25, 2012

wishing everyone a wonderful Christmas. Thank You for sharing your home with my family. We had a fantastic time together, it was a great experience with all the snow around the cabin it was a beautiful time especially with my family. Your home is spacious and beautiful. Thanks again from all of us.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Girls weekend

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

Once again a wonderful time! The Retreat is so beautifully decorated - Our 5th year and it keeps getting better! Our high school "girls" weekend a big success again!. Thanks

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Winter Snowmobiling Retreat

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: February 18, 2013

My family had a great time snowmobiling in the Old Forge area and using your retreat as our basecamp. Nicely set up for a large family to enjoy some down time. We had a great time and found the chalet to be as described and the communication with the owners was first rate.

Parking with a large snowmobile trailer would be difficult, but with 2 place was O.K. Right on the trail with easy access to trails towards Old Forge and to First Lake to go up the chain towards Eagle Bay & Inlet. Hope to go again next year. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Amazing Get-Away

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

Dear Tony and Bonita,

All of us had such an amazing time at your BEAUTIFUL home.
The pictures online are not even close enough of what your home brings. I really loved your decore and the atmosphere we all felt while our vacation stay.

This little town has so much to offer. Very pretty sights all around. Our family had an amazing time cruising down the snowmobile trails that run right by the property (very convenient).
We took so many pictures... All of us had one wish (LET IT SNOW) and boy, was our wish granted .

Hopping to visit there again in the future and I will recommend your home to my friends/family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Amazing Vacation Rental!!!

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

I wouldn't usually take the time to fill out a review for a vaction rental, but after staying at The First Lake Retreat I felt compelled! This is an amazing property - the house was extremely spacious (We had a group of 10 and it was extremely comfortable!) and beautiful! There was EVERYTHING there you would ever need. Thank you Tony for renting us your house we had a blast!!

Steve and Danielle
Rochester, NY

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Perfect Retreat

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

We had a perfect time in Old Forge and truly enjoyed staying at the First Lake Retreat. The house is very charming and spacious and has everything you'd need. We loved an Adirondack-inspired decor of the house and easy access to the lake and numerous hiking trails. The Black Bear trail was great and manageable even in the icy conditions. Thank you, Tony and Bonita, for an opportunity to stay in your house where we felt like being at home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

perfect mountain chalet

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

We had a perfect time in Old Forge and truly enjoyed staying at the First Lake Retreat. The house is very charming and spacious and has everything you'd need. We loved an Adirondack-inspired decor of the house and easy access to the lake and numerous hiking trails. The Black Bear trail was great and manageable even in the icy conditions. Thank you, Tony and Bonita, for an opportunity to stay in your house where we felt like being at home.

Owners response: We are always happy to hear the many great review we receive. It is important to make sure that all our Guests truly enjoy their escape to the beautiful Adirondacks. It never gets old to hear another great review. Thanks -Tony

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

My family and I enjoyed this house for our vacation. It is located on a quite road with very little traffic. The decor was amazing for an Adirondack house. The owners supply a lot of amenities for your use. I loved having a washer and dryer with children. We were able to watch wild life from the porch. The best for us was being able to have our dogs with us who are our children!! I would recommend this house to anyone who wanted and Old Forge vacation. I would rent this home again and again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 23 / 23

 

Thanksgiving Fun

Review submitted: January 13, 2009   Date of arrival: November 25, 2008

Thank you for letting my family enjoy your beautful home for Thankgiving this year. The town was beautiful, The accomodations were more then spacious, and there was not alot we could ask for. We even had some snow on the ground. It was nice being able to bring our dog as well.

The kids enjoyed the deer walking through the property. We all hope to come back again.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

September Relaxation

Review submitted: September 26, 2008   Date of arrival: September 12, 2008

My husband and I spent a relaxing long weekend at this chalet style home. The home is full of amenities and is a relaxing atmosphere. This was our first time in Old Forge and we enjoyed the town and allit had to offer. There are plenty of great "woodsy" dining experiences and the weather was really great. I would recommend going to Old Forge for a week, a weekend, or even just a night.. We are sure to be back. Thanks Again!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review