reviews for: listing #13954 - Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina House rental

Waterfront-HSInternet-GolfCart-ValuePrice & 22other props
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $130 - $180 /nt
    $800 - $1,600 /wk

sort by:

Ocean Isle, NC Canal Home

Review submitted: December 19, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

Are you kidding? You would be crazy to NOT rent this home. My family has stayed at this home for Thanksgiving, and for two weeks in the summer. You cannot believe everything the owners offer for you to use. The golfcart is so much fun, the kayaks are awesome, the ping-pong table, hammock, rocking chairs all over the place, and the list goes on.

My kids thought they were in paradise! The ice-cream shop is minutes down the road, local beach shops, and burger "joint",as well as the beach. We took our own kayaks out on the waterway and watched the sun set. It was amazing.

The property was clean, plants everywhere, and the owners are awesome. We were able to access the internet and use our laptop. We shopped at the farmer's market off of the island and the local fish monger for dinners as we cook a great deal. The kitchen has everything you need. It was also a short drive for us.

Be sure to book it early....this one goes fast!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Awesome Vacation Beach House Getaway!

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

The Beach house was way better than we expected, It's location was wonderful! The photo's are real and they had plenty there for us to do in the week of our stay. It was clean when we got there, and even had some nice extra games and movies to watch. We recommend this rental to anyone wanting to stay in the North Carolina area along the beach! :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Fun

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

My family loved this property. The back deck is spacious with a swing, rockers,a table for six as well as a covered shelter with an additional table for four. It is a wonderful place to gather in the evening and the trees on either side provide privacy, The house was clean and well maintained with lots of amenities including numerous bikes, I would definitely recommend this property,

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Ocean Isle home

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

This home was by far the best vacation rental we have ever stayed at. The extra touches the owners include made this such a comfortable home. We had 3 adults and 3 children stay at the home and we all enjoyed it, from the golf cart to take to the beach, the bikes to cruise around the island and the kayaks to explore the waterways. The home was well stocked and made you feel right at home. We will be back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We'll be back!

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

The photos truely represented the property. The living space is in the middle of the house which provided a nice gathering place. The decks on the house allowed us to enjoy sun or shade any time of day. The favorite evening game was Scrabble. Yes, scrabble! I learned new words and how to spell old favorites. The beach is a short walk and we met many nice people along the way. The house was very comfortable and clean. The little extra's made it feel like home. Our favorite seafood restaurant for the last 3 years, is in Little River, Fibbers. On the Island, we loved Sharkey's BUGS after a day of golf. I highly recommend checking out this house. The owner was extremely responsive to all of our needs.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Steve and Peggy

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

We had a fantastic 10 day vacation at 32 Newport, Ocean Isle. We have stayed at this wonderful vacation house several times in the last seven years. The owners keep the house in great shape. Always something new or updated on each visit. Last visit one of the bathrooms was remodeled with a new shower and granite countertop. This year there was new furniture in the living room, and a remodel and great feel for the loft area. My husband said he had his own 'man cave area' in the loft area to watch his favorite football team play. The house comes with many ammenities that we use and enjoy like the golf cart, kayaks and bikes. We hope to come back next year and enjoy this wonderful house again at Ocean Isle NC.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice home!

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

This was our first year renting this particular house and we have been coming to OIB for 20+ years. This was by far one of the nicest homes we have rented. The use of the golf cart was a huge help in getting to and from the beach with coolers and beach chairs, etc. Our entire family loved the kayaks and even though my son didn't catch a thing fishing - he and his friend loved fishing every evening on the dock. Great home - great people to deal with. Looking forward to next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

We met up with extended family at this house for a week long vacation. We chose this home for its countless amenities: golf cart, loft, outside shower, bikes, kayaks, wifi, ping pong, canal location, hammock, swings, outside seating, proximity to the beach, etc. It definitely didn't disappoint; we had a great time! There were 4 kids in our party, and 6 adults, and we had plenty of room. The kitchen was well stocked, and we were pleasantly surprised to find beach chairs, floats, umbrellas, boogie boards, and lots of beach toys. The outside shower proved to be a great extra that we used frequently. It was also very nice to have the ground level fenced in-our little ones could run around outside without going near the road or the water. The photos of this property we excellent and helped make our decision to stay here. Also, Marc, the owner, was extremely helpful, and answered any questions or issues immediately. Nearby there were several restaurants and activities, including a museum with kids programs, a playground, gift shops, mini golf and an ice cream shop, all accessible by golf cart or bikes. Sharky's and the Giggling Mackeral are always good, and the gift shop at the Ocean Isle Fishing Center (next to Giggling Mackeral) is amazing! However, I would NOT suggest eating at Pelican's Perch (next to mini golf), as their food and service were highly disappointing. Also, if you happen to stay here, a visit to Calabash is a must! We ate at Dockside, and their food was outstanding! This home is highly recommended! We hope to return to 32 Newport Street next year!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

our first family vacation to Ocean Isle

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

This was our first time staying at 32 Newport. We found the home to be extremely clean and well maintained. The photos were exactly what we found. Any issues we had were quickly addressed by the owner promptly. I would highly recommend the property owner to any friend and family. You will not be disappointed. We will be going back again for sure.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Always wonderful!

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

My husband and I have rented 32 Newport numerous times over the past several years, and it is always fantastic. We've stayed a few other places when this house wasn't available, and they are always a disappointment when compared to what we've come to expect from 32 Newport. An excellent value (especially in the off season) with all the amenities. Kayaks, bikes, ping pong, basketball hoops...they have it all! The kitchen is nicely equipped, and the deck is perfect for dining at sunset. Not to mention that Marc is very easy to rent from; we've never had any problems. I highly recommend this property!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rental for family wedding

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 21, 2012

#32 Newport was exactly as advertised/described. It was very clean, well maintained and cheerful. It is very well located in that Newport provides you direct access to the beach, and it's not too far from the pier and all the businesses on Ocean Isle. The owner was very easy to work with, and very accomodating. I would definitely recommend this property for rental!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Everything you'll ever need for a relaxing beach vacation

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

We have stayed at this property twice now and had an excellent experience both times. The house is well-maintained, very spacious and includes everything you'll need to enjoy a relaxing beach vacation. We loved the golf cart for quick shopping trips, dinner, ice cream runs and miniature golf outings. The bikes were great, too for a quick ride to the beach. The teenagers, of course, enjoyed the wifi for their electronics. It was too cold this year for the kayaks, but we did use them last year and loved it. So nice to have this option.
In the past, we have stayed at hotels and paid extra for golf carts, kayaks, wifi, bike rentals, etc. It really adds up after a week or so. It's so nice to have all those amenities included and available at our fingertips. Also, the caretaker lives across the street and was very helpful to us when we needed air in the bike tires.
The owner is very nice and accommodating and we would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Golf Headquarters

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

Our group of six guys found your house to be perfectly situated for our golf weekend getaway. We played three great courses all less than fifteen minutes away, and getting on and off the island was a snap. We heard the Sharky's is a great casual place for lunch or dinner, but we found a fantastic seafood restaurant called Ella's at Callabash.

The house was like a home away from home with comfortable beds and furnishings. We all used the internet access so that we could check email and keep the wives informed of how much money we won each day (wink). There are flatscreen TV's everywhere, so everyone is free to choose their own football game, Golf Channel or alien versus predator movie.

Though we did not have a boat along, the private dock would appeal to fishing enthusiasts. We did enjoy cruising over to the beach on the golf cart (street legal we assume).

Everything was very clean and comfortable, and we look forward to our next opportunity to visit Ocean Isle Beach!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ocean Isle at it's best

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

This rental is amazingly clean and comes with every amenity you can think of. Just bring you clothes and some sheets and your good to go. Even the kitchen requires nothing as it has every tool and appliance imaginable. You would be hard pressed to find a better place on ocean isle for the price.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun with Friends

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

We thought this house was very clean and nice. The back deck was perfect for eating breakfast, catching some sun, reading, and just watching the boats up and down the channel. We also enjoyed the kayaks! What a great ammenity! Having the option of the golf cart was a plus...makes getting all your toys and chairs to the beach much easier! Thanks for a great experience!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent house with lots of extras and great location on canal

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 19, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the canal house on OIB. The four of us (another retired couple and my wife and I) enjoyed all the extras including kayaks and golf cart. The house is well maintained, clean, and has modern appliances. It is a very comfortable house with plenty of beds. The location on the canal is great. Marc was very easy to work with and called to make sure everything was OK after we checked in. We definitely plan to stay here again sometime in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our favorite vacation house for several years!

Review submitted: September 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Our family has rented this home for 5 years, and will continue to do so! My parents rent this home for us each year: Mom and Dad, My sister and her 2 teen kids, Myself, husband, and toddler- and it is the best week of the year! The house is spacious with 4 bedrooms. Everyone loves the golf cart! The enclosed outdoor shower is convenient. Everything is has always been in perfect working order and clean. The front porch is perfect for mornings, and the back deck overlooking the canal is perfect for the afternoon. The yard is great for our toddler to run around, and NO sand spurs! The beach is a short distance if you want to walk, and has great access. We never had trouble finding a place to park the golf cart.
Although not a problem for us, when we arrived this summer, the small fridge used for can drinks was not cooling very well, but the owner had it replaced in 24 hours! The owners are always prompt to answer questions and take care of anything we need.
This house is decorated very cute and modern- even has TV's in each room and wi-fi connection.
We look forward to returning in 2012!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding!

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

What a wonderful place! Though we've stayed in many vacation homes over the years, this house might be our favorite. Cool breezes on the front porch in the mornings; beverages on the deck overlooking the canal in the afternoon; wonderful meals cooked in the kitchen. Ping pong matches- bike rides- movies-- the fun never stopped! And we are now spoiled- no more walking to the beach: we need a golf cart! and with 2 adults and four teenage boys- no one ever felt crowded. Thanks for sharing this great getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: The way our home is situated and the way the sun moves through the day, the streetside has shade in the morning as the sun is on the waterside, and then in the afternoon, in the heat of the day, the waterside is shaded. The sun moves over the house through the day, not side to side, so either the front porch or back deck is always shaded (with the house itself acting as a large shade tree). This setup allows our waterside deck to be enjoyed in the afternoons during the hottest months with the full water view. The covered front porch is a nice feature of our home that many do not have. We also have lots of nice seating on all the decked areas.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Weekend at a great beach house!

Review submitted: May 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

We went down for a wedding and not only were we able to save some money going this route we ended up making a lifetime of memories with the 3 other couples we stayed with! A random rainstorm led us to play a board game (we found at the house) that has us laughing for hours! We've even committed to trying to make this an annual trip! The house was affordable and accomodating in every aspect! We will most certainly be back and very much enjoyed our stay! Thanks again for everything - you were were wonderful to work with!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Newport St in Ocean Isle

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: December 14, 2010

We spent three months at this Ocean Isle cottage as snow birds escaping the short days in Oregon. For a few cold weeks we wondered if the state weather staff aimed to provide snow for us! In spite of chilly days we enjoyed friends and relatives visiting. We had visitors beach walk and gather shells, take in sunrises that set the sky ablaze, ride the golf cart, tour the local museum, dance while the shark dropped on New Year's Eve at Sharkeys, eat complimentary barbecue and watch the Super Bowl at a nearby restaurant, and stay up late playing cards. The youngest visitors made a tent in the double deck bed and the oldest bundled up and watched wildlife from the back deck while sipping wine from the local winery. We will carry fun memories of Ocean Isle for years to come.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Vacation At Ocean Isle, NC July 2010

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

We loved the home! Comfy beds, beautiful setting, and something for everyone to do. With 4 young adults it was perfect-they had kayaking, biking, games on the deck, movies and the beach! Mark and Sharon were the perfect hosts and really came through for us when the air conditioning crashed. They made sure all was taken care of in a timely fashion. We felt at home.TV's in all rooms was nice. We loved the front porch, the swings, the hammock, the tomato plants, and the grill. The golf cart was a nice addition for helping the adults get to the beach. We also enjoyed the fact that we were close to Myrtle Beach and Southport which we love to visit. Beach Lovers of Chester, VA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fun on Newport

Review submitted: June 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

We rented 32 Newport for a combo birthday/retirement week with our family. There was plenty of space for everyone, comfortable beds, nice furniture and fixtures and a lovely outside space. The home was very well maintained and clean. There were actually more linens and towels available than we expected but we took our own. Marc, the owner was very easy to work with and we would definitely rent from him again. Make sure you give the Bourbon St. Bar and Grill a try. It opened in March in the old Victoria's location - good food and very personable owner. We really enjoyed it as well as Sharkey's and a trip to Calabash. We had a bad experience at Cinelli's, however, and will never eat there again. I recommend this property to anyone looking for a home large enough for a family gathering or several couples.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our favorite vacation spot!

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 31, 2009

From the moment we first walked in the house, we were sold! The open floor plan allowed our group to be involved in several activities at once but still be together. Although each bedroom offered it's own television, there was hardly time to watch, with all this house has to offer. One of our favorite activities is taking the golf cart out and exploring the island. We also enjoy the use of the kayaks and crabpots.

The brightly lit kitchen is my favorite part of the house. I really enjoy the sun streaming though the windows while I prepare breakfast. We eat almost every meal on the back porch facing the canal. The smell of the salt air just enhances the experience. My husband's favorite part of the vacation is taking the golf cart for a daily trip down to the ice cream shop!

This house also boosts a spacious outdoor shower for after a long day at the ocean. The yard is beautifully landscaped and well maintained. You won't find any sandspurs here! The outdoor seating is abundant to say the least, including rockers, porch swings and hammocks. The owners have thought of everything, down to the last detail. We vacation here several times per year and plan on continuing that tradition for many years to come!

Jamie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A great place for a family vacation!

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 31, 2009

This house has it all! Wonderful amenities such as a golf cart, kayaks and crab pots. Everything you need is already at the house, eliminating the need for outside rentals. Front and back porches offer plenty of room for our group to spread out. We usually enjoy cooking a big seafood dinner and dining on the back porch facing the canal. Such a wonderful view! We began our family vacations at 32 Newport in 2008 and now enjoy returning several times per year. The owners are easily accessible and return phone calls and emails very promptly, making reservations a snap. Definitely our favorite vacation spot!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 10, 2009   Date of arrival: September 10, 2009

We had a great time at 32 Newport, OIB over Labor Day weekend. Marc was extremely easy to work with and once arriving you can tell they have gone out of their way to make their home comfortable & convenient for others. Great porches, great activities, great set up, Great times! Enjoy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 25, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

We had a most excellent stay in this lovely, cozy, very "beachy" home. My husband and I stayed with our 4 children ranging from 8-15 years of age, my 88 year old father in law and my sister and brother in law. It was great to be able to have a choice of porches for reading according to the sun, my kids spent hours in the canal fishing, swimming, and kayaking. Bikes were ridden everyday as well as ping pong played. The golf cart was a great relief after a long day in the sun at the beach. We enjoyed barbeques, ice cream, mini golf, a turtle show and seafood! The house was so well equipped with absolutely everything we needed and the loft was a great hang out place for the kids to watch their shows while the adults could congregate in the larger room. We ate out back on the colorful porch every night and enjoyed the cool breezes. We will definitely rent this adorable house again, hopefully for many of our annual visits to come.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 26, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

32 Newport was the perfect, although small, house for our family Thanksgiving vacation. There was something for folks of all ages (5-75) to do. We loved everything that was included with the house and took advantage of it all--sea kayaks, dock for fishing & crabbing, golf cart, ping-pong table, bikes, hammock, etc. The house itself is very cute inside and very clean. We cooked lots of big meals in the kitchen and between the bar and the table, there was room for 10 of us to eat together. Beds were comfortable, plenty of hot water for multiple showers and the front and back decks were great for soaking up some fall sunshine. We loved being able to watch the younger children from the rear deck while they fished on the dock. We would rent this house again and will definitely look at the other properties on the owner's website for our summer plans.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 20, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Our stay at 32 Newport was very pleasant as the accomodations were excellent. We enjoyed lovely weather, and our sons tried out all the built in fun, including the ping pong and kayaks. The golf cart made our daily beach time especially easy to access. There was lots to do nearby and the seafood was super. This was a great beach vacation as it was close enought to visit Boardwalk at the Beach, but far enough away froim the crowds to relax in peace.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 11, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

Our family spent a wonderful week at 32 Newport St. during the week of June 23, 2007. My wife and myself came down for 3 days in February just to check out the place and fell in love. All of our kids (3) are grown now and the last one just graduated from high school. We wanted to have a nice place to stay and a lot to do for everyone. We were not let down. This place is very nice and a perfect location for everyone. We even got to spend some time with our 3 grandchildren. I would highly recommend this property to any family for vacation as there is so much to do. We are looking at some of the smaller units for another getaway for later this year. Just the 2 of us :)

Rodney & Malinda Edmonds

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 9, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

The house was a wonderful place for a family gathering. Plenty to keep all busy or could just be plain lazy in the hammock. Loved having canal and kayaks, fishing right out back, and taking the golf cart down to beach a couple of blocks (especially good for the grandparents). Shops were priced for kids to buy the fun stuff and close enough to the fun of Calabash and Myrtle Beach for any bad weather days. We'll be back--and will tell others about it too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 11, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

Our family of seven spent Christmas week at 32 Newport in 2006. It was a perfect getaway for us. Marc has made this home into a mini resort. You could not be bored with so many things to do and all in good condition!
The kitchen was well equipped so we were able to make some favorite family meals as well as grill.
I highly recommend this rental to anyone. It will exceed your expectations. Marc was very helpful and accomodating during the rental process. It was clear he wanted us to have a perfect vacation. We did.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 4, 2006   Date of arrival: December 1, 2006

32 Newport was a wonderful home to spend our Thanksgiving holiday. We were able to totally relax in this home and the kids had a blast. We look forward to our two week vacation here in summer 2007.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 3, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

Marc,
Our family, including paternal father and maternal mother for their grandkids had a blast at your home on Newport.
I have spent 12 years visiting OIB. This is the 1st on the canel and the 1st I did not have to rent or bring a kayak. It was used and loved.
Nice, nice home. Oldest son R-E-A-L-L-Y enjoyed livin' in the loft for a week.
Home offered great amenities and was well appointed. We really enjoyed the home. Since the storms have required reworking of OIB's shoreline the beach at Sunset is much greater but nothing compares to 32 Newport!
Thanks so much for the hospitality.
Bill & Sue Chaffin
Richmond, VA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 31, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

Hi Marc,
Our second trip to your lovely home was just as fabulous as our stay in 2004. I LOVE the changes that you have made and once again wanted for nothing. Having the golfcart for the entire 2 weeks was a bonus!

Thanks again!!

Still your Canadian Friends,
The Russell's & The Parkers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 24, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

Dear Marc and Sharon,
We have vacationed in Ocean Isle for the last 5 years, but this was the first time we stayed in your beach home. We found that we got more for our money with your rental than ever before. Our biggest plus was the use of the golf cart. It made it so handy for zipping down to the beach and carting all of our beach gear. With a pregnant daughter and arthritic grandparents, the golf cart surely made it more comfortable to do the beach scene. Your lovely porches and sitting areas were so cozy and were another big hit with our family. Thank you for going above and beyond with your care for us and your timely attention to our every need. This experience was certainly a great dose of your Southern Hospitality!!! Thank you, Bud and Jeanne Schmader, Kossuth, PA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 27, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

Ocean Isle Beach is a wonderful spot for people looking for a quiet Carolina Coast beach vacation. The beaches are lovely, the neighbors are friendly, and Myrtle Beach is just 25 minutes away. The house had many extras, from kayaks and crab pots to high speed internet and a golf cart to tool around in. It was an outstanding vacation! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 20, 2006   Date of arrival: April 1, 2006

Marc, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at you home. we felt we had the best of both worlds being on the canal enjoying it's peace in the early morning, and then spending time at the beach with all that has to offer later in the day. everything about the house was wonderful and really set up for enjoyment.

thank you so much,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 28, 2005   Date of arrival: October 1, 2005

This home is an exceptional value for the price. We could not have been more pleased with the accomendations and amenities. My rating would be: AAA+++. We hope to return next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 6, 2005   Date of arrival: September 1, 2005

Marc,
Great week, great house, and great Ocean Isle. Enjoyed the week, house and beach made it wonderful. Hope to return in the future to 32 Newport.
Thanks
Steve & Peggy Fagg

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 31, 2005   Date of arrival: August 31, 2005

We enjoyed our return visit to your beach home at Ocean Isle last week (8/20-8/27). The difference this visit was that our family came with us. Our son, his wife, and three daughters (15, 12, and 7) and our daughter were with us for their first visit -- and they all LOVED it! We all had a relaxing and fun time! The children enjoyed the beach, golf cart, canoe, ping pong table, TVs, games, catching (and releasing) crabs in the crab cage, etc., etc. The decks, swings, and dock are wonderful. We had plenty of room for our family, and there was still a bed available in the loft if we had needed it. The wireless connection is a great addition as my son and daughter were able to do a little work while there. The house is so well stocked that I believe a family could walk in and have everything they need. The new kitchen is lovely, although I think a little kitchen storage was lost -– but it’s worth it to have the improved view.For families with children, we recommend going to Southport (about a 40-minute drive) and catching the ferry to Fort Fisher to tour the museum and the aquarium. You’re also close to Calabash and Myrtle Beach –- and, of course, golf courses are everywhere!!!Thanks for sharing your home and for all the special amenities you provide. We hope to go back often.Bob and Laura JohnsonGreensboro, NC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 31, 2005   Date of arrival: August 1, 2005

We enjoyed our return visit to your beach home at Ocean Isle last week (8/20-8/27). The difference this visit was that our family came with us. Our son, his wife, and three daughters (15, 12, and 7) and our daughter were with us for their first visit -- and they all LOVED it! We all had a relaxing and fun time! The children enjoyed the beach, golf cart, canoe, ping pong table, TVs, games, catching (and releasing) crabs in the crab cage, etc., etc. The decks, swings, and dock are wonderful. We had plenty of room for our family, and there was still a bed available in the loft if we had needed it. The wireless connection is a great addition as my son and daughter were able to do a little work while there.

The house is so well stocked that I believe a family could walk in and have everything they need. The new kitchen is lovely, although I think a little kitchen storage was lost -– but it’s worth it to have the improved view.

For families with children, we recommend going to Southport (about a 40-minute drive) and catching the ferry to Fort Fisher to tour the museum and the aquarium. You’re also close to Calabash and Myrtle Beach –- and, of course, golf courses are everywhere!!!

Thanks for sharing your home and for all the special amenities you provide. We hope to go back often.
Bob and Laura Johnson
Greensboro, NC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 13, 2005   Date of arrival: August 1, 2005

Dear Marc,
Again, another wonderful week spent at Ocean Isle enjoying the beach and all the amenties in your home. My son and husband enjoyed the kayak and we all enjoyed the peaceful evening on the porch overlooking the canal. Thank you for continuing to offer your lovely home for rent.

Sincerely,
The Sweeney and Bayliff family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 12, 2005   Date of arrival: July 1, 2005

Our family reunion at 32 Newport was wonderful. We all really appreciated the variety of activities available, and the kayak, ping pong and the golf cart were very big hits! Having the computer, as well as the games in the loft is a nice touch. The TV's in each room allowed us to keep the living room for reading and talking, and everyone, who wanted to watch TV, got to watch what they wanted. We always get together the first week of July and we have traveled to a lot of beaches, this has been the best cottage for our family!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 5, 2005   Date of arrival: July 1, 2005

Our stay at your vacation home was wonderful. The amenities were awesome. Eveything including the booking of the vacation went smoothly. We appreciate you letting us stay in your vacation home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 4, 2005   Date of arrival: July 1, 2005

Marc,
Thank you so much for the wonderful visit. This is our third year staying at Ocean Isle and this was by far the best house we have stayed in. We appreciated all the "homey touches" as well as the nice amenities. Three families staying there was cozy but not cramped. Everyone had ample space and room to wonder and ponder. Hope to stay again soon. Thanks!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 2, 2005   Date of arrival: June 1, 2005

Marc & family - Windy, Justin, Jacob, Ian and I all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your home. The boys just had to check the crab pot every other hour and enjoyed the basketball goal as well. Having a tv in each room was also quite a bonus. Windy really enjoyed the location and the golf cart, and I was very pleased to see everyone have a great time. Thank you again for a wonderful place to stay and we hope to come back sometime soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 11, 2005   Date of arrival: April 1, 2005

Marc,
Thanks, for the stay at Ocean Isle.
Your Home is lovely and filled with all kinds of goodies.
The process was so easy.You are great at answering your E-mails and phone calls.
Very thoughtful homeowners !
Golf cart a plus, especially for my 82 year old father.
Thanks Again,
Cathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 13, 2004   Date of arrival: December 1, 2004

We just could not resist the thought of not coming back! Last year we had 2 great weeks so decided that as it had all gone so well we would indulge in 3 weeks this year. Again, we were not disappointed! The weather was brilliant and the house and new decking were up to all our expectations and beyond.

Next year...... who knows? Perhaps we will try the mountains. As long as there is a computer link for us we know that your property will be a true home from home, thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 15, 2004   Date of arrival: October 15, 2004

Marc and Sharon,We just wanted to thank you for letting us stay at your beach house last week. We had a great time! Our family used to go to the beach every year when we were younger, but we had not been since my mom had breast cancer in 1989. We all had a great vacation (even the dogs) and everything was perfect! We loved staying at your house-it was so close to the beach and we loved the deck and the yard. We couldn’t have asked for anything more! Everyone wanted me to write you and tell you what a nice place you had, and they appreciate your hospitality.We hope to come back next year. Thanks again,Rosemary Rogers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 15, 2004   Date of arrival: October 1, 2004

Marc and Sharon,

We just wanted to thank you for letting us stay at your beach house last week. We had a great time! Our family used to go to the beach every year when we were younger, but we had not been since my mom had breast cancer in 1989. We all had a great vacation (even the dogs) and everything was perfect! We loved staying at your house-it was so close to the beach and we loved the deck and the yard. We couldn’t have asked for anything more! Everyone wanted me to write you and tell you what a nice place you had, and they appreciate your hospitality.We hope to come back next year.

Thanks again,

Rosemary Rogers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 1, 2004   Date of arrival: September 1, 2004

Marc and Sharon,

This was our first trip down south and to Ocean isle and the kids and I had the best time. Your house was wonderful and had all the comforts of home. I never once heard "i'm bored". The weather was great and we all enjoyed the ocean as well as the canal. Thank you so much for your hospitality and the use of your home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 26, 2004   Date of arrival: August 1, 2004

Thanks for another glorious week in Ocean Isle.
I truly believe we stay in the nicest house on the island and it is my intention to return annually.
We do pick hurricane season and just missed Charley this year but only experienced 3 hours of rain in 8 days for the second year in a row. I can't hope for better than that!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 9, 2004   Date of arrival: August 1, 2004

Hi Marc & Sharon
Thanks for the use of your beautiful summer home. You had everything we could have possibly needed, all there, ready to go. We spent mornings on the front porch drinking coffee and days and evenings on the new back deck watching the tide come and go. My nieces had fun crabbing and playing in the surf. The golf cart was great for taking them down to the surf for quick dips...I'm glad we were able to get the use of it...even if only for 1 week!! I would recommend your place to anyone!
It was truely a most excellent place to spend 2 worry free weeks!!
All the best,
Cheers!!
Your Canadian Friends

Owners response: We have 2 homes at Ocean Isle. We include a golf cart on our other home. Sometimes our house guests opt out of the cart. When they do, we offer it to our 32 Newport guests very inexpensively. This guest took advantage of the golf cart, and as you can tell, enjoyed it immensely.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 18, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

What a wonderful week we had a your cottage. You are such thoughtful homeowners. Being on a canal is a definite plus - the house was so great, that somedays we didn't want to go down to the beach!!! Our families are looking forward to another vacation next year in your home.

The Sweeneys - Durham NC and Bayliffs - Roxboro NC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 12, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

My family really enjoyed our stay in the Wiebel's beach house. We would definitely recommend it to others. The fenced-in back yard, baby gates and extensive children's video collection made it great for my toddler, while the video games were a big hit with my teenage nephew. There were too many extras to use in a one-week stay! We found the house to be cosy and convenient, with great beach access and wonderful porches. We'd love to stay there again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 28, 2004   Date of arrival: June 1, 2004

Dear Marc & Sharon,
Wow, what a great place! We had a
wonderful time filled with an abundance of
fishing and crabbing, resulting in numerous
fresh catch dinners. The beach was
beautiful and clean with perfect weather.
You have equipped the house with
everything adults and children (in our case,
teenage boys) could desire for a truly
memorable vacation. The beds were very
comfortable and your new decking is
gorgeous! Thanks again for your wonderful
hospitality. We hope to return real soon.
All our best,
Roger, Kathe, Chris, Matt & Taylor

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 14, 2004   Date of arrival: June 1, 2004

We just returned from a beautiful weeks stay at Ocean Isle and Marc & Sharons lovely beach cottage. It was our first time at a canal home and would definately return. All the amenities were a wonderful addition to the rental and made our stay that much more enjoyable. The teen boys loved the video systems as well as the abundance of movies. The younger children loved the board games, hammock, swings and especially the crab pot. What a wonderful time they had catching (and sometimes losing) our crabs!!
The new deck is absolutely gorgeous and the front porch was wonderful at night for rocking and relaxing. Marc and Sharon were wonderful owners to work with and were very attentive to any needs that came up during our visit. This is our fourth year visiting Ocean Isle and will most certainly be back for a fifth!! Thank you for a wonderful time.

The Cometti Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 10, 2004   Date of arrival: June 1, 2004

Marc

Just wanted to say thank you for a care free stay. The house had everything we needed. From our first contact after finding your place on-line, you were a gentlemen and true pleasure to work with in securing this home for our stay.
Our Daughter graduated high school in May and for graduation wanted to spend time at the beach with our extended family. Your home was perfect for all nine of us. My parent's first trip to the eastern strand was exciting for them. They were impressed with how comfortable your home was. We spent mornings and late evenings on the porches and decks.
Thank you and we look forward to staying with you again soon.
Bruce & Dawn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 8, 2004   Date of arrival: June 1, 2004

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Weibel:

My party was most impressed with the accomodations that your beach house offered, and we look forward to renting it again in the future. Thank you for an enjoyable vacation at Ocean Isle Beach.

Best regards,

Mike McConnell

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 3, 2004   Date of arrival: May 1, 2004

Had a great time. The house was everything we expected and super comfortable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 18, 2004   Date of arrival: April 1, 2004

Absolutely enjoyed everything about our stay at 32 Newport St. We chose this spot for out teens' spring break and would do it again next year. We enjoyed the kayak, fishing equipment, and being on the canal (we have a jet ski) Found everything in order and was a very easy home to adapt to with kids as well as adults. Thanks so much to the owners for making our vacation a delight.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 23, 2004   Date of arrival: March 1, 2004

After years of spring break vacations at Sunset Beach, I believe we've finally found the house for us, the Weibel's home at OIB. From my first finding it online to the return mailing of the security deposit, the entire process was so friendly and easy. My guests especially enjoyed the canoe and kayak and computer. I've been renting beach homes for over 20 years and have never found those amenities at a home. I also enjoyed the cleanliness of the bedding. I never once felt I needed to wash the spreads before I would sit down on them. We booked another vacation from our cell phones before we even got home! I can highly recommend this house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 6, 2004   Date of arrival: January 1, 2004

We had a wonderful time at the house and would definately go back. I have nothing negative to say about the property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 1, 2003   Date of arrival: December 1, 2003

I arrived at 32 Newport on Thanksgiving Day and within 15 minutes, knew I had to return for a week in the summer. The house is fantastic and the owners had so many amentites not found in other beach homes. And the outside of the home is just as comfortable as the inside with the porches, decks, swings, hammocks and best of all the floating dock. I am looking forward to many return trips to this wonderful home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 23, 2003   Date of arrival: November 1, 2003

November 2003 - We were not disappointed on our first visit to OIB.

We arrived in brilliant sunshine which just about lasted the 2 weeks we spent in a very comfortable home from home. For us, it was the perfect holiday - away from it all. We enjoyed the use of the bikes, declined the invitation to use the kayaks as we were far too busy enjoying the beautiful scenery, beach walks and exploring the countryside. 32 Newport truly offers a very comfortable home with many thoughtful extras provided by the owners - the computer link was the icing on the cake!

One observation, to encourage or help visitors from out of town maybe an up to date portfolio of local eateries, places of interest to visit could be useful as a kick start to encourage your visitors to take outings to Wilmington, Bald Head Island etc. There really is so much to do as well as experiencing a lovely family home. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 12, 2003   Date of arrival: October 1, 2003

Spent a 3 day weekend in Oct. We had our daughter and 2 grandkids (pre-teens) and son and wife. We took advantage of the kayak, bikes, pingpong table, sandchairs, skimmer and of course the computer and nintendo. Watched a movie on the DVD player and had a great relaxing weekend. Definitly would recommend as a wonderful family vacation place for all ages. Only a short walk to the beach too. Plan to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 18, 2003   Date of arrival: August 1, 2003

We loved our second visit to the canal house. We are two adults, three boys, (two teens and one 9 year old.) The house was well equipped, the weather perfect. The boys will be happy to hear that ESPN will be back next year--that was their only complaint. We just wish we had booked for two weeks instead of one.

Owners response: We are also looking forward to having this guest return again for the third consecutive year. For returning guests, we have a program to give them reduced pricing. Yes, beginning in March '04, we will adding back ESPN to our cable service, when we expand our basic cable service of about 20 channels to Premium service of about 70 channels. We do not plan to add HBO or Cinemax.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 12, 2003   Date of arrival: August 1, 2003

We really enjoyed our first vacation at Ocean Isle! The dock outside the house was very convenient. We loved having the fenced in back yard so the small children could play without worrying about them getting in the water. The teenagers used the basketball goal and video games daily! The deck with the swing was very relaxing. We spent every evening on it. The only negative experience we had was the limited drawer and closet space for our personals. We never could completely unpack for a week stay which made things feel very cluttered. The bunk bed room only had a nightstand for drawer space and a over the door rack for hangups (the closet was locked) There were no empty shelves in the kitchen and laundry room so I found myself having to move the owners things out of the way so they would not get confused with ours. We never could figure out the "sleeper" sofa in the loft...we had planned on a 6 foot guy to sleep on it, but it was too short for an adult, therefore, our sleeping arrangements were not as planned. Otherwise our vacation was great. For the price, it is a GREAT value!!

Owners response: 1. Storage space in the bunk bed room included 3 full drawers under the bed, which this renter did not see. This gives the room 5 storage drawers. In our renter packet, we are now highlighting this storage area. This bunk (kid's)room closet is the only bedroom closet that is locked. The other bedrooms all have dressers and full closet storage, with shelves.
2. We provide our renters with a fully stocked kitchen and extra towels and linens in the laundry room. These extra things to take up some space that could have been used for renter storage. We agree with the point made by this renter (never thought of that, thinking our renters will appreciate the extra things we provide at no extra cost). We can and will be creating more renter storage areas, by Sept. 1, 2003.
3. The loft sofa is the "This End Up" style and can easily handle a six foot person. We have added instructions on how to set it up for sleeping in our renters packet. This particular renter had 12 people in our home. While the home can handle 12, it will be a bit crowded when 9 or more are staying. However, this renter's comments are much appreciated and we will use this constructive criticism to improve our home.
Lastly, this feedback service would have allowed us to show the rating, but not the comments. We opted to show you the comments in the hope that you will have a full and complete picture of our home, and also to know, that we will do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 12, 2003   Date of arrival: August 1, 2003

We have rented in Ocean Isle for several years but never on the canal. We thoroughly enjoyed the dock and we made good use of the canoe and kayak that were available with the house. We had 2 adults, 5 teens, and 3 children staying there and did feel a slight bit crowded. The kids all loved the video games and kept them entertained for hours. I was a little disappointed that there was a change to basic cable (no ESPN for my husband and no Disney/Nickelodeon/Cartoon Network for the kids) but we tried to make the most of it. The appliances and kitchen "stuff" were very adequate but there was some lack of space for food storeage if you are planning to cook and bring a lot of snacks. We also used the extra refrigerator for the drinks and found that very helpful. All in all it was a very nice house and we would probably give it a 7.5 out of 10 if we were rating it.

Owners response: As of September 2003, we will be re-arranging and adding more storage space for renters things in the kitchen and laundry room. We are planning to add back the expanded cable TV service for summer '04 (we will continue the DSL line we have as well, as that has been a big hit with our guests). We agree with the renter's comment that the home, while very manageable with 10 people, is a "slight bit crowded". The extra amenities provided at no extra charge, we believe, still make this an outstanding value. An added comment this renter made to us in a separate email was, "That is a great idea (using an independent feedback rating service) and I like that you are allowing people to state both the good and negative aspects of your house (no house is perfect for everyone). We will be in touch about renting this fall.Thanks again."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 11, 2003   Date of arrival: August 1, 2003

We had a wonderful stay on Ocean Isle this spring. The house was perfect for our girls weekend getaway. Everyone had a great time, the only thing we could have wished for was a little more sun!! Another bonus was the ability to make reservations for a weekend, more than a week ahead of time. We will definatly be back!!

Owners response: We took a mid-May reservation for a long weekend many months ahead of the date. This mothers-getaway group was a good group for us. One of the advantages our renters have, in addition to a lower price, is increased flexibility by renting direct.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 10, 2003   Date of arrival: August 1, 2003

The house was very cosy, well-equipped, and convenient to the beach, shopping, everything you would need for vacation. Having bikes availabe is a nice touch and a great way to get around on the island. The kayaks for the canal were great fun! You can easily walk down to the beach, which is gorqeous and secluded but not far from Myrtle, if you need the night life or a larger crowd. This is the perfect place to get away and the Weibels are very responsive to their guests. You will have everything you need for your vacation if you stay at this house. I would definitely go back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review