reviews for: listing #13995 - Kaanapali, Hawaii Condo rental

Private Oceanfront! Beach Just 20 Steps Away. Sleeps 4!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Pikake
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $230 - $265 /nt

sort by:

Great Condo

Review submitted: May 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

What a wonderful condo. The view and privacy were as good as it gets. Watching whales and turtles from our lani....Perfect.... This will be our choice on our next visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just Amazing - Again!

Review submitted: May 16, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

Having rented from these owners in 2012 it was a total no-brainer for us to seek them out again for our 2014 Maui vacation. It's hugely comforting to rent a place that you already know will be stellar. And My Maui Palace is certainly stellar. I raved in my 2012 review about the attention to details here and our 2014 experience only reinforces those impressions. The instant you walk thru the door you're struck by the fact that the unit is gorgeous. It's beautifully decorated, perfect colors, bright, airy, welcoming. But once you get past that initial wonderment you start to notice the small details and they're what make this place special. The unit is immaculately clean. Whenever my wife and I rent a place we will routinely pre-wash all the dishes and silverware before we use them because, well, you just never know. At MMP we don't pre-wash anything. I mean, look in the silverware drawer; the forks and spoons are not only spotlessly clean, somebody went to the trouble of making sure they were perfectly nested. Everything is neatly placed in the drawers, not just tossed in. You could just luxuriate in the condo and be perfectly happy but you really need to step out onto the lanai. Yes, the ocean really is just 30 feet away. In 2012 I described this view as being, "God's Own Widescreen TV" and so it is. You're looking at perhaps the best whale-watching waters on earth but don't limit your gaze to the distance or you'll miss the hordes of sea turtles near shore. I'm running out of allotted characters so I can't elaborate on the great location, and nearby attractions but they're amazing. Negatives: the master bedroom overlooks the parking lot and you will hear the occasional late nite car door or parking lot conversation. These are not racon noises, just not the wave-crashing sounds you hear during the day. My wife and I always fly to Kauai for another week at a VRBO property after we leave MMP and the differences are stark. Both places cost about the same but it's obvious that the Kauai condo is only as satisfactory as it needs to be while MMP is magnitudes better than it has to be. Both places cost not an inconsequential amount of money but when we leave MMP our attitude is, "That was sooooo worth it". For as long as my wife and I visit Maui, these owners will be our first choice for accommodations. I wish they also had a property on Kauai. Thanks, S & G, for making this such an easy decision for us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Be Maui!

Review submitted: May 16, 2014   Date of arrival: April 30, 2014

This place is better than described and we echo the sentiments of the previous reviewers. This place was spotless when we arrived. All the amenities included, just buy food. Awesome Weber bar-b-que. The folks who live full-time in the adjacent condos were very welcoming. We felt right at home the entire 9-day stay. A big THANK YOU to Bill & Pauline and John & Vi. You were great hosts! Close to shops, restaurants and walk to Kaanapali Beach if you get a little lonesome in this secure/gated beach front estate. When we go back we will definitely be checking availability on this PALACE first! WE LOVED IT!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome ocean front condo!!!!

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

We came to stay on the 15th of February and it was awesome...We are a family of 3 with an Autistic little girl and she could not have enjoyed herself more. We plan on coming back to stay very soon!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

The condo was very nice and had all the little extras. The internet was not working and that was a disappointment. The door to the lanai kept sticking which was very inconvenient, other than those two things-very nice. Location was great.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for letting us know about the door sticking. We will have our maintenance people inspect and repair as necessary.
The internet service for the entire West Side of the island was intermittent for a few days which was resolved by the Oceanic Time Warner. It was so irritating but beyond our control.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Maui condo

Review submitted: May 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

Loved our stay in this condo! The location is great, the view is fantastic, and the beach, even though small, is perfect for swimming and snorkeling. We loved watching the turtles and whales perform right off the lanai. The condo itself is very comfortable and well equipped, even a conch shell to blow at sundown. The kitchen has every thing a person needs,however we found so many great food places to try, we rarely cooked. Maybe next time. The owners gave us lots of good ideas of things to do, their favorite places- very helpful!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply Heaven on Earth!

Review submitted: April 19, 2014   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

First, when we walked into the condo it was so beautiful and modern. And then we walked out to the lanai and we were right in front of the ocean with our very own private yard and large sandy beach. We loved being able to wake up and make coffee and breakfast in the morning and sit on the lanai and watch the ocean. We walked down to the farmer's market a few days and brought food back and cooked up some fun food in the kitchen, which was fully equiped with EVERYTHING we needed to cook whatever we wanted. The property was spotless, we walked barefoot everywhere outside. The view of the ocean was impeccable. We felt like we were in the most beautiful place on earth!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Super nice and helpful!

Review submitted: February 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 12, 2014

I would first like to start by saying, that I have not stayed at this condo, but wanted to book it and it was already booked. My review is about the owner George and how helpful he was to me even though I did not book his condo. He replied right away to me about his condo being booked, so I asked him a couple of questions about my upcoming small beach wedding while we stay in Maui. He was very helpful, sent me several emails with ideas and suggestions. He didn't need to take the time to help me, but he did. If you book with him, I believe that you would be well taken care of. Thanks George

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stunning, gorgeous, comfortable, and perfectly accommodating

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 29, 2013

Sam and George,

Our stay was wonderful in your beautiful condo and I thank you again for allowing us to stay. The gorgeous view stopped us in our tracks as we walked in the door for the first time. Our first visit to Maui was an unforgettable one, largely due to where we were able to stay. I hope to visit again soon (and often, by the grace of God! Lol) and I hope to rent your condo every time! I can't thank you enough for the accommodations and conveniences of your condo!

Review details:
-The listing description is completely accurate.
-The listing photos are accurate, but don't even do the condo justice. It was even more beautiful (and larger) than the photos reflect.
-The property was very clean and well-maintained! The maid gets the condo ready for each visitor and I couldn't find a speck of dirt or a thing out of place. The outside of the property is also beautifully maintained.
-The owners are extremely helpful in answering any questions or concerns, and were very accommodating with our dates of arrival and departure. They even offered tips, things to do, and sent us a packet with all kinds of good information which helped us to have an even better stay in Maui than we had planned. What awesome tips they have!
-I would recommend this condo to any and all of my friends and relatives. In fact, 3 people have mentioned they want to visit Maui since I've returned from my vacation and I have told each of them, "You HAVE to stay at My Maui Palace!!! You won't regret it!"
-I absolutely LOVED the beach and ocean right outside the condo. We got to snorkel and see plenty of beautiful fish, and we even saw sea turtles swimming! We saw a sea turtle on the beach! The location is safe and convenient for all kinds of things! And just minutes from downtown Lahaina.

I can't wait to go back!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Truly Can Be Your Paradise

Review submitted: October 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

The past Labor Day was the third time we stayed at this condo. It's an upstairs corner unit, a 2 BR, 1 BA and one of the larger units in a two story 12 unit complex located about an 1/8 mile north of Honokowai State Beach. As a corner unit, it has a very open feel and gets awesome breezes throughout the day. The entire unit was remodeled a few years ago and is in very good shape with a spacious kitchen and dining area. The lanai has also been remodeled and is spacious and provides some of the most spectacular views of the islands of Molokai and Lanai. We have witnessed some of the most amazing sunsets we've ever seen (and we're beach people living not far from Newport Beach, CA) while out on the lanai. The beach area is akin to having your own private beach due to neighboring seawalls that make it hard for people to walk through this area. There is a spacious yard area facing the ocean with chase lounges that can be used during the day. No crowds. The surrounding neighborhood is nice; walk and get coffee, to a farmer's market open 3 times a week. There is a fresh fish store about a mile from this place that sells some of the best fish we have ever tasted. Buy it and grill it on the HOA grill (always clean and full of propane). One more plus is that there is an onsite elderly couple who are unit owners who can be very helpful and know a ton about HI (John &Vi). Would we stay here again? Most definitely. The owners are very nice people, very fair with damage deposits returned in a quick manner. The name that the owners use to market this property rings true. It's been our My Maui Paradise.

Ray O. and Lisa K.
Irvine, CA

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect High School Graduation Present!

Review submitted: July 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 3, 2013

This was my husband & I second time to the beautiful Island of Maui. Our first trip was just the two of us and we did the resort vacation. This trip was a gift from us to our teenage daughter for her high school graduation and we were looking for a two bedroom condo on the beach where we could also prepare a few meals ourselves and a little less crowded and we FOUND PARADISE! My Maui Palace 2 is beautiful. The condo was well decorated, clean and the kitchen was fantastic. The lanai over looks the ocean and we had beautiful views of both Molokai and Lanai. Each afternoon we looked foward to the sea turtles that would come right to our reefs and entertain us for hours; popping their heads out of the water and getting tumbled about in a wave. My husband and daughter spent several afternoon snorkeling the reef that is right there and I stayed in my lawn chair and enjoyed the sunshine and a good book. Each evening we enjoyed coffee on the lanai just listening to the waves, so relaxing. There was a farmers market, organic food store, Bad Ass Coffee shop (that is honestly the name) and a snorkeling rental shop all in a small complex about 3 minute walk from the condo. Each morning my husband would go get a fresh papaya or pineapple and a fresh baked goodie from the market and bring to us for breakfast, we fixed Macadamia Nut Pancakes in the condo and they were amazing, also the Organic Food Store had Pineapple bagels with Passion Fruit cream cheese, I'm drooling just thinking about them!!! About a 20 minute walk one day led us to shopping and dining. Lahaina was about a 20 minute drive and very simple to get to. The other vacationers in the condo were so helpful and we enjoyed conversations each day with them. The coin operated laundry facility is in a separate building right down the stairs from the condo front door, it is very clean and well maintained; one of the permanent residents oversees it and always has extra quarters if you need them. The area was very safe, clean and not crowded with tourist (like myself !) The best part of the trip was our daughter told us how much she enjoyed it and agreed she would love to go back! We hope to return in a few years and fully intend on contacting Sam & George to rent from them again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

** Home away from Home **

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2013

Skip the resorts, this is the place you want to stay! With its accommodating kitchen, to its private beach right out the back door... You'll feel as if you've come home to your own Maui condo! Even my children were impressed with all the amenities this home had to offer (and kids usually don't notice these things). From every kitchen appliance you could want to cook a gourmet meal, to the large fridge and granite countertops, the kitchen is a great gathering place. Among the other things we enjoyed were, comfortable beds, beach towels, ice cooler, fans, cable tv, internet....plenty of lighting, this place has it all! Being a corner unit, you have the soft tranquil ocean breezes wafting through the condo. A nice bonus.. the windows are adjustable, so you decide how much breeze you want. The window and lanai coverings were perfect as well for privacy. One thing we loved about this place was the serenity and peacefulness. We felt like we had the place to ourselves. The grounds are kept in immaculate condition, and laundry room is onsite. We spent most of our time laying out on the lounge chairs, and snorkeling with the sea turtles around the reef right at our private beach! The bathroom is large, the tile in the shower is great! Look no further, you have found your place to stay in Maui! You'll just love this place. One of the best things that make this condo complete is the owners. I felt they did everything they could to this place to make the guests feel welcomed. You'll find they are easy to work with, and you'll leave your vacation with a tremendous sense of gratitude that you got to share in this little slice of heaven! I know we did! Enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Maui place

Review submitted: May 12, 2013   Date of arrival: April 24, 2013

My husband and I had our belated honeymoon at palace ll and we had such a wonderful time. We stayed for 12 days. The condo had everything we needed to feel right at home. Every morning we walked the beach, swam and relaxed on a chaise lounge and enjoyed the incredible views and the sea turtles. What I loved most about Maui palace II was the peacefulness, the beautiful condo and the sandy beach just steps away. It is so much better than staying at a large resort. We can't wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

All the accommodations and lots of extras!

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

We loved the accommodations in this condo! We had planned to go out to eat a few times but only went out to eat once because the kitchen had absolutely everything we needed to cook anything we wanted. It was so nice to be able to relax and not go out to eat everyday. The supply of utensils, appliances and extras in the spice cabinet was wonderful! I have stayed in other more expensive places and have been frustrated with the lack of the proper things we needed to cook. We also loved the quiet and privacy of the property. We had the most wonderful and relaxing time because it felt like home away from home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best location on west side of Maui

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

Sam and George have provided us all with an amazing condo to stay while on the west side of Maui. Turtles within feet of you at any given time in the water, watching whales from the lanai any time, as well as the privacy one doesnt get in a resort.
The moment you walk in the door you are looking through the beautifully decorated kitchen out the patio doors to the ocean. It is like a mini great room where there are no walls blocking your view. The kitchen island is a huge piece of granite which offers you the opportunity to always be looking outside whether you are eating inside, cooking or whatever. Everything is provided for you other then your food items. Spices and condiments, paper towel, kleenex, you name it, it is here.
The beds are comfortable and the rooms are a good size. Lots of windows for cross breezes throughout the condo. The bathroom is beautiful and fully stocked with hair dryers and a curling iron.
This condo has been completely renovated so everything is new and very clean. The colors are suiting to the location as well.
We felt very safe and comfortable here, not only in the condo but in Honokowai and Lahaina. This is our first time to Maui and we felt totally relaxed and at home. You are within walking distance to so much that unless you were planning on driving to far away places, you didnt really need a car. Having said that though, it is really easy to drive here. We walked to Bad Asses to buy bags of coffee, Times grocery is within walking distance as is ABC which has everything you need as well. Whalers Village is within walking distance but it took us an hour one way. It was a very easy walk and really nice walking along the backside of all the resorts and really appreciating how few people we have at our condo.
As far as shopping, we found that Pinkys up the street has great items, as did the gallery beside her. There is an art store right at the Farmers Market that sells his own photos which are very good, In the same little strip mall, there are a few other shops that have items for the best prices you will find.
We spent 14 days here and found it to be the best location for the west side. We drove 10 minutes north to Napili Bay, 5 minutes south to Kanaapali Beach. You are within walking distance of everything you need and more. Sam and George are truly wonderful people and your comfort is there first prority.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Oh my gosh. Thank you so much you brought tears to my eyes.

We so loved all of you and feel so blessed to have you for our friends and our Maui family.

Sam and George

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise in a small community!

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

Aloha!

I had an amazing week at this condo on a trip I took by myself. I felt very safe in this area to go walking and shopping. You could go out the front door and walk to 'Bad Ass Coffee Co.' for some great coffee & then stop in the natural food store next door and get fresh food 'to go' or snacks! Walk a few blocks further and you can walk through some of the big resorts. The condo is very private however and unless you go to the resorts you would never know they were that close!

Then condo itself is very well stocked!! So when I went to the grocery store I only had to stock my main food staples, drinks & snacks! All of the spices, dishes, condiments & food storage that you could dream of were already there!! The condo was clean, organized & beautifully decorated. They have beach towels for use so don't bring your own! It has a beautiful kitchen & island to eat at and an amazing view with private lanai!
I spent hours watching whales on the horizon and the sea turtles come so close to shore!
The condo complex is small so there was not a ton of people on the private lawn or beach.

It was a piece of heaven and would definitely go back!

And let me add...the owners of this condo are real, true and honest people!! Love them!!
Aloha!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Vacation Ever !!!!!!

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

You know how when you go online and search for a vacation spot knowing your going to spend thousands of dollars, and do everything possible to make sure your choosing the right place????
Look no further my friends!!! This is it.
You pull into the private lot, walk up the stairs, open the door and OMG!!!!
You first see the beautiful tile floors and Granite countertops, then look out off the lanai and see how close you are to the ocean and start feeling really, really good.
Bedrooms are very nice and beds are comfy. Bathroom is very nicely done as well.
Sam and George have thought of everything you will need right down to the Salt and Pepper.
The beach and grassy area are perfect for sun tanning and letting the kids run around and play. The sea turtles are amazing and we saw whales everywhere. We loved the shops and farmers market within a few blocks every morning to get fresh fruit and coconuts. The Whaler's Village and Kaanapali Beach are just a few short miles down the road if you really need to shop.
The best part was meeting all the wonderful people including Sam and George.
I booked next year the day I arrived back home.
My family had the BEST VACATION EVER.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Oh my gosh. You were a great family. I wish we would have been able to spend more time with you.

George and I are so excited and pleased you will be back next year!!!

Sam

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great condo, perfect location, fantastic views

Review submitted: February 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

We just got back from a week in Sam & George's condo. We had a great time and really enjoyed it, wish we'd stayed longer. Perfectly situated between Lahaina/Kaanapali and Kapalua. Close to everything, with local shops within walking distance that make it very convenient. We enjoyed the Fresh Market, Bad A$$ coffee and (for everything else) the close-by ABC Store. We watched the whales off shore, and the sea turtles nearly on-shore - they seemed to love hanging out on this beach. Within minutes of some of the best Maui golf courses (Kaanapali and Kapalua). Condo was clean, modern and has everything you need, we really had a great time there for our first trip to Maui. Don't miss the sunset conch shell blowing! A nice chance to meet your neighbors. Great balcony to watch the sunsets and relax after a busy day exploring Maui.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful condo and great view!

Review submitted: January 13, 2013   Date of arrival: December 12, 2012

If you are looking for a extremely clean, well put together condo with modern finishes - this is your place to stay! The level of detail was incredible - from dish soap to band aids....everything was supplied. We spent almost every morning enjoying the sunrise - turtles and even whales! The property complex was private and didn't feel crowded and overlooked. The beach was steps away - it was everything the listing promised and more. I have already passed on the details to my friends and when i come back to Maui - this is where i will be staying!

Thank-you, Sam and George, for the opportunity to stay in your gorgeous condo!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Family Getaway!

Review submitted: December 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

This was a great location for our family vacation. We spent Thanksgiving there and this was my childrens first time to Maui. The place was very clean and well-maintained! Comfortable for a family of four. The owners were extremely helpful and full of recommendations on where to go and what to do. The beach was amazing right out back and easy access with turtles to watch and great snorkeling. Walking distance to great coffee, food, shopping, and a park to relax in. I would recommend Black Rock for snorkeling also, just right down by Whalers Village.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mona of Monterey, CA

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

My daughter and I spent a fabulous 7 days at this lovely oceanfront condo. The views were spectacular, and it was so enjoyable to sit on the lanai, watching the sea turtles frolic in the waters below, seeing the cruise ships with their lights on at sunset, or just sipping cocktails while listening to the relaxing surf roll in and out. This condo is in an excellent location with easy drives to fantastic restaurants, or if you prefer, a brief walk enables you to go to the organic famers market, get a fabulous massage at Zensations, or pick up a bite to eat at one of the eateries nearby. The furnishings were very comfortable, clean and the complex is well maintained. We both agree we would gladly stay here again. And finally, kudos to the owners for being so kind, thorough and accommodating.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Maui palace II

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

The condo was much more then we expected. The photos and information listed on the website were accurate. The property was quiet and relaxing and we really didn't feel the need to go anywhere. We rented snorkel gear for the week from Maui Dive Shop and paddle boards from a place down the street. The turtles hang out in the reef right in front of the condo every day. The private beach is small but the grass area is equipped with lounge chairs just above the beach. The recent upgrades to the condo were wonderful and really hadus feeling at home. We came homeland began saving money for our next trio. We will definitely return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dream Vacation

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

Nothing describes the unbelievable sunsets we enjoyed from the balcony of this condo. We must have taken 40 pictures of the sunsets alone. The turtles feeding on the rocks and the comfortable private yard made for great family time. Thank you for the wonderful vacation. We cannot wait to come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AWESOME Place to stay in Paradise

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

I was skeptical about it really being that close to the ocean but I should not have worried. The place was fantastic and was everything we could have asked for. My mother is 81 and for her, mostly likely, last trip to Hawaii, it was marvelous. Sea turtles galore and the surf breeze was her delight. The place was nicely decorated and very comfortable. You could not go wrong staying here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding Vacation

Review submitted: May 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

George, Sam thank you so much for an outstanding vacation. Our condo could not have been better in any other place on the island. The condo had everything we could have needed. Our daughter & boyfriend from Colorado met us staying in the second bedroom could not believe what a great place we had. Besides being located with so much in the area for us it was perfect because our son who lives in Maui was only a few miles away. One night rather than going out Janis cooked one of her outstanding meals; we picked up fresh fish from the local fish market which was within walking distance. The meal which we ate on the lanai overlooking the water watching the sunset made our stay truly unforgettable. The beauty of watching the sun rise and set each day was breath taking. We watched the waves of the ocean roll in and out each day and saw large turtles so close we could have almost touched them had we been in the water. This was our third trip to Maui and I can say we have found our home for all future stays. Being our son lives on Maui we know we will be back. I highly recommend this condo to all who want a great place to enjoy your vacation, you will not be disappointed. Mahalo. Mike & Janis

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

This Must Be Paradise

Review submitted: April 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 4, 2012

We stayed in this condo in 2011 and knew it had recently been updated. Our concern was we loved the wonderful "beachy" feel of the place. No problem, the upgrades are great and the wonderful feeling of coming home each day was wonderful. We love to sit on the lanai in the morning with our coffee and watch the whales and turtles. The turtles were wonderful this year, so amazing to be able to sit so close and see them feeding. We hope to go back to this wonderful place many times. It's complete with anything you can wish for, whether you cook or just make coffee. They seem to have thought of everything. You are close to groceries, farmer's market, I had a great massage up the street, and great area for walking. Clean, well maintained, and close to great restaurants and the Whalers Mall.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha and thank you very much for the nice review. We do try to make our guests welcome and comfortable and make them feel at home. We do treat our guests just the way we would like to be treated during our travels. Once again, we are glad you had a great vacation and looking forward having you back in the future.

Sam and George

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exquisite sojourn on Maui

Review submitted: March 1, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

Our first trip to Maui with our daughter and son-in-law. Sam and George made it simple to plan and provided an exceptional space for our too brief sojourn on this lovely island. The generous and consistent hospitality throughout the booking process was superb and the preliminary materials were very useful. For example, we went on the Pacific Whale Foundation snorkeling excursion, what a treat and so well done. The condo was all that we were told it would be plus the setting is fabulous. Sitting on the lanai and watching high tide just before it receded was a special treat as well as the sunsets and ocean life as other reviewers describe. Our son-in-law joined the group who blew the conchs at sunset, part of ancient tradition? The condo itself is lovely, comfortable, well appointed, and clean. We felt at home and appreciated the care and attention to detail such as providing all the needed to items to cook a meal, plus a blender, coffee grinder, spices, etc. Although there is only one bathroom, double sinks kept the logistics uncomplicated. Sleeping to the sound of ocean waves lapping against the shore and feeling the ocean breeze was an amazing experience for this landlocked woman. Location was convenient as we could walk to local farmers' market on MWF and several stores which among many goods, had fresh homemade guacamole, bean dips, salsas, etc. Tacos from the Latin Market were very good. A larger grocery store and a gelato shop were three minutes by car. Sam highly recommended the Luau and Ulalena show which were both terrific entertainment. We went on several hikes during our short stay and it was always good to come back to our Maui home and sit on the lanai or on the cozy couch in the living area, to relax while watching, listening, and being with the ocean. When we return to Maui, we will definitely stay at Maui Palace II if they will have us. I highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Occupy Maui

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

This is our 3rd visit to Maui and to fully appreciate My Maui Palace you almost have to stay at other places first - but don't do that. Stay here first - we've already done the research for you. There are thousands of places to stay on Maui and it can be daunting to find a place when your decision is eventually based on trusting someone you've never met before. Sam jumped to the head of the line when we learned that she was a Minnesota kid, just like us. Our trust was well placed and our experience here has been wonderful. Specifics: unlike the corporate high-rise/cookie cutter accommodations we've used in the past, MMP has a character and soul not found in the Maui Inc. places. I mean, this place was decorated by Sam herself, not by some committee in Chicago. And it shows. Sewing kits, stationery supplies, heck, even double A batteries have been thoughtfully supplied. Think: I'm staying in someone's home vs staying in a Holiday Inn. If you've stayed in Maui before you know what a logistical nightmare parking is. The two other places we've stayed charged a daily parking fee with, and I can't believe this, no guarantee of a parking space. Show up after a late evening and your $11 daily fee relegates you to an out-lot with a long walk to your unit. Not here. A parking space is supplied with your unit at no extra cost. A big deal? Turned out to be one of the amenities I appreciated the most. The unit itself is lovingly furnished and totally homey. Everything you would expect to find in you own home is here. Except for the Pacific Ocean part. Many other places claim to be "on the ocean" but I tell you, at MMP you're so close that you could spit a watermelon seed into the water from your lanai. Other reviewers have mentioned "The View" but let me tell you: this is God's own widescreen TV with HD and SurroundSound. And the men among us will never be reaching for the remote control because what's on is better than football. Trust this kid from Minnesota. Whales. Sea turtles. Cast your gaze anywhere for more than 20 seconds and you'll see a breach or a tail-slap or whatever else whales do. It's amazing. There's a small beach in front of the units that's virtually private because of the way the adjacent properties are set up. Downsides? No place is perfect but the only detraction for us was that you're sometimes aware of traffic noise from Honopiilani road. That's it. Thank you Sam and George for making us look like geniuses for choosing MMP.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Julie,
Thank you for the fantastic review. We do our best to make our guests to feel at home and make sure they can enjoy their vacation to the fullest. We treat our guests the way we would like to be treated during our ventures.We also like to thank you for being such wonderful guests and we hope to welcome you back during your next trip to Maui.

Mahalo,
Sam and George

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Paradise Found in My Maui Palace!!!

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: January 18, 2012

Dear Sam and George, Without a doubt this has been one of the most outstanding vacations I have ever experienced! The vacation started with your exceptional guest care, from the first inquiry to our booking, and even to checking out at the end of our stay. Your warmth and hospitality is the true definition of Hawaii/Island spirit! The packet you sent on the property, the area, and the things to do was outstanding in assisting us in what we chose to do in Maui.
The first moment we turned the key and opened the door, we started our "WOW" time. Everything in the property was selected and cared for with great TLC; it felt like coming home! The patio was open and the sounds of the surf was overwhelmingly beautiful! To sit on the lanai and hear the surf, to see whales breaching without having to leave the lanai, and to snorkel in the most beautifully clear water where we saw dozens of varieties of fish, rays, and the most amazing sea turtles I have ever seen!
The condo offers everything that we would have in our own home, even a cooler for those excursion out and about in Maui! Jon & I chose the loft for our bedroom because we wanted to go to sleep and wake up with the sound and sight of the ocean..nothing more soothing. Next time, we may have to swap rooms with Harmony; the great news is the master bedroom is just as awesome. Your design of this property and the two other properties, My Maui Palace I & II are as breathtaking, designed to include the inside and outside as one! We are already anticipating that as soon as Jon has his vacation information in front of him, we will be contacting you for our next vacation in your most beautiful Maui Palace.
The other incredible thing is that we can walk out our door, walk down the block and be shopping in 5 minutes at the local Farmer's Market, a Great Coffee shop, and tons of other stuff, and across the street the most beautiful public park with access to the ocean! One would never have to leave the neighborhood to have a great time...but, might I say, Maui is world experiencing!!!!
Thank you for your hospitality, thank you for offering such gorgeous properties, thank you for making our Maui experience fit for a princess, or prince, in your palace! We will definitely recommend your properties to family, friends and others, as long as it is not the vacation period we want! Ha!! We look forward to coming home again very soon! Mahalo!!! Deborah and Jon

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Deborah and Jon,
First, we would like to thank you for the fantastic review. We do strive to make our guests feel at home and we are very pleased that you had a wonderful time. Thank you, and we hope we will, and would love to, have you for our guests again. Sam and George

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It's Turtle Time!

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 4, 2011

While this trip to Maui was our first, it won't be our last! Without a doubt, we will try to stay at this same condo on our next trip. Sam & George are the perfect hosts. They made sure we had some basic necessities upon arrival like a supply of TP, a fresh bar of soap, a fresh sink sponge, etc; there was nothing we needed to shop for which is not always the case when you are renting a condo or home. The condo was nicely appointed with all the appliances and kitchen gadgets you could want including a coffee grinder so we could sample some of Hawaii's finest coffeee beans. We could easily have moved right in and not needed a thing (hmmm).

Prior to our arrival, Sam had provided us a listing of things to do and places to eat. She will not steer you wrong! Take that information with you; whether you are on a budget or living it up, her restaurant recommendations were "spot on" and we came to rely upon her list to avoid any disappointing meals. Many of the eateries were within walking distance of the condo and you don't need to worry about variety... many different types of food available, or if you would prefer to cook in your well equipped kitchen, there is a Farmers Market (on M-W&F), a fresh fish market, and a supermarket, just down the street. Best deal in town: Aloha Mixed Plate on Front Street; casual, local food, and absolutely to die for.

Location, location, location... couldn't be better. The condo is well situated at the north end of town. So while you have easy access to shopping and the night life, you have peace and quiet in the evenings to rest up for your adventures the next day. The sunset each day took on it's own personality and we never tired of the view; our ritual was to enjoy cocktail hour, riveted to our chairs on the deck and just watch the incredible light show play on the islands of Lanai and Molokai. While it was early in the season, we did get to see a whale on one occasion at sunset.

Mornings at the condo were another story... turtles! everywhere! and right in your backyard. All the tourists want to see sea turtles, and honestly, we spent a lot of time on and in the water and you will not see more turtles than in the water right on your own beach! Get your snorkel gear and get out there between 8 AM and 10 AM; just past the reef break, everyday. At one point, I counted about 6 just frolicking in the surf; amazing and graceful creatures.

Mahalo, Sam and George! See you next year,

Mary & Ron

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Little Bit of Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: November 8, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

Dear Sam & George.

Reluctantly we had to leave Palace 11 to return home to the real world. We have been to Hawaii many times and to Maui on 4 prior occasions but never have we enjoyed our accommodation and location as much as we did at Palace II.

Having also stayed at Palace IV in Glendale, AZ we knew what to expect. Everything about Palace II is first class and exceeds expectations. Our daughter and son-in-law were with us and we all enjoyed every minute of the two weeks we were there. Should have stayed for the month as we originally planned.

We feel right at home at both locations and could not ask for anything more. We are now looking forward to our next visit to Palace IV in Glendale next March and plan to go back to Maui and will be in touch for dates at Palace II early next year.

We have never met in person but feel we know you as friends just from our telephone contact. Hopefully we will meet soon. You are most helpful with recommendations on where to eat, what to see and do and everything else in between.

We have and will continue to recommend friends and relatives to contact you for accommodation should they want to visit Maui or Glendale.

With Kindest Regards

Gord and Jeannette Maroney

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Eugene K.

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 18, 2011

Simply amazing.
Its very private- there are only 12 units in that building.
You can snorkel write in front of your condo- we even saw turtles.
Bedrooms are nice especially master bdrm. Beutifull sinks in the bathroom( wanned to take them with us :)) ). Huge kitchen has everything you need to cook. And of course- lanai!!! Fantastik view.
We were there only 5 days but didnt want to leave.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Waui Maui!

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Dear Sam and George-

We were so blessed by your Maui Palace in August 2011. It was absolutely wonderfull!
The view from the Lanai was spectacular, the Turtles were there almost constantly and the vegetation on the property was gorgeous. Turtles would swim right up to us. The only time we saw the turtles run away is when a guy was chasing it and touching it. Please warn all your quests not to touch them.

The Condo itself was like home away from home and your decorating taste is ellegance mixed with Maui. The kitchen was so spacious and had everything you can think of for cooking. Just like you said. So I was challenged to find something that wasn't there like a cookie sheet when I made cookies and there it was. I loved the ease and confort of cooking in such a beautiful kitchen while watching the ocean. I cooked most of our meals there.

The Palace and seawall was quiet and relaxing.

The area was nice because you can walk right over to farmers market, store, coffee shop and the store with the snorkeling equiptment. We rented the equiptment by the week and snorkeled right at My Maui Palace II and at Kapalua bay. Never the less we never had far to go to Lahaina or Kapalua. And you are right about the pineapple bagels and lilikoi spread was a fave.

We wish we would have had more time for laying out by the ocean sea wall. And you were so right to stay for 9 days instead of 7 because we did not want to leave and it took quite a transition. After we got home we kept thinking that we need to be on our Lanai in the morning watching turtles, drinking coffee (oops it almost sounded like the turtles were the ones drinking coffee) LOL! and out by the sea wall at night before going to bed. It was hard. We still are talking about how bad we wish we were there right now!.

Thanks again for sharing a little peace of heaven with us (I did mean peace) and for being so pleasant and fun to work with and share with. Your recommendations were so helpful and my favorite breakfast you recommened was at Lu lu's -benedicts and marys were wonderful. The Malasadas were a must and upgrading to the kim chee rice also a must.

The Doane Family

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Unbeatable

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 5, 2011

My wife and I aren't terribly picky, but we do appreciate it when we can taste the finer things in life at a value-price. The owners were both personable and helpful and bent-over backwards to ensure that we would not be disappointed. Such service and attentiveness is rarely found. The setting was restful and serene; the decor was nearly perfect and reflected thoughtfulness and the upgrades shown in the remodel reflected high-taste. This was a Best-of-Maui experience, and certainly the best of West Maui. We will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My Maui Place

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

Absolutely beautiful, fun and so wonderfully relaxing expereincing Hawaii from this beautifully appointed home. We just treasure our Maui Adventure and in working with Sam and George to book and live on this island for two weeks. These two folks know how to make their wonderful condo your home for the entire stay. We truly enjoyed the sunsets and beautiful beachfront property. George built a spectacular upper bedroom which served our son and his girlfriend well simply by allowing them to hear the ocean surf all evening through the open oversized patio door. We could see the whales jumping and large sea turtles swimming just off shore. Lahania is so close, just three miles down the road where we rented a deep sea fishing commercial boat and brought home a Mahi Mahi which we grilled on the BBQ out along the sea wall just below our condo. Truly a most wonderful 13 days as my son and friend went deep sea diving and I and they swam in the surf and lounged on the beach. We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Would definitely stay again

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

I stayed at MyMauiPalace for a week with my girlfriend and 2 of our friends. Three of us had been to Maui before and were coming back for seconds. Everything was great with the condo! It is newly renovated and the owners did a great job!! The location is great because it's a very short drive to all the resorts and front street where all the action is. My friends and I found that the beach right at the condo is a great place to snorkel, they saw several turtles and a lot of fish. We all couldn't get over the view we had waking up every morning. Eating breakfast on the lanai was one of the best parts of my vacation. I would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review