reviews for: listing #14001 - Santa Cruz, California House rental

Santa Cruz Beachfront Vacation Rental
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,000 - $4,700 /wk

sort by:

Doesn't get much better!

Review submitted: November 2, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

We stayed at the property in October when the weather in the bay area is probably at its best. The house was clean, big and had one of the best ocean views you could imagine. The owners have taken very good care of the place and the pictures on the website are very true to the actual property. I would definitley recommend this place and already have to several friends.

Helpful votes: 28 / 33

 

50th Anniversary Celebration

Review submitted: March 29, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

The beach house was a perfect fit for our three families. The honored guests (grandma and grandpa) loved the upstairs suite with it's spactacular ocean view. Everyone else had their own bedroom, even the 15 year old. (Baby, Julia, had to settle with the Pac-N-Play in the upstairs alcove.) It was like being on a cruise without being seasick or hassling the crowds.
The house was well supplied and everything worked properly.

We enjoyed the casual vibe of the Santa Cruz area. We didn't see any sea life but the surf and surfers, as well as one experienced kite surfer, were amazing. Everyone from 73 to 1 had a great vacation. The house helped our family create some wonderful memories of our 50th anniversary.

Owners response: Sounds like a lovely vacation! So happy to hear..
Owners

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

More Than Amazing!

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

Wow! We were all so impressed by the view when we walked in the house. The beach is literally just steps away and the roar of the ocean waves put all of us to sleep at night. There is plenty of room to relax and the house is beautifully decorated. . . even inspired one couple in our group to start collecting their own "beachy" items to take home. You will NOT be disappointed in this rental, in fact, our group wants to return next year but for a bit longer, we hope!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Welcome back anytime! Happy to share the home..
Owners

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

One of the Best Ever!

Review submitted: December 20, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

Where do I start? Location, weather, lay-out, views, comfort? All number 1, in my experience of renting homes in the Santa Cruz/Monterrey area. We came to celebrate my Mom's 88th birthday. She was totally blown away with the upstairs master bedroom, which she rarely had to leave. Views were incredible! Beach just steps away and totally visible and accessible, from the patio. Ladies sat and watched seals, dolphins, and surfers throughout the day; and watched movies in the evening, with room for all of us. Downstairs boys were watching football on the big screen and playing cards. (Like they weren't there!). So spacious and comfortable! I would definitely come back again and again. Thank you Tara for the wonderful weekend of lifelong memories for our family! I couldn't have asked for more.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Anytime! So happy you enjoyed your vacation...
Owners,
Tara & Nancy Sweatt

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

August 2013

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

We are from the UK so were completely reliant on the information on the website. We were not disappointed. It is a lovely property with everything you need. The location was perfect. We sat on the deck eating breakfast watching dolphins, seals, sea otters and pelicans. There are plenty of different beaches within walking distance and it was easy to drive down to the board walk and central Santa Cruz. We couldn't have found a better place for our week in Santa Cruz.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy to welcome our International guests to our beach house and have them be comfortable and enjoy!
Owners

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Find!

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

When I booked this home it was our reward to ourselves for after the wedding of our youngest daughter. My Dad passed away a month before the wedding, so turns out this home was a very peaceful place to regroup as well. The deck & crashing waves were so healing for my soul. It was immediately comfortable walking in the door....decorated beautifully, well equipped & up-to-date electronics....thank you so much! Not sure when, but we will be back ;)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

summer vacation

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

Our family loved this beach house especially the large deck! The waves hitting the rocks and the cool breeze were such a nice break from the valley heat. The kitchen was very well stocked. It was perfect for our young grandchildren and the deck was very safe for them to play on. We had two outdoor tables which were great for entertaining. We also had a private deck off the master bedroom which was a nice retreat when we wanted quiet from everyone :).Looking forward to coming back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Happy you enjoyed the home! Welcome back anytime ;)
The Owners..

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The waves sound like thunder !

Review submitted: April 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

Jim, Eagle Idaho. If you want it quiet go to the mountains! For me it was great!! Some waves have a constant roar and your ears ring days after you leave, but not here, it's more like thunder then quiet. I sleep perfect, It Was Great!!! The beach is less than 20 steps from the house. Very little foot traffic in front of the house because of the rocky point to the water to the south. Many suffers in front to watch! The house is perfect for all ages. The up stairs master, is sound proof to any down stairs noise with the door closed. The out side room away from house is perfect privacy! The grand kids are 16 to 12 and LOVED the house, beach, waves, and amusement park,we are the greatest grand parents ever! ( TODAY - ha! ) Thank you Tara! for making us look so good! Jim and Stephanie.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So happy to share the home and the fun..sounds like there were great waves for surfing during this stay..!
Tara and Family

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great view and location

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

This place was fabulous. The house was perfectly setup. The master bedroom was huge and the view was unbelievable. The deck looked out over the ocean and every one who on more than one occassion was caught standing and saring out to sea. The location was perfect for long walks along the cliffs to downtown where there is a Shoprite, malls, movies and you are in the middle of 2 wharves, the Capitola and Sata Cruz..Access to the beach is about 4 houses down from this house.. Easy to access

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Future guests,
Access to the beach is also directly in front of the home with stairs and hand rail but there are times that the tides come up to the bottom of the stairs as we have mentioned.
Owners

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

One word sums this rental - AMAZING!! We had 6 people in our group, ranging in ages from 3 to 67 for a 5 day stay. The house was perfect for each one of us. Each person who walked around the corner to see the view for the first time literally stopped in their tracks as it is so beautiful! There is so much to do in the area, but we really wanted to just stay at the house and soak up the view and beach! One evening from the house we observed more than 25 sailboats in the regatta, a kayaker, several surfers and even a seal swim past the house! The furnishings, view and amentities are as they are described, and the owner was superb to work with. I would highly, highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

We celebrated our 30th anniversary. Our adult children and mother in law joined us. They each enjoyed their private rooms and we loved the master suite. The kitchen and living room was great for gathering and playing games and watching movies. The view is amazing. We left the blinds open the whole time. We saw otters, dolphins and even a whale. My kids and I built a sand castle during low tide and made bets when it would be destroyed during high tide. We enjoyed the deck and watched the surfers all day. My mother in law has always gone to beaches in So Cal and she thought Santa Cruz was so much better. We look forward to returning for future vacations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Repeat attenders

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

We LOVE this house! We have rented it twice for our annual couples getaway and absolutely love it. Each year 4 couples (childhood friends) get together for a kid-free weekend. Our original intent was to visit a new location each year, but we loved this house so much we had to repeat the trip. Fantastic location to both SC or Capitola. Great beach a stone's throw away. It does not get much more Oceanfront than this...waves crashing at your very own deck. Tara and family are fabulous to deal with and the prices cannot be beat. We even discussed NOT reviewing the house, because we didn't want anyone else to find out about our little gem. =) This house will not disappoint, highly recommend it!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Super relaxing and convenient!

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

We've stayed here twice with a group of friends. Each time we loved the house! When we stayed in, enjoyed watching the waves, sea life, and sunsets. The kitchen/living-room/eating area overlooks the deck and ocean. So great for group meals.
When we went out, we could walk to the beach or down to Capitola. So beautiful and fun! Even easy drive down to the Boardwalk.
Looking forward to staying again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Gathering!

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

We spent a delightful week at this great home. We have already recommended it to friends for their family. The house is perfectly set up for privacy in each room and has a great gathering area for family time. The view is fantastic and was enjoyed in all the different weather we experienced. It is a great spot for sun, fog, rain or wind!! The house was equipped with anything you might need for time at the beach. After reading about it and then seeing it the listing was very accurate and the owner was wonderful about quickly responding to any questions and providing all necessary info. We can't wait to be there again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

THE PERFECT OCEAN HOME

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

I used to rent a different house every year, but now I just go back to this incredible home every year, because the views and sounds of the ocean are amazing, and the comforts of this home are unbeatable. Front row seats for porpoises, seals, cranes, pelicans; endless entertainment watching all the surfers and sailboats and kayaks; you will encounter fantastic tidepools with anemones and crabs etc as you walk along the beach at low tide. This place is paradise and has everything you could ever need provided.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We LOVE this place and can't wait to return!

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 27, 2011

Perfect setting, perfect home, perfect location! Can you tell we fell in love with this place and can’t wait to return? My daughter was married in Capitola last month and we rented this place to spend the week together (we all live out of town). We loved it from the get-go …from our jaw-dropping moment when we walked into the house & took in the breathtaking ocean view, to the morning walks/runs on the beach & surrounding neighborhoods, to sitting on the deck in the evenings watching the seals, dolphins and otters cruise by (not sure if this is the norm, but it was our special treat each evening). The house is equipped with everything we could ever need and more, TVs in every room that we rarely used as the ocean was our theater for most the week. My daughter dressed for her wedding in the master suite upstairs, a truly surreal moment with her in her wedding dress with what appeared to be the whole Pacific Ocean as her background. Memories that will fill our hearts forever. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy to share our home with guests that truly enjoy it. It brought tears to our eyes reading your experience that will be with you forever!
Owners

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great House... Right on the Beach

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

If you are looking for a place to vacation and relax right on the beach in Santa Cruz, this house is for you. My husband and I coordinated a summer vacation in mid-June for us and our friends and chose this house because of the great location. This house is perfect for adults and children, and has amazing views of the Monterey Bay. Most days were spent going to the beach, hanging out on the deck overlooking the ocean, enjoying cocktails, early evening BBQ’s, and watching the sun set from the deck. Everything you need is provided and grocery stores are just a mile away. The furniture and décor is up to date, and comfortable linins and towels are provided. You can fall asleep and wake up to the sound of crashing waves and the smell of salt air. Should we ever have the chance to arrange another vacation for us and our friends we would look to rent this house again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Place - Relax and put life on pause

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

We just got back from this home and it was wonderful. The view from the back deck and the upstairs master bedroom is a sight to see. Plenty of sun and ocean access within a 1 minute walk, great surf spots and easy driving distance to open spaces, parks, normal golf, frisbee golf and bocce ball. Huge open kitchen making it easy for the whole family to help cook, a real bonding experience. Each bedroom as a tv and dresser, one is even detached from the house for extra privacy. Outside shower makes for easy clean up when you get back from the beach. Short drive to the boardwalk, but we only went once during our 4 days there, the house was just so chill to lounge around at we never wanted to leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: May 7, 2011   Date of arrival: April 28, 2011

My group has rented this lovely beach house for two consecutive years. We all live in varioius parts of the bay area and enjoy having a local getaway spot that makes us feel like we are far away from home. The owners are very easy and responsive to work with throughout the rental process. The house is very comfortable, spacious and clean. The kitchen, dining area and livingroom look right out at the ocean when inside. Having an outdoor deck with a view of the ocean and more...the beach right downstairs is amazing. On our recent trip we enjoyed watching sea otters and surfers from the deck. We have enjoyed biking or walking into Capitola, and watching the surfers right around the corner at Pleasure Point. Falling asleep to the ocean is a big plus too. Great place to getaway from it all!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

WONDERFUL BEACH HOUSE!

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

We loved our stay in this beautiful home. It is so clean and beautifully furnished...and the kitchen had everything needed for all of our home cooked meals every night. The location is perfect and it was nice having the garage. Wow, what a great deck! Plenty of room for the 6 adults and 4 children. My kids and grandkids came from Denver...and it was a perfect place to gather and spend time together. Would highly recommend this lovely home to friends and will return if we decide to gather at the beach again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: December 20, 2010   Date of arrival: December 15, 2010

This is not a house, but a HOME. It is well furnished and equipped with modern appliances and cook/bake ware. The beds are very comfortable with lovely sheets and comforters. The pictures don't do it justice. The view is wonderful...couldn't be better! When we arrived it was very clean and welcoming. The homeowner was very helpful and answered all my questions including ideas on where to go to celebrate my mother's birthday. I have already recommended this home to friends and family. I will definitely rent this home again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

tulsa clan

Review submitted: December 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 13, 2010

have been vacationing in the santa cruz area for 15 yrs. and without a doubt this is our favorite place to stay. we will be returning in 2011 for another "extended" stay. the house has everything you would possible need or want, the view is spectacular, the sunsets unbelievable, close to eateries, shopping and the quiet is an extra. you won't be disappointed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ocean Heaven

Review submitted: December 7, 2010   Date of arrival: November 6, 2010

Staying at this house is truly heavenly. The ocean sights, sounds, smells, air, and wildlife are right at your feet. Cook your meals while looking out over the waves, surfers, seals, dolphins, sea otters and pelicans. Relax on the deck, walk on the beach, or just hang out in the house and watch the endless beauty of sea, sunrises and sunsets. Wonderful comfortable couches and beds. Everything is provided. Trader Joes and Whole Foods just a few minutes away. This is my second year and I've already booked for 2011.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

50th Birthday Celebration with Family

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: September 8, 2010

We just returned home from our trip and wanted to post that we had a wonderful time! We especially enjoyed watching all of the wildlife right off the deck. The kelp forests seem to be perfectly placed out from the house to see dolphins, sea lions, sea otters, dozens of different birds, and of course the human element. The wave action was fantastic! And we kept track of local tides to optimize our beachcombing jaunts. We also were able to fit in several bike rides around the area and to Capitola - lots of fun!! We enjoyed the Beach House so much that we cooked all of our meals there and never ventured out to eat - how could we give up that view and atmosphere??

Thanks for allowing us to stay at this awesome Beach House! The floorplan was perfect for all of our cooking, playing, and visiting. We all had a great time celebrating my 50th birthday!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: August 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

We stayed at this amazing house recently, 8/6-8/13/10. Despite it being the 2nd coldest summer in 30 years, we had that most fabulous vacation. We had 5 adults and 4 children. Our usual vacation is on the east coast, but we decided to try beaches and boardwalk in Santa Cruz. We honestly could have looked out the windows for hours. The kids loved watching the surfers and dolphins so close up. To hear the surf so closely was amazing. There was a little beach only 3 houses up and a beautiful beach, not 5 minute car ride away. We walked alot and liked that the house was in a residential area. We enjoyed a quick drive to the amusement park, 2 local beaches,and a bit longer to the redwoods. The construction noise was at a minimum, didn't bother us. All we had to do was curl up on the comfy furniture and look out the window at that view. The house was very clean and in great order. I appreciated the notes as to where things belonged as it made it easy to put stuff back. Might even implement some of that myself. It was also nice not to have to bring sheets, towels and beach stuff. Made for easier packing. All in all a wonderful vacation was had by all! Thank you!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

No Beach Access Because There is No Beach

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

We recently stayed at this rental in July 2010. Overall, this is a very nice house. All the amenities we like were inside the house and it was very clean, comfortable and with updated furnishings. However, we picked this rental because of it's beach and beach access. The tide is so high 24/7 that there is no beach whatsoever and there is certainly no beach access, despite what the owner states. Further, the current is so rough that the tide splashes against the rocks and sprays the back porch, so the back porch is not usable at some times during the day and the noise is so loud that it is impossible to sleep in the upstairs master bedroom facing the ocean. The pictures on the site show that a beach is sometimes there and just prior to our visit the owner confirmed the beach was there, however, when we asked the neighbors where the beach was, they told us they hadn't seen the beach all summer. If you want a nice house with beautiful views, this is a great place. However, if you want beach access to sand, look elsewhere.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: During this rental, there were high tides and unusually big swell bringing water to the rocks; waves may have caused a spray occas. on part of the very large deck. In major storms, its only a small part of the deck; this was no storm. No complaints in a true storm. Talked to these tenants before they came and confirmed there were stepping stones through the rocks, and if the tides were high out front, our main beach is 4 houses down with sand access at street. Can only assume there was some misunderstanding. This is Moran State Beach, always a large beach as it sets back further. Our neighbors (these tenants allegedly spoke to) were hardly there all summer; they were completing interior remodeling and not able to stay in the home. Their ext.constr. ended long ago other than a minor repair of shared stairs to the beach. Since devastating storms, beaches have been slow to fully recover. Beach out front not to normal state yet and is affected by North swells until fully returned. Most times there's a small beach. Once returned to normal condition, changing swells and tides will not have such an effect. Our 2nd and main beach (Moran State Beach) is 4 houses down, always there. All beachfront homes in this large strip of Santa Cruz are having the same experience. We are fortunate to be located by this main beach so there's always the 2nd beach option. There is access out front past the 1st set of stairs. Neighbors on both sides use our steps through the rocks. We can forward a pic of the stepping stones through the rocks. You have to walk down the first set to visually see them-not visible from the deck. The sound of waves...this is in our ad that the sound carries throughout the home. Its an asset everyone loves. When there is none, they wish there was. Waves break, sound is created. With high tides and big swells its louder. She never said she did not want to hear waves; we have not had any complaint. There are vac.homes not oceanfront where the sound would not be heard. She didnt complain about anything during her stay. Had she said something when she arrived, we would have made every effort to relocate her. She did email me after her stay with suggs.We replied and thanked her for input which is encouraged if theres something that can make the home more enjoyable for our tenants.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing.

Review submitted: May 18, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

We love this home! Coffee with the sunrise, a glass of wine with the sunset... overlooking the ocean, need I say more? As soon as you walk inside this home, you feel very comfortable and at home. The views looking out across the ocean are breathtaking. Listening to the waves crashing as you lie in bed, playing in the ocean and having a warm rinse in the tropical outdoor shower were highlights of our stay. Most of our time was spent sitting outside on the huge deck, watching the sea life, laying in the sun, walking the beach, reading a book and enjoying the peace and quiet. Although if you wanted a bit more action, we enjoyed playing cards, surfing, visiting the Wharf for a bite to eat and of course the Boardwalk for the kids! We come back every year and we always find something new the owners have done with the home which is really nice. The home offers all amenities one would need at a high end beach house and the owners are extremely accommodating and always help us out with their many recommendations to make our stay unforgettable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

No Beach Access

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 29, 2010

We stayed here with another family in April 2010, and there were a total of 5 young children. We were specifically looking for a house on the beach where the kids could play. When we asked if there were stairs down to the beach, we were told there are. From what we could tell, there are stairs down to the rocks, but that's about it. And from the photo, it looks like a nice big beach. What the photo doesn't show is that it's high tide all the way up to the rocks except for early morning, so it's really not possible to hang out on this beach during the day, unless you are on a surfboard. There is a beach a few houses away, but with 5 little kids, it's hard to manage which is why we were looking for a house on the water. The gates were into the courtyard were falling down, as well as the gates from the deck down to the rocks. They don't provide beach towels, just 2 towels per room so you should definitely bring your own if you plan on going to the beach. The views were wonderful, but I would probably look elsewhere next time.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Future Tenant, No Beach Access: Untrue!!! They obviously did not go passed the first group of stairs!!! The 2nd set is to the sand and the 1st is to hang out on and enjoy. As for the sand, the full beach is still returning from the recent heavy storms and tsunami. These tenants came for 2 nights and know nothing about our beach, changing tides, and effects of swell directions, the pictures speak for themselves. On one little gate to the beach, the hinge was rusted from the salt air. The gate to the courtyard had a loose screw on the latch and needed to be closed firmly. Both were scheduled for repair but these tenants came last minute and the little hinge and screw had to wait 2 days. They were totally operable. There are always 6 additional Beach Towels, I will have to assume they did not look on the labeled shelf. We personally watch over this home every single week!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Nice house, miserable neighbors

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: February 15, 2010

The house was beautiful, accessable and easy for my family and our kids. The bedroom outside has a skylight without a cover, so the sun wakes you up at 6am. The constant construction noise next door was completely miserable and ruined our trip. The construction drown out the serene ocean, and caused part of our party to leave early. Check into the construction status of that property before you rent.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Future Renters,
This is the first we have ever heard from anyone about our sky light in the back bedroom. It is not over the bed and most people love it as it makes the room pleasant. It is not even a large sky light. Special attention is constantly given to this home in re- decorating, painting, landscaping, updating etc. as if we live there permanently ourselves. We spend a lot of time and effort making this home enjoyable and new. We have never in 30 years of renting this and another high end vacation home in Santa Cruz had a review like this. Our neighbor is doing some work on his home next door and were supposed to have completed the exterior portion of work next to our home so as not to be a disturbance to our tenants! Had we known that there was disturbance by construction caused to our tenant we would have greatly discounted their stay! It is very disappointing as they did not say a word and decided to write a comment like this instead.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

One of the Best

Review submitted: May 6, 2008   Date of arrival: April 27, 2008

We have rented several coastal homes and this property rates right at the top. A steep deposit and strict rules were off-putting at first to my relatives who stayed with us there, but I saw it as a sign of a quality property, which it turned out to be.
I'm not a fan of tacky beach decor and this place is nicely and tastefully appointed. Great, modern, clean kitchen with modern appliances. Well-stocked, too.
The upper bedroom is spacious with spectacular views of the ocean through large picture windows. If there is a drawback, there are no window-coverings so be prepared for the dawn!
But that gorgeous view is also available through the expansive deck off the kitchen where the 8 of us spent much of our time. We saw whales and dolphins during our stay at the end of April.
There is a comfortable living room with a huge flat screen TV.
THe other bedrooms are smaller but comfortable, The two down the hall share a bathroom.
Across a tiny courtyard is the other bedroom with a small skylight and with its own bathroom.
The location is perfect, and the home is reasonably priced for all you get. I would, however, bring some extra towels with you, especially if you go to the beach.
We had three generations staying there and everybody was pleased. My Father-in-Law already wants to go back!
We all agree!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Future renters,
We do have window coverings throughout the home! They are new high tech ones that have a remote control and slide to the top of the window. The previous tenant did not notice them.
Owner

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Great house on the beach

Review submitted: December 19, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

This house is located on the beach in Santa Cruz. The deck is the perfect place to hang out and relax., lots of room to spread out. The upstairs bedroom window makes you feel like you are sleeping on an ocean-liner. You can hear the waves crashing, see dolphins and otters swimming just a few feet away. The older home has been re-modeled and has all of the amenities. Perfectly located between Capitola and the lighthouse. Perfect for biking around town. The water is cold...so wetsuits help you enjoy the beach. The only complaint was the bbq was difficult to use and fairly old.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Stainless steel BBQ is about a year old but on the oceanside deck subject to salt & wind if left uncovered. Being new, operation is a little different. Complete instructions are posted in home. Thank you for your input. We will consider downsizing it and obtaining an older model when this newer one wears out, or possibly relocating it to the interior patio. We just always enjoyed it on the ocean deck. Usually replaced every 2-3 yrs.

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review